APS 星期五5存档

Friday5

APS 发送“APS 每个星期五的“星期五五”,以向社区更新该部门的重要新闻,事件和亮点。

APS 5年23月2021日,星期五XNUMX

Friday5

2021-22学年

30月2021日回复:22-XNUMX学年的家庭选择过程

APS 要求所有家庭选择 到3月XNUMX日 [编辑:最初是30月XNUMX日]在即将到来的学年的两个教学模型之间: 专职面对面的指导 每周五天或单独 K-12远程学习计划 每周五天。

  • K-12远程学习计划与当前的远程学习模型不同。 学生在 单独的程序 与专门的管理人员和工作人员保持联系,并与其记录学校保持联系,以进行报告,学校咨询和课外活动。 课程,节奏和上课日程与面对面的学校保持一致。
  • 面对面的选项包括在学生的记录学校的教室里有五天的时间,老师在场并随后 正常的响铃时间表和正常的开始/结束时间.
  • 午餐和上课日活动将按照CDC和VDH的指导进行,并采用COVID-19缓解措施来保护学生和教职工的健康与安全。

有关的信息 ParentVUE 过程和教学选择,以及常见问题解答,请访问我们的网站。


老师在教室里戴口罩

1. APS 从3月XNUMX日开始,学前班学生每周要有四天亲临现场

APS 继续扩大面对面的学习。 在昨晚的学校董事会会议上,学区总监宣布,从3月XNUMX日起,所有采用混合模式的PreK学生将改为每周四天。 APS 自3月以来,已经为注册全县特殊教育计划的学生提供了为期四天的面对面学习。 院长重申了设施和学校正在进行的工作,即通过1,000英尺的距离扩大能力,以在本学年尽可能多地亲自为学生服务,并指出,到目前为止,截至XNUMX月,已有近XNUMX名学生被从混合教学的候补名单中录取。 查看昨晚会议上的演示文稿. 每种型号的注册情况和最新的候补名单信息 定期在线更新。


COVID-19测试图

2. APS 在该州率先在学校开设免费的COVID测试站点

在Glebe,Kenmore和Wakefield开设了开放式COVID-19测试站点,供有症状或与COVID-19病人有密切联系的学生和教职员工使用。 该测试仅在课余时间进行,从周一至周五的3:30-7:30 pm(星期一至星期五)和星期六,仅在Kenmore,上午9点至下午5:XNUMX。 APS 网站。


RISE徽标

3. APS 宣布与AAKOMA项目和RISE合作赢得组织

APS 与AAKOMA项目和RISE to Win组织合作。 AAKOMA项目将为Wakefield足球队的学生提供心理健康支持,并为整个学校部门的学校辅导员提供培训,从而为遭受种族创伤的学生提供与文化相关的支持。 RISE致胜组织将为学生,运动员,教练和管理人员提供培训,使其具备在文化上胜任能力,有效促进种族平等的倡导者以及解决种族主义,多样性和包容性的领导者的工具。 两种伙伴关系都与 APS 战略计划学生福祉目标旨在为学生提供健康,安全和支持性的环境。 有关的更多信息 APS Engage上提供了对5月XNUMX日事件的响应。


APS 暑期学校徽标

4.暑期学校学费的更新

上周,我们错误地告知家庭,参加暑期学校强化课程的学生将需要为这些课程付费。 APS 将不会收取2021年暑期学校计划中提供的暑期强化课程费用。 其他详细信息可在线获得。


学生将硬币放入储蓄罐

5.诺丁汉骑士回馈A-SPAN

上周,诺丁汉SCA的学生鼓励所有骑士为他们的年度Jar Wars活动捐赠零钱。 这些学生为A-SPAN筹集了超过153美元,以帮助在大流行期间受到疾病和失业影响的社区成员。 A-SPAN总裁Betsy Frantz加入了学生及其SCA赞助商,三年级老师Shannon Brandt和Kate Gallagher,实际上是接受了捐赠。 她用语录感谢他们:“永远不要怀疑一小撮有思想,有奉献精神的公民可以改变世界。” 感谢筹集最多资金的五年级学生,以及所有骑士!


