神九兄弟會的歷史

九聖歷史上黑人學院和大學(HBCU)歷史的一個重要方面是組成全國泛希臘委員會的九個歷史上黑人希臘信件組織(BGLO)。 NPHC於1930年在霍華德大學(Howard University)成立,以支持尋求在學習過程中尋求聲音,社區和共享身份的非裔美國大學生。 這個組織在團結非裔美國大學生爭取法律上的平等權利和公正待遇方面發揮了至關重要的作用,如今,NPHC繼續將年輕人和婦女團結在一起,以尊重希臘的歷史,傳統和價值觀。組織。 NPHC目前有九名成員,這些希臘組織通常被稱為“神聖的九個人”。 這XNUMX個兄弟會和姐妹會中的每一個都有悠久的歷史,並且與這些組織中的一個或多個組織有聯繫,這在美國許多受過大學教育的非洲裔美國人家庭中都可以找到。

由於二十世紀初非裔美國人在美國國內所面臨的考驗和磨難,黑人希臘信箋組織(BGLO)開始產生成果。 事實證明,在20年代初,將非裔美國人納入大學是非裔學生的艱難時期。 非裔美國人的學生經常被排斥和禁止加入許多社會組織,他們開始尋找應對這些鬥爭的方法。

有幾次嘗試創建大學間BGLO,Alpha Kappa Nu於1903年開始,然後由於保持穩定成員身份的努力而解散,Alpha Phi Alpha是第一個成功維持其成員資格並擴大成員的兄弟會。 Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity,Inc.最初是為當時面臨嚴峻種族偏見的美國康奈爾大學非裔美國男學生提供的學習和支持小組而成立的。 非裔美國人的學生常常走上幾天就不會在校園裡見到彼此有色人種,因此他們的學習小組是他們從所面臨的困境中解脫出來的人。

跟隨Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity,Inc.的腳步,在類似的服務宗旨和改善非裔美國人的原則基礎上,建立了其他八個學院間的兄弟會和姐妹會。 許多不同的運動和政治事件影響了這些組織的發展方式。 Alpha Kappa Alpha於1908年在霍華德大學成立時,為聯誼會鋪平了道路。 Kappa Alpha Psi在印第安納州成立的原因與Alpha Phi Alpha類似,由於種族緊張和校園偏見,他們也創造了自己的兄弟情誼。 歐米茄·皮皮(Omega Psi Phi)是在HBCU霍華德校區建立的神聖九種兄弟中的第一種。 Delta Sigma Theta的創立受到婦女參政權運動的強烈影響。 Iota Phi Theta起源於民權運動,是神聖的九個組織中最新出現的組織,成立後對塑造巴爾的摩的政治格局非常有影響。

這些組織(其中一些組織已有100多年的歷史了)為世界各地的社區提供了無數的服務,獎學金和領導力。 儘管它們的創始原則在某種程度上有所不同,但它們都是一個統一的機構,共同創造社會變革,使世界變得更加美好。 但是,這些組織中的每一個都應該受到承認,並為紀念他們的兄弟姐妹和同伴而對他們每天做的真正工作有更深入的了解。 我們在非裔美國人社區中許多著名的領導人都是第九神聖組織的成員,多年來,他們繼續培養有才華的人。

最近,這些組織通過開展病毒式運動來鼓勵有色人種參加“民意測驗”,以鼓勵有色人種參加2020年大選。 他們的統一目標是與南部某些州發生的壓制選民作鬥爭。 自“神九”成立以來,社區服務一直是這些組織的核心使命。

當我們慶祝黑人歷史月中HBCU的歷史意義時,同樣重要的是要慶祝神九BGLO的社會支持系統,該系統在整個歷史中以無數方式支持了無數有色學生,並積極地影響了社會變革。 第九神是與HBCU的歷史緊密相關的歷史不可或缺的一部分,HBCU的歷史在整個歷史上都有助於支持非洲裔美國人的成功與卓越。

觀看有關神聖九國的視頻


神聖的九個黑希臘字母組織

阿爾法河童阿爾法Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority(AKAs)

Alpha Kappa Alpha於1908年在霍華德大學成立,旨在鼓勵其會員追求最高水平的學業成就,服務和友誼。 作為最早的原始泛希臘理事會(NPHC)希臘組織,Alpha Kappa Alpha擁有105,000個分會和290,000個社團。 在華盛頓特區創立AKA的XNUMX名女性從來沒有想過,她們的組織將成為日本,德國,維爾京群島以及美國成千上萬校園中大學生活的重要組成部分。

阿爾法披阿爾法Alpha Phi Alpha博愛(Alphas)

