APS الجمعة 5 الأرشيف

Friday5

APS يرسل "APS الجمعة الخامسة "كل يوم جمعة لإطلاع المجتمع على الأخبار والأحداث المهمة والأحداث البارزة عبر القسم.

APS الجمعة 5 في 23 أبريل 2021

Friday5

العام الدراسي 2021-22

الرد بحلول 30 أبريل: عملية اختيار الأسرة للعام الدراسي 2021-22

APS يطلب من جميع العائلات أن تختار بحلول 3 مايو [تحرير: في الأصل 30 أبريل] بين نموذجين تعليميين للعام الدراسي القادم: تعليمات شخصية بدوام كامل خمسة أيام في الأسبوع أو منفصلة برنامج التعليم عن بعد K-12 خمسة أيام في الأسبوع.

  • يختلف برنامج التعليم عن بعد K-12 عن نموذج التعلم عن بعد الحالي. الطلاب في برنامج منفصل مع مدير وموظفين مخصصين والحفاظ على الاتصال بمدرسة التسجيل الخاصة بهم لإعداد التقارير وتقديم المشورة المدرسية والأنشطة اللامنهجية. تتماشى المناهج الدراسية وجداول السرعة واليوم الدراسي مع المدرسة الشخصية.
  • يتضمن الخيار الشخصي خمسة أيام في الفصل الدراسي في مدرسة تسجيل الطالب مع وجود مدرس وما يليه جداول الجرس العادية وأوقات البدء / الانتهاء العادية.
  • سيتم إجراء أنشطة الغداء واليوم المدرسي وفقًا لإرشادات CDC و VDH، مع تدابير التخفيف من COVID-19 لحماية صحة وسلامة الطلاب والموظفين.

للحصول على معلومات حول ParentVUE العملية والخيارات التعليمية ، وللحصول على الأسئلة الشائعة ، قم بزيارة موقعنا على الإنترنت.


المعلم يرتدي القناع في الفصل

1. APS ينتقل طلاب PreK إلى أربعة أيام شخصيًا في الأسبوع بدءًا من 3 مايو

APS تواصل توسيع التعلم الشخصي. في اجتماع مجلس إدارة المدرسة الليلة الماضية ، أعلن المشرف أن جميع طلاب PreK في النموذج الهجين سيتحولون إلى أربعة أيام في الأسبوع بدءًا من الأسبوع الذي يبدأ في 3 مايو. APS توفر أربعة أيام من التعلم الشخصي للطلاب المسجلين في برامج التعليم الخاص على مستوى المقاطعة منذ نوفمبر. كرر المشرف العمل المستمر من قبل المرافق والمدارس لزيادة السعة إلى أقصى حد بمسافة 3 أقدام لخدمة أكبر عدد ممكن من الطلاب شخصيًا في هذا العام الدراسي ، وأشار إلى أنه تم قبول ما يقرب من 1,000،XNUMX طالب من قوائم الانتظار للتعليم المختلط في أبريل حتى الآن. شاهد العرض التقديمي من اجتماع الليلة الماضية. التسجيل في كل نموذج وآخر معلومات قائمة الانتظار يتم تحديثها بانتظام عبر الإنترنت.


رسم اختبار COVID-19

2. APS هي الأولى في الولاية التي تفتح مواقع مجانية لاختبار COVID في المدارس

مواقع اختبار COVID-19 مفتوحة الآن في Glebe و Kenmore و Wakefield للطلاب والموظفين الذين تظهر عليهم الأعراض أو كانوا على اتصال وثيق بشخص مصاب بـ COVID-19. يتم الاختبار بعد ساعات الدوام المدرسي فقط ، من 3:30 إلى 7:30 مساءً ، من الاثنين إلى الجمعة ، وأيام السبت في كنمور فقط ، من الساعة 9 صباحًا حتى 5 مساءً يجب إكمال الموافقة مسبقًا ، باستخدام نماذج الموافقة المتاحة على APS موقع الكتروني.


شعار RISE

3. APS تعلن عن شراكة مع مشروع AAKOMA & RISE to Win Organization

APS تشارك مع مشروع AAKOMA ومنظمة RISE to Win. سيوفر مشروع AAKOMA دعمًا للصحة العقلية للطلاب في فريق ويكفيلد لكرة القدم وتدريبًا لمرشدي المدارس عبر القسم المدرسي لتقديم الدعم الثقافي المناسب للطلاب الذين يعانون من الصدمات العرقية. ستوفر منظمة RISE to Win تدريبًا لتزويد الطلاب والرياضيين والمدربين والإداريين بالأدوات اللازمة ليكونوا مؤهلين ثقافيًا ودعاة فعالين للعدالة العرقية والقادة في معالجة العنصرية والتنوع والشمول. تتوافق كلتا الشراكتين مع APS هدف الخطة الإستراتيجية لرفاهية الطالب لتزويد الطلاب ببيئات صحية وآمنة وداعمة. مزيد من المعلومات حول APS الرد على حادثة 5 مارس متاح على موقع Engage.