其他新闻和笔记

APS 5年16月2021日,星期五XNUMX

Friday5

家庭选择程序

 

 

 

 

 


1. 2021-22学年的学生和家庭选择流程于周一开放

周一, APS 将在美国启动为期两周的学生/家庭选择过程 ParentVUE。 在2021月22日星期五之前,将要求家庭为每个学生选择30-2021学年的全日制面对面学习或全日制远程学习的模型。选择过程还要求各家庭提供有关交通运输的信息和扩展日服务。 这些信息对于规划,人员配备和安排XNUMX年秋季的良好开端非常重要,有关教学选择和服务的详细信息将在甄选过程开始时的星期一提供。 敬请关注!


暑期课程

 

 

 

 


2.重要的暑期学校日期和信息

暑期学校将于6月XNUMX日开始为合格的学生开放。 在我们的网站上更新的信息 包括时间和地点,以及有关费用,食品服务,运输和加强计划资格的信息。 了解更多关于暑期学校的信息.


Covid测试

 

 

 

 

 

 


3. COVID-19测试的同意书,网址为 APS 网站

从星期一开始, APS 课余时间将为有症状或接触过COVID-19的学生和教职员工提供免费测试。 步行测试站点位于Glebe小学,Kenmore中学和Wakefield高中。 在学生测试之前,需要通过家长表格上的表格获得家长/监护人的同意。 APS 官网.


视觉会议

 

 

 

4. 20月XNUMX日,星期二:NOVA为残障学生举办的视觉会议

APS 和北弗吉尼亚社区学院(NOVA)正在为拥有IEP或504计划的学生提供学习大学住宿的机会。 虚拟会议将包括NOVA Disability Services的演讲,学生小组和家长问答环节。 学生和父母/监护人的注册 可在网上。


SRO工作组

 

 

 

 

 


5. 26月XNUMX日,星期一:SRO工作组社区参与会议

热带地区的 APS 学校资源主任(SRO)工作组将主持一个 第二届虚拟社区参与会议 26月6日(星期一)下午30:XNUMX,本次会议将为社区提供一个机会,就社区之间的关系提供反馈和建议 APS 和阿灵顿县警察局。 有兴趣在社区参与会议期间提供公众意见的个人应完成 演讲者申请表 到23月12日,星期五,中午XNUMX点 会话将被流式传输 在线直播。


其他新闻和笔记

APS 学生在弗吉尼亚州科学与工程博览会上获得荣誉

有关2021年毕业和升迁的信息

学校董事会主席莫妮克·奥格雷迪(Monique O'Grady)的办公时间

APS COVID-19资讯主页

接种疫苗!

现在,星期五5已存档在 APS 官网

APS 5年9月2021日,星期五XNUMX

Friday5

Covid测试

 

 

 

 

 

 


1. APS 在三个学校站点提供免费的COVID-19测试

从19月XNUMX日开始, APS 与ResourcePath合作,将为有症状或接触过COVID-19的学生和员工提供免费的COVID-19测试。 步行测试站点将位于Glebe小学,Kenmore中学和Wakefield高中。 受过训练的人员将使用RT-PCR测试协助鼻中拭子测试。 有关的其他详细信息 测试程序和ResourcePath 可在网上。


招聘会

 

 

 

 

 

 

2.学生虚拟职业探索展

您是否有一个学生对探索诸如网络安全之类的需求领域感兴趣? 他们需要简历方面的帮助还是面试技巧? 在这个虚拟的职业探索博览会上,由 APS 通过FCPS和FCPS,高中生将能够与按需职业领域的100多位本地行业专业人士建立联系。 虚拟展览会于19月30日至XNUMX日举行。 额外的 提供详细信息和注册信息 在职业中心网站上。


NAMM奖

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. APS 音乐节目获得全国认可

连续第五年, APS 因其对音乐教育的杰出贡献而被NAMM基金会授予“最佳音乐教育社区”称号。 该奖项认可 APS 作为为所有学生提供典范音乐和教育机会的领导者。 在线了解更多.


预算

 

 

 

 

4.校务委员会通过拟议的2022财年预算

校务委员会在22月699,919,805日的会议上通过了8财年预算案,总额为22美元。 校董会修订了学监的6.7财年拟议预算,将预算支出减少了2万美元,并根据员工规模以不同的薪酬模型取代了29%的生活调整费用,以确保学校部门中的每个员工都能获得增加的薪酬。 XNUMX月XNUMX日,学校董事会的拟议预算将举行公开听证会。请访问我们的网站,以获取有关该计划的更多信息。 校务委员会的22财年建议预算和8月XNUMX日校务委员会会议的摘要.


