有關美國救援計劃法案 (ARPA) 初級和二級緊急救濟 (ESSER) III 基金的信息

什麼是 ARPA 和 ESSER III Grant?

美國救援計劃法案 (ARPA) 中小學緊急救濟 (ESSER) III 基金旨在幫助重新開放和維持學校的安全運營,並幫助學校通過學術、社會、情感和心理健康支持。 該贈款為學校提供必要的資金,以應對 COVID-19 對整個大流行期間服務的影響,並製定和實施恢復正常學校運營的計劃。

學校有什麼要求? 

學校部門必須制定並實施一項計劃,以確保安全返回面對面教學和服務的連續性。 該計劃必須可用,並通過正常的溝通渠道傳達給員工和家屬。 在製定 ARPA/ESSER III 計劃時,該部門必須告知利益相關者並與利益相關者進行有意義的磋商,以了解將資金用於 COVID 響應、恢復和恢復正常運營的既定目的。

怎麼樣 APS 使用了 ARPA/ESSER III 資金?

APS 弗吉尼亞州教育部 (VDOE) 於 30 年 2021 月 18.9 日通知,它將收到大約 XNUMX 萬美元的 ARPA/ESSER III 資金。 迄今為止, APS 沒有收到 VDOE 的 ARPA/ESSER III 資金。 APS 將來自 ARP/ESSER III 的資金作為收入納入其 2022 財年預算,以幫助彌補其面臨的巨大缺口。 通過預算流程,該流程於 2022 月結束,學校董事會批准了 XNUMX 財年預算, APS 表示有意使用 ARPA/ESSER III 資金實施返校計劃並繼續向學生提供基本服務。 如果沒有這些資金,除了 22 財年預算中實施的削減之外,還需要大幅削減預算。 使用 ARPA/ESSER III 資金提供 APS 以及製定和實施恢復正常學校運營計劃所需的資金。

APS 已確定列出的項目 這個文件 符合 ARPA/ESSER III 要求的報銷資格。

如何做 APS 與社區就預算流程和資金使用進行交流?

社區參與一直是社區參與的重要組成部分 APS 預算過程。 APS 就 2022 財年預算制定過程進行了廣泛的參與和持續的溝通。

學校董事會在兩個半月的時間裡舉行了六次公共工作會議,以製定預算並確定如何在預算中使用 ARPA/ESSER III 資金以支持學生、教職員工和學校運營。 在預算過程中還舉行了公開聽證會,以獲取利益相關者對預算、為幫助減少短缺而提議的削減以及應如何使用額外收入(如 ARP/ESSER III 資金)的反饋意見。 此外,學校董事會會見了多個諮詢委員會(教學諮詢委員會、設施諮詢委員會和預算諮詢委員會)以及員工諮詢委員會(協作專業戰略團隊、員工諮詢委員會)的主席,以及阿靈頓學校管理人員)尋求他們對預算的意見和反饋。

APS 還通過 Engage 流程請求社區提供反饋和評論,維護 預算發展網頁,並每週通過 Engage Thursday 消息和其他 School Talk 消息就預算制定過程進行交流。  

有哪些可以和將如何使用資金的例子?  

這些資金支持正在進行的運營,因為 APS 恢復為期五天的面對面安排,並提供 2021-22 學年的虛擬學習計劃。 如果沒有這些資金,除了 22 財年預算中實施的削減之外,還需要大幅削減預算。 使用 ARPA/ESSER III 資金提供 APS 以及製定和實施恢復正常學校運營計劃所需的資金。

ARPA/ESSER III 基金支持的基本服務的例子包括暑期學校計劃、暑期學校人員配備的額外激勵、測試和評估的住宿和規劃、學生的技術和訪問、虛擬學習計劃的開發和實施、僱用學校輔導員支持學生的社交、情感和心理健康,某些學校的額外工作人員幫助解決學習損失,以及在 2021 年夏季和 2021-22 學年為學生提供額外服務以及學術和社會情感支持。

APS 返校計劃和教學模式 已通過學校談話信息和圍繞為 2021-22 學年而進行的家庭選擇過程的參與傳達給家庭。 

是否會提供額外的溝通或信息來更新社區關於 ARPA/ESSER III 資金如何在 2022 財年預算中分配的詳細信息?  

APS 將提供有關 ARPA/ESSER III 資金如何在 2022 財年預算中分配的更多詳細信息,因為我們將在夏季進行並收到 VDOE 的進一步指導。 APS 需要向 VDOE 提供一份資金申請,概述其打算如何在 1 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日前使用 ARPA/ESSER III 資金。

為什麼 APS 沒有像費爾法克斯目前那樣圍繞 ARPA/ESSER III 基金進行相同類型的社區參與? 

