社区参与

五月研讨会png传单

自杀热线

黑人历史月(官方制造商)

我们自己的阿隆·格雷戈里(Arron Gregory)被授予“黑人历史月”荣誉!

泰勒(Taylor)第11届年度非裔美国人阅读。 点击此观看视频 链接.

APS 与阿灵顿县合作和具有挑战性的种族主义进行种族与平等对话

阿灵顿公立学校与阿灵顿县和 具有挑战性的种族主义,要求学生和家庭完成《阿灵顿社区问卷调查中的种族与公平观点》。 社区调查表是阿灵顿县新调查的一部分 种族与平等对话(DRE)倡议 以及对改善阿灵顿种族平等的更广泛的承诺。

鼓励学生和家庭填写社区调查表,根据他们对个人种族和平等的经历,背景,见解,观点和信念,就阿灵顿社区的系统种族和公平问题提供反馈。 社区问卷可以在线获取,直到31月XNUMX日(星期四)。如果您有兴趣填写问卷,请访问以下链接: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/G9YWWP9.

在接下来的几个月中,阿灵顿将主持三个重点领域的各种对话:

  • 您社区中的DRE鼓励阿灵顿居民 注册进行小型交互式虚拟对话 与邻居一起学习和讨论阿灵顿县的种族和平等。
  • DRE在一起 –县邀请包括阿灵顿非营利组织,公民协会,信仰组织和企业在内的合作伙伴加入我们,在他们自己的网络以及与其他组织的网络中主持交互式对话。 DRE合作伙伴将获得主持人培训和对话资源。 立即注册成为合作伙伴。
  • 您附近的DRE –今年晚些时候启动,在社区中为邻居之间的对话提供便利

让我们聊一聊:关于种族的社区讨论

阿灵顿公立学校主持虚拟 “让我们聊:关于种族的社区讨论” 事件发生 星期一,六月22。 该事件是对 种族联合声明 由监督和学校委员会在本月初发布。 虚拟活动包括小组讨论和问答,供学生,员工和社区成员就种族和平等进行有意义的讨论。 这是在接下来的几个月中有关种族的一系列社区讨论中的第一个。

“让我们聊一聊”活动系列将持续到整个夏季,还将为学生提供额外的活动,使他们有机会以一种使他们能够发现问题并提出倡导变革的解决方案的方式谈论时事。

让我们来谈谈暑期学生系列

夏季学生交谈系列是关于美国种族关系的一系列社区和基于学生的对话。 “我们的谈话:关于种族主义的社区讨论”活动是该系列的开始,并且是一个进行勇敢对话的社区论坛,着重于家长如何与学生谈论美国的种族关系以及对学校系统的影响。 “暑假学生谈话系列”旨在通过引导学生不断发声,识别问题并提出倡导变革的解决方案来培养学生的领导才能。 该系列中的所有会议都将设计为模拟如何进行有关当前事件的座谈会和家庭对话。

所有会议均将以虚拟方式举行,虚拟活动的邀请将通过电子邮件发送给与会者。

第一节–让我们谈谈:您在想什么?
日期: 8年2020月XNUMX日

要挑战所有学生的批判性思维,灌输同理心,使学生能够互相充当同盟。 是时候反思,不仅是他们已经了解了,而且是他们能够内部化和整合经验的时间; 他们能够探索和表达相遇中产生的感觉和想法,并因此能够认识到自己的个人成长和发展。

第二场–让我们谈谈:棕色皮肤和蓝色制服
日期: 22年2020月XNUMX日

  • A组(12-15岁):上午11:30 –下午12:30
  • B组(16-21岁):下午1-2点

阿灵顿公立学校很高兴介绍“暑期学生谈话系列”,这是一系列有关美国种族关系的社区和学生对话。 该系列的下一场会议是22年2020月12日的“演讲:棕色皮肤和蓝色制服”。该活动面向21至XNUMX岁的学生。学生们将在全国各地的警察局内探讨种族和系统种族主义的问题。 。 阿灵顿县警察局的学校资源官员(SRO)将参加,分享他们如何支持学校社区,并回答学生的问题。

鼓励学生在参加活动之前阅读以下材料:

