Equity in Action at APS

Working towards creating equitable learning environments for students is a primary focus at APS, and while this equity work is underway, it is important to share updates with the community to show equity in action here at APS


Congratulations to our colleagues at Dorothy Hamm Middle School who presented at the NCTE 2021 Conference. Click here for more information and to view their presentation, “Empowering Teachers and Students: Action Steps to Anti-racist Teaching.”

Equity in Action at APSNo Place for Hate® Program

The No Place for Hate® program is an organizing framework for K-12 schools committed to creating sustainable change that leads to improved school climate developed by the Education Department of the Anti-Defamation League (ADL). Participating schools are able to incorporate ADL’s anti-bias and anti-bullying resources with their existing programming to form one powerful message that all students have a place to belong.

Currently over 1,700 schools across the country participate in the No Place for Hate® Program. The goal of No Place for Hate® is to inspire a national movement led by students and educators who are committed to using the power of positive peer influence to build inclusive and safe schools in which all students can thrive.

The following schools are currently participating in the No Place for Hate® Program:

APS Schools Participating in No Place for Hate®
Abingdon Drew New Directions
Arlington Science Focus Fleet Oakridge
Arlington Traditional Glebe Taylor
Barcroft Innovation Tuckahoe
Campbell Dorothy Hamm Arlington Career Center
Cardinal Jamestown Wakefield
Carlin Springs Escuela Key Yorktown
Discovery Langston


For additional information, please visit ADL’s No Place for Hate® website.

Please contact us if you have any comments, questions or concerns: dei@apsva.us
Twitter page: @dei_aps