Alpha Phi Alpha於1906年在紐約康奈爾大學成立。 Alpha Phi Alpha不僅是九位神聖成員:它是該國第一個黑人大學之間的希臘兄弟會。 它的成員通過種族隔離,種族隔離,艾滋病危機和多次戰爭為爭取公民權利和社會正義而奮鬥,而像馬丁·路德·金,小和杜波依斯這樣的民權領袖則是兄弟會的驕傲。 Alpha Phi Alpha現在在全球擁有730個分會和290,000名會員,並且該希臘組織繼續支持慈善計劃,例如Head Start,Project Alpha和Big Brothers Big Sisters of America。

卡帕阿爾法 PsiKappa Alpha Psi博愛(Kappas)

Kappa Alpha Psi於1911年在印第安納大學成立,並於1930年加入博愛基金會,成為會員組織。 儘管Kappa Alpha Psi成立時主要是一個非裔美國人的希臘組織,但它一直是一個包容各方的兄弟會,邀請各個種族和國籍的成員參加。 Kappa Alpha Psi的座右銘是“在人類努力的每個領域中取得成就”,其成員通過支持人居署和聯合黑人大學基金會等組織,繼續恪守自己的信條。 Kappa Alpha Psi也因其腳步表演而聞名:自1950年代以來,“ Kappa Kane”和“甘蔗踩腳”一直是兄弟會最受歡迎的傳統之一。

Delta Sigma ThetaDelta Sigma Theta聯誼會(Deltas)

Delta Sigma Theta於1913年在霍華德大學(Howard University)成立,自成立以來,sorority一直積極參與公民權利和婦女選舉權運動。 三角洲西格瑪西塔(Delta Sigma Theta)參加了3年1913月XNUMX日舉行的婦女參政權遊行,目前是全國有色人種協會(NAACP)和全國黑人婦女理事會(NCNW)的成員。 Delta Sigma Theta還參與了一些慈善活動,包括“為婦女爭取紅軍”運動和“世界艾滋病日”。 著名的Delta Sigma Theta成員包括Shirley Chisholm和前司法部長Loretta Lynch。

歐米茄Psi Phi 2歐米茄(Omega)Phi Phi兄弟會(Ques / Omega男士)

歐米茄皮皮島(Omega Psi Phi)於1911年在霍華德大學(Howard University)成立,其成年,獎學金,毅力和進取心是指導其成員一個多世紀的基本原則。 歐米茄Psi Phi是在HBCU成立的第一家黑人兄弟會,其成員因參與商業,政治,民權,藝術,體育和教育而聞名。 邁克爾·喬丹(Michael Jordan)和牧師傑西·傑克遜(Jesse Jackson)都是歐米茄皮皮島(Omega Psi Phi)的成員,如今,兄弟會在全球擁有750多個本科生和研究生生。

Phi Beta西格瑪Phi Beta Sigma兄弟會博愛(Sigmas)

Phi Beta Sigma於1914年在霍華德大學成立,旨在鼓勵年輕的非洲裔美國人中的“兄弟般,獎學金和服務”。 Phi Beta Sigma因開創了許多希臘傳統而聞名,包括校友會,青年指導俱樂部和博愛信用社。 Phi Beta Sigma成員致力於他們的教育和社區活動,因此,Phi Beta Sigma積極參與諸如SWWAC項目(對抗癌症的Sigmas發動戰爭)以及更大更好的企業之類的計劃。 Phi Beta Sigma具有國際影響力:兄弟會在美洲,非洲,歐洲和亞洲擁有200,000多名成員。

Zeta Phi BetaZeta Phi Beta悲傷(Zetas)

Zeta Phi Beta於1920年在霍華德大學成立,是Phi Beta Sigma的姐妹組織。 Zeta Phi Beta一直參與社會事業,包括國家教育基金會和ZH.OPE(Zetas幫助他人卓越)。 1948年,Zeta Phi Beta是第一個在非洲租用一章的希臘組織,如今,該組織在北美,非洲,歐洲和亞洲擁有800多個章。 著名的Zeta Phi Beta成員包括Minnie Riperton,Anita Hill和Zora Neale Hurston。

西格瑪·伽瑪·羅適馬Gamma Rho Sorority(SGRhos)

西格瑪·伽瑪·羅(Sigma Gamma Rho)於1922年在巴特勒大學成立,其成員積極參與影響其社區的社會事業。 西格瑪·伽瑪·羅(Sigma Gamma Rho)參與了廣泛的計劃,包括ACT艾滋病援助計劃,Buckle Up America和國家骨髓捐贈計劃。 著名成員包括Deshauna Barber(美國小姐,2016年)和Joyce Carol Thomas。

尤塔披塔艾奧塔(Iota)

