1426 N Quincy St
Arlington, VA 22207
Monday, May 30, 2016

2012-13 News Releases


APS Logo

For Immediate Release:
Sept. 12, 2012
For more information, contact the Dept. of School and Community Relations at 703-228-6004 www.apsva.us
  2012 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists Named
Today, the National Merit Scholarship Program announced that 22 Arlington students are semifinalists in the 58th annual National Merit Scholarship Competition. Semifinalists are the highest scoring entrants in each state and represent less than one percent of the nation's seniors.

The Arlington students are among the 16,000 semifinalists named nationally. More than 1.5 million students competed from over 22,000 U.S. high schools when they were juniors by taking the 2011 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). These students will have the opportunity to compete for approximately 8,300 Merit Scholarship awards totaling $32 million.

The semifinalists include:

H-B Woodlawn Secondary Program
David T. Reich

Washington-Lee High School
Andrew R. Auchter
Abigail K. Bessler
Ariel Bobbett
Rachael K. Chase
Sebastian Coupe
Sonia A. Holar
Mary E. Parker-Simkin
Elizabeth M. Roy

Yorktown High School
Emily J. Boda
John B.Hoagland
Jeremy S.Nussbaum
Nicole Orttung
Calvin Pollard
Katherine A. Way

In addition, 7 students from Arlington County attending Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology (in Fairfax) have been named National Merit semifinalists.

Robert J. Dioso
Katharine D. Earl
Elizabeth C. Goodwin
Karina Hemmendinger
Sarah B. Khatry
Rachel Merriman-Goldring
Robert C. Wharton

* TJHSST is a Governor's School for Science and Technology located in Fairfax County. The school serves students in Arlington, Fairfax, Fauquier, Loudoun, and Prince William counties as well as the cities of Fairfax and Falls Church. APS pays the tuition costs for students who attend the school.

Every finalist will compete for one of 2,500 National Merit $2,500 Scholarships that will be awarded on a state representational basis. About 1,000 corporate-sponsored scholarships will be provided by approximately 240 corporations and business organizations.

Merit Scholar designees must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by the school principal, and earn SAT scores that confirm the student's earlier qualifying test performance. They also must demonstrate participation and leadership in school and community activities, and exhibit potential for success in rigorous college studies.

About 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to advance to the finalist level of competition. The National Merit Scholarship Corporation will release the names of Merit Scholarship winners beginning in April 2013.
Last Modified on September 12, 2012