APS HBCU畢業生的學生校友檔案

黑人歷史月即將結束,我們慶祝 APS 已決定參加HBCU的學生校友,以親身見證這些歷史悠久的高等教育機構的歷史和文化影響。 這些學生在 APS 當其他學生開始探索中學後的選擇時,它們將成為生活中關鍵點的其他學生的靈感。

非洲裔美國學生決定參加HBCU的原因有很多,但其中許多人最常見的原因之一是,他們希望在一個安全的空間中學習,讓他們感到自己屬於自己並能夠與其他人建立聯繫。 對於這些畢業生中的許多人來說,他們的偉大之處尚未得到展現,但是他們正朝著實現偉大和打開曾經為他們關閉的大門而努力,以便像他們這樣的其他人能夠走過他們。

HBCU的一項不言而喻的創始原則是WEB Du Bois的信念,即只有受過教育的十分之一的有才華的非洲裔美國人的責任,這些人受過教育,能夠返回自己的社區來幫助他人並影響社會變革。 HBCU接受的教育使學生做好了領導的準備,而就讀於霍華德大學的副校長卡馬拉·哈里斯(Kamala Harris)則見證了這一點,並通過研究過去的過失使世界變得更美好,從而使我們這個社會可以為我們的未來做出改善和改正。 在許多HBCU畢業生仍是其家庭中第一代大學畢業的一代人中,讓我們為這些人感到榮幸 APS 學生校友,並慶祝他們的非凡成就。 他們以及其他人 APS 校友,是我們明天的未來領袖!

APS HBCU畢業生的學生校友檔案

大衛·本傑明(David Benjamin)大衛·本傑明(David Benjamin),二世

APS 高中就讀: 華盛頓自由中學– 2014屆
HBCU參加: 鮑伊州立大學– 2019屆
重大的: 音樂技術
您為什麼選擇參加HBCU?
我參加了鮑伊州立大學,體驗了HBCU文化。 我的總體HBCU體驗簡直令人讚嘆。 我獲得了很多關於HBCU的知識,也學到了很多關於自己的知識。 目前,我是第一年接受特殊教育的特殊教育老師。 我還是第六次Wammie Nominted樂隊The Kontrolled Khaos的sousaphone播放器。 基於DMV的Kontrolled Khaos樂隊是一個強大的超級樂隊,由8位著名歌手,製作人和音樂家以及許多其他音樂合作者組成。 Kontrolled Khaos由領導人,鼓手和有遠見的Jonathan“ Footz” Livas於23年2017月31日成立。 富茨最初夢想聚集藝術家參加一個項目。 然而,夢想卻變得更加廣闊。 Kontrolled Khaos具有獨特的流派,以一種名為“ Garage Soul”的聲音進行分類,從而推動了該樂隊與眾多歌手合作,例如Goldlink,Lightshow等。 無論大小場地,Kontrolled Khaos都會吸引一群人,並營造出一種聲音,可以激發,激發並移動每個人觸手可及的地方。 Kontrolled Khaos計劃在2020年XNUMX月XNUMX日發行首張錄音室專輯《 Let Love》,以增加他們令人印象深刻的履歷,包括在DC Jazz Fest,Takoma Tavern Station,The Silvermore的The Fillmore以及其他許多場館演出美國東海岸。 Kontrolled Khaos致力於掌握自己的手藝,本著精益求精的精神為他人提供改變生活的體驗。

斯隆·梅班(Sloane Mebane)斯隆·梅班(Sloane Mebane)

APS 高中就讀: 韋克菲爾德高中– 2012屆
HBCU參加: 漢普頓大學– 2016屆
重大的: 生物科學
您為什麼選擇參加HBCU?
我喜歡我在高中時的經歷,周圍有那麼多獨特的聲音,而且觀點如此獨特。 因此,當我選擇一所大學時,我想繼續讓自己接觸到獨特的文化體驗。 關於非裔美國人社區的說法是虛假的,在那裡,人們認為它是一個壟斷,沒有在主流機構中可以找到的“多樣性”。 但是,參加一所歷史悠久的黑人學院就是將自己沉浸在這個星球上最富有的人之一的海外僑民中。 這是要與來自世界各地的各行各業的人建立聯繫,所有這一切都通過一條黑線將您聯繫在一起。 我參加HBCU是因為我想每天都被Black的成功所包圍。 我參加HBCU的原因是我想實現自己最狂野的夢想時,希望自己得到提升,並提高自己的社區。

克里斯蒂安·斯帕金斯(Kristian Spaggins)克里斯蒂安·斯帕金斯(Kristian Spaggins)

APS 高中就讀: 華盛頓自由中學– 2014屆
HBCU參加: 漢普頓大學– 2018屆
重大的: 政治學與法學
您對想參加HBCU的學生有什麼建議?
我絕對喜歡我在漢普頓大學的經歷,這確實使我成為了今天的女人。 在黑人文化中度過四年是一個夢想成真! 我承諾,Delta Sigma Theta Sorority,Inc.將建立一生的友誼,並成為學生領導力培訓計劃的高級聯合主持人。 我將永遠記得我在漢普頓大學的生活,他們是我的一部分。

布倫納·威廉姆斯布倫納·威廉姆斯

APS 參加學校:韋克菲爾德高中– 2012屆
HBCU參加:弗吉尼亞州立大學– 2016屆
您對想參加HBCU的學生有什麼建議?
我保證參加HBCU的學生不要誤以為他們與常春藤聯盟和PWI的水平不相稱。 HBCU與後者不同,它為所有學生提供了源於傳統,傳承和對子孫後代持久的遺產的真實體驗。 它們是學生對HBCU的一種獨特的聯繫和自豪感,所產生的影響遠遠超出了他們在校園的時間。 此外,通過在每個HBCU的整個歷史中建立的強大的面向家庭的基金會。 參加HBCU將為您提供從長遠來看對您有利的資源。 您不僅將為成功做好準備,而且還將在旅途中找到職業上的快樂。 從HBCU畢業後,您會像大多數校友一樣說:“我愛我的HBCU!”