谢谢

 

 

 

 

5.“谢谢 APS 英雄”截止日期临近  

是否有一个 APS 您要感谢老师或员工吗? APS 感谢所有老师和支持员工在整个大流行学年中为支持学生所做的贡献。 制作短片,记录消息,画图或唱歌,我们将在XNUMX月将它们发布在社交媒体上,以用于 APS 员工赞赏月。 在15月XNUMX日之前上传您的提交.


其他新闻和笔记

APS 5年26月2021日,星期五XNUMX

星期五五徽标-春假


春天的水仙花来了,映衬在蓝天下

1.春假来了

春假是29月2日至XNUMX月XNUMX日。 APS 祝所有学生,家庭和工作人员平安无事。 请在休息时练习健康和安全预防措施,并查看以下人员的旅行指南 录像机疾病预防控制中心。 感谢所有信任您的家庭 APS 并帮助使亲人退货获得成功和安全。 我们会继续努力,在能力允许的情况下,向更多学生提供面对面的机会,同时将安全放在首位。 对于那些继续进行全日制远程学习的人,我们将继续致力于满足您的需求。


戴着面具放弃拇指的女孩

2.对更新的CDC距离指南的回应

25月XNUMX日,学校董事会会议,学监提供了正在进行的工作的最新信息,以根据更新的信息招收其他学生进行混合/面对面教学 CDC疏导指南。 学校正在根据能力和距离指南与候补名单上的家庭联系,以进行面对面的指导。 英语学习者,特殊教育学生和在远程学习中苦苦挣扎的学生将被优先考虑。 有兴趣让您的学生开始当面举报的家庭应与您的学校联系。 APS 正在准备对暑期学校和2021-22学年的五天课程重新开放。 观看总监的演讲.


所有学生的校餐标志

3.春假用餐分配

家庭可以在30月11日星期二在以下11个地点用餐1天:阿宾登,巴雷特,巴克罗夫特,坎贝尔,德鲁,甘斯顿,霍夫曼-波士顿,基恩,斯旺森,华盛顿自由和约克敦。 父母和监护人可以在上午XNUMX点至下午XNUMX点之间为孩子们用餐。 定期用餐服务 将于5月XNUMX日恢复。


APS 暑期学校徽标

4.暑期学校已更新,可提供完整的个人和虚拟选项

由于最近针对学校学生的社会疏远建议的最新动态, APS 将从19月XNUMX日宣布的暑期班组模式转变为一种模式,学生可以选择参加完整的面对面模式或参加夏季强化计划的全程远程学习模式。 其他详细信息可在线获得.


在线课程的职业中心学生

5.职业中心学生-脱离这个世界!

挺酷的! 阿灵顿科技9年级学生Sam Watchman入选 国家射电天文台博客 他在后院为一个科学展览项目建造的无线电接收机。 守望者使用他的射电望远镜观察了天空各个部分的氢线信号,并假设银河系平面上的星座比银河系以外的星座具有更高的信号水平,这一假设得到了支持。 .Arlington Tech 9年级学生 阿南亚·辛哈(Ananya Sinha)会见了北极冰计划创始人莱斯利·菲尔德(Leslie Field)博士 关于气候变化。 辛博士的研究和科学展览项目给人留下了深刻的印象,菲尔德博士正在利用她的程序在 第三届YCAS (青年气候行动峰会)有1,000多名与会者。


其他新闻和笔记

星期五5将于春假,并将于9月XNUMX日星期五发布。祝您春假愉快!

