2021註冊常見問題解答

我什麼時候可以註冊2021-2022學年的擴展日? 

從25月XNUMX日開始,新學年的註冊將分三個階段進行。

第一階段1從25月8日至2020月21日,適用於其子女在XNUMX-XNUMX學年放學後的延長日入學的家庭。 去年註冊的同級學生也可以在此階段註冊。

在此期間註冊的學生將參加彩票並獲得家庭註冊號:

  • 如果擴展日能夠以大流行前的能力運行: 在此期間註冊的所有學生都將有條件地入學。
  • 如果擴展日必須在容量減少的情況下運行:  學生將按照彩票確定的入學人數的順序進行入學,直到達到容量為止

第一階段2從9月23日至XNUMX月XNUMX日對所有學生開放。 在此階段註冊的學生將參加抽籤並獲得一個家庭註冊號。 如果有空位,將按照家庭註冊號的順序註冊學生。

第一階段3,從4月23日下午XNUMX點以後開始,並且在整個學年中一直在進行。 如果在這段時間內註冊的學生,如果他們的學校已經滿員,那麼他們將按照收到註冊的順序放在候補名單上。

為什麼要分階段進行註冊?

為了回應家長的關注,近年來,擴展日提供了註冊“窗口”,以使所有家庭享有平等的機會,並避免了先到先得的申請。 註冊窗口消除了立即註冊的緊迫性,並為所有人提供訪問權限,無論工作時間表、計算機訪問和其他緩解因素如何。在前幾年,延長日在不同時間開放註冊,包括午夜、上午 8 點和周六早上和註冊基於先到先得的原則。 但是,每年我們都會從許多家長那裡聽到,註冊的先到先得性質非常緊張,並且給當時沒有在線訪問權限的家庭造成了不利影響。

為什麼返校學生比其他學生先註冊?

幾年前,Extended Day 審查了幾個當地學校贊助的托兒計劃的註冊程序。 人們發現,大多數計劃都遵循被認為是進行註冊的最佳實踐,包括允許回返家庭註冊並首先被錄取。 以這種方式進行註冊:

  • 消除了先到先得方法的不平等和焦慮感。
  • 每年為家庭提供其托兒安排的一致性。
  • 允許“擴展日”立即招收需要護理的兒童的85%至90%。
  • 允許“擴展日”更迅速地確定需要更多空間和/或人員的學校,以容納更多學生,並儘早開始與管理員合作解決等候名單。

通常,Extended Day 在其 32 個項目中的大約五個項目中以候補名單開始學年,其中約有 200 名兒童(全縣)在候補名單上,而註冊人數超過 4,000。 在整個學年中,擴展日將繼續工作,以容納等待名單上的孩子。

如果與COVID相關的協議限制了“擴展日”註冊,該怎麼辦?

擴展日計劃在學校的第一天(30月XNUMX日)開放,並在正常條件下運營。 但是,如果由於與COVID相關的協議而導致程序容量減少,則延長日可能必鬚根據彩票確定的家庭入學人數(後進先出)來“取消註冊”學生,以滿足有限的能力。

需要註冊費嗎?

是。 第一個孩子的年註冊費為40美元,每增加一個孩子的年註冊費為30美元。 該費用是在孩子入學後開具的,應付費。

我的孩子可以保證在擴展日參加活動嗎?

在註冊過程的第 1 階段註冊的兒童保證入學,除非 COVID-19 協議限制容量。 在第一階段之後註冊的孩子並不能保證可以入學,但是在大多數學校中,每個孩子都可以入學。 但是,在某些學校中,對於課後課時可能會有候補名單,那裡的需求超出了能力。 開學前課程、中學登記計劃或夏季延長日沒有等候名單。

我是否需要每年為延長日註冊我的孩子?

是。 每個孩子每年都需要註冊延長日。

註冊有截止日期嗎?

不,整個學年都在進行註冊。 如果學校沒有等候名單,學生將被錄取。 重要通知:為了孩子們的安全和責任感,16 月 13 日之後註冊的孩子的開始日期可能會推遲到至少 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日,以防止由於學生名冊的最後一刻更改而導致監管挑戰,並允許滿足額外的人員配備需求.

我可以在阿靈頓公立學校註冊孩子之前為擴展日註冊我的孩子嗎?

