行動中的公平 APS

傑森·雷諾茲(Jason Reynolds)Flyer

 

為了鼓勵教育公平,弗吉尼亞州學校董事會協會(VSBA)董事會已將XNUMX月指定為VSBA教育公平月。 隨著月初的到來,Equity in Action在 APS 該網頁提高了人們對目前正在進行的和正在發展的股權計劃的認識 APS 消除教育障礙,更好地滿足所有學生的需求。 努力為學生創造公平的學習環境是以下方面的主要重點 APS,並且在進行這項公平性工作的同時,與社區共享最新動態以在此處顯示公平性也很重要 APS

種族與平等徽標對話種族與平等社區問卷調查結果對話

阿靈頓公立學校與阿靈頓縣和 具有挑戰性的種族主義,最近發布了“種族與平等對話社區問卷調查”的結果,以評估社區對阿靈頓種族與平等的看法。 社區調查表是阿靈頓縣新調查的一部分 種族與平等對話(DRE)倡議 以及對改善阿靈頓種族平等的更廣泛的承諾。 對問卷的答復將納入阿靈頓縣戰略計劃中,並將由以下人員使用 APS 確定如何提高學校的種族平等。

關於阿靈頓公立學校,以下是社區問卷調查的一些高級答复:

  • 計劃(如PTA,環繞式學生支持服務和課外活動)的財力和人力資源不均。
  • 參加AP,IB和資優課程的過程缺乏透明度和多樣性。
  • 經常發生的反應是,大多數受訪者報告說有來自以下國家的種族主義證據: APS 和阿靈頓縣。

有關《阿靈頓社區問卷調查中種族與平等觀點》的更多信息,請訪問: 觀看視頻 的阿靈頓縣議會會議或 查看PowerPoint演示文稿 結果。

行動中的公平 APS恨®計劃無處可去

“無處可恨”計劃是針對K-12學校的組織框架,這些學校致力於創造可持續的變化,從而導致反誹謗聯盟(ADL)教育部開發的改善的學校氛圍。 參與的學校能夠將ADL的反偏見和反欺凌資源與他們現有的程序結合起來,以形成一個強有力的信息,即所有學生都有歸屬地。

目前,全國有1,700多所學校參加了“無恨之地”活動® 程序。 No Place forHate®(無處可恨)的目標是激發由學生和教育工作者領導的民族運動,他們致力於利用積極的同齡人影響力建立包容性和安全性的學校,讓所有學生都能夠成長。

下列學校目前正在參加“無處可恨”計劃:

APS 沒有參加仇恨®教育的學校
阿賓登 發現 阿靈頓蒙特梭利公立學校
愛麗絲西艦隊 查爾斯·德魯博士 新方向
阿靈頓職業中心/阿靈頓技術 按鍵沉浸 諾丁漢
阿靈頓科學重點學校 格里布 橡樹嶺
阿靈頓傳統學校 HB伍德勞恩 蘭多夫
阿什勞恩 霍夫曼波士頓 泰勒
巴克羅夫特 詹姆斯敦 茯苓
坎貝爾 巴雷特 韋克菲爾德
卡林溫泉 長科 華盛頓自由
克萊蒙特沉浸式 麥金利 約克敦

 

 

阿倫·格雷戈里(Arron Gregory)黑人歷史月

阿倫·格雷戈里(Arron Gregory)慶祝黑人歷史月視頻 這裡。

NPFH三年級生 NPFH承諾

有關其他信息,請訪問ADL的 無處可恨® 網站。

學校社區和亞馬遜徽標亞馬遜即時基金計劃

目前,超過1,800 APS 通過與學校社區合作,學生從亞馬遜即時基金計劃中受益。 亞馬遜在1月份捐贈了XNUMX萬美元 APS 和亞歷山大市公立學校。 家庭可以使用這些資金購買在COVID-19大流行期間支持學生學習所需的基本物品。

該計劃由學校社區(CIS)管理,並且CIS協調員或學校的社會工作者能夠推薦家庭參加該計劃。 家人會收到要在特定策展商品清單中在亞馬遜上兌換的代碼。 家庭將獲得100美元的促銷代碼,供每個家庭中的每個孩子在亞馬遜上使用。 APS 學生。 家庭能夠使用這筆資金購買基本產品,例如衣物,學校用品,個人護理用品,清潔用品和食物。

有關其他信息,請閱讀 APS 新聞發布.

