DC地區的HBCU

當歷史上大多數黑人高等學校(HBCU)成立時,它遵循的是1863年解放奴隸制的解放宣言。儘管少數HBCU在1863年之前成立,但其中大多數是在1865年至1900年之間建立的。 在這段時間裡,針對非洲裔美國人的教育遵循“分開但平等”的學說,因此大多數HBCU都建立在南部各州,以允許非洲裔美國人接受從未奴役的廢奴主義者,慈善家或非裔美國人接受高等教育。 弗吉尼亞州的HBCU位於阿靈頓以南,靠近里士滿地區。 DC地區還有許多其他HBCU,包括位於華盛頓特區的霍華德大學。

本週,將對特拉華州,哥倫比亞特區,馬里蘭州,賓夕法尼亞州和弗吉尼亞州的HBCU進行概要介紹,以突出顯示與弗吉尼亞州阿靈頓市非常接近的所有HBCU。 當您閱讀這些HBCU的概況和概述時,請花點時間思考這些高等教育機構多年來如何教育了許多非裔美國人,並使他們為追求卓越做好了準備,即使他們面臨許多挑戰和障礙。

查看HBCU的完整列表


特拉華

特拉華州立大學特拉華州立大學
學校所在地: 特拉華州多佛
校長: 托尼·艾倫博士
成立時間: 二零二一年五月十七日
學生人數: 5,054
校訓: 在世界上留下自己的印記
網站: https://www.desu.edu/
學校概況: 特拉華州立大學(也稱為DSU,DESU或Del State)是位於特拉華州Dover的美國歷史悠久的黑人公立大學。 DSU在特拉華州的威明頓市和特拉華州的喬治敦市也有兩個衛星校園,是該州第二大大學。 它的暱稱是“大黃蜂”,大學是“中東運動大會”的成員。 他們的顏色是櫻桃紅和哥倫比亞藍,他們的座右銘是“在世界上留下我們的印記”和“勇往直前”。

哥倫比亞特區

霍華德大學霍華德大學
學校所在地: 華盛頓特區,
校長: 韋恩·艾·弗雷德里克博士
成立時間: 三月2日, 1867
學生人數: 9,689
校訓: 真理與服務
網站: https://home.howard.edu/
概述: 霍華德大學成立於1867年,是一所私立的研究型大學,由13所學校和學院組成。 學生在120多個領域進修,獲得本科,研究生和專業學位。 迄今為止,霍華德已授予超過120,000萬個藝術,科學和人文學位。 這座歷史悠久的主校區坐落在華盛頓西北部的一座山頂上,距離傳奇的U街和霍華德劇院(Howard Theatre)僅一步之遙。 我們距美國國會大廈兩英里,那裡有許多學生在實習,許多校友影響著國家和外交政策。

UDC哥倫比亞特區大學
學校所在地: 華盛頓特區,
校長: 羅納德·梅森
成立年份: 1851
學生人數: 5,521
校訓: 成功的邀請
網站: https://www.udc.edu/
概述: 哥倫比亞特區大學(UDC)是位於華盛頓特區的一所歷史悠久的黑人公立大學,UDC是美國僅有的幾所城市土地贈款大學之一,也是瑟古德·馬歇爾獎學金基金會的成員。 它也是哥倫比亞特區唯一的公立大學。 它的暱稱是Firebirds,而該大學是中州大學與學校協會的成員。 他們的顏色是紅色和金色,他們的座右銘是“成功的邀請”。

馬里蘭

鮑伊州立大學鮑伊州立大學
學校所在地: 馬里蘭鮑伊
校長: Aminta H.Broaux博士
成立年份: 9-1865-XNUMXTXNUMX:XNUMX:XNUMX
學生人數: 6,250
校訓: 為生活做準備
網站: https://www.bowiestate.edu/
概述: 鮑伊州立大學(“鮑伊州立”)是一所公立大學,位於郊區馬里蘭州鮑伊市以北的美國馬里蘭州喬治王子縣未合併的355½英畝(1.4平方公里)上。 鮑伊州立大學是馬里蘭大學系統的一部分。 鮑伊州立大學是馬里蘭州歷史最悠久的黑人大學,也是美國十所最古老的大學之一。 它的暱稱是“鬥牛犬”和“鬥牛犬”,而大學是中央大學間體育協會的成員。 他們的顏色是黑色和金色,座右銘是“為生活做準備”。

