黑人黑人大學歷史(HBCU)

定義HBCU

HBCU是於1964年之前成立的高等教育機構(IHE),用於教育非洲人後裔。 經修正的1965年《高等教育法》將HBCU定義為:“……歷史悠久的黑人學院或大學,成立於1964年之前,其主要任務是過去的美國黑人的教育,並且得到了美國黑人的認可。由[教育部長]認定為提供的培訓質量的可靠機構的國家認可的認可機構或協會,或者根據這樣的機構或協會,在認可方面取得了合理的進展。”

1964年以後成立的機構被認為是主要的黑人機構(PBI)或教育部認可的歷史悠久的黑人研究生機構。 根據2008年《高等教育法案》建立的PBI的技術定義包括以下標準:至少40%的非洲裔美國學生,至少1,000名本科生,至少50%的低收入或第一代學位尋求者與全日製本科生相比,其他全日製本科生的支出較低。 這些資格反映了HBCU的運營條件,並表明HBCU自成立以來一直為他們的核心選民服務:非洲裔,第一代或低收入學生。

查看HBCU的官方列表

HBCU的歷史

黑人大學的歷史悠久,可追溯到內戰結束。 內戰之前,非洲裔美國人無法接受教育,也無法接受高等教育。 許多非裔美國人,包括弗雷德里克·道格拉斯(Frederick Douglass),都受到了自己的非正式教育。 即使在內戰和第一次世界大戰之間,高等學府的發展有所增加,但非洲裔美國人仍無法參加這些大學。 內戰之後,許多HBCU開始在主要的南部各州開放。 這些機構是在“獨立但平等”的前提下建立的。 但是,當時的HBCU資金不足,並且至今仍面臨著資金挑戰。 HBCU最初成立時,其目標是教育非洲裔美國人成為教師。

1837年,有色青年協會在賓夕法尼亞州的切尼成立。 這是第一個開放的HBCU,後來變成了Cheyney University。 第二所HBCU是成立於1851年的Myrtilla Miner師範學校,現在是哥倫比亞特區大學。 這些機構最初為學生提供基礎和中學教育,直到1900年代初才開始提供中學課程。 大部分HBCU成立於1865年至1900年,其中大部分於1867年開放,這是在解放奴隸的解放宣言通過兩年之後。 直到1890年第二部《莫里爾土地補助法》通過後,每當建立並限制了白人學生的土地贈款機構時,都要求擁有獨立公立高等教育系統的州為非裔美國人學生提供土地贈款機構。

多數HBCU由受過教育但未被奴役的慈善家或非裔美國人創立。 美國最高法院1896年的普萊西(Flessy)與弗格森(Ferguson)判決正式確立了“單獨但平等”的學說,該學說對包括所有HBCU在內的非洲裔美國學生的種族雙重教育機構進行了驗證。 在普萊西(Flessy)訴弗格森(Ferguson)之後,美國最高法院未來的判決規定,一個州必須盡快為非裔美國人提供非裔美國人的教育(Sinuel訴俄克拉荷馬大學董事局,1948年); 非裔美國學生必須獲得與白人學生相同的待遇(MacLaurin訴俄克拉荷馬州立法院,1950年); 國家必須為黑人和白人學生提供質量相當的設施(Sweatt訴Painter,1950年)。 在某些情況下,如果HBCU無法提供其學習計劃,則非裔美國人會被傳統的白人機構錄取。

直到1954年美國最高法院布朗對教育委員會的裁決推翻了“單獨但平等”的學說,因為種族隔離的公立學校剝奪了非裔美國人學生受到《第十四條修正案》保障的平等保護之前,非洲裔美國人的教育前景沒有改變。美國憲法。 即使作出了這一決定,HBCU設施仍被隔離,設施不足和缺乏資金。 結果,一些HBCU被迫關閉或與傳統的白人機構合併。 但是,非洲裔美國人學生因其文化背景而繼續參加HBCU。