APS شعار المدرسة الصيفية

4. تحديث رسوم المدرسة الصيفية

في الأسبوع الماضي ، أبلغنا العائلات بشكل غير صحيح أن الطلاب الذين يأخذون دورات تعزيز المدارس الصيفية سيُطلب منهم دفع رسوم لتلك الدورات. APS لن تتقاضى رسومًا لدورات التقوية الصيفية المقدمة كجزء من برنامج المدرسة الصيفية لعام 2021. تفاصيل إضافية متاحة على الإنترنت.


الطلاب يضعون العملات المعدنية في جرة التوفير

5. Nottingham Knights أرجعوا إلى A-SPAN

في الأسبوع الماضي ، شجع الطلاب في Nottingham SCA جميع الفرسان على التبرع بقطع الغيار لحدث Jar Wars السنوي. جمع الطلاب أكثر من 153 دولارًا أمريكيًا لـ A-SPAN لمساعدة أحد أفراد المجتمع المتضررين من المرض وفقدان الوظيفة أثناء الوباء. انضمت رئيسة A-SPAN Betsy Frantz إلى الطلاب ورعاة SCA ، مدرسي الصف الثالث Shannon Brandt و Kate Gallagher ، لتلقي التبرع تقريبًا. وشكرتهم باقتباس: "لا تشك أبدًا في أن مجموعة صغيرة من المواطنين المفكرين والملتزمين يمكنهم تغيير العالم". مجد لطلاب الصف الخامس الذين جمعوا أكبر قدر من المال ، ولكل الفرسان!


أخبار وملاحظات أخرى

APS الجمعة 5 في 16 أبريل 2021

Friday5

إجراءات اختيار الأسرة

 

 

 

 

 


1. تبدأ عملية اختيار الطلاب والأسرة للعام الدراسي 2021-22 يوم الاثنين

يوم الاثنين، APS ستطلق عملية اختيار الطلاب / الأسرة لمدة أسبوعين في ParentVUE. سيُطلب من العائلات تحديد نموذج - التعلم الشخصي بدوام كامل أو التعلم عن بعد بدوام كامل - لكل طالب للعام الدراسي 2021-22 بحلول الجمعة ، 30 أبريل. تطلب عملية الاختيار أيضًا من العائلات تقديم معلومات بشأن النقل وخدمات اليوم الممتد. هذه المعلومات مهمة للتخطيط والتوظيف والجدولة لبداية قوية في خريف 2021. سيتم تقديم تفاصيل حول الاختيارات التعليمية والخدمات يوم الاثنين عندما تفتح عملية الاختيار. ابقوا متابعين!


المدرسة الصيفية

 

 

 

 


2. مواعيد ومعلومات مهمة عن المدرسة الصيفية

تبدأ المدرسة الصيفية في 6 يوليو للطلاب المؤهلين. المعلومات المحدثة على موقعنا تشمل الأوقات والمواقع ، بالإضافة إلى معلومات عن الرسوم ، وخدمة الطعام ، والنقل ، والأهلية في تعزيز البرامج. تعلم المزيد عن المدرسة الصيفية.


اختبار الحمى

 

 

 

 

 

 


3. نماذج الموافقة على اختبار COVID-19 في APS المواقع

ابتداء من يوم الاثنين ، APS سيوفر اختبارًا مجانيًا بعد ساعات الدوام المدرسي للطلاب والموظفين الذين تظهر عليهم الأعراض ، أو الذين تعرضوا لـ COVID-19. تقع مواقع الاختبار في Glebe Elementary و Kenmore Middle و Wakefield High School. ستكون موافقة ولي الأمر / الوصي مطلوبة قبل اختبار الطالب ، عبر النماذج الموجودة في APS موقع الكتروني.


مؤتمر الرؤية

 

 

 

4. الثلاثاء 20 أبريل: مؤتمر NOVA Vision للطلاب ذوي الإعاقة

APS وكلية Northern Virginia Community College (NOVA) تقدم فرصة للطلاب الحاصلين على IEPs أو 504 Plans للتعرف على أماكن الإقامة في الكلية. سيتضمن المؤتمر الافتراضي عرضًا تقديميًا من NOVA Disability Services ، ولوحة طلابية ، وجلسة أسئلة وأجوبة لأولياء الأمور. التسجيل للطلاب وأولياء الأمور / أولياء الأمور على شبكة الإنترنت.


