Holidays

Arlington Public Schools observes the following holidays:
2017-18 Fiscal Year Holidays for 12-Month Employees

Independence Day
Labor Day
Columbus Day
Veterans’ Day
Thanksgiving Holiday*
Winter Holiday
New Year’s Holiday
Martin Luther King Jr.’s Birthday Observance
Presidents’ Day
Memorial Day
Tuesday, July 4, 2017
Monday, September 4, 2017
Monday, October 9, 2017
Friday, November 10, 2017
Thursday & Friday, November 23 & 24, 2017
Friday, December 22, 2017 & Monday, December 25, 2017
Friday, December 29, 2017 & Monday, January 1, 2018
Monday, January 15, 2018
Monday, February 19, 2018
Monday, May 28, 2018

*Although students and teachers are not scheduled to attend school on Wednesday, November 22, 2017, this day will be a work day for 12-month employees.

Twelve-month employees are excused from work on holidays without charge to leave as long as schools are not in session on those days. If schools are in session on a holiday, all employees are expected to work. Twelve-month employees who work on such a day shall have an extra day of annual leave credited to their accounts. No employee who works on a day when schools are in session is entitled to holiday pay.

2017-18 Fiscal Year Holidays for Non-12-Month Employees

Independence Day
Labor Day
Columbus Day
Veterans’ Day
Thanksgiving Holiday
Winter Holiday
Martin Luther King Jr.’s Birthday Observance
Presidents’ Day
Spring Vacation
Memorial Day
Tuesday, July 4, 2017
Monday, September 4, 2017
Monday, October 9, 2017
Friday, November 10, 2017
Wednesday – Friday, November 22 – 24, 2017
Friday, December 22, 2017 – Monday, January 1, 2018
Monday, January 15, 2018
Monday, February 19, 2018
Monday – Friday, March 26, 2018 – March 30, 2018
Monday, May 28, 2018