科平州科普平州立大學
學校所在地: 美國馬里蘭州巴爾的摩市
校長: 瑪麗亞·湯普森博士
成立年份: 1900
學生人數: 4,189
校訓: 培育潛力……改變生活
網站: https://www.coppin.edu/
概述: Coppin州立大學是一所歷史悠久的黑人學院,位於美國馬里蘭州的巴爾的摩。 它是馬里蘭大學系統的一部分。 它的綽號是老鷹隊,而大學是中東運動大會和NCAA的I部門的成員。它們的顏色是Old GoldReflex Blue及其座右銘是“培育潛力……改變生活”。

摩根州立大學摩根州立大學
學校所在地: 美國馬里蘭州巴爾的摩市
校長: David Kwabena Wilson博士
成立年份: 1867
學生人數: 7,546
校訓: 開拓未來,引領世界
網站: https://www.morgan.edu/
簡介:摩根州立大學(MSU)也位於馬里蘭州的巴爾的摩,是一所歷史悠久的黑人學院,由循道衛理公會的巴爾的摩會議於1867年成立,是一所私立機構,於1939年成為一所公共機構,並於1975年獲得博士學位XNUMX年。在整個歷史中,MSU一直是一家綜合性機構,著重於藝術和科學,並在所有學習領域都擁有強大的通識教育,這一傳統一直延續至今。 目前,摩根是瑟古德·馬歇爾大學基金的成員,並擁有自己的董事會管理委員會。

梅斯馬里蘭大學東岸(UMES)
學校所在地: 馬里蘭安妮公主
校長: 海蒂·安德森(Heidi M.Anderson)
成立時間: 九月13,1886
學生人數: 3,906
校訓: 行動而不是言辭
網站: https://www.umes.edu/
概述:馬里蘭東部海岸大學(UMES)成立於1886年,當時是特拉華會議學院,是一所土地贈款,歷史上是黑人學院。 它保留了HBCU的傳統,可為所有學生提供平等的教育機會。 該學院位於美國馬里蘭州的安妮公主市,是馬里蘭大學系統的一部分。 UMES已獲得馬里蘭州的認可,並獲得了中州高等學校協會的全面認可。

賓夕法尼亞

切尼大學賓夕法尼亞州切尼大學
學校所在地: 賓夕法尼亞州切尼
校長: 亞倫·沃爾頓
成立時間: 25 月1837, XNUMX
學生人數: 1,586
網站: https://cheyney.edu/
概述: 賓夕法尼亞州的切尼大學是一所歷史悠久的公立男女同校黑人大學,是賓夕法尼亞州立高等教育體系的一部分。 切尼大學擁有275英畝(1.11平方公里)的校園,位於切斯特縣桑伯里鎮和特拉華縣桑伯里鎮的切尼社區。 它的暱稱是狼隊,而大學則是美國大學體育協會的成員。 他們的顏色是藍色和白色,其座右銘是“我之所以興旺是因為我是Cheyney Made。”

林肯大學林肯大學
學校所在地: 賓夕法尼亞林肯大學
校長: 布倫達·艾倫
成立時間: 四月29日, 1854
學生人數: 2,077
網站: https://www.lincoln.edu/
概述: 林肯大學(LU)是賓夕法尼亞州牛津附近一所州立歷史悠久的州立公共大學。 它成立於1854年,是私人的Ashmun研究所,自1972年以來一直是公共機構,並且是美國首個獲得學位的HBCU。 它的主要校園位於賓夕法尼亞州切斯特縣南部牛津鎮附近的422英畝土地上。 該大學在費城大學城設有第二個分校。 林肯大學為大約2,000名學生提供本科和研究生課程。 它是瑟古德·馬歇爾學院基金的會員學校。

弗吉尼亞州

漢普頓大學漢普頓大學
學校所在地: 弗吉尼亞漢普頓
校長: 威廉·R·哈維博士
成立時間: 四月1日, 1868
學生人數: 3,516
校訓: 卓越標準,終身教育
網站: http://www.hamptonu.edu/
概述: 漢普頓大學是一所綜合性的高等教育機構,致力於促進學習,培養性格和培養有前途的學生擔任領導和服務職務。 它的課程重點是科學和專業,並在束腰帶下具有很強的文科水平。 在執行任務時,大學要求其所做的一切都是最高質量的。

諾福克州立大學(Norfolk State University)的20年2015月XNUMX日星期五舉行。(Tigermoth照片/ Chris English)