مجموعة عمل SRO

 

 

 

 

 


5. الاثنين ، 26 أبريل: جلسة المشاركة المجتمعية لمجموعة عمل SRO

إن APS سوف تستضيف مجموعة عمل مسئول الموارد المدرسية (SRO) أ الجلسة الثانية للمشاركة المجتمعية الافتراضية في يوم الاثنين ، 26 أبريل ، الساعة 6:30 مساءً ، ستكون الجلسة فرصة للمجتمع لتقديم ملاحظات وتوصيات حول العلاقة بينهما APS وقسم شرطة مقاطعة أرلينغتون. يجب على الأفراد المهتمين بتقديم تعليقات عامة أثناء جلسة مشاركة المجتمع إكمال نموذج طلب المتحدث بحلول يوم الجمعة 23 أبريل الساعة 12 ظهرًا سيتم دفق الجلسة يعيش على الإنترنت.


أخبار وملاحظات أخرى

APS يحصل الطلاب على مرتبة الشرف في معرض ولاية فرجينيا للعلوم والهندسة

معلومات عن التخرج والترقيات 2021

ساعات العمل المفتوحة لرئيسة مجلس إدارة المدرسة مونيك أوجرادي

APS لوحة القيادة COVID-19

أخذ اللقاح!

تمت أرشفة يوم الجمعة 5 الآن على APS موقع الكتروني

APS الجمعة 5 في 9 أبريل 2021

Friday5

اختبار الحمى

 

 

 

 

 

 


1. APS لتوفير اختبار COVID-19 مجانًا في ثلاثة مواقع مدرسية

اعتبارًا من 19 أبريل APS سيقدم اختبار COVID-19 مجانًا للطلاب والموظفين الذين تظهر عليهم الأعراض ، أو الذين تعرضوا لـ COVID-19 ، بالشراكة مع ResourcePath. وستكون مواقع الاختبار التجريبي في مدرسة جليب الابتدائية ، ومدرسة كينمور الوسطى ، ومدرسة ويكفيلد الثانوية. سيساعد الموظفون المدربون في اختبار مسحة الأنف باستخدام اختبار RT-PCR. تفاصيل إضافية حول برنامج الاختبار و ResourcePath متوفرة على الانترنت.


معرض الوظائف

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. معرض الاستكشاف الوظيفي الافتراضي للطلاب

هل لديك طالب مهتم باستكشاف المجالات المطلوبة مثل الأمن السيبراني؟ هل يحتاجون إلى مساعدة في سيرتهم الذاتية أم يحتاجون إلى نصائح للمقابلة؟ في هذا المعرض الافتراضي لاستكشاف المهنة الذي يستضيفه بشكل مشترك APS و FCPS ، سيتمكن طلاب المدارس الثانوية من التواصل مع أكثر من 100 متخصص في الصناعة المحلية من المجالات المهنية المطلوبة. يقام المعرض الافتراضي في الفترة من 19 إلى 30 أبريل. إضافي التفاصيل ومعلومات التسجيل متوفرة على موقع مركز الوظائف.


جائزة NAMM

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. APS برنامج الموسيقى يكتسب الاعتراف الوطني

للسنة الخامسة على التوالي ، APS تم تكريمها بـ "أفضل المجتمعات لتعليم الموسيقى" من مؤسسة NAMM لالتزامها المتميز بتعليم الموسيقى. هذه الجائزة تقديرية APS كشركة رائدة في توفير الوصول إلى الموسيقى المثالية وفرص التعليم لجميع الطلاب. تعلم المزيد على الإنترنت.


ميزانية

 

 

 

 

4. مجلس إدارة المدرسة يعتمد الميزانية المقترحة للسنة المالية 2022

تبنى مجلس إدارة المدرسة الميزانية المقترحة للسنة المالية 22 والتي يبلغ مجموعها 699,919,805،8،22 دولارًا أمريكيًا في اجتماع 6.7 أبريل. قام مجلس المدرسة بتعديل الميزانية المقترحة المنقحة للسنة المالية 2 للمشرف عن طريق خفض النفقات المدرجة في الميزانية بمقدار 29 مليون دولار واستبدال XNUMX ٪ من تكلفة تعديل المعيشة بنماذج تعويض مختلفة حسب مقياس الموظف لضمان حصول كل موظف في قسم المدرسة على زيادة في التعويض. ستكون هناك جلسة استماع عامة حول الميزانية المقترحة لمجلس إدارة المدرسة في XNUMX أبريل. قم بزيارة موقعنا على الإنترنت لقراءة المزيد عن ميزانية مجلس إدارة المدرسة المقترحة للسنة المالية 22 وملخصًا لاجتماع مجلس إدارة المدرسة في 8 أبريل.


شكراً لك

 

 

 

 

5. "شكرا APS الأبطال "الموعد النهائي يقترب  

هناك APS مدرس أو موظف تود أن تشكره؟ APS يتم تكريم جميع المعلمين ودعم الموظفين لمساهماتهم في دعم الطلاب طوال هذا العام الدراسي الوبائي. اصنع مقطع فيديو قصيرًا أو سجل رسالة أو ارسم صورة أو غنّ أغنية وسننشرها على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي في شهر مايو APS شهر تقدير الموظف. قم بتحميل عمليات الإرسال الخاصة بك بحلول 15 أبريل.