如今的HBCU

儘管HBCU最初是為教育非洲裔美國人而建立的,但它們不再專門為非洲裔美國人服務,並且HBCU中有四分之一的學生不是非洲裔美國人。 當今的機構中,有相當大比例的非裔美國學生,包括亞洲,拉丁美洲,美國白人和來自許多外國的學生。 所有這些學生都受益於HBCU提供的非裔美國人歷史和文化的獨特教育。

今天仍然存在的HBCU克服了許多歷史挑戰,包括Jim Crow,資金不足,延期的維護和認證問題以及註冊人數減少。 儘管目前有爭論辯論是否需要HBCU,但顯然仍需要這些機構,因為它們有能力為非裔美國人以及來自其他背景和社會經濟地位的學生在畢業後取得成功做好準備。 如今,HBCU畢業的非裔美國人醫生和律師人數最多,這些機構也成功地為護理,刑事司法,商業,教育,信息技術和網絡安全領域的眾多非裔美國人做好了準備。 儘管這些天學生可以上很多大學,但HBCU仍然是首選的高等教育機構,因為它們的多樣性很高,並且是一種文化現象。

通過訪問以下資源來了解有關HBCU歷史的更多信息:

有關HBCU歷史的視頻

  • 告訴他們我們正在崛起:黑人高校的故事” –史丹利·尼爾森(Black Panthers,Freedom Riders)和馬可·威廉姆斯(Marco Williams)的最新紀錄片詳細介紹了HBCU的興起,影響和演變的有力故事。
  • HBCU體驗的歷史和重要性” –在歷史悠久的黑人大學和大學中發現的教育經驗正在為學生在一個非常需要他們的觀點的世界中取得成功做好準備。 艾爾伍德·羅賓遜(Elwood Robinson)博士深入研究了服務不足人群的文化思考方式,這是幫助學生學習,領導和發展的關鍵。
  • 黑人教育史:HBCU和PWI” –儘管有障礙,但非洲裔美國人還是歷史悠久的黑人學院和大學(HBCU)以及主要是白人機構(PWI)的教育先驅。 黑人教育史:從HBCU到PWI的歷史悠久,可追溯到1800年代。

關於非裔美國人教育經歷的歷史視頻

The History of Historically Black Colleges & Universities (HBCUs)

Defining HBCUs

HBCUs are Institutions of Higher Education (IHEs) established prior to 1964 to educate persons of African descent. The Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended, defines an HBCU as: “…any historically black college or university that was established prior to 1964, whose principal mission was, and is, the education of black Americans, and that is accredited by a nationally recognized accrediting agency or association determined by the Secretary [of Education] to be a reliable authority as to the quality of training offered or is, according to such an agency or association, making reasonable progress toward accreditation.”

Institutions founded after 1964 are considered Predominantly Black Institutions (PBIs) or a Historically Black Graduate Institution as recognized by the Department of Education. The technical definition of a PBI, as established in the Higher Education Act of 2008, includes the following criteria: at least 40% African American students, minimum of 1,000 undergraduates, have at least 50% low-income or first-generation degree-seeking undergraduate students, and have a low per full-time undergraduate student expenditure in comparison with other institutions offering similar instruction. These qualifications reflect conditions in which HBCUs operate, and indicate that since their founding, HBCUs have continued to serve their core constituencies: students who are of African descent, first-generation, or low-income.

View the Official List of HBCUs

The History of HBCUs

The history of Historically Black Colleges & Universities is sordid and dates back to the end of the Civil War. Before the Civil War, African Americans were not able to be educated and could not pursue higher education. Many African Americans, including Frederick Douglass, were informally educated on their own. Even though there was an increase in the development of higher learning institutions between the Civil War and World War I, African Americans were unable to attend these institutions. Following the Civil War, many HBCUs began to open in primarily southern states. These institutions were founded on the premise of “separate, but equal.” However, HBCUs at that time were underfunded, and to this day continue to face funding challenges. When HBCUs were initially founded, their goal was to educate African Americans to become teachers.

