有影響力的HBCU畢業生

縱觀整個歷史,HBCU為非裔美國學生做好了準備,使他們在離開校園的保護屏障並進入未知且不受保護的世界中後就獲得了卓越和成功。 這些機構是一個試驗場,學生可以在這個國家的發展中探索非洲裔美國人的悠久歷史,同時計劃如何做出改變並在社會中留下持久的影響。 長期以來,HBCU一直是社會隱藏的瑰寶,但是現在人們終於開始看到HBCU在非裔美國人的教育中發揮的關鍵作用,以及這些機構如何教育了一些最好和最聰明的人。 HBCU培養了許多學生,使他們成為今天的樣子。儘管這幾位有影響力的HBCU畢業生因出色的表現而受到讚譽和認可,但還有許多其他人正等待時機在正確的時機閃耀。 因此,在眾多HBCU畢業生中,有突出影響力的人可供選擇,他們之所以選擇以下名單,是因為他們對社會產生了重大影響,並取得了巨大成就,這進一步推動了人們認識到HBCU為學生提供瞭如何做好生活和突破障礙的準備。

APS 有影響力的HBCU畢業生名單

斯泰西艾布拉姆斯斯泰西艾布拉姆斯

公平戰鬥組織創始人
HBCU參加: 斯佩爾曼學院
畢業年: 1995
重大的: 跨學科研究
Twitter的: @staceyabrams
影響時刻: 這位前佐治亞州州代表於2018年競選佐治亞州州長。在競選州長失敗後,她立即開始努力確保她作為候選人所面臨的壓制選民再也沒有任何選民經歷過,因此她創立了公平鬥爭組織。 作為公平戰鬥組織的領導人,她因在2020年選舉中增加佐治亞州註冊的非裔美國選民人數而廣受讚譽。 

大衛班納大衛·班納(大衛·班納(Lavell William Crump))

唱片藝術家,演員和社會倡導者
HBCU參加: 南方大學和馬里蘭大學東岸(UMES)
畢業年: 1997
重大的: 工商管理與教育
Twitter的: @davidbanner
影響時刻: 他將HBCU樂隊的聲音融入他的音樂中,此靈感來自他在南方大學度過的時光,並持續以公開的方式談論有關種族和名人的有爭議問題,尤其是在喬治·弗洛伊德(George Floyd)死後的抗議活動中。  

Chadwick Boseman的Chadwick Boseman的

演員兼導演
HBCU參加: 霍華德大學
畢業年: 2000
重大的: 美術
Twitter的: @chadwickboseman
影響時刻: 《黑豹》(Black Panther)電影是第一部以非裔美國人為主角的漫威影業電影,該片獲得了三項奧斯卡金像獎,這是查德威克·玻色曼(Chadwick Boseman)的開創性角色。 《黑豹》電影通過在超級英雄電影中展現非裔美國人的卓越成就啟發了一代人。 即使他已經去世,他的記憶仍將通過他多年來在電影中扮演的許多角色而永遠存在。 #Wakanda永遠 

露絲·卡特(Ruth Carter)露絲·卡特(Ruth Carter)

服裝設計師
HBCU參加: 漢普頓大學
畢業年: 1982
重大的: 美術與表演藝術
Twitter的: @iamRuthECarter
影響時刻: 第一位因在大片《黑豹》中所做的工作而獲得奧斯卡金像獎的非洲裔美國服裝設計師。 她最近為服裝零售商H&M推出了自己的服裝系列,該系列以紅色,黑色和綠色設計。 

瑪麗安·賴特·愛德曼_DC瑪麗安賴特愛德曼

兒童防衛基金會創始人兼總裁埃梅里塔(Emerita)
HBCU參加: 斯佩爾曼學院
畢業年: 1960
重大的: 法律研究
影響時刻: 瑪麗安·賴特·愛德曼(Marian Wright Edelman)是一位兒童權利活動家,他幫助制定了“創業開始”計劃。 她一生都為處於不利地位的美國人提倡,並且是艾默里塔(Emerita)總統和兒童防衛基金會(Children's Defense Fund)的創始人。 

卡馬拉·哈里斯卡馬拉·哈里斯

美國副總統
HBCU參加: 霍華德大學
畢業年: 1986
重大的: 文科
Twitter的: @VP
影響時刻: 首位當選美利堅合眾國副總統的非洲裔美國人和亞裔美國人婦女。 通過當選該職位,她證明了HBCU為學生們實現他們最瘋狂的夢想做好了準備。 