أخبار وملاحظات أخرى

APS الجمعة 5 في 26 مارس 2021

FridayFive Logo - عطلة الربيع


هنا يأتي فصل الربيع أزهار النرجس مقابل السماء الزرقاء

1. ها هي عطلة الربيع

عطلة الربيع هي 29 مارس - 2 أبريل. APS تتمنى لجميع الطلاب والأسر والموظفين أسبوعًا آمنًا. يرجى ممارسة احتياطات الصحة والسلامة أثناء الاستراحة ومراجعة إرشادات السفر من VDH و CDC. شكرا لجميع العائلات التي وضعت ثقتك في APS وساعد في جعل عمليات العودة الشخصية ناجحة وآمنة. نواصل العمل لتوسيع الفرص الشخصية للطلاب الإضافيين حسب ما تسمح به السعة ، مع الحفاظ على السلامة في المقدمة. بالنسبة لأولئك الذين يواصلون التعلم عن بعد بدوام كامل ، فإننا لا نزال ملتزمين بخدمة احتياجاتك.


الفتاة ذات القناع تقدم إبهامها لأعلى

2. الرد على المبادئ التوجيهية المحدثة للمسافة بين مراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها

خلال 25 مارس اجتماع مجلس إدارة المدرسة، قدم المشرف تحديثًا عن العمل الجاري لقبول طلاب إضافيين للحصول على تعليم مختلط / شخصي بناءً على تحديث توجيه مسافة CDC. تتصل المدارس بالعائلات على قوائم الانتظار للحصول على إرشادات شخصية ، بناءً على السعة وإرشادات التباعد. سيتم إعطاء الأولوية لمتعلمي اللغة الإنجليزية وطلاب التربية الخاصة والطلاب الذين يعانون من التعلم عن بعد. يجب على العائلات المهتمة في أن يبدأ الطالب (الطلاب) في الإبلاغ شخصيًا الاتصال بمدرستك. APS تستعد لإعادة فتح جدول زمني مدته خمسة أيام للمدرسة الصيفية والسنة الدراسية 2021-22. شاهد عرض المشرف.


شعار الوجبات المدرسية لجميع الطلاب

3. توزيع وجبات العطلة الربيعية

يمكن للعائلات الحصول على خمسة أيام من الوجبات في الثلاثاء 30 مارس في المواقع الـ 11 التالية: أبينجدون وباريت وباركروفت وكامبل ودرو وجونستون وهوفمان بوسطن وكي وسوانسون وواشنطن ليبرتي ويوركتاون. يمكن للوالدين وأولياء الأمور التقاط وجبات للأطفال بين الساعة 11 صباحًا وحتى 1 ظهرًا خدمة الوجبات العادية سوف تستأنف في 5 أبريل.


APS شعار المدرسة الصيفية

4. تحديث المدرسة الصيفية لتوفير خيارات شخصية وافتراضية كاملة

بسبب التحديث الأخير لتوصيات التباعد الاجتماعي للطلاب في المدارس ، APS سيتم التحول من نموذج مجموعة المدارس الصيفية الذي تم الإعلان عنه في 19 مارس إلى نموذج يكون للطلاب فيه خيار إما المشاركة في نموذج شخصي كامل أو في نموذج التعلم عن بعد الكامل لبرنامج التعزيز الصيفي. تفاصيل إضافية متاحة على الإنترنت.


طالب في الفصل عبر الإنترنت

5. طلاب المركز الوظيفي - خارج هذا العالم!

اليس رائعآ! تم عرض Sam Watchman ، طالب الصف التاسع في Arlington Tech ، في مدونة المرصد الوطني لعلم الفلك الراديوي بالنسبة لجهاز استقبال راديو ، قام ببنائه في الفناء الخلفي لمنزله من أجل مشروع science fair. باستخدام تلسكوبه الراديوي ، نظر واتشمان في إشارة خط الهيدروجين في أجزاء مختلفة من السماء مفترضًا أن الأبراج الموجودة على مستوى مجرة ​​درب التبانة سيكون لها مستويات إشارة أعلى من تلك التي ليست على مستوى المجرة ، وقد تم دعم هذه الفرضية الصف التاسع في أرلينغتون تك التقى أنانيا سينها بمؤسس مشروع القطب الشمالي للجليد الدكتور ليزلي فيلد حول تغير المناخ. نظرًا لإعجابها بمشروع سينه للأبحاث والعلوم ، تستخدم الدكتورة فيلد إجراءاتها للمناقشة في السنة الثالثة YCAS (قمة العمل المناخي للشباب) التي حضرها أكثر من 1,000 شخص.


أخبار وملاحظات أخرى

سيكون يوم الجمعة 5 في عطلة الربيع وسيتم نشره يوم الجمعة 9 أبريل. استمتع بعطلة ربيعية رائعة!