APS 5年19月2021日,星期五XNUMX

Friday5


课堂

1. CDC指导原则更新

今天,美国疾病控制与预防中心(CDC)更新了其 指导 允许小学生3英尺的距离,并使用通用口罩。 这是一个令人鼓舞的步骤,因为 APS 计划在今年秋天进行为期XNUMX天的面试。 APS 正在审查该指南,以确定这些变化可能会如何影响我们在本学年为更多学生提供亲身服务和改善交通运输的能力。 25月XNUMX日的学校董事会会议上将提供更新。 修改后 CDC指导 根据社区传播水平,确定中高中学生相距3英尺或6英尺的条件。 它还概述了应保持6英尺距离的其他情况,包括在成人(教师和教职员工)与学生之间,在进食时以及在公共区域中始终保持的距离。


无处可恨

2. APS 对近期事件的回应和对我们亚裔社区的支持

阿灵顿公立学校谴责种族主义以及仇恨,偏见和歧视的一切表现。 本周早些时候在亚特兰大发生的恐怖枪击事件悲惨地提醒人们,自COVID-19大流行开始以来,针对亚裔美国人和太平洋岛民的暴力袭击,仇恨言论和歧视有所增加。 我们与16月XNUMX日在亚特兰大发生枪击事件的受害者的家属感到悲伤,并对所有反对仇恨和歧视的人感到悲伤。 阅读完整声明.


显示您的感谢徽标

3.谢谢你 APS 英雄!

在大流行期间 APS 员工全天候工作,以帮助支持我们的学生和家庭。 他们是世界上真正的英雄 APS 社区。 和我们一起说谢谢! 花一点时间分享您关于某人的故事 APS 教师或支持人员,请在15月XNUMX日之前发送视频消息,照片,诗歌,信件,歌曲或任何其他表示感谢的信息。 我们将在XNUMX月庆祝消息并分享重点信息,以庆祝我们的老师并支持员工及其所做的一切。 在线提交有关如何提交的详细信息.


妇女历史月徽标

4. APS 庆祝妇女历史月

这一年, APS 通过突出杰出校长和助理校长的领导力来庆祝妇女历史月。 APS 荣幸地有机会认识到这些妇女的奉献精神和对工作的承诺。 APS 学生及其家人。 我们问了他们一个问题,他们的反应令人鼓舞。 访问我们的网站 阅读有关突出显示的女性以及其他内容的信息 APS 校长和助理校长,将在整个月内添加到网页中。 使用以下方式加入我们的社交媒体 #APS女性历史


所有学生的校餐标志

5.春假用餐时间表和P-EBT卡更新

APS 将提供春假用餐服务,以确保学生在学校休息期间可以用餐。 26月30日,星期五,所有当前地点都将提供三天的用餐时间。 五餐将在11月11日星期二的1个地点分发:Abingdon,Barrett,Barcroft,Campbell,Drew,Gunston,Hoffman-Boston,Key,Swanson,Washington-Liberty和Yorktown。 父母和监护人可以在上午5点至下午XNUMX点之间为孩子们取餐,并于XNUMX月XNUMX日恢复常规餐点服务。

P-EBT更新混合模式(学校教学与虚拟教学的结合),以公立方式上学的学生达到100%,并以公立方式上学 有资格获得P-EBT。 P-EBT福利的发放将持续到2020-21学年结束。 17月XNUMX日,P-EBT卡上增加了新的优惠。


其他新闻和笔记


 

APS 星期五五通过发送 学校谈话 给所有已签名接收的父母和员工以及社区成员 APS School Talk.

APS Friday 5 Archive

Friday5

APS sends the “APS Friday Five” each Friday to update the community on important news, events and highlights across the division.

APS Friday 5 for April 23, 2021

Friday5

school year 2021-22

RESPOND BY APRIL 30: Family Selection Process for 2021-22 School Year

APS is asking all families to choose by May 3 [edit: originally April 30] between two instructional models for the upcoming school year: full-time in-person instruction five days per week or a separate K-12 Distance Learning Program five days per week.

  • The K-12 Distance Learning Program is different than the current distance learning model. Students are in a separate program with a dedicated administrator and staff and maintain connection to their school of record for reporting, school counseling and extracurricular activities. The curriculum, pacing and school day schedules are aligned with in-person school.
  • The in-person option includes five days in the classroom at the student’s school of record with a teacher present and following normal bell schedules and normal start/end times.
  • Lunch and school day activities will be conducted in accordance with CDC and VDH guidance, with COVID-19 mitigation measures to protect the health and safety of students and staff.