達米安·胡珀·坎貝爾達米安·胡珀·坎貝爾

Zoom Video Communications的首席多樣性官
HBCU參加: 莫爾豪斯學院
畢業年: 2002
重大的: 經濟學
Twitter的: @dhoopcamp
影響時刻: 在Zoom,eBay和Uber擔任多樣性領導者的第一人致力於在歷史悠久的邊緣群體促進多樣性的同時,世界各地的人們都在依靠視頻通信進行交流,學習和工作。

朗尼·約翰遜(Lonnie Johnson)朗尼·約翰遜(Lonnie Johnson)

美國發明家和工程師
HBCU參加: 塔斯基吉大學
畢業年: 1973
重大的: 機械與核工程
Twitter的: @LonnieGJohnson
影響時刻: 他是發明家和工程師,擁有120多項專利,並發明了Super Soaker水槍,這是世界上最暢銷的玩具之一。 他還曾在美國國家航空航天局的噴氣推進實驗室工作。 

保羅法官保羅·賈奇(Paul Judge)博士

技術企業家和投資者
HBCU參加: 莫爾豪斯學院
畢業年: 1998
重大的: 計算機科學
Twitter的: @保羅法官
影響時刻: 為新技術創業公司設立了300億美元的風險投資基金,這是非洲裔美國男性有史以來發起的最大一筆風險基金投資。

瑪麗蓮·莫斯比瑪麗蓮·莫斯比(Marilyn Mosby)

巴爾的摩市州檢察官
HBCU參加: 塔斯基吉大學
畢業年: 2003
重大的: 政治科學與英語
Twitter的: @MarilynMosbyEsq
影響時刻: 她是美國任何一個主要城市中最年輕的首席檢察官,並一直是在全國各地擔任相同職務的其他黑人女性的主要倡導者。 2015年,她的巴爾的摩檢察院起訴弗雷迪·格雷(Freddie Gray)的死,指控六名警官,這是她首次獲得全國關注。 

阿妮卡·諾妮·羅斯(Anika-Noni-Rose)阿妮卡·諾妮·羅斯(Anika Noni-Rose)

演員和音樂藝術家
HBCU參加: 佛羅里達農業機械大學(FAMU)
畢業年: 1994
重大的: 劇院
Twitter的: @AnikaNoniRose
影響時刻: 她是迪斯尼公主蒂安娜(Tiana)在“公主與青蛙”中的聲音,這是一部有關非裔美國人公主的動畫電影。 她是《四人房》(The Quad)的系列負責人,這是關於她成為佐治亞州虛構HBCU的新任校長。 她還與碧昂絲(Beyoncé)一起出演了《夢幻女孩》(Dream Girls)。 由於表演,她獲得了托尼獎和皮博迪獎。

拉斐爾·沃諾克拉斐爾·沃諾克(Raphael Warnock)博士

美國佐治亞州參議員
HBCU參加: 莫爾豪斯學院
畢業年: 1991重大的: 心理學
Twitter的: @ReverandWarnock
影響時刻: 2020年當選參議院第一位代表佐治亞州的非裔美國參議員,並在馬丁·路德·金博士創辦的同一座教堂擔任牧師,並在那裡擔任牧師。

Influential HBCU Graduates

Throughout history, HBCUs have prepared African American students for excellence and success once they leave the protective barriers of their campus and enter into the unknown and unprotected world. These institutions serve as a proving ground where students explore the rich history of African Americans in the development of this country, while planning how they will make a change and leave a lasting impact in society. For far too long HBCUs have been society’s hidden gem, but now people are finally beginning to see the pivotal role HBCUs play in the education of African Americans and how these institutions have educated some of the best and brightest. HBCUs have nurtured many students to become who they are today, and while these few influential HBCU graduates are celebrated and recognized for their excellence, there are many others in the shadows who are waiting for their time to shine when the moment is just right. So, of the many HBCU graduates to choose from to highlight for being influential, the following were chosen because they have made a major impact on society and have made great achievements advancing the recognition of how well HBCUs prepare students to excel in life and break barriers.

The APS List of Influential HBCU Graduates

Stacey AbramsStacey Abrams

Fair Fight Organization Founder
HBCU Attended: Spelman College
Graduation Year: 1995
Major: Interdisciplinary Studies
Twitter: @staceyabrams
Influential Moment: The former Georgia State Representative ran for Governor of Georgia in 2018. Immediately following her unsuccessful run for Governor, she immediately began working to make sure the voter suppression she faced as a candidate was never experienced again by any voter, so she founded the Fair Fight organization. As the leader of the Fair Fight organization, she was largely credited for increasing the number of registered African American voters in the state of Georgia for the 2020 elections. 