APS الجمعة 5 في 19 مارس 2021

Friday5


قاعة الدراسة

1. تحديث على إرشادات المباعدة CDC

اليوم ، قامت المراكز الأمريكية لمكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها (CDC) بتحديث توجيه للسماح بمسافة 3 أقدام لطلاب المرحلة الابتدائية ، مع استخدام قناع عالمي. هذه خطوة مشجعة APS خطط لخمسة أيام ، وجداول زمنية شخصية هذا الخريف. APS يقوم بمراجعة الإرشادات لتحديد كيفية تأثير التغييرات على قدرتنا على خدمة طلاب إضافيين شخصيًا وتحسين النقل في العام الدراسي الحالي. سيتم تقديم تحديث في اجتماع مجلس إدارة المدرسة في 25 مارس. المنقحة إرشادات CDC يحدد الظروف التي يجب أن يكون فيها طلاب المدارس الإعدادية والثانوية على مسافة 3 أو 6 أقدام بناءً على مستويات انتقال المجتمع. كما يحدد الظروف الأخرى التي يجب فيها الحفاظ على مسافات 6 أقدام ، بما في ذلك في جميع الأوقات بين البالغين (المعلمين والموظفين) والطلاب ، عند تناول الطعام ، وفي المناطق المشتركة.


لا مكان للكراهية

2. APS الاستجابة للأحداث الأخيرة ودعم مجتمعنا الأمريكي الآسيوي

تدين مدارس أرلينغتون العامة العنصرية وجميع أشكال التعبير عن الكراهية والتحيز والتمييز. تُعد عمليات إطلاق النار المروعة في أتلانتا في وقت سابق من هذا الأسبوع تذكيرًا مأساويًا بزيادة الهجمات العنيفة وخطاب الكراهية والتمييز الذي يستهدف الأمريكيين الآسيويين وسكان جزر المحيط الهادئ منذ بداية جائحة COVID-19. نحن نحزن مع أسر ضحايا إطلاق النار في أتلانتا في 16 مارس ونشارك جميع الذين يقفون ضد الكراهية والتمييز حزنهم. اقرأ البيان الكامل هنا.


إظهار شعار الشكر الخاص بك

3. شكرا لك APS الأبطال!

خلال الوباء ، APS عمل موظفونا على مدار الساعة للمساعدة في دعم طلابنا وعائلاتنا. هم أبطال حقيقيون في APS تواصل اجتماعي. انضم إلينا في قول شكرا لك! توقف لحظة لمشاركة قصتك الشخصية حول APS المعلم أو موظف الدعم بحلول 15 أبريل. أرسل رسائل فيديو أو صورًا أو أشعارًا أو رسائل أو أغانٍ أو أي تعبير آخر عن التقدير. سنقوم برعاية الرسائل ومشاركة النقاط البارزة على موقعنا على الويب وقنوات التواصل الاجتماعي في مايو حيث نحتفل بمعلمينا وموظفينا وكل ما يفعلونه. التفاصيل حول كيفية التقديم متوفرة على الإنترنت.


شعار شهر تاريخ المرأة

4. APS تحتفل بشهر تاريخ المرأة

هذا العام، APS احتفلت بشهر تاريخ المرأة من خلال تسليط الضوء على القيادة الرائعة لمديري المدارس ومساعدي مديري المدارس. APS يشرفنا أن تتاح لي الفرصة للتعرف على هؤلاء النساء لتفانيهن والتزامهن به APS الطلاب وعائلاتهم. سألناهم أسئلة وكانت ردودهم ملهمة. زيارة موقعنا على الانترنت للقراءة عن النساء اللواتي تم إبرازهن والإضافات APS المدراء والمديرين المساعدين الذين ستتم إضافتهم إلى صفحة الويب على مدار الشهر. انضم إلينا على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي باستخدام #APSتاريخ المرأة


شعار الوجبات المدرسية لجميع الطلاب

5. جدول الوجبات الربيعية وتحديث على بطاقات P-EBT

APS ستوفر خدمة وجبة عطلة الربيع لضمان حصول الطلاب على وجبات الطعام أثناء استراحة المدرسة. سيتم تقديم وجبات الطعام لمدة ثلاثة أيام يوم الجمعة 26 مارس في جميع المواقع الحالية. سيتم توزيع خمس وجبات يوم الثلاثاء 30 مارس في 11 موقعًا: أبينجدون وباريت وباركروفت وكامبل ودرو وجونستون وهوفمان بوسطن وكي وسوانسون وواشنطن ليبرتي ويوركتاون. يمكن للوالدين وأولياء الأمور استلام وجبات الأطفال بين الساعة 11 صباحًا و 1 ظهرًا ، وستستأنف خدمة الوجبات العادية في 5 أبريل.

