社会工作实习

在学校环境中,在主管,学校心理学和社会工作的一般指导下,将野外实习学生分配给学校社会工作者。 的社会工作者 APS 帮助父母,学生和学校员工确定干扰学习的需求,并与学生和家庭一起获得所需的服务。 社会工作者与通识教育和特殊教育学生及其家人合作,通过倾听,评估,与学生,父母和教职员工协商并提供直接服务(个人和团体咨询,风险评估,危机管理)来解决社会,情感和行为问题。 。 社会工作者推荐家庭在社区中获得适当的服务(当地食物银行,衣物分发场所,对无家可归学生的支持,医疗干预等)。 当旷工和拖拖拉拉影响学生在学校的表现时,社会工作者也会参与进来,以帮助父母和学生克服定期出勤的障碍。

APS has an affiliation agreement with George Mason University and Catholic University, and only accepts field placement students from those two schools.与乔治·梅森大学(George Mason University)和天主教大学(Catholic University)签有加盟协议,并且仅接受这两家学校的实习生。 The process for Social Work interns begins with the student's Field Placement Office at either George Mason or Catholic University.社会工作实习生的程序开始于学生在乔治·梅森或天主教大学的实习办公室。  APS 会将直接询问的任何学生推荐给 APS about a field placement opportunity back to the student's Field Placement office.有关现场实习机会的信息,请返回学生的现场实习办公室。 After receiving a referral of a potential student from George Mason or Catholic University,在收到乔治·梅森(George Mason)或天主教大学推荐的潜在学生后, APS 将与该学生进行面试,以确定 APS 双方都同意并适合学生和 APS。 实地实习是无薪的,并遵循推荐大学的学校日历的日期。 学生被录取后 APS,那么学生将需要完成其他要求,包括结核病测试/筛查和犯罪背景检查,然后才能从事 APS 学校。

APS 通常会在2月和20月采访24年级学生和高级成绩学生(每周1-16小时的实习机会)。 如果仍有野外实习机会,一年级MSW学生的访谈(每周XNUMX个小时的实习)将在XNUMX月至XNUMX月进行。 APS 通常,每年需要招收四名现场实习生的学生,具体取决于申请人和可用导师的数量。

请通过一封电子邮件提交以下申请文件:

邮箱:     SchoolSocialWork @apsva.us
主题行:名称-现场体验申请

致辞:心理学和社会工作主管Wendy Carria
阿灵顿公立学校

Social Work Internships

Field Placement students are assigned to School Social Workers, in the school setting, under the general guidance of the Supervisor, School Psychology and Social Work. Social Workers at APS help parents, students and school staff identify needs that interfere with learning, and work with students and families to get services they need. Social Workers work with both general and special education students and their families to resolve social, emotional and behavioral problems through listening, assessing, consulting with students, parents and staff, and providing direct services (individual and group counseling, risk assessments, crisis management).  Social workers refer families for appropriate services in the community (local food banks, clothing distribution sites, support for homeless students, medical intervention, and more). Social Workers also get involved when absenteeism and tardiness affect a student’s performance at school to try and help parents and students overcome obstacles to regular attendance.

The field placement process for Social Work interns begins with the student’s Field Placement Office at their university.  APS will refer any student who inquires directly to APS about a field placement opportunity back to the student’s Field Placement office. After receiving a referral of a potential student from a university, APS will set up an interview with that student to determine that the placement at APS is mutually agreeable and appropriate for both the student and APS.  Field Placements are unpaid and follow the dates of the referring university’s school calendar. After a student is accepted by APS, the student will then need to complete other requirements including a TB test/screening and criminal background check before working in an APS school.

Application deadlines are February 15th for 2nd Year MSW students and May 1st for 1st Year MSW students. APS will interview 2nd Year students and Advanced Standing students (24 hours per week placements) in late February and March.  Interviews for 1st Year MSW students (16 hours per week placements) take place in April-June, if field placement opportunities remain available. APS typically takes one-four field placement students per year, depending on the number of applicants and available supervisors.

Please submit the following application documents in one email:

Email:     SchoolSocialWork@apsva.us
Subject Line:   Name—Field Experience Application

Addressed to:  Wendy Carria, Supervisor, Psychology and Social Work
Arlington Public Schools