諾福克州立大學
學校所在地: 美國弗吉尼亞州諾福克,
校長: Javaune Adams-Gaston博士
成立時間: 二零二一年九月二十九日
學生人數: 5,616
校訓: 我們看到您的未來
網站: https://www.nsu.edu/
概述: 諾福克州立大學是一家綜合性的城市公共機構,致力於通過模範的教學,研究和服務來改變學生的生活。 大學為所有人提供了一個支持性的學術和文化多元的環境,使學生能夠將自己的理想變成現實,並充分發揮自己的潛力,成為21世紀全面而機智的公民和領導人。

弗吉尼亞州立大學弗吉尼亞州立大學
學校所在地: 弗吉尼亞彼得斯堡
校長: 馬科拉·阿卜杜拉(Makola M. Abdullah)
成立時間: 三月6日, 1882
學生人數: 5,414
校訓: 變革的經歷
網站: https://www.vsu.edu/
概述: 弗吉尼亞州立大學是一所公共的,全面的1890年土地撥款機構,歷史上是黑人大學/大學,致力於通過整合教學,研究,推廣和外展的學術課程和服務,為多樣化的男女群體做準備。 大學努力滿足學生的教育需求,畢業終身學習的人,他們有足夠的能力為知識淵博的公民,具有全球競爭力的領導者和高效,道德規範的專業人員服務於社區。

弗吉尼亞聯合大學弗吉尼亞聯合大學
學校所在地: 弗吉尼亞州里士滿
校長: 哈基姆·盧卡斯(Hakim Lucas)
成立時間: 四月3日, 1865
學生人數: 1,132
校訓: 主將提供
網站: https://www.vuu.edu/
概述: 弗吉尼亞聯合大學成立於1865年,旨在為新解放的奴隸提供教育和發展的機會。 該大學是四個機構合併的結果:里士滿神學院,韋蘭學院,哈茲霍恩紀念學院和斯托勒學院。 里士滿神學院在弗吉尼亞州里士滿的盧普金監獄(Lumpkin's Jail)上過課,該監獄曾是失控奴隸的牢房。 同時,美國浸信會家庭宣教協會在華盛頓特區成立了韋蘭德學院。兩年後的1867年,斯托勒學院在西弗吉尼亞州的哈珀費里成立。1883年,哈茨霍恩紀念學院在里士滿開幕。第一所非洲裔美國婦女學院。 經過獨立運作的三十年,里士滿神學院和韋蘭學院於11年1899月1932日合併,成立了弗吉尼亞聯合大學。 後來,分別在1964年和XNUMX年,哈茲霍恩紀念學院和斯托爾學院成為該聯盟的一部分。

弗吉尼亞林奇堡大學弗吉尼亞林奇堡大學
學校所在地: 弗吉尼亞州林奇堡
校長: 凱西·富蘭克林博士
成立時間: 五月 1886
學生人數: 205
校訓: Sibi Auxilium et Libertas(尋求幫助和自由)
網站: https://www.vul.edu/
概述: 弗吉尼亞林奇堡大學是一所歷史悠久的私立黑人大學,位於弗吉尼亞州林奇堡。 該大學目前提供教學和學位,主要是宗教研究,包括部博士學位課程。 校園是國家歷史名勝古蹟中列出的歷史街區。

HBCUs in the DC Region

When a majority of the Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) were founded, it was following the Emancipation Proclamation freeing slaves in 1863. Even though a few HBCUs were founded before 1863, a majority of them were founded between 1865-1900. During this time education for African Americans followed the “separate but equal” doctrine, so most HBCUs were founded in southern states to allow African Americans to pursue higher education by abolitionists, philanthropists, or African Americans who were never enslaved. The HBCUs in Virginia are located south of Arlington close to the Richmond area. There are many other HBCUs in the DC region, including Howard University located in Washington, DC.

This week the HBCUs in the states of Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, and Virginia will be profiled to highlight all of the HBCUs with a close proximity to Arlington, VA. As you read the profiles and overviews of these HBCUs, take a moment to think of how these institutions of higher learning have educated many African Americans over the years and have prepared them for excellence, even while facing many challenges and obstacles.

View the Full List of HBCUs


Delaware

Delaware State UniversityDelaware State University
School Location: Dover, Delaware
School President: Dr. Tony Allen
Date Founded: May 15, 1891
Student Population: 5,054
School Motto: Making Our Mark on the World
Website: https://www.desu.edu/
School Overview: Delaware State University (also referred to as DSU, DESU, or Del State), is an American historically black, public university located in Dover, Delaware. DSU also has two satellite campuses located in Wilmington, Delaware, and Georgetown, Delaware & is the second-largest university in the state. It’s nickname is the Hornet and the University is a member of the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference. Their colors are Cherry red and Columbia blue and their motto is “Making our mark on the world” and “Go forth and serve.”

