APS Honored Citizens

2019 Honored Citizens - May 30, 2019


One of the APS Strategic Plan goals is to “develop and support strong connections among schools, families, and the community to broaden opportunities for student learning, development, and growth.” APS is fortunate that many community members support this goal by donating time and support to help students receive the best education possible. These dedicated volunteers contribute throughout the schools, from serving as a member or officer in a PTA, to participating on an advisory group, to reading to students. Many volunteers return year after year, and their contributions are always greatly appreciated. The current school year has been especially challenging for the APS community, and we know that many dedicated community members have gone above and beyond in supporting our students and our schools.

Since 1975, the Arlington School Board has recognized volunteers who have made extraordinary contributions to the schools with the Honored Citizen Award. These volunteers have demonstrated a sustained commitment of at least five years to Arlington Public Schools and have donated significant time and energy to a broad range of activities throughout the school community. The 2019 Honored Citizens are pictured above. Unfortunately, due to the pandemic, the Board was unable to recognize Honored Citizens in 2020.

For 2021, the Board has selected 3 outstanding volunteers as Honored Citizens. The Board will celebrate these individuals with a special virtual recognition at the May 6, 2021 School Board Meeting, which begins at 7 p.m. This year’s Honored Citizens are:

Cloe Chin – Advisory Council on Teaching and Learning, Arlington Special Education Advisory Committee, Decoding Dyslexia Virginia

Paula Cohen – Nottingham Elementary School, Williamsburg Middle School, Yorktown High School

Bethany Sutton – Randolph Elementary School; Randolph Food Pantry

Honored Citizen Historical List-1975-2019