艾奧塔·皮塔(Iota Phi Theta)於1963年民權運動鼎盛時期在摩根州立大學成立。 發起Iota Phi Theta的十二個人是非傳統學生,受到民權領袖如Malcom X和Black Panthers的影響。 艾奧塔·皮塔(Iota Phi Theta)大量參與社會事業,行動主義和服務,包括抵制馬里蘭州巴爾的摩一個孤立的購物中心。 國會議員鮑比·拉什(Bobby Rush)和特倫斯·TC·卡森(Terrence TC Carson)都是愛塔尼亞披披島(Iota Phi Theta)的成員,如今,已有30,000多名大學生加入了兄弟會的章節。

History of the Divine Nine Fraternities & Sororities

The Divine NineAn important aspect of the history of Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) is the nine historically Black Greek Letter Organizations (BGLOs) that make up the National Pan-Hellenic Council. The NPHC was founded in 1930 at Howard University to support African American college students who were searching for a voice, community, and shared identity as they pursued their education. This organization played a vital role in uniting African American college students as they fought for equal rights and fair treatment under the law, and today the NPHC continues to bring young men and women together as they honor the history, traditions, and values of their Greek organizations. The NPHC currently has nine members and these Greek organizations are commonly referred to as “The Divine Nine.” Each of these nine fraternities and sororities is rich in history and ties to one or more of these organizations may be found in many college-educated African American families in the United States.

Black Greek Letter Organizations (BGLOs) began to come into fruition in the early 20th century due to the trials and tribulations that many African Americans were facing within the United States at the time. The inclusion of African Americans in universities proved to be trying times for African American students in the early 1900s. Often ostracized and banned from joining many social organizations, African American students began searching for ways to cope with these struggles.

There were a few attempts at creating intercollegiate BGLOs, with Alpha Kappa Nu beginning in 1903 and then disbanding due to a struggle in keeping steady membership, Alpha Phi Alpha was the first successful fraternity to sustain its membership and expand. Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. was initially started as a study and support group for the African American male students at Cornell University who were facing harsh racial prejudice at the time. African American students often could go days without seeing each another person of color on campus, so their study group served as their decompression from the struggles they faced.

Following in the footsteps of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., eight other intercollegiate fraternities and sororities were founded on the similar principles of service and the betterment of African Americans. Many different movements and political events effected how these organizations were developed. Alpha Kappa Alpha paved the way for sororities in 1908 when they were founded at Howard University. Kappa Alpha Psi was founded in Indiana for similar reasons to Alpha Phi Alpha, racial tension and prejudices on campus led them to create their fraternity as well. Omega Psi Phi was the first of the divine nine fraternities to be founded on an HBCU’s campus at Howard. Delta Sigma Theta’s beginnings were strongly influenced by the Women’s Suffrage movement. Springing forward to the most recent of the divine nine organizations, Iota Phi Theta was a product of the civil rights movement and they were very influential in shaping the political landscape of Baltimore after they were founded.

These organizations, some of which are over 100 years old, have contributed countless hours of service, scholarships, and leadership to communities all around the world. Though they all differ in their founding principles in one way or another, they all come together as a unified body to create social change and leave the world a better place. Yet, each of these organizations deserves recognition and a deeper insight into the work they really do day in and day out in the honor of their fraternities and sororities. Many of our celebrated leaders within the African American community are members of the Divine Nine organizations and they continue to foster talented individuals over the years.

Most recently these organizations encouraged communities of color to “Stroll to the Polls” by developing a viral campaign that encouraged people of color to vote in the 2020 election. Their united goal was to combat voter suppression that was occurring in some of the southern states. Since the founding of The Divine Nine, community service has always been the core mission of these organizations.

As we celebrate the historical significance of HBCUs during Black History Month, it is equally important to celebrate the social support system of The Divine Nine BGLOs that have supported countless students of color throughout history in innumerable ways and have positively affected societal change. The Divine Nine are an integral aspect of history strongly linked with the history of HBCUs that have aided in supporting the success and excellence of African Americans throughout history.

View Video About the Divine Nine


The Divine Nine Black Greek Letter Organizations

Alpha Kappa AlphaAlpha Kappa Alpha Sorority (AKAs)

Alpha Kappa Alpha was founded in 1908 at Howard University to encourage its members to aspire to the highest levels of scholastic achievement, service, and friendship. As the oldest of the original National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC) Greek organizations, Alpha Kappa Alpha has 105,000 chapters and 290,000 sorority members. The sixteen women who started AKA in Washington, DC could never have imagined that their organization would become a vital part of college life in Japan, Germany, the Virgin Islands, and thousands of campuses across the United States.

