1426 N Quincy St
Arlington, VA 22207
Saturday, June 25, 2016

2011-12 News Releases


APS Logo

For Immediate Release:
April 13, 2012
For more information, contact the Dept. of School and Community Relations at 703-228-6004 www.apsva.us
  School Board Names 2012 Honored Citizens
Students have been the beneficiary of countless volunteer hours by Arlington parents and residents. To acknowledge the support that volunteers have provided APS, the Arlington School Board will recognize 15 Honored Citizens at the Volunteer Appreciation Reception and Ceremony on Thu, April 19. The reception begins at 7 p.m. and the recognition ceremony begins at 7:30 p.m.

Honored Citizens are chosen for their involvement in a wide variety of school activities throughout the county and sustained commitment (usually five or more years) to the Arlington Public Schools.

This year’s Honored Citizens and their volunteer affiliations with APS are:
  • Alisa Cowen – Arlington Special Education Action Committee (ASEAC), Career Center, National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI)
  • Courtney Dixon – Drew Elementary School and Mt. Zion Tutorial Ministry (Tutoring partnership)
  • Dan Dixon –Arlington Science Focus School (ASFS), Swanson, Washington-Lee, Hoffman-Boston, Advisory Council on Instruction (ACI), Superintendent’s Advisory Committee on Accountability and Evaluation (A&E) and Budget Advisory Council (BAC)
  • Laura Saul Edwards – Nottingham, Williamsburg and Yorktown
  • Natalie Goldring – ACI, Gifted Services, A&E, Extended Day Advisory Committee, County Council of PTAs (CCPTA), Swanson, McKinley
  • Mollie Iler – Gunston
  • Martha Chow Kopca – Tuckahoe, Nottingham, Williamsburg, Yorktown, H-B Woodlawn
  • Thomas Martin – Oakridge
  • Todd McCracken – Tuckahoe, Facilities Advisory Committee (FAC), 2010 School Bond Campaign
  • Lynn Pollock – Jamestown, Williamsburg
  • Theresa Schweser – Key, Kenmore, Wakefield
  • Greg Super – Oakridge, Wakefield, 2008 School Bond Campaign, FAC
  • John Toner – ASEAC, Special Education PTA (SEPTA)
  • Gilda Vallejos – Randolph, W-L, ACI, ESOL/HILT Committee, APS Multicultural Conference
  • Kristine Wood – Key, FAC, Food Services Advisory Committee

For more information about each Honored Citizen, visit www.apsva.us/honoredcitizens.  
Last Modified on April 17, 2012