تحديث P-EBTالطلاب الذين يلتحقون بالمدارس العامة بنسبة 100٪ تقريبًا والطلاب الملتحقين بالمدارس العامة وفقًا لنموذج هجين (مزيج من التدريس داخل المدرسة والتعليم الافتراضي) مؤهلون لتلقي P-EBT. سيستمر إصدار مزايا P-EBT حتى نهاية العام الدراسي 2020-21. تم تحميل مزايا جديدة على بطاقات P-EBT في 17 مارس.


أخبار وملاحظات أخرى


 

APS يتم إرسال الجمعة الخامسة عبر حديث المدرسة لجميع الآباء والموظفين وأفراد المجتمع الذين سجلوا لتلقي APS School Talk.

APS Friday 5 Archive

Friday5

APS sends the “APS Friday Five” each Friday to update the community on important news, events and highlights across the division.

APS Friday 5 for April 23, 2021

Friday5

school year 2021-22

RESPOND BY APRIL 30: Family Selection Process for 2021-22 School Year

APS is asking all families to choose by May 3 [edit: originally April 30] between two instructional models for the upcoming school year: full-time in-person instruction five days per week or a separate K-12 Distance Learning Program five days per week.

  • The K-12 Distance Learning Program is different than the current distance learning model. Students are in a separate program with a dedicated administrator and staff and maintain connection to their school of record for reporting, school counseling and extracurricular activities. The curriculum, pacing and school day schedules are aligned with in-person school.
  • The in-person option includes five days in the classroom at the student’s school of record with a teacher present and following normal bell schedules and normal start/end times.
  • Lunch and school day activities will be conducted in accordance with CDC and VDH guidance, with COVID-19 mitigation measures to protect the health and safety of students and staff.

For information on the ParentVUE process and instructional choices, and for FAQ, visit our website.


teacher wearing mask in classroom

1. APS PreK Students Move to Four Days In Person Per Week Starting May 3

APS continues to expand in-person learning. At last night’s School Board meeting, the Superintendent announced that all PreK students in the hybrid model will shift to four days per week starting the week of May 3. APS has been providing four days of in-person learning for students enrolled in Countywide Special Education Programs since November. The Superintendent reiterated ongoing work by Facilities and schools to maximize capacity with 3-foot distancing to serve as many students in person as possible this school year and noted that nearly 1,000 students have been admitted off of waitlists for hybrid instruction in April so far. View the presentation from last night’s meeting. Enrollment in each model and latest waitlist information is updated regularly online.


COVID-19 Testing graphic

2. APS is First in the State to Open Free COVID-Testing Sites at Schools

Walk-up COVID-19 testing sites are now open at Glebe, Kenmore and Wakefield for students and staff who are symptomatic or have had close contact with a person with COVID-19. The testing is after school hours only, from 3:30-7:30 p.m., Monday-Friday, and Saturdays at Kenmore only, 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Consent must be completed beforehand, using the consent forms available on the APS website.


RISE logo

3. APS Announces Partnership with the AAKOMA Project & RISE to Win Organization

APS is partnering with the AAKOMA Project and the RISE to Win organization. The AAKOMA project will provide mental health supports for students on the Wakefield Football Team and training for school counselors across the school division to provide culturally relevant supports to students who experience racial trauma. The RISE to Win organization will provide training to equip students, athletes, coaches, and administrators with the tools to be culturally competent, effective advocates for racial equity, and leaders in addressing racism, diversity, and inclusion. Both partnerships align with the APS Strategic Plan Student Well-Being Goal to provide students with healthy, safe, and supportive environments. More information about the APS response to the March 5 incident is available on Engage.


APS Summer School logo

4. Update on Summer School Fees

Last week, we incorrectly informed families that students taking summer school strengthening courses would be required to pay a fee for those courses. APS will not charge fees for summer strengthening courses offered as part of the 2021 summer school program. Additional details are available online.


Students putting coins into savings jar

5. Nottingham Knights Give Back to A-SPAN

Last week, students in the Nottingham SCA encouraged all Knights to donate spare change for their annual Jar Wars event. The students raised over $153 for A-SPAN to help a community member affected by illness and job loss during the pandemic. A-SPAN President Betsy Frantz joined the students and their SCA sponsors, 3rd grade teachers Shannon Brandt and Kate Gallagher, virtually to receive the donation. She thanked them with a quote: “Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world.” Kudos to the fifth grade students who raised the most money, and to all the Knights!


Other News & Notes

APS Friday 5 for April 16, 2021

Friday5

Family Selection Proces

 

 

 

 

 


1. Student and Family Selection Process for the 2021-22 School Year Opens on Monday

On Monday, APS will launch a two-week student/family selection process in ParentVUE. Families will be asked to select a model—full-time in-person learning or full-time distance learning—for each student for the 2021-22 school year by Fri, April 30. The selection process also asks families to provide information regarding Transportation and Extended Day services. This information is important for planning, staffing and scheduling for a strong start in fall 2021. Details on the instructional choices and services will be provided on Monday when the selection process opens. Stay tuned!