District of Columbia

Howard UniversityHoward University
School Location: Washington, DC
School President: Dr. Wayne A. I. Frederick
Date Founded: March 2, 1867
Number of Students: 9,689
School Motto: Truth and Service
Website: https://home.howard.edu/
Overview: Founded in 1867, Howard University is a private, research university comprised of 13 schools and colleges. Students pursue studies in more than 120 areas leading to undergraduate, graduate and professional degrees. To date, Howard has awarded more than 120,000 degrees in the arts, the sciences, and the humanities. The historic main campus sits on a hilltop in Northwest Washington blocks from the storied U Street and Howard Theatre. We are two miles from the U.S. Capitol where many students intern, and scores of alumni shape national and foreign policy.

UDCUniversity of the District of Columbia
School Location: Washington, DC
School President: Ronald Mason
Year Founded: 1851
Number of Students: 5,521
School Motto: An Invitation to Success
Website: https://www.udc.edu/
Overview: The University of the District of Columbia (UDC) is a historically black, public university located in Washington, D.C. UDC is one of only a few urban land-grant universities in the country and a member of the Thurgood Marshall Scholarship Fund. It is also the only public university in the District of Columbia. It’s nickname is the Firebirds and the University is member of the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools. Their colors are Red and Gold and their motto is “An Invitation to Success.”

Maryland

Bowie StateBowie State University
School Location: Bowie, Maryland
School President: Dr. Aminta H. Breaux
Year Founded: January 9, 1865
Student Population: 6,250
School Motto: Prepare for Life
Website: https://www.bowiestate.edu/
Overview: Bowie State University (“Bowie State”), is a public university located on 355½ acres (1.4 km²) in unincorporated Prince George’s County, Maryland, United States, north of the suburban city of Bowie. Bowie State is part of the University System of Maryland. Bowie State is Maryland’s oldest historically black university and one of the ten oldest in the country. It’s nickname is the Bulldogs and Lady Bulldogs and the University is a member of the Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association. Their colors are Black and Gold and their motto is “Prepare For Life.”

Coppin StateCoppin State University
School Location: Baltimore, Maryland
School President: Dr. Maria Thompson
Year Founded: 1900
Student Population: 4,189
School Motto: Nurturing Potential…Transforming Lives
Website: https://www.coppin.edu/
Overview: Coppin State University is a historically black college located in Baltimore, Maryland, United States. It is part of the University System of Maryland. It’s nickname is the Eagles and the University is a member of the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference and NCAA’s Division I. Their colors are Old Gold and Reflex Blue and their motto is “Nurturing Potential…Transforming Lives.”

Morgan State UniversityMorgan State University
School Location: Baltimore, Maryland
School President: Dr. David Kwabena Wilson
Year Founded: 1867
Student Population: 7,546
School Motto: Growing the Future, Leading the World
Website: https://www.morgan.edu/
Overview: Morgan State University also referred as MSU is a historically black college located in Baltimore, Maryland Founded in 1867 by the Baltimore Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church as a private institution, it became a public institution in 1939 and a doctoral-granting university in 1975. Throughout its history, MSU has been a comprehensive institution emphasizing the arts and sciences and a strong general education in all fields of study, a tradition that continues today. Currently, Morgan is a member of Thurgood Marshall College Fund and possesses its own governing board of regents.

UMESUniversity of Maryland Eastern Shore (UMES)
School Location: Princess Anne, Maryland
School President: Heidi M. Anderson
Date Founded: Sept. 13, 1886
Student Population: 3,906
School Motto: Deeds, Not Words
Website: https://www.umes.edu/
Overview: Founded in 1886 as the Delaware Conference Academy, The University of Maryland Eastern Shore (UMES) is a land grant, historically black college. It maintains a legacy of an HBCU that offers equal education opportunity to all students. The college is located in Princess Anne, Maryland, United States and is a part of the University System of Maryland. UMES is approved by the state of Maryland and fully accredited by the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools.

Pennsylvania

Cheyney UniversityCheyney University of Pennsylvania
School Location: Cheyney, Pennsylvania
School President: Aaron A. Walton
Date Founded: February 25, 1837
Student Population: 1,586
Website: https://cheyney.edu/
Overview: Cheyney University of Pennsylvania is a public, co-educational historically black university that is a part of the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education. Cheyney University has a 275-acre (1.11 km2) campus that is located in the Cheyney community within Thornbury Township, Chester County and Thornbury Township, Delaware County. It’s nickname is the Wolves and the University is a member of the National Collegiate Athletic Association. Their colors are blue and white and their motto is “I Thrive Because I am Cheyney Made.”