For information on the ParentVUE process and instructional choices, and for FAQ, visit our website.


teacher wearing mask in classroom

1. APS PreK Students Move to Four Days In Person Per Week Starting May 3

APS continues to expand in-person learning. At last night’s School Board meeting, the Superintendent announced that all PreK students in the hybrid model will shift to four days per week starting the week of May 3. APS has been providing four days of in-person learning for students enrolled in Countywide Special Education Programs since November. The Superintendent reiterated ongoing work by Facilities and schools to maximize capacity with 3-foot distancing to serve as many students in person as possible this school year and noted that nearly 1,000 students have been admitted off of waitlists for hybrid instruction in April so far. View the presentation from last night’s meeting. Enrollment in each model and latest waitlist information is updated regularly online.


COVID-19 Testing graphic

2. APS is First in the State to Open Free COVID-Testing Sites at Schools

Walk-up COVID-19 testing sites are now open at Glebe, Kenmore and Wakefield for students and staff who are symptomatic or have had close contact with a person with COVID-19. The testing is after school hours only, from 3:30-7:30 p.m., Monday-Friday, and Saturdays at Kenmore only, 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Consent must be completed beforehand, using the consent forms available on the APS website.


RISE logo

3. APS Announces Partnership with the AAKOMA Project & RISE to Win Organization

APS is partnering with the AAKOMA Project and the RISE to Win organization. The AAKOMA project will provide mental health supports for students on the Wakefield Football Team and training for school counselors across the school division to provide culturally relevant supports to students who experience racial trauma. The RISE to Win organization will provide training to equip students, athletes, coaches, and administrators with the tools to be culturally competent, effective advocates for racial equity, and leaders in addressing racism, diversity, and inclusion. Both partnerships align with the APS Strategic Plan Student Well-Being Goal to provide students with healthy, safe, and supportive environments. More information about the APS response to the March 5 incident is available on Engage.


APS Summer School logo

4. Update on Summer School Fees

Last week, we incorrectly informed families that students taking summer school strengthening courses would be required to pay a fee for those courses. APS will not charge fees for summer strengthening courses offered as part of the 2021 summer school program. Additional details are available online.


Students putting coins into savings jar

5. Nottingham Knights Give Back to A-SPAN

Last week, students in the Nottingham SCA encouraged all Knights to donate spare change for their annual Jar Wars event. The students raised over $153 for A-SPAN to help a community member affected by illness and job loss during the pandemic. A-SPAN President Betsy Frantz joined the students and their SCA sponsors, 3rd grade teachers Shannon Brandt and Kate Gallagher, virtually to receive the donation. She thanked them with a quote: “Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world.” Kudos to the fifth grade students who raised the most money, and to all the Knights!


Other News & Notes

APS Friday 5 for April 16, 2021

Friday5

Family Selection Proces

 

 

 

 

 


1. Student and Family Selection Process for the 2021-22 School Year Opens on Monday

On Monday, APS will launch a two-week student/family selection process in ParentVUE. Families will be asked to select a model—full-time in-person learning or full-time distance learning—for each student for the 2021-22 school year by Fri, April 30. The selection process also asks families to provide information regarding Transportation and Extended Day services. This information is important for planning, staffing and scheduling for a strong start in fall 2021. Details on the instructional choices and services will be provided on Monday when the selection process opens. Stay tuned!


Summer School

 

 

 

 


2. Important Summer School Dates and Information

Summer School begins July 6 for eligible students. Information updated on our website includes times and locations, as well as information on fees, food service, transportation, and eligibility in strengthening programs. Learn more about summer school.


Covid Testing

 

 

 

 

 

 


3. Consent Forms for COVID-19 Testing at APS Sites

Beginning Monday, APS will provide free testing after school hours for students and staff who are symptomatic, or who have been exposed to COVID-19. Walk-up testing sites are located at Glebe Elementary, Kenmore Middle and Wakefield High School. Parent/guardian consent will be required in advance of student testing, via forms on the APS website.


Vision Conference

 

 

 

4. Tues, April 20: NOVA Vision Conference for Students with Disabilities

APS and Northern Virginia Community College (NOVA) are offering an opportunity for students with with IEPs or 504 Plans to learn about accommodations in college. The virtual conference will include a presentation from NOVA Disability Services, a student panel, and a parent Q&A session. Registration for students and parents/guardians is available online.


