رسالة من د. أوتلي

كبير مسؤولي التنوع والإنصاف والشمول الدكتور جيسون أوتلي

رسالة د. أوتلي للعائلات

واحدة من أعلى الأولويات في مدارس أرلينغتون العامة (APS) أن تكون مكانًا يشعر فيه جميع أعضاء هيئة التدريس والموظفين والطلاب وأولياء الأمور ومقدمي الرعاية لدينا بالتقدير والأمان. أنا متحمس لتولي منصب كبير مسؤولي التنوع والإنصاف والشمول (CDEIO). بهذه الصفة ، أعتقد أنني أستطيع المساعدة APS تنمو كمنطقة تقود الطريق بالفعل في تطوير مجتمع مدرسي عادل ومنصف وشامل ومرحّب حيث يشعر الجميع بالانتماء. بينما تتطلب هذه الوظيفة تصميم وتنفيذ جهود DEI على مستوى المدرسة والمنطقة التعليمية والمساعدة في تشكيل ثقافة صحية وشاملة حيث يمكن لطلابنا أن ينمووا ويزدهروا ، سأقدم أيضًا فرص تعلم DEI إلى APS المربين.

بصفتي وكيلًا ملتزمًا للتغيير ، جئت إلى منصب CDEIO مع خبرة في مستويات K-12 وما بعد المرحلة الثانوية. لقد حصلت على درجة الدكتوراه. في القيادة والسياسة التربوية من جامعة وست فرجينيا ، حيث عملت كمساعد مدير خدمات دعم الطلاب TRIO (SSS) ، برعاية وزارة التعليم الأمريكية. في WVU ، تم تكليفي أيضًا ببرمجة DEI المؤسسية لحرم WVU بأكمله. في هذا المنصب ، سافرت مع الرئيس جوردون إي جي لزيارة جميع المقاطعات البالغ عددها 55 في ولاية فرجينيا الغربية لمعالجة المساواة ، والإدماج ، والبطالة ، وإساءة استخدام المواد الأفيونية ، وتدهور الدرجات الصحية للولاية. نظرًا لأن West Virginia لديها أقل نسبة من السكان الحاصلين على شهادات جامعية (15٪ في 2013) ، فقد أنشأنا برامج لذوي الدخل المنخفض وطلاب الجيل الأول. بعيدًا عن واجباتي المهنية في الجامعة ، قمت بإنشاء الأقليات في العمل لزيادة عدد المعلمين الذكور السود في فضاء رياض الأطفال وحتى الصف الثاني عشر ، ولمراجعة ومراجعة السياسات والممارسات التي تمنع الأشخاص الملونين من التقدم في مجال الشركات. ومنذ ذلك الحين ، أصبحت الأقليات في العمل The Bond Educational Group ، وهي منظمة غير ربحية 12c (501) مع فريق وطني من المعلمين الذين يقدمون خدمات لإثراء الأساليب التعليمية وتقييم سياسة المدرسة. حتى الآن ، عملت مع 3 منطقة تعليمية في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة وأنشأت مراكز DEI لمؤسستين منفصلتين في التعليم العالي. في الآونة الأخيرة ، عملت كأستاذ دائم في جامعة ولاية كينيساو.

أنا واثق من قدرتي على تحقيق فهم عميق لتحديات التنوع الموجودة في APS. بدعم من المشرف دوران ، قمت بإنشاء خطة طويلة الأجل لجعل التعليمات المبنية على البيانات والمساءلة القائمة على البيانات على المستوى الإداري أولوية. فيما يلي قائمة بمبادرات مكتبي.

  • مراقبة ومراجعة سياسة مدارس أرلينغتون العامة A-30 بشأن حقوق الملكية.
  • إنشاء إجراءات تنفيذ السياسة (PIP) لسياسة حقوق الملكية لتشمل المسؤوليات المحددة والإجراءات والجداول الزمنية والجدول الزمني للتنفيذ.
  • قم بتطوير فرق الإنصاف في كل مدرسة لاستكشاف كيفية القيام بذلك APS يعكس الموظفون أفضل ممارسات حقوق الملكية الحالية.
  • تصميم لوحة معلومات تعمل كملف تعريف حقوق الملكية ؛ منصة على شبكة الإنترنت توضح APSالتزامها بالشفافية والمساءلة لتحقيق نتائج عادلة. هذه المنصة سوف تستضيف APSعلنًا وسيتمكن جميع أصحاب المصلحة في المجتمع من الوصول إلى هذه المعلومات.
  • توفير فرص التعلم المهني للإدارة والمعلمين والموظفين لمراجعة وتعزيز الرفاهية الاجتماعية والتعليمية والنفسية لدينا APS المجتمع حول قضايا التنوع والإنصاف والشمول.
  • إنشاء مجتمعات تعلم البيانات لتعزيزها APSالتزامها بالقرارات والحلول والتعليمات المستندة إلى البيانات.