Lincoln UniversityLincoln University
School Location: Lincoln University, Pennsylvania
School President: Brenda A. Allen
Date Founded: April 29, 1854
Student Population: 2,077
Website: https://www.lincoln.edu/
Overview: Lincoln University (LU) is a state-related public historically black university near Oxford, Pennsylvania. Founded as the private Ashmun Institute in 1854, it has been a public institution since 1972 and was the United States’ first degree-granting HBCU. Its main campus is located on 422 acres near the town of Oxford in southern Chester County, Pennsylvania. The university has a second location in University City, Philadelphia. Lincoln University provides undergraduate and graduate coursework to approximately 2,000 students. It is a member-school of the Thurgood Marshall College Fund.

Virginia

Hampton UniversityHampton University
School Location: Hampton, Virginia
School President: Dr. William R. Harvey
Date Founded: April 1, 1868
Student Population: 3,516
School Motto: The Standard of Excellence, An Education for Life
Website: http://www.hamptonu.edu/
Overview: Hampton University is a comprehensive institution of higher education, dedicated to the promotion of learning, building of character and preparation of promising students for positions of leadership and service. Its curriculum emphasis is scientific and professional with a strong liberal arts under girding. In carrying out its mission, the University requires that everything that it does be of the highest quality.

Norfolk State University's quad on Friday, November 20, 2015. (Tigermoth Photo/Chris English)

Norfolk State University
School Location: Norfolk, Virginia
School President: Dr. Javaune Adams-Gaston
Date Founded: September 18, 1935
Student Population: 5,616
School Motto: We See the Future in You
Website: https://www.nsu.edu/
Overview: Norfolk State University, a comprehensive urban public institution, is committed to transforming students’ lives through exemplary teaching, research and service. Offering a supportive academic and culturally diverse environment for all, the University empowers its students to turn their aspirations into reality and achieve their full potential as well-rounded and resourceful citizens and leaders for the 21st century.

Virginia State UniversityVirginia State University
School Location: Petersburg, Virginia
School President: Makola M. Abdullah
Date Founded: March 6, 1882
Student Population: 5,414
School Motto: A Transformative Experience
Website: https://www.vsu.edu/
Overview: Virginia State University, a public, comprehensive 1890 Land Grant institution and historically black college/university, is committed to the preparation of a diverse population of men and women through the advancement of academic programs and services that integrate instruction, research, extension, and outreach. The University endeavors to meet the educational needs of students, graduating lifelong learners who are well equipped to serve their communities as informed citizens, globally competitive leaders, and highly effective, ethical professionals.

Virginia Union UniversityVirginia Union University
School Location: Richmond, Virginia
School President: Hakim Lucas
Date Founded: April 3, 1865
Student Population: 1,132
School Motto: The Lord Will Provide
Website: https://www.vuu.edu/
Overview: Virginia Union University was founded in 1865 to give newly emancipated slaves an opportunity for education and advancement. The University is the result of the merger of four institutions: Richmond Theological Seminary, Wayland Seminary, Hartshorn Memorial College, and Storer College. Richmond Theological Seminary held classes in Richmond, Virginia at Lumpkin’s Jail, a former holding cell for runaway slaves. During the same time, Wayland Seminary was founded by the American Baptist Home Mission Society in Washington, D.C. Two years later in 1867, Storer College was founded in Harper’s Ferry, West Virginia, and in 1883, Hartshorn Memorial College opened its doors in Richmond as the first college for African American women. After three decades of operating independently, Richmond Theological Seminary and Wayland Seminary merged on February 11, 1899 to form Virginia Union University. Later, in 1932 and 1964, respectively, Hartshorn Memorial College and Storer College became part of this UNION.

Virginia University of LynchburgVirginia University of Lynchburg
School Location: Lynchburg, Virginia
School President: Dr. Kathy Franklin
Date Founded: May 1886
Student Population: 205
School Motto: Sibi Auxilium et Libertas (For Help and Freedom)
Website: https://www.vul.edu/
Overview: Virginia University of Lynchburg is a private, historically black university located in Lynchburg, Virginia. The university currently offers instruction and degrees, primarily in religious studies, including a Doctorate of Ministry program. The campus is a historic district listed on the National Register of Historic Places.