SRO Work Group

 

 

 

 

 


5. Mon, April 26: SRO Work Group Community Engagement Session

The APS School Resource Officer (SRO) Work Group will host a second virtual community engagement session on Mon, April 26 at 6:30 p.m. The session will be an opportunity for the community to provide feedback and recommendations on the relationship between APS and the Arlington County Police Department. Individuals interested in providing public comment during the community engagement session should complete the Speaker Request Form by Friday, April 23 at 12 p.m. The session will be streamed live online.


Other News & Notes

APS Students Earn Honors at Virginia State Science and Engineering Fair

Information about 2021 Graduations and Promotions

Open Office Hours for School Board Chair Monique O’Grady

APS COVID-19 Dashboard

Get Vaccinated!

The Friday 5 is now archived on the APS website

APS Friday 5 for April 9, 2021

Friday5

Covid testing

 

 

 

 

 

 


1. APS to Provide Free COVID-19 Testing at Three School Sites

Beginning April 19, APS will provide free COVID-19 testing for students and staff who are symptomatic, or who have been exposed to COVID-19, in partnership with ResourcePath. Walk-up testing sites will be located at Glebe Elementary, Kenmore Middle and Wakefield High School. Trained staff will assist in mid-nasal swab testing using the RT-PCR test. Additional details about the testing program and ResourcePath are available online.


Career Fair

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Virtual Career Exploration Fair for Students

Do you have a student who is interested in exploring in-demand fields like cybersecurity? Do they need help with their resume or need interview tips? In this virtual career exploration fair hosted jointly by APS and FCPS, high school students will be able to connect with over 100 local industry professionals from in-demand career fields. The virtual fair takes place from April 19-30. Additional details and registration information are available on the Career Center website.


NAMM Award

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. APS Music Program Earns National Recognition

For the fifth consecutive year, APS has been honored with the “Best Communities for Music Education” designation from The NAMM Foundation for its outstanding commitment to music education. This award recognizes APS as leader in providing access to exemplary music and education opportunities for all students. Learn more online.


Budget

 

 

 

 

4. School Board Adopts Proposed FY 2022 Budget

The School Board adopted its FY22 Proposed Budget totaling $699,919,805 at its April 8 meeting. The School Board amended the Superintendent’s FY22 Revised Proposed Budget by reducing the budgeted expenditures by $6.7 million and replacing the 2% cost of living adjustment with different compensation models by employee scale to ensure that every employee in the school division receives a compensation increase. There will be a Public Hearing on the School Board’s Proposed Budget on April 29. Visit our website to read more on the School Board’s proposed FY22 budget and a summary of the April 8 School Board meeting.


Thank you

 

 

 

 

5. “Thank APS Heroes” Deadline Approaching  

Is there an APS teacher or employee you’d like to thank? APS is honoring all teachers and support employees for their contributions to supporting students throughout this pandemic school year. Make a short video, record a message, draw a picture or sing a song and we will post them on social media in May for APS Employee Appreciation Month. Upload your submissions by April 15.


Other News and Notes

APS Friday 5 for March 26, 2021

FridayFive logo - spring break


Here comes Spring Break daffodils against blue sky

1. Spring Break is Here

Spring break is March 29-April 2. APS wishes all students, families, and staff a safe week. Please practice health and safety precautions while on break and review the travel guidance from VDH and CDC. Thank you to all the families who placed your trust in APS and helped to make in-person returns successful and safe. We continue to work to expand in-person opportunities to additional students as capacity allows, while keeping safety at the forefront. For those who continue in full-time distance learning, we remain committed to serving your needs.


girl with mask giving thumbs up

2. Response to Updated CDC Distancing Guidelines

During the March 25 School Board meeting, the Superintendent provided an update on work underway to admit additional students for hybrid/in-person instruction based on updated CDC distancing guidance. Schools are contacting families on waitlists for in-person instruction, based on capacity and distancing guidelines. English learners, special education students, and students struggling with distance learning will be given priority. Families interested in having your student(s) begin reporting in-person should contact your school. APS is preparing to reopen with five-day schedules for summer school and the 2021-22 school year. Watch the Superintendent’s presentation.


School Meals for all Students logo

3. Spring Break Meals Distribution

Families can pick up five days of meals on Tue, March 30 at the following 11 locations: Abingdon, Barrett, Barcroft, Campbell, Drew, Gunston, Hoffman-Boston, Key, Swanson, Washington-Liberty and Yorktown. Parents and guardians may pick up meals for children between 11 a.m.-1 p.m. Regular meal service will resume on April 5.


