阿靈頓縣

促進阿靈頓種族平等的新工具:

阿靈頓縣今天發布了一系列新工具,以幫助推進阿靈頓的種族平等努力。 社區工具包和數據儀表板的集合是郡縣的產品 實現阿靈頓對股權的承諾(RACE) 程序。

種族平等對話:我們附近的DRE 

種族與公平對話工具包 是自我引導的程序,可用於引發與家人,朋友和鄰居的對話。 三個獨特的章節可用於圍繞廚房桌子和後院的對話:

  • 偏差工具包 –偏向是讚成或反對一個人,一群人或事物的偏好。 該工具包可以幫助參與者檢查偏見的模式,並挑戰我們內部和周圍的負面或有害偏見。

  • 股權工具包 –雖然“平等”意味著每個人都享有相同的權利,機會和資源,但“平等”承認平等並不能真正滿足每個人的需求。 該工具包可以幫助您了解術語之間的差異,並促進圍繞種族平等的對話。

  • 特權工具包 –特權可以定義為為適合特定社會群體的人們獲得的一系列不需獲得的利益。 該工具包旨在指導人們探索特權可能帶來的好處(即使他們不知道自己擁有特權),並研究種族主義如何以令人驚訝的方式融入社會。

與我們的合作夥伴一起設計, 具有挑戰性的種族主義,每個會話單元大約需要一個小時,並且可以在非正式場合中完成,例如與家人圍坐在餐桌旁,讀書俱樂部或其他社交聚會中。 我們希望當人們在家人,朋友和鄰居之間進行這些對話時,他們能夠增強與任何地方,任何人交談的能力。 該工具包是2020年在您的社區中舉辦的關於種族平等的對話虛擬會議期間發起的對話的延續。

新的人口統計數據儀表板

該縣還發布了兩個儀表板,用於組織縣和縣以下一級的阿靈頓人口統計數據。 種族和種族儀表板提供了按種族和種族比較阿靈頓人口的22個主要人口統計變量的功能。 人口普查區域人口統計信息板使用戶可以在人口普查區域層面發現整個阿靈頓的人口統計變化。 交互式儀表板允許用戶深入了解人口統計數據以發現snaps阿靈頓種族平等和不平等的熱點。

種族平等的歷史和時間表

該縣正在組建一個教育時間表,介紹多個世紀以來阿靈頓種族的歷史。 這個啟發性的項目將幫助社區評估我們在哪里以及如何到達這裡。 另外,縣里有 現在可以使用其他在線資源 通過網頁,圖像,成績單等來突出阿靈頓的歷史。

關於實現阿靈頓對股權的承諾(RACE)

縣議會通過了 股本決議 在2019年XNUMX月。為進一步實現對股權的承諾,該縣成立了RACE(實現阿靈頓對股權的承諾)。 RACE的使命是將種族平等作為全縣的首要任務,以消除,減少和防止我們的政策,程序做法,參與以及與社區的互動和為社區提供服務方面的差異。 公平的阿靈頓是一個無論種族如何都受到重視,受過教育,健康和安全的人。 了解有關RACE的更多信息 以及阿靈頓縣其他與股權相關的計劃。

實現阿靈頓對公平的承諾

Arlington County

New Tools for Advancing Racial Equity in Arlington:

Arlington County today released a set of new tools to help advance racial equity efforts in Arlington. The collection of neighborhood toolkits and data dashboards are products of the County’s Realizing Arlington’s Commitment to Equity (RACE) program.

Dialogues on Racial Equity: DRE in Our Neighborhood 

The Toolkits for Conversations on Race & Equity are self-guided programs that can be used to spark conversations with family, friends, and neighbors. Three unique chapters are available for conversations around kitchen tables, back yards:

  • Toolkit on Bias – Bias is a preference in favor of, or against, a person, group of people, or thing. This toolkit can help participants examine patterns of bias, and to challenge negative or harmful biases within us and around us.

  • Toolkit on Equity – While “equality” means everyone has the same rights, opportunities and resources, “equity” recognizes that equality doesn’t truly address everyone’s needs. This toolkit can help build understanding about the difference between the terms and facilitate conversations around racial equity.

  • Toolkit on Privilege – Privilege can be defined as a set of unearned benefits given to people who fit into a specific social group. This toolkit is intended to guide exploration about the advantages that people might accrue from privilege – even if they are unaware that they have it – and looks at how racism is built into society in some surprising ways.

Designed with our partner, Challenging Racism, each conversational unit will take about an hour and can be done in informal settings such as with family around the dinner table, with a book club, or in other social gatherings. We hope that as people have these conversations among family, friends, and neighbors, they build their capacity to talk with anyone, anywhere. The toolkits are a continuation of the conversations that were initiated during the Dialogues on Racial Equity in Your Community virtual sessions hosted in 2020.

New Demographic Data Dashboards

The County also is releasing two dashboards that organize Arlington’s demographic data at the countywide and subcounty levels. The Race and Ethnicity Dashboard offers the ability to compare 22 key demographic variables of Arlington’s population by race and ethnicity. The Census Tract Demographic Dashboard allows users to discover the variations in demographics throughout Arlington at the Census Tract level. The interactive dashboards allow users to drill down into demographic data to discover snapshots of racial equity – and inequity – in Arlington.

Racial Equity History & Timeline

The County is in the process of assembling an educational timeline featuring the history of race in Arlington over multiple centuries. This enlightening project will help the community assess where we are and how we got here. In addition, the County has additional online resources available now that highlight Arlington’s history through webpages, images, transcripts, and more.

About Realizing Arlington’s Commitment to Equity (RACE)

The County Board adopted an Equity Resolution in September 2019. To further this commitment to equity, the County established RACE (Realizing Arlington’s Commitment to Equity). The mission of RACE is to advance racial equity as a countywide priority to eliminate, reduce, and prevent disparities in our policies, procedures practices, engagement, and interaction with and service to the community. An equitable Arlington is one where all are valued, educated, healthy and safe regardless of race. Learn more about RACE and other equity-related initiatives in Arlington County.

Realizing Arlington’s Commitment to Equity