APS Student Alumni Profiles of HBCU Graduates

As Black History Month comes to a close, we celebrate the APS student alumni who have decided to attend an HBCU to witness the historical and cultural impact of these historical institutions of higher education for themselves. These students leave behind a great legacy at APS and serve as inspirations for other students who are at the pivotal point in their life when they begin to explore their post-secondary options.

African American students decide to attend HBCUs for many reasons, but one of the most common reasons for many of them is they want to learn in a safe space where they feel they belong and are able to connect with others like them. For many of these graduates, their greatness has yet to be revealed, but they are on the path to achieving greatness and opening doors that were once closed for them so that others like them are able to walk through them.

One of the unspoken founding principles of HBCUs was W.E.B. Du Bois’ belief that it was the responsibility of the talented tenth of African Americans who became educated to return to their communities to help others and affect societal change. The education received at HBCUs prepares students to lead, as witnessed by Vice President Kamala Harris who attended Howard University, and make the world a better place by studying the faults of the past so we as a society can make improvements  and course corrections for our future. In a generation when many HBCU graduates are still the first generation in their family to graduate from college, let’s honor these APS student alumni and celebrate their monumental accomplishment. They, along with other APS alumni, are our future leaders of tomorrow!

APS Student Alumni Profiles of HBCU Graduates

David BenjaminDavid Benjamin, II

APS High School Attended: Washington-Liberty High School – Class of 2014
HBCU Attended: Bowie State University – Class of 2019
Major: Music Technology
Why did you choose to attend an HBCU?
I attended Bowie State University to experience the HBCU culture. My overall HBCU experience was simply amazing. I gain so much knowledge about my HBCU and learn so much about myself as a man. Currently, I’m a first year special education teacher going for my certification. I’m also the sousaphone player for the six time Wammie Nominted band called The Kontrolled Khaos. The DMV based Kontrolled Khaos Band is a powerhouse super-group consisting of 8 prominent vocalists, producers, and musicians along with many other musical collaborators. Kontrolled Khaos was established on January 23rd, 2017 by leader, drummer, and visionary Jonathan “Footz” Livas. Footz initially dreamt of gathering artists for a project. However, the dream turned out to be much broader. With a unique genre, Kontrolled Khaos categorizes themselves with a sound known as ‘Garage Soul’, it has propelled the band to work with numerous artists such as Goldlink, Lightshow, and more. No matter how big or small the venue Kontrolled Khaos brings a crowd and creates a sound that empowers, inspires, and moves every individual within their reach. With their debut studio album entitled ‘Let Love’ on the way July 31st, 2020, Kontrolled Khaos intends to add to their impressive resume which includes performances at DC Jazz Fest, Takoma Tavern Station, The Fillmore in Silver Spring, and many other venues across the US East Coast. Kontrolled Khaos is committed to mastering their crafts, working in a spirit of excellence and providing others with a life changing experience.

Sloane MebaneSloane Mebane

APS High School Attended: Wakefield High School – Class of 2012
HBCU Attended: Hampton University – Class of 2016
Major: Biological Sciences
Why did you choose to attend an HBCU?
I loved my experience in high school, being around so many unique voices, all with such unique perspectives. And so, when I was choosing a university, I wanted to continue to expose myself to unique cultural experiences. There is this false narrative regarding the African American community, where it’s perceived to be a monolith without the “diversity” that can be found in more mainstream institutions. However, to have attended an Historically Black College is to have immersed yourself into a diaspora that is one of the richest on the planet. It’s to form connections with individuals from all walks of life from across the globe all connected by this one black strand that ties you all together. I attended an HBCU because I wanted to be surrounded every day by Black success. I attended an HBCU because I wanted to be lifted up and to lift up my community as I sought to achieve my wildest dreams.

Kristian SpagginsKristian Spaggins

APS High School Attended: Washington-Liberty High School – Class of 2014
HBCU Attended: Hampton University – Class of 2018
Major: Political Science and Pre-Law
What advice do you have for students wanting to attend an HBCU?
I absolutely LOVED my experience at Hampton University, it truly shaped me into the woman that I am today.  To be around black culture for four years was a dream come true! I pledged Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., made life-long friendships and became the Senior Co-facilitator of the Student Leadership Training Program. I will forever remember my years at Hampton University, they are a part of who I am.

Brenare WilliamsBrenare Williams

APS School Attended: Wakefield High School – Class of 2012
HBCU Attended: Virginia State University – Class of 2016
What advice do you have for students wanting to attend an HBCU?
I would assure students attending an HBCU to not feed into the notion that they’re aren’t on par with Ivy league and PWI’s. HBCU, unlike the latter, provide an authentic experience for all students that’s rooted in tradition, heritage and a long-lasting legacy for generations to come. They’re a unique connection and pride that students feel to their HBCU’s that leaves an impact felt far beyond their time on campus. Furthermore, through the strong family-oriented foundation built throughout each HBCU’s history. Attending an HBCU will provide you with resources that will be beneficial to you in the long run. Not only will you be prepared for success, you will find the joy in your profession through your journey. After graduating from an HBCU, you will say as most Alumni do, “I Love My HBCU!”