APS summer school logo

4. Summer School Updated to Provide Full In-Person and Virtual Options

Due to the recent update on social distancing recommendations for students in schools, APS will be shifting from the summer school cohort model announced on March 19 to a model in which students will have a choice to either participate in a full in-person model or in a full distance learning model for the summer strengthening program. Additional details are available online.


careercenterstudent in online class

5. Career Center Students—Out of this World!

How cool! Arlington Tech 9th grader Sam Watchman is featured in the National Radio Astronomy Observatory blog for a radio receiver he built in his backyard for a science fair project. Using his radio telescope, Watchman looked at the hydrogen line signal in various parts of the sky hypothesizing constellations that are on the plane of the Milky Way galaxy would have higher signal levels than ones that are not on the galactic plane, and this hypothesis was supported.Arlington Tech 9th grader Ananya Sinha met with Arctic Ice Project founder Dr. Leslie Field about Climate Change. Impressed by Sinh’s research and science fair project, Dr. Field is using her procedures for a discussion at the 3rd Annual YCAS (Youth Climate Action Summit) which has over 1,000 attendees.


Other News & Notes

The Friday 5 will be on Spring Break and will be published on Fri, April 9. Have a great Spring Break!

APS Friday 5 for March 19, 2021

Friday5


classroom

1. Update on CDC Distancing Guidelines

Today, the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) updated its guidance to permit for 3 feet of distancing for elementary students, with universal mask use. This is an encouraging step, as APS plans for five-day, in-person schedules this fall. APS is reviewing the guidance to determine how the changes may impact our ability to serve additional students in person and improve transportation in the current school year. An update will be provided at the March 25 School Board meeting. The revised CDC Guidance identifies conditions in which middle and high school students should be 3 or 6 feet apart based on levels of community transmission. It also outlines other circumstances when 6-foot distances should be maintained, including at all times between adults (teachers and staff) and students, when eating, and in common areas.


No Place for Hate

2. APS Response to Recent Events and Support for our Asian American Community

Arlington Public Schools condemns racism and all expressions of hate, bias and discrimination. The horrific shootings in Atlanta earlier this week are a tragic reminder of the increase in violent attacks, hate speech and discrimination targeting Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic. We grieve with the families of the victims of the shootings in Atlanta on March 16 and share the sorrow of all who stand against hate and discrimination. Read the full statement here.


Show Your Thanks logo

3. Thank Your APS Heroes!

During the pandemic, APS employees have worked around the clock to help support our students and families. They are true heroes in the APS community. Join us in saying thank you! Take a moment to share your personal story about an APS teacher or support employee by April 15. Send video messages, photos, poems, letters, songs, or any other expression of appreciation. We will curate the messages and share highlights on our website and social media channels in May as we celebrate our teachers and support employees and all they do. Details on how to submit are available online.


womens history month logo

4. APS Celebrates Women’s History Month

This year, APS has celebrated Women’s History Month by highlighting the leadership of amazing principals and assistant principals. APS is honored to have the opportunity to recognize these women for their dedication and commitment to APS students and their families. We asked them a questions and their responses were inspiring. Visit our website to read about the women highlighted and the additional APS principals and assistant principals that will be added to the webpage throughout the month. Join us on social media using #APSWomensHistory


School Meals for all Students logo

5. Spring Break Meal Schedule and Update on P-EBT Cards

APS will provide spring break meal service to ensure students have access to meals while school is on break. Three days of meals will be provided on Fri, March 26 at all current locations. Five meals will be distributed on Tue, March 30 at 11 locations: Abingdon, Barrett, Barcroft, Campbell, Drew, Gunston, Hoffman-Boston, Key, Swanson, Washington-Liberty and Yorktown. Parents and guardians may pick up meals for children between 11 a.m.-1 p.m. Regular meal service will resume on April 5.

P-EBT UpdateStudents who attend public school 100% virtually AND students attending public school under a hybrid model (a combination of in-school and virtual instruction) are eligible to receive P-EBT. The release of P-EBT benefits will continue through the end of the 2020-21 school year. New benefits were loaded on P-EBT cards on March 17.


Other News & Notes


 

APS Friday Five is sent via School Talk to all parents and staff, and community members who have signed up to receive APS School Talk.