亞馬遜捐贈亞馬遜捐贈以提高文化意識和閱讀素養

作為二月份慶祝“黑人歷史月”的一部分,亞馬遜提供了15,000美元的捐款,以支持韋克菲爾德高中。 這是亞馬遜正在進行的最新工作,旨在支持其員工居住和工作的全國各地社區的教育和種族平等計劃。

向Wakefield高中捐贈的15,000美元將包括這本書 蓋章:種族主義,反種族主義和你 由傑森·雷諾茲(Jason Reynolds)撰寫-著重於反種族主義,文化意識和熟練程度。 資金還將使Wakefield的工作人員邀請來賓演講者就同一主題發言。

有關此計劃和其他Amazon Black History Month計劃的更多信息,請訪問 亞馬遜社區 網站。

APS 股權政策

校董會於30年20月2020日批准了一項新的股權政策(A-2018),其中包括四個關鍵領域的治理:治理公平實踐; 教育公平慣例; 勞動力公平實踐; 和運營公平慣例。 自XNUMX年秋季以來,作為學校董事會的一項指令,股權政策一直在製定中,並且是一項包括許多內部和外部利益相關者的投入在內的合作努力。

股權團隊將審查股權政策,以開始製定政策實施程序(PIP)以支持該政策。 PIP將概述程序 APS 將實施以實現整個學校部門的公平。 該計劃計劃在2021年底前初步敲定PIP。

查看校務委員會政策A-30股權

多樣性,平等與包容部組織變革

  • 2020年XNUMX月,家庭與社區參與辦公室(FACE)加入了多樣性,平等與包容部(DEI)。 由於專注於在社區中融入所有聲音並在種族和文化多元化的環境中發展家長領導能力,因此FACE自然符合DEI的包容做法和目標。
  • 平等與卓越辦公室(OEE)將移至多樣性,平等與包容部(DEI)。 OEE目前隸屬於教學與學習部(DTL)。 該辦公室將進行重組,作為整個部門重組的一部分,以使股權工作與​​DEI和學校部門的戰略計劃保持一致。 這種轉變將進一步在中央辦公室和建築物級別的DEI支持之間架起一座橋樑。
  • 第一職務辦公室將移至多元化,平等與包容部(DEI)。 頭銜I目前隸屬於教學與學習部(DTL),非常適合“多元化平等與包容”框架。 標題I的製定是“確保所有兒童都有公平,平等和重要的機會獲得高質量的教育,並至少具有挑戰性的州學業成績標準和州學業評估的熟練程度”(美國教育部)。

請致電703-228-8658與多樣性,平等和包容性事務部聯繫,或 corve.wilcher @aps價值.大會副本02.19.21(無討厭之地)

Equity in Action at APS

Jason Reynolds Flyer

 

In an effort to encourage equity in education, the Virginia School Boards Association (VSBA) Board of Directors has designated the month of March as VSBA Equity in Education Month. As the month begins, the Equity in Action at APS webpage raises awareness of the equity initiatives currently underway and in development at APS to eliminate educational barriers and to better meet the needs of ALL students. Working toward creating equitable learning environments for students is a primary focus at APS, and while this equity work is underway, it is important to share updates with the community to show equity in action here at APS

Dialogues on Race & Equity LogoDialogues on Race and Equity Community Questionnaire Results

Arlington Public Schools, in partnership with Arlington County and Challenging Racism, recently released the results of the Dialogues on Race & Equity Community Questionnaire to gauge the community’s perspective on race and equity in Arlington. The community questionnaire was part of Arlington County’s new Dialogues on Race & Equity (DRE) Initiative and broader commitment to improve racial equity in Arlington. The responses to the questionnaire will be incorporated into the Arlington County Strategic Plan and will be used by APS to determine how to improve racial equity in schools.