In 1837, the Institute for Colored Youth was founded in Cheyney, Pennsylvania. This was the first HBCU to open and would later become Cheyney University. The second HBCU was the Myrtilla Miner Normal School founded in 1851 and is now the University of the District of Columbia. These institutions originally provided elementary and secondary education to students and did not begin to provide postsecondary courses until the early 1900s. A majority of HBCUs were founded from 1865-1900 with a majority of them opening in 1867, two years after the passing of the Emancipation Proclamation that freed slaves. It was not until the passing of the Second Morrill Land Grant Act in 1890 that states with segregated public higher education systems were required to provide a land-grant institution for African American students whenever a land-grant institution was established and restricted for white students.

A majority of HBCUs were founded by philanthropists or African Americans who were educated and not enslaved. The U.S. Supreme Court’s Plessy vs. Ferguson decision in 1896 officially established the “separate but equal” doctrine validating racially dual educational institutions for African American students, including all HBCUs. Future U.S. Supreme Court decisions following Plessy vs. Ferguson stipulated that a state must offer schooling for African Americans as soon as it provided it for white students (Sinuel v. Board of Regents of University of Oklahoma, 1948); African American students must receive the same treatment as white students (MacLaurin v. Oklahoma State Regents, 1950); and a state must provide facilities of comparable quality for black and white students (Sweatt v. Painter, 1950). In some instances, African Americans were admitted to traditionally white institutions if their program of study was not available at an HBCU.

The educational landscape for African Americans did not change until the U.S. Supreme Court Brown vs. Board of Education decision in 1954 when the “separate but equal” doctrine was overturned because racially segregated public schools deprive African American students of equal protection guaranteed by the Fourteenth Amendment of the U.S. Constitution. Even after this decision, HBCU facilities remained segregated with inadequate facilities and a lack of funding. As a result, some HBCUs were forced to close or merge with traditionally white institutions. However, African American students continued to attend HBCUs because of their cultural relevance.

HBCUs Today

Although HBCUs were originally founded to educate African Americans, they no longer exclusively serve African Americans and 1 in 4 students enrolled at HBCUs is not African American. Today’s institutions have a significant percentage of non-African American students, including Asian, Latino, white American, and students from many foreign countries. All of these students benefit from the unique education steeped in African American history and culture that HBCUs provide.

The HBCUs still in existence today have survived many historical challenges, including Jim Crow, inadequate funding, deferred maintenance and accreditation issues, and decreased enrollment. While there have been arguments debating the need for HBCUs currently, it is evident that these institutions are still needed because of their ability to prepare African Americans, and students from other backgrounds and socioeconomic statuses, for success once they graduate. Today, HBCUs graduate the highest number of African American doctors and Lawyers, these institutions also successfully prepare African American in large numbers for fields in nursing, criminal justice, business, education, information technology, and cybersecurity. Even though students are able to attend many colleges and universities these days, HBCUs are still the higher educational institution of choice because of their high level of diversity and because they are a cultural phenomenon.

Learn more about the history of HBCUs by visiting the following resources:

Videos About the History of HBCUs

  • Tell Them We Are Rising: The Story of Black Colleges and Universities” – The latest documentary from Stanley Nelson (Black Panthers, Freedom Riders) and Marco Williams detailing the powerful story of the rise, influence, and evolution of HBCUs comes to life.
  • The History & Importance of the HBCU Experience” – The educational experiences found in Historically Black Colleges and Universities are preparing students to succeed in a world that is in great need of their perspectives. Dr. Elwood Robinson provides insight into the way considering culture in underserved populations is key to helping students learn, lead, and thrive.
  • The History of Blacks in Education: HBCUs and PWIs” – Despite obstacles, African Americans have been pioneers in education at both historically black colleges and universities (HBCUs) and predominately white institutions (PWIs). The History of Blacks in Education: HBCUs to PWIs explores this rich history that dates back to the 1800s.

Videos About the History of the African American Educational Experience