Alpha Phi AlphaAlpha Phi Alpha Fraternity (Alphas)

Alpha Phi Alpha was founded in 1906 at Cornell University in New York. Alpha Phi Alpha is more than a Divine Nine member: it is the first black intercollegiate Greek fraternity in the nation. Its members have fought for civil rights and social justice through segregation, apartheid, the AIDS crisis, and multiple wars, and civil rights leaders like Martin Luther King, Jr. and W.E.B. Du Bois were proud members of the fraternity. Alpha Phi Alpha now has 730 chapters and 290,000 members across the world, and the Greek organization continues to support charitable initiatives like Head Start, Project Alpha, and Big Brothers Big Sisters of America.

Kappa Alpha PsiKappa Alpha Psi Fraternity (Kappas)

Kappa Alpha Psi was founded in 1911 at Indiana University, and in 1930 the fraternity joined NPHC as a member organization. Although Kappa Alpha Psi was founded as a predominantly African-American Greek organization, it has always been an inclusive fraternity that invites members of all races and nationalities. Kappa Alpha Psi’s motto is “achievement in every field of human endeavor,” and its members continue to live up to their creed by supporting organizations like Habitat for Humanity and the United Negro College Fund. Kappa Alpha Psi is also known for its step shows: the “Kappa Kane” and “cane stepping” have been some of the fraternity’s most popular traditions since the 1950s.

Delta Sigma ThetaDelta Sigma Theta Sorority (Deltas)

Delta Sigma Theta was founded in 1913 at Howard University, and since its inception, the sorority has been actively involved in civil rights and women’s suffrage campaigns. Delta Sigma Theta participated in the Women’s Suffrage March on March 3, 1913, and it is currently a member of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) and the National Council of Negro Women (NCNW). Delta Sigma Theta is also involved in several charitable initiatives, including the Go Red For Women Campaign and World Aids Day. Notable Delta Sigma Theta members include Shirley Chisholm and and former Attorney General Loretta Lynch.

Omega Psi Phi 2Omega Psi Phi Fraternity Fraternity (Ques/Omega Men)

Omega Psi Phi was founded in 1911 at Howard University, and manhood, scholarship, perseverance, and uplift are the cardinal principles that have guided its members for over a century. Omega Psi Phi is the first black fraternity to be founded at a HBCU, and its members have become famous for their involvement in business, politics, civil rights, the arts, sports, and education. Michael Jordan, and Rev. Jesse Jackson were all members of Omega Psi Phi, and today the fraternity has over 750 undergraduate and graduate chapters around the world.

Phi Beta SigmaPhi Beta Sigma Fraternity Fraternity (Sigmas)

Phi Beta Sigma was founded in 1914 at Howard University to encourage “brotherhood, scholarship, and service” among young African-American men. Phi Beta Sigma is known for starting many Greek traditions, including alumni chapters, youth mentoring clubs, and fraternity credit unions. Phi Beta Sigma members are committed to their education and their communities, which is why Phi Beta Sigma is actively involved in programs like Project S.W.W.A.C. (Sigmas Waging War Against Cancer) and the Bigger and Better Business. Phi Beta Sigma has an international reach: the fraternity has more than 200,000 members throughout the Americas, Africa, Europe, and Asia.

Zeta Phi BetaZeta Phi Beta Sorority (Zetas)

Zeta Phi Beta was founded in 1920 at Howard University as a sister organization to Phi Beta Sigma. Zeta Phi Beta has always been involved in social causes, including the National Educational Foundation and Z-H.O.P.E. (Zetas Helping Other People Excell). In 1948, Zeta Phi Beta was the first Greek organization to charter a chapter in Africa, and today the sorority has more than 800 chapters in North America, Africa, Europe, and Asia. Famous Zeta Phi Beta members include Minnie Riperton, Anita Hill, and Zora Neale Hurston.

Sigma Gamma RhoSigma Gamma Rho Sorority (SGRhos)

Sigma Gamma Rho was founded in 1922 at Butler University, and its members are actively involved in social causes that impact their communities. Sigma Gamma Rho is involved in a wide range of programs, including ACT Against Aids, Buckle Up America, and the National Marrow Donor Program. Notable members include Deshauna Barber (Miss USA 2016) and Joyce Carol Thomas.

Iota Phi ThetaIota Phi Theta Fraternity (Iotas)

Iota Phi Theta was founded in 1963 at Morgan State University during the height of the Civil Rights Movement. The twelve men that started Iota Phi Theta were non-traditional students who were influenced by civil rights leaders like Malcom X and the Black Panthers. Iota Phi Theta became heavily involved in social causes, activism, and service, including the boycott of a segregated shopping mall in Baltimore, MD. Congressman Bobby Rush and Terrence T.C. Carson were both members of Iota Phi Theta, and today more than 30,000 college students are a part of the fraternity’s chapters.