是。 但是,在線註冊系統會要求您孩子的學生證號。 如果您的孩子還沒有學生證號碼,請在請求學生證號碼的地方輸入孩子的名字和姓氏。

我如何為孩子註冊延長日?

延長日註冊是在線進行的。 請參考上面的日期,指出每個註冊階段的資格。 有孩子返回延長日的家庭應在第一階段在線註冊 https://apsfamily.schoolcareworks.com/login.jsp。 如果在“擴展日”中有新的兄弟姐妹,則需要將其添加到現有的“擴展日”家庭帳戶中。 擴展日的新家庭可以使用我們的帳戶申請新的家庭帳戶 新的家庭帳戶申請表。

我需要什麼信息來註冊我的孩子參加延長日活動?

您將被要求在學校30分鐘之內提供一般的家庭和醫療信息以及兩個緊急聯繫人。

我已在擴展日網站上註冊,但是如何知道是否已收到我的註冊?

Extended Day將發送一封電子郵件,以確認每個孩子註冊的每節課(上學前和放學後)。 如果您在註冊後48小時內未收到確認電子郵件,請發送電子郵件 Extended.day @aps價值.

我孩子所在學校的註冊服務商問我是否打算為擴展日註冊我的孩子,我現在註冊了嗎?

不,你必須先 申請家庭賬戶. 收到登錄憑據後,您可以註冊 Extended Day 您的家庭帳戶。

如果我沒有電子郵件地址,我將如何接收有關我的註冊和註冊的信息?

請致電703-228-6069與擴展日中心辦公室聯繫。

我們不知道我的孩子會上我們的家庭學校還是小學。 我應該為哪一所學校註冊“擴展日”?

請為您的家庭學校而不是可選學校提交您的擴展日註冊。 如果您在學校彩票選項中選擇了您孩子的名字,並且您選擇接受該插槽,請發送電子郵件 Extended.day @aps價值 以便將您孩子的“擴展日”註冊轉移到新學校。 如果選擇學校需要延長日抽籤,則您孩子的名字將包括在抽籤中。

我可以給我的孩子註冊一所以上學校嗎?

否。請僅提交一所學校的註冊。 如果我們收到一個學生的多個註冊,則只會處理最新的註冊信息。

如果我在第3階段(23月XNUMX日之後)提交孩子的“全天候”註冊,將會怎樣?

如果您的孩子的學校還沒有滿負荷,您的孩子將被錄取。 如果您孩子所在的學校有候補名單,您的孩子將被放在候補名單的末尾。

我可以僅在提前放行幾天(或每週一天)註冊我的孩子嗎?

此出勤選項僅適用於阿靈頓公立學校的員工。

2021 Registration FAQs

When can I register for Extended Day for the 2021-2022 school year? 

Registration for the upcoming school year will be conducted in three phases, beginning May 25th.

Phase 1, from May 25th – June 8th, is for families whose children were enrolled for the Extended Day after school session for the 2020-21 school year.  Siblings of students who were enrolled last year may also be enrolled during this phase.

Students registered during this period will participate in a lottery and receive a family enrollment number:

  • If Extended Day is able to operate at pre-pandemic capacities: all students registered during this period will be conditionally enrolled.
  • If Extended Day must operate at reduced capacity:  students will be enrolled in order of their lottery-determined enrollment number until capacity is reached

Phase 2, from June 9th – June 23rd, is open for all students.  Students registered during this phase will participate in a lottery and be assigned a family enrollment number.  Students will be enrolled, in order of the family enrollment number, if space is available.

Phase 3, begins after 4 pm on June 23rd and is ongoing throughout the school year.  Students registered during this time will be placed on a waitlist if their school has reached capacity, in the order that their registration is received.

Why is registration conducted in phases?

In response to the parent concerns, in recent years Extended Day has offered registration “windows” to provide equal access for all families and avoid first-come, first served enrollment.  The registration window eliminates the urgency to register immediately and provides access for everyone, regardless of work schedules, computer access and other mitigating factors.In prior years, Extended Day opened registration at different times, including midnight, 8 am, and Saturday morning and enrollment was based on a first-come, first served basis.  But, each year we heard from many parents that the first-come, first served nature of registration was extremely stressful and created a disadvantage for families that do not have online access at that time.

Why do returning students get to register before other students?