Summer School

 

 

 

 


2. Important Summer School Dates and Information

Summer School begins July 6 for eligible students. Information updated on our website includes times and locations, as well as information on fees, food service, transportation, and eligibility in strengthening programs. Learn more about summer school.


Covid Testing

 

 

 

 

 

 


3. Consent Forms for COVID-19 Testing at APS Sites

Beginning Monday, APS will provide free testing after school hours for students and staff who are symptomatic, or who have been exposed to COVID-19. Walk-up testing sites are located at Glebe Elementary, Kenmore Middle and Wakefield High School. Parent/guardian consent will be required in advance of student testing, via forms on the APS website.


Vision Conference

 

 

 

4. Tues, April 20: NOVA Vision Conference for Students with Disabilities

APS and Northern Virginia Community College (NOVA) are offering an opportunity for students with with IEPs or 504 Plans to learn about accommodations in college. The virtual conference will include a presentation from NOVA Disability Services, a student panel, and a parent Q&A session. Registration for students and parents/guardians is available online.


SRO Work Group

 

 

 

 

 


5. Mon, April 26: SRO Work Group Community Engagement Session

The APS School Resource Officer (SRO) Work Group will host a second virtual community engagement session on Mon, April 26 at 6:30 p.m. The session will be an opportunity for the community to provide feedback and recommendations on the relationship between APS and the Arlington County Police Department. Individuals interested in providing public comment during the community engagement session should complete the Speaker Request Form by Friday, April 23 at 12 p.m. The session will be streamed live online.


Other News & Notes

APS Students Earn Honors at Virginia State Science and Engineering Fair

Information about 2021 Graduations and Promotions

Open Office Hours for School Board Chair Monique O’Grady

APS COVID-19 Dashboard

Get Vaccinated!

The Friday 5 is now archived on the APS website

APS Friday 5 for April 9, 2021

Friday5

Covid testing

 

 

 

 

 

 


1. APS to Provide Free COVID-19 Testing at Three School Sites

Beginning April 19, APS will provide free COVID-19 testing for students and staff who are symptomatic, or who have been exposed to COVID-19, in partnership with ResourcePath. Walk-up testing sites will be located at Glebe Elementary, Kenmore Middle and Wakefield High School. Trained staff will assist in mid-nasal swab testing using the RT-PCR test. Additional details about the testing program and ResourcePath are available online.


Career Fair

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Virtual Career Exploration Fair for Students

Do you have a student who is interested in exploring in-demand fields like cybersecurity? Do they need help with their resume or need interview tips? In this virtual career exploration fair hosted jointly by APS and FCPS, high school students will be able to connect with over 100 local industry professionals from in-demand career fields. The virtual fair takes place from April 19-30. Additional details and registration information are available on the Career Center website.


NAMM Award

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. APS Music Program Earns National Recognition

For the fifth consecutive year, APS has been honored with the “Best Communities for Music Education” designation from The NAMM Foundation for its outstanding commitment to music education. This award recognizes APS as leader in providing access to exemplary music and education opportunities for all students. Learn more online.


Budget

 

 

 

 

4. School Board Adopts Proposed FY 2022 Budget

The School Board adopted its FY22 Proposed Budget totaling $699,919,805 at its April 8 meeting. The School Board amended the Superintendent’s FY22 Revised Proposed Budget by reducing the budgeted expenditures by $6.7 million and replacing the 2% cost of living adjustment with different compensation models by employee scale to ensure that every employee in the school division receives a compensation increase. There will be a Public Hearing on the School Board’s Proposed Budget on April 29. Visit our website to read more on the School Board’s proposed FY22 budget and a summary of the April 8 School Board meeting.


Thank you

 

 

 

 

5. “Thank APS Heroes” Deadline Approaching  

Is there an APS teacher or employee you’d like to thank? APS is honoring all teachers and support employees for their contributions to supporting students throughout this pandemic school year. Make a short video, record a message, draw a picture or sing a song and we will post them on social media in May for APS Employee Appreciation Month. Upload your submissions by April 15.


Other News and Notes

APS Friday 5 for March 26, 2021

FridayFive logo - spring break


Here comes Spring Break daffodils against blue sky

1. Spring Break is Here

Spring break is March 29-April 2. APS wishes all students, families, and staff a safe week. Please practice health and safety precautions while on break and review the travel guidance from VDH and CDC. Thank you to all the families who placed your trust in APS and helped to make in-person returns successful and safe. We continue to work to expand in-person opportunities to additional students as capacity allows, while keeping safety at the forefront. For those who continue in full-time distance learning, we remain committed to serving your needs.


girl with mask giving thumbs up

2. Response to Updated CDC Distancing Guidelines

During the March 25 School Board meeting, the Superintendent provided an update on work underway to admit additional students for hybrid/in-person instruction based on updated CDC distancing guidance. Schools are contacting families on waitlists for in-person instruction, based on capacity and distancing guidelines. English learners, special education students, and students struggling with distance learning will be given priority. Families interested in having your student(s) begin reporting in-person should contact your school. APS is preparing to reopen with five-day schedules for summer school and the 2021-22 school year. Watch the Superintendent’s presentation.