  • 黑人警察的观点:四名黑人警官评论奥尔顿·斯特林,菲兰多·卡斯蒂利亚的去世,并成为美国的黑人警官
  • 警察如何看待警务和种族问题:警察评论他们对黑人的待遇是否公平,为什么他们不相信有证据表明有人歧视黑人以及成为黑人警察。
  • 在比赛中与警察交谈:在这部简短的纪录片中,前警官分享了他们在美国维持治安和种族的思想。 在过去的几年中,关于种族的警察讨论达到了高潮。 Philando Castile,Alton Sterling,Freddie Gray,Mike Brown和Eric Garner的警官已经死亡。 这已经开始了两个动作。 黑色生活很重要,蓝色生活很重要。

第3节–让我们谈一谈:我如何利用社交媒体争取社会正义?
日期: 八月5,2020

这个长达一小时的课程将使学生参与探索社交媒体中的有效方法,以及他们如何将这些见解用于他们关心的原因。 我们将激发学生对已经引起他们关注的原因的天生好奇心,利用吸引了他们注意力的社交媒体示例,从这些示例中汲取经验教训,并鼓励学生自问 “我该如何使用社交媒体争取社会正义?”

面板:

  • Arron Gregory,阿灵顿公立学校首席多元化,多元化,平等与包容官
  • Ximena Hartsock,Phone2Action创始人兼首席执行官
  • 阿灵顿正义基金会联合创始人Yolande Kwinana
  • Eficionado创始人兼首席执行官Eric J. Troy
  • 主持人:Lynn Borton,主持人,“选择好奇” WERA 96.7 FM

学生参加者将:

  1. 听到两个人的成功案例,他们使用社交媒体成功支持了他们关心的事业
  2. 识别和剖析有效的社交媒体策略
  3. 将他们学到的教训应用到他们关心的社会正义中

做好准备!

  1. 选择一个引起您注意或引起好奇的社交媒体示例。 把这个例子带到会议上分享。
  2. 想在开始之前阅读更多内容吗? 查看以下成功案例:
    1. 青年气候活动家
    2. 将#BlackLivesMatter变成一个不仅仅是标签的东西
    3. 从帕克兰德到日出:非凡的青年运动一年

请致电703-228-6269与首席多样性,股权和包容性总监Arron Gregory联系,或 arron.gregory @aps价值.

Community Engagement

May Symposium png Flyer

Suicide Hotline

Black History Month (Official Makers)

Our own Arron Gregory is being honored for Black History Month!

Taylor’s 11th Annual African-American Read In.  Check out the video by clicking on this link.

APS Partners with Arlington County & Challenging Racism for Dialogues on Race & Equity

Arlington Public Schools, in partnership with Arlington County and Challenging Racism, is requesting students and families complete the Perspectives on Race and Equity in Arlington Community Questionnaire. The community questionnaire is part of Arlington County’s new Dialogues on Race & Equity (DRE) Initiative and broader commitment to improve racial equity in Arlington.

Students and families are encouraged to complete the community questionnaire to provide feedback on the systemic race and equity issues in the Arlington community based on their individual experiences, backgrounds, insights, opinions, and beliefs about race and equity. The community questionnaire is available online until Thursday, December 31. If you are interested in completing the questionnaire, please visit the following link: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/G9YWWP9.

Over the next few months, Arlington will host various dialogues with three focus areas:

  • DRE in Your CommunityArlington residents are encouraged to sign up for small interactive virtual conversations with neighbors to learn and discuss race and equity in Arlington County.
  • DRE Together – The County is inviting partners, including Arlington nonprofits, civic associations, faith organizations, and businesses to join us in hosting interactive conversations within their own networks and with other organizations. DRE Partners will receive facilitator training and dialogue resources. Sign up now to be a partner.
  • DRE in Your Neighborhood – Launching later this year, provides for neighbor-to-neighbor facilitated conversations in the community

Let’s Talk: A Community Discussion on Race

Arlington Public Schools hosted the virtual “Let’s Talk: A Community Discussion on Race” event on Monday, June 22. This event was a follow up to the joint statement on race issued by the Superintendent and School Board earlier in the month. The virtual event included a panel discussion and Q&A for students, staff and community members to engage in a meaningful discussion around race and equity. This was the first in a series of ongoing community discussions on race over the coming months.