A few years ago, Extended Day reviewed the registration procedures of several local school-sponsored childcare programs.  It was discovered that most programs follow what is considered to be best practice in conducting registration, including allowing returning families to register and be enrolled first.   Conducting registration in this manner:

  • Removes the inequity and anxiety of the first-come, first-served method.
  • Provides families consistency of their childcare arrangements from year to year.
  • Allows Extended Day to enroll between 85-90-percent of the children needing care immediately.
  • Allows Extended Day to more quickly identify schools where more space and/or staff is needed to accommodate additional students and begin working with the administrators earlier to resolve waitlists.

Typically, Extended Day begins the school year with waitlists at about five of its 32 programs, comprising about 200 children (County-wide) on waitlists compared to over 4,000 enrolled.  Extended Day continues to work throughout the school year to accommodate the children on the waitlists.

What happens if COVID-related protocols limit Extended Day enrollment?

Extended Day is planning to open on the first day of school (August 30th) and operate under normal conditions.  However, if program capacity decreases due to COVID-related protocols, Extended Day may have to “unenroll” students to meet limited capacity based on the lottery-determined family enrollment number (last in, first out).

Is there a registration fee?

Yes. The annual registration fee is $40 for the first child and $30 for each additional child. The fee is billed and due once the child is enrolled.

Is my child guaranteed a spot in Extended Day?

Children registered during Phase 1 of the registration process are guaranteed enrollment, unless COVID-19 protocols restrict capacity.  Children registered after Phase 1 are not guaranteed enrollment, but at most schools every child will be enrolled.   However, there may be waitlists at some schools for the after-school session, where demand exceeds capacity.  There are no wait lists for the before school session, Middle School Check-In Program, or Summer Extended Day.

Do I need to register my child every year for Extended Day?

Yes. Each child needs to register for Extended Day each year.

Is there an end date for registration?

No, registration is ongoing throughout the school year. Students will be enrolled if there is not a waiting list at the school. IMPORTANT NOTICE: For the safety and accountability of the children, the start date for children registered after August 16th may be postponed until at least September 13th to prevent supervision challenges due to last minute changes to student rosters and allow for additional staffing needs to be met.

Can I register my child for Extended Day before I register my child with Arlington Public Schools?

Yes. However, the online registration system requests your child’s Student ID number. If your child does not yet have a Student ID number, please enter your child’s first and last name where the Student ID number is requested.

How do I register my child for Extended Day?

Extended Day registration is conducted online.  Please refer to the dates above indicating the eligibility for each phase of registration. Families with children returning to Extended Day should register online during Phase 1 at https://apsfamily.schoolcareworks.com/login.jsp.  If there are siblings new to Extended Day, they will need to be added to their existing Extended Day family account. Families new to Extended Day can request a new family account using our New Family Account Request form.

What information do I need to register my child for Extended Day?

You will be asked to provide general family and medical information and two emergency contacts that are within 30 minutes of the school.

I registered on the Extended Day website, but how do I know if my registration has been received?

Extended Day will send an email to confirm each session (before and after school) for which each child is registered. If you do not receive a confirmation email within 48 hours of registering, please email extended.day@apsva.us.

The registrar at my child’s school asked me if I intend to register my child for Extended Day, am I now registered?

No, you must first request a family account.  When you receive the login credentials you can register for Extended Day your family account.

If I do not have an email address, how will I receive information regarding my registration and enrollment?

Please contact the Extended Day Central Office at 703-228-6069.

We don’t know if my child will attend our home school or an elementary option school.  For which school should I register for Extended Day?

Please submit your Extended Day registration for your home school, not the option school.  If your child’s name is selected in the option school lottery and you choose to accept the slot, please e-mail extended.day@apsva.us to have your child’s Extended Day registration transferred to the new school.  If the option school requires an Extended Day lottery your child’s name will be included in the lottery.

Can I register my child for more than one school?

No. Please only submit a registration for one school. If we receive multiple registrations for a student, only the most recent registration information will be processed.

What happens if I submit my child’s Extended Day registration in Phase 3 (after June 23rd)?

If your child’s school has not reached capacity, your child will be enrolled. If your child’s school has a waitlist, your child will be placed at the end of the waitlist.

Can I register my child for only early release days (or one-day per week)?

This attendance option is only available for employees of Arlington Public Schools.