School Meals for all Students logo

3. Spring Break Meals Distribution

Families can pick up five days of meals on Tue, March 30 at the following 11 locations: Abingdon, Barrett, Barcroft, Campbell, Drew, Gunston, Hoffman-Boston, Key, Swanson, Washington-Liberty and Yorktown. Parents and guardians may pick up meals for children between 11 a.m.-1 p.m. Regular meal service will resume on April 5.


APS summer school logo

4. Summer School Updated to Provide Full In-Person and Virtual Options

Due to the recent update on social distancing recommendations for students in schools, APS will be shifting from the summer school cohort model announced on March 19 to a model in which students will have a choice to either participate in a full in-person model or in a full distance learning model for the summer strengthening program. Additional details are available online.


careercenterstudent in online class

5. Career Center Students—Out of this World!

How cool! Arlington Tech 9th grader Sam Watchman is featured in the National Radio Astronomy Observatory blog for a radio receiver he built in his backyard for a science fair project. Using his radio telescope, Watchman looked at the hydrogen line signal in various parts of the sky hypothesizing constellations that are on the plane of the Milky Way galaxy would have higher signal levels than ones that are not on the galactic plane, and this hypothesis was supported.Arlington Tech 9th grader Ananya Sinha met with Arctic Ice Project founder Dr. Leslie Field about Climate Change. Impressed by Sinh’s research and science fair project, Dr. Field is using her procedures for a discussion at the 3rd Annual YCAS (Youth Climate Action Summit) which has over 1,000 attendees.


Other News & Notes

The Friday 5 will be on Spring Break and will be published on Fri, April 9. Have a great Spring Break!

APS Friday 5 for March 19, 2021

Friday5


classroom

1. Update on CDC Distancing Guidelines

Today, the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) updated its guidance to permit for 3 feet of distancing for elementary students, with universal mask use. This is an encouraging step, as APS plans for five-day, in-person schedules this fall. APS is reviewing the guidance to determine how the changes may impact our ability to serve additional students in person and improve transportation in the current school year. An update will be provided at the March 25 School Board meeting. The revised CDC Guidance identifies conditions in which middle and high school students should be 3 or 6 feet apart based on levels of community transmission. It also outlines other circumstances when 6-foot distances should be maintained, including at all times between adults (teachers and staff) and students, when eating, and in common areas.


No Place for Hate

2. APS Response to Recent Events and Support for our Asian American Community

Arlington Public Schools condemns racism and all expressions of hate, bias and discrimination. The horrific shootings in Atlanta earlier this week are a tragic reminder of the increase in violent attacks, hate speech and discrimination targeting Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic. We grieve with the families of the victims of the shootings in Atlanta on March 16 and share the sorrow of all who stand against hate and discrimination. Read the full statement here.


Show Your Thanks logo

3. Thank Your APS Heroes!

During the pandemic, APS employees have worked around the clock to help support our students and families. They are true heroes in the APS community. Join us in saying thank you! Take a moment to share your personal story about an APS teacher or support employee by April 15. Send video messages, photos, poems, letters, songs, or any other expression of appreciation. We will curate the messages and share highlights on our website and social media channels in May as we celebrate our teachers and support employees and all they do. Details on how to submit are available online.


womens history month logo

4. APS Celebrates Women’s History Month

This year, APS has celebrated Women’s History Month by highlighting the leadership of amazing principals and assistant principals. APS is honored to have the opportunity to recognize these women for their dedication and commitment to APS students and their families. We asked them a questions and their responses were inspiring. Visit our website to read about the women highlighted and the additional APS principals and assistant principals that will be added to the webpage throughout the month. Join us on social media using #APSWomensHistory


School Meals for all Students logo

5. Spring Break Meal Schedule and Update on P-EBT Cards

APS will provide spring break meal service to ensure students have access to meals while school is on break. Three days of meals will be provided on Fri, March 26 at all current locations. Five meals will be distributed on Tue, March 30 at 11 locations: Abingdon, Barrett, Barcroft, Campbell, Drew, Gunston, Hoffman-Boston, Key, Swanson, Washington-Liberty and Yorktown. Parents and guardians may pick up meals for children between 11 a.m.-1 p.m. Regular meal service will resume on April 5.

P-EBT UpdateStudents who attend public school 100% virtually AND students attending public school under a hybrid model (a combination of in-school and virtual instruction) are eligible to receive P-EBT. The release of P-EBT benefits will continue through the end of the 2020-21 school year. New benefits were loaded on P-EBT cards on March 17.


Other News & Notes


 

APS Friday Five is sent via School Talk to all parents and staff, and community members who have signed up to receive APS School Talk.