David BannerDavid Banner (Lavell William Crump)

Recording Artist, Actor, and Social Advocate
HBCU Attended: Southern University & University of Maryland Eastern Shore (UMES)
Graduation Year: 1997
Major: Business Administration & Education
Twitter: @davidbanner
Influential Moment: He incorporated the sound of an HBCU band into his music inspired by the time he spent at Southern University and continually speaks in an open manner about controversial issues regarding race and celebrities, especially during the protests following the death of George Floyd.  

Chadwick BosemanChadwick Boseman

Actor & Director
HBCU Attended: Howard University
Graduation Year: 2000
Major: Fine Arts
Twitter: @chadwickboseman
Influential Moment: TheBlack Panther” movie was the first Marvel Pictures movie with a predominantly African American cast that received three Academy Awards that served as a groundbreaking role for Chadwick Boseman. The Black Panther movie inspired a generation by showing African American excellence in a superhero movie. Even though he is now deceased, his memory will live on forever through the many roles he has played in movies over the years. #WakandaForever 

Ruth CarterRuth Carter

Costume Designer
HBCU Attended: Hampton University
Graduation Year: 1982
Major: Fine & Performing Arts
Twitter: @iamRuthECarter
Influential Moment: The first African American costume designer to win an Academy Award for the work she did on the blockbuster movie “Black Panther.” She recently debuted her collection of clothes that she designed in the colors of red, black and green for clothing retailer H&M. 

Marian-Wright-Edelman_DCMarian Wright Edelman

Children’s Defense Fund Founder & President Emerita
HBCU Attended: Spelman College
Graduation Year: 1960
Major: Law Studies
Influential Moment: Marian Wright Edelman is a children’s rights activist who helped establish the Head Start program. She has advocated for disadvantaged Americans all of her professional life and is president emerita and founder of the Children’s Defense Fund. 

Kamala HarrisKamala Harris

Vice President of the United States
HBCU Attended: Howard University
Graduation Year: 1986
Major: Liberal Arts
Twitter: @VP
Influential Moment: The first African American and Asian American woman to be elected Vice President of the United States of America. By being elected for this position, she proved HBCUs prepare students to achieve their wildest dreams. 

Damien-Hooper-CampbellDamien Hooper-Campbell

Chief Diversity Officer at Zoom Video Communications
HBCU Attended: Morehouse College
Graduation Year: 2002
Major: Economics
Twitter: @dhoopcamp
Influential Moment: The first person to serve as a diversity leader at Zoom, eBay, and Uber focused on advancing diversity for historically marginalized groups at a time when people across the world are relying on video communications to communicate, learn, and work.

Lonnie JohnsonLonnie Johnson

American Inventor & Engineer
HBCU Attended: Tuskegee University
Graduation Year: 1973
Major: Mechanical & Nuclear Engineering
Twitter: @LonnieGJohnson
Influential Moment: An inventor and engineer, he holds more than 120 patents and invented the Super Soaker water gun, one of the world’s bestselling toys. He also worked at Nasa’s Jet Propulsion Lab. 

Paul JudgePaul Judge, Ph.D.

Technology Entrepreneur & Investor
HBCU Attended: Morehouse College
Graduation Year: 1998
Major: Computer Science
Twitter: @PaulJudge
Influential Moment: Launched a $300 million dollar venture capitalist fund for new technology startups, which is the largest venture fund amount launched in history by an African American male.

marilyn-mosbyMarilyn Mosby

State’s Attorney for the City of Baltimore
HBCU Attended: Tuskegee University
Graduation Year: 2003
Major: Political Science & English
Twitter: @MarilynMosbyEsq
Influential Moment: She is the youngest chief prosecutor of any major U.S. city and has been a major advocate for other Black women serving in the same position around the country. She first gained national attention in 2015 when her Baltimore prosecution office indicted six police officers in the death of Freddie Gray. 

Anika-Noni-RoseAnika Noni-Rose

Actor & Musical Artist
HBCU Attended: Florida Agricultural & Mechanical University (FAMU)
Graduation Year: 1994
Major: Theater
Twitter: @AnikaNoniRose
Influential Moment: She was the voice of Disney’s Princess Tiana in “The Princess and the Frog,” the first animated film about an African American princess. She was the series lead in “The Quad,” which was about her becoming the new school president of a fictional HBCU in Georgia. She also starred alongside Beyoncé in “Dream Girls.” For her acting performances, she has won a Tony Award and a Peabody Award.

Raphael WarnockRaphael Warnock, Ph.D.

United States Senator for the State of Georgia
HBCU Attended: Morehouse College
Graduation Year: 1991Major: Psychology
Twitter: @ReverandWarnock
Influential Moment: The first African American Senator to represent the state of Georgia when he was elected to the Senate in 2020 and serves as pastor at the same church founded by Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and where he served as pastor.