APS 在 2022 財年預算過程中進行了社區參與。 在整個過程中, APS 表達了使用 ARPA/ESSER III 資金來幫助平衡預算並緩解 2022 財年重大資金短缺的意圖。由於費爾法克斯不需要 ARPA/ESSER III 資金來平衡其預算,因此將這些資金包括在其 2022 財年預算作為佔位符,然後是社區參與。

Information about American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) Elementary and Secondary Emergency Relief (ESSER) III Fund

What is ARPA and the ESSER III Grant?

The American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief (ESSER) III Fund was developed to help reopen and sustain the safe operation of schools and to aid schools in addressing the impacts of COVID-19 on the nation’s students through academic, social, emotional, and mental health supports. The grant provides funding necessary for schools to address the impact of COVID-19 on services throughout the pandemic and to develop and implement plans for resuming normal school operations.

What is required by schools? 

School divisions must develop and implement a plan for the safe return to in-person instruction and continuity of services. The plan must be made available and communicated via normal communications channels to staff and families. In developing the ARPA/ESSER III Plan, the division must inform and conduct meaningful consultation with stakeholders about the use of the funds for the stated purposes of COVID response, recovery and the return to normal operations.

How has APS used the ARPA/ESSER III funds?

APS was notified by the Virginia Department of Education (VDOE) on April 30, 2021, that it would receive approximately $18.9 million in ARPA/ESSER III funds.  To date, APS has received no ARPA/ESSER III funds from VDOE. APS included the funds from ARP/ESSER III as revenue in its FY 2022 budget to help close the substantial shortfall it was facing. Through the budget process, which concluded in May with School Board approval of the FY 2022 budget, APS signaled its intent to use the ARPA/ESSER III funds to implement return to school plans and continue the delivery of essential services to students. Without these funds, significant additional cuts in the budget would have been required, over and above the reductions implemented in the FY22 budget.  Using the ARPA/ESSER III funds provides APS with the funding needed to develop and implement plans for the return to normal school operations.

APS has determined the items listed on this document will qualify for reimbursement under the ARPA/ESSER III requirements.

How did APS engage with the community about the budget process and use of the funds?

Community engagement has always been an essential part of the APS budgeting process. APS conducted extensive engagement and ongoing communication about the FY 2022 budget development process.

The School Board held six public work sessions over two and a half months to develop the budget and to determine how the ARPA/ESSER III funds would be used in the budget in support of students, staff, and school operations.  Public hearings also were held during the budget process to obtain stakeholder feedback on the budget, the reductions that were proposed to help reduce the shortfall, and how additional revenue, such as the ARP/ESSER III funds should be used.  Additionally, the School Board met with the chairs of several advisory committees (the Advisory Committee on Teaching and Learning, the Facilities Advisory Council, and the Budget Advisory Council) as well as employee advisory committees (the Collaborative Professional Strategies Team, the Employee Advisory Council, and the Arlington School Administrators) to seek their input and feedback on the budget.

APS also requested feedback and comment from the community through the Engage process, maintained a budget development webpage, and communicated on a weekly basis about the budget development process via Engage Thursday messages and other School Talk messages.  

What are some examples of how the funds can and will be used?  

The funds support ongoing operations as APS resumes five-day, in-person schedules and offers the Virtual Learning Program for the 2021-22 school year. Without these funds, significant additional cuts in the budget would have been required, over and above the reductions implemented in the FY22 budget.  Using the ARPA/ESSER III funds provides APS with the funding needed to develop and implement plans for the return to normal school operations.

Examples of essential services supported by the ARPA/ESSER III funds include summer school programming, added incentives for staffing of summer school, accommodations and planning for testing and assessments, technology and access for students, development and implementation of the Virtual Learning Program, hiring of school counselors to support students’ social, emotional, and mental health, additional staff in certain schools to help address learning loss, as well as additional services and academic and social emotional supports for students in the summer 2021 and the 2021-22 school year.

The APS return-to-school plans and instructional models have been communicated to families via School Talk messages and engagement around the family selection process conducted in preparation for the 2021-22 school year. 

Will there be additional communication or information provided to update the community on details of how the ARPA/ESSER III funds are allocated in the FY 2022 budget?  

APS will provide additional details on how the ARPA/ESSER III funds are allocated in the FY 2022 budget as we move through the summer and as we receive further guidance from the VDOE. APS is required to provide to VDOE a funding application outlining how it intends to use the ARPA/ESSER III funds by September 1, 2021.

Why is APS not doing the same type of community engagement around the ARPA/ESSER III funds as Fairfax is currently? 

APS conducted community engagement during the FY 2022 budget process. Throughout that process, APS communicated its intent to use the ARPA/ESSER III funds to help balance the budget and mitigate the significant funding shortfall in FY 2022. Because Fairfax did not need the ARPA/ESSER III funds to balance its budget, it included the funds in its FY 2022 budget as a placeholder, with community engagement following that.