1325 S. Dinwiddie Street
Arlington, VA 22206
703-228-6700
Fax: 703-228-6760
Monday, May 02, 2016

Winter Sports

Winter Sports

By clicking on this link, you will be leaving the Arlington Public Schools website;
APS does not control the content or relevancy of outside websites.

The start of the winter sports season is fast approaching.  Winter sports tryouts begins November 9th and there is a minimum of 3 days for tryouts.  It is imperative that students get physicals in early to Ms. Kigin to avoid long lines and disappointment.  Ms. Kigin will be in Town Hall on November 2, 4, and 6 during all three lunches. You can turn in your physical, or get your green clearance slip if she already has your physical. This means if you have already played a sport this fall, you must see Ms. Kigin again to get your “green clearance slip”  Don't be one of those 100 kids in line on November 9 who procrastinates; There is no extra time allowed to turn in this assignment!  If you have questions, see Mr. Strauss in E-117, or Ms. Kigin in E-303 (on lower level).  Physical forms are posted on the Wakefield home page and also on www.warriorswhsathletics.com

 See attached the tryout schedule for winter sports!

 

Winter Sports Practice Calendar 2015-2016

 
WINTER SPORTS Begin November 9, 2015
 
Winter Sports Tryout Dates/Times 2015-2016
 


 Winter Coaches Contact List

 Sport
 Level  Coach
 E-Mail Contact
 Boys Basketball
 Varsity - Head 
 Tony Bentley
 tony.bentley@apsva.us
   Varsity - Assistant
 Horace Willis
 horace.willis@apsva.us
   JV Coach
 Deidrich Gilreath
 deidrich.gilreath@apsva.us
   JV Coach        Kenny James
 kenneth.james@apsva.us
   Freshman Coach
 Donnell Boyce
 dboyce370@gmail.com
       
 Girls Basketball 
 Varsity - Head
 Marcia Richardson
 marcia.richardson@apsva.us
   Varsity - Assistant
 Chris Smith
 christopher.smith@ed.gov
   JV Coach
 Zenola Lewis
 zenola.lewis@dcwater.com
   Freshman Coach
 Paul Greenfield   paulbgreenfield@gmail.com
       
 Wrestling  Varsity - Head
 Jeff Humphries
 jeffhump@verizon.net
   Varsity - Assistant
Leland Keeling      
   JV Coach
 Jackson Aleman
 jackson.aleman@apsva.us
       
 Cheerleading  Varsity - Head
 Tamar Willis
 whscheercoach@gmail.com
   JV Coach
 Unika Dabney
 unika.dabney@apsva.us
   Freshman Coach
 Delicia Moton        delicia.moton@apsva.us
 
     
 Swim & Dive
 Varsity - Head
 Sean Carey
 sean.carey@apsva.us
    Boys & Girls
 Varsity - Assistant
 Greg Campbell
 Kevin Mallon
   DIVE Coach
 Patrick Whelden
       
 Girls Gymnastics
 Main Contact
 Joe Demidio
 jdemidio@ymca.org
   Varsity - Head
 Nancy Nunez
 njan411@gmail.com
   Varsity - Assistant
 TBA    TBA
 
 Rifle
 
 Varsity  
 Ben Woods
 
 
 Indoor Track
 Main Contact
 Bob Strauss
 robert.strauss@apsva.us
   Varsity - Assistant
 Adam Alderton
 adam.alderton@acps.k12.va.us
   Varsity - Assistant
 Will Harber
 

 
All sports require a 2015-2016 VHSL Physical Forms
Last Modified on April 25, 2016
CLOSE