The Let’s Talk Event Series will continue through the summer with additional events specifically for students to provide them with the opportunity to to talk about current events in a format that will empower them to identify problems and create solutions in advocating for change.

Let’s Talk Summer Student Series

The Let’s Talk Summer Student Series is a series of community and student-based conversations about race relations in America. The “Let’s Talk: A Community Discussion on Racism” event was the beginning of the series and was a community forum for courageous conversations focused on how parents can talk to students about race relations in America and the impact on school systems. The Let’s Talk Summer Student Series is designed to cultivate student leadership by moving students along a continuum of empowering their voices to identify problems and create solutions in advocating for change. All sessions in the series will be designed to model how to have table talks and family conversations about current events.

All sessions will be held virtually and the invite to the virtual event will be emailed to attendees.

Session #1 – Let’s Talk: What’s on Your Mind?
Date: July 8, 2020

To challenge all students to think critically, instill a sense of empathy and empower students to act as allies for one another. Time to reflect, not just that they have understood, but that they are able to internalize and integrate the experience; that they are able to explore and articulate the feelings and thoughts that emerge from the encounter, and that they are able to recognize their own individual growth and development as a result.

Session #2 – Let’s Talk: Brown Skin & A Blue Uniform
Date: July 22, 2020

  • Group A (Ages 12-15): 11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
  • Group B (Ages 16-21): 1 – 2 p.m.

Arlington Public Schools is pleased to present the Let’s Talk Summer Student Series,” a series of community and student-based conversations about race relations in America. The next session in the series is “Let’s Talk: Brown Skin & A Blue Uniform” on July 22, 2020. The event is for students from ages 12 – 21. Students will explore issues of race and systemic racism within police departments across the country. School Resource Officers (SROs) from the Arlington County Police Department will participate, share how they support school communities, and answer questions from students.

Students are encouraged to review the following materials before participating in the event:

  • A Black Police Officers Perspective: Four Black Police Officers commenting on the deaths of Alton Sterling, Philando Castile, and being a Black Police Officer in the U.S.
  • How the Police See Issues on Policing and Race: Police officers comment on whether their treatment of Black People is fair, why they don’t believe there is evidence of discrimination against Black people, and being a Black police officer.
  • A Conversation with Police on Race: In this short documentary, former police officers share their thoughts on policing and race in America. In the previous years, the discussion of police on race has reached a fever pitch. There have been the deaths by the hands of police officers of Philando Castile, Alton Sterling, Freddie Gray, Mike Brown, and Eric Garner. This has started two movements. Black Lives Matter and Blue Lives Matter.

Session #3 – Let’s Talk: How Might I Use Social Media to Fight for Social Justice?
Date: Aug. 5, 2020

This hour-long session will engage students in exploring what works in social media and how they might use those insights for causes they care about.  We’ll tap students’ innate curiosity about causes that already interest them, draw upon examples of social media that have captured their attention, extract lessons they can use from those examples, and encourage the students to ask themselves “How might I use social media to fight for social justice?”

Panel:

  • Arron Gregory, Chief Diversity, Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Officer, Arlington Public Schools
  • Ximena Hartsock, Founder and CEO, Phone2Action
  • Yolande Kwinana, Co-Founder, Arlington for Justice
  • Eric J. Troy, Founder and CEO, Eficionado
  • Moderator: Lynn Borton, host, “Choose to be Curious” WERA 96.7 F.M.

Student Participants will:

  1. Hear from two people who have had a lot of success using social media in support of the causes they care about
  2. Identify and dissect effective social media strategies
  3. Apply the lessons they learn to social justice causes they care about

Come Prepared!

  1. Pick an example of social media that captured your attention or made you curious. Bring that example to the session to share.
  2. Want to read more before we even get started? Check out these success stories:
    1. Youth Climate Activists
    2. Turning #BlackLivesMatter into something more than a hashtag
    3. From Parkland to Sunrise: A Year of Extraordinary Youth Activism

Please contact us if you have any comments, questions or concerns: dei@apsva.us