لقد منحتني مدارس أرلينغتون العامة فرصة لا تُصدق لتعزيز جهود مبادرة التنمية البشرية خلال هذا المنعطف الحرج في مجتمعنا. لا ينبغي أن يتواجد التنوع والإنصاف والشمول في مكتبي فقط - يجب أن تتشابك هذه المبادئ في مجتمع المدرسة بأكمله. هذا هو السبب في أننا يجب أن نعمل معًا لمساعدة طلابنا على الازدهار.

إنني أتطلع إلى العمل مع APS المجتمع لمواجهة تحدياته الفريدة ، وإيجاد تفاهمات مشتركة ، وتقديم حلول ذات صلة بأعضاء هيئة التدريس والموظفين والطلاب وأولياء الأمور والأوصياء.

جايسون أوتلي ، دكتوراه.
رئيس التنوع والمساواة والشمول

A Message from Dr. Ottley

Chief Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Officer Dr. Jason Ottley

Dr. Ottley’s Message to Families

One of the highest priorities at Arlington Public Schools (APS) is to be a place where all our faculty, staff, students, parents, and caregivers feel valued and safe. I am excited to assume the position of Chief Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Officer (CDEIO). In this capacity, I believe I can help APS grow as a district that already leads the way in developing a just, equitable, inclusive, and welcoming school community where everyone feels they belong. While this job demands that I design and implement school and district-wide DEI efforts and help shape a healthy and inclusive culture where our students can grow and thrive, I will also deliver DEI learning opportunities to APS educators.

As a committed agent of change, I come to this CDEIO position with experience in the K-12 and postsecondary levels. I obtained my Ph.D. in Educational Leadership and Policy from West Virginia University, where I worked as Assistant Director of TRIO Student Support Services (SSS), sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. At WVU, I was also charged with institutional, DEI programming for the entire WVU campus. In that role, I traveled with President Gordon E. Gee to visit all 55 counties in West Virginia to address equity, inclusion, unemployment, opioid abuse, and the state’s declining health scores. Since West Virginia had the lowest percentage of residents with college degrees (15% in 2013), we created programs for low income and first-generation students. Outside of my professional duties at the university, I created Minorities in Action to increase the number of Black male teachers in the K-12 space, and to review and revise policies and practices that keep people of color from advancing in the corporate space. Minorities in Action has since become The Bond Educational Group, a non-profit 501c(3) organization with a national team of educators that delivers services to enrich instructional methods and to evaluate school policy. To date, I have worked with 14 school districts across the United States and created DEI centers for two separate institutions in higher education. Most recently, I served as a tenure track professor at Kennesaw State University.

I am confident in my ability to bring a deep understanding of the diversity challenges that exist at APS. With the support of Superintendent Durán, I have created a long-term plan to make data-driven instruction and data-driven accountability at the administrative level a priority. Below is a list of my office’s initiatives.

  • Monitor and review Arlington Public Schools Policy A-30 on Equity.
  • Create Policy Implementation Procedures (PIP) for the Equity Policy to include the specific responsibilities, procedures, timelines, and schedule for implementation.
  • Develop Equity Teams in each school to explore how APS staff best reflect current equity practices.
  • Design a data dashboard serving as the Equity Profile; a web-based platform that demonstrates APS’s commitment to transparency and accountability to equitable outcomes. This platform will house APS’s data publicly and all community stakeholders will have access to this information.
  • Provide professional learning opportunities for administration, teachers, and staff to review and enhance the social, educational, and psychological well-being of our APS community around issues of diversity, equity, and inclusion.
  • Create Data Learning Communities to cement APS’s commitment to data-driven decisions, solutions, and instruction.

Arlington Public Schools has granted me an incredible opportunity to advance its DEI efforts during this critical juncture in our society. Diversity, equity, and inclusion should not exist in only my office — these principles must be interwoven in the entire school community. This is why we must work together to help our students thrive.

I look forward to working with the APS community to address its unique challenges, find common understandings, and produce solutions pertinent to our faculty, staff, students, parents, and guardians.

Jason Ottley, Ph.D.
Chief Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Officer