Regarding Arlington Public Schools, here are some of the high-level responses from the community questionnaire:

  • Inequity in financial and human resources for programs, such as PTAs, wraparound student support services, and extracurricular activities.
  • The process to participate in AP, IB, and Gifted programs lack transparency and diversity.
  • A recurring response was most respondents reported evidence of experiencing racism from APS and Arlington County.

Additional information on the Perspectives on Race and Equity in Arlington Community Questionnaire is available by watching the video of the Arlington County Board Meeting or by viewing the PowerPoint presentation of the results.

Equity in Action at APSNo Place for Hate® Program

The No Place for Hate® program is an organizing framework for K-12 schools committed to creating sustainable change that leads to improved school climate developed by the Education Department of the Anti-Defamation League (ADL). Participating schools are able to incorporate ADL’s anti-bias and anti-bullying resources with their existing programming to form one powerful message that all students have a place to belong.

Currently over 1,700 schools across the country participate in the No Place for Hate® Program. The goal of No Place for Hate® is to inspire a national movement led by students and educators who are committed to using the power of positive peer influence to build inclusive and safe schools in which all students can thrive.

The following schools are currently participating in the No Place for Hate® Program:

APS Schools Participating in No Place for Hate®
Abingdon Discovery Montessori Public School of Arlington
Alice West Fleet Dr. Charles R. Drew New Directions
Arlington Career Center/ Arlington Tech Key Immersion Nottingham
Arlington Science Focus School Glebe Oakridge
Arlington Traditional School H-B Woodlawn Randolph
Ashlawn Hoffman-Boston Taylor
Barcroft Jamestown Tuckahoe
Campbell Barrett Wakefield
Carlin Springs Long Branch Washington-Liberty
Claremont Immersion McKinley Yorktown

 

 

Arron Gregory Black History Month

Arron Gregory Celebrates Black History Month video here.

NPFH 3rd Graders NPFH PLEDGE

For additional information, please visit ADL’s No Place for Hate® website.

Communities in Schools and Amazon LogoAmazon Right Now Funds Initiative

Currently, over 1,800 APS students have benefitted from the Amazon Right Now Funds Program in collaboration with Communities in Schools. Amazon gave $1 million dollars in October to be shared between APS and Alexandria City Public Schools. Families are able to use these funds to purchase the essential items they need to support student learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.

The program is managed by Communities in School (CIS) and CIS coordinators or school social workers are able to refer families to the program. Families receive codes to be redeemed on Amazon within a specific curated list of goods. Families receive a $100 promotional code to use on Amazon for each child in the family who is an APS student. Families are able to use the funds to purchase essential products such as clothing, school supplies, personal care items, cleaning supplies and food.

For additional information, please read the APS news release.

Amazon DonationAmazon Donation to Improve Cultural Awareness and Reading Literacy

As part of its celebration of Black History Month in February, Amazon presented a $15,000 donation to support Wakefield High School. This is the latest in Amazon’s ongoing work to support education and racial equality initiatives in communities across the country where its employees live and work.

The donation to Wakefield High School of $15,000 will include the book Stamped: Racism, Anti-Racism, and You by Jason Reynolds – which focuses on anti-racism, cultural awareness and proficiency. The funds will also allow Wakefield staff to invite guest speakers to speak on the same topic.

For additional information on this and other Amazon Black History Month Initiatives, please visit the Amazon Community website.

APS Equity Policy

The School Board approved a new Equity policy (A-30) on Aug. 20, 2020 that includes governance in four key areas: Governance Equity Practices; Educational Equity Practices; Workforce Equity Practices; and Operational Equity Practices. The equity policy has been in development since the Fall of 2018 as a directive from the School Board and has been a collaborative effort that included input from many internal and external stakeholders.

The equity teams will review the equity policy to begin developing the Policy Implementation Procedures (PIPs) to support the policy. The PIPs will outline the procedures APS will implement to achieve equity across the school division. The plan is to have the PIPs tentatively finalized by the end of 2021.

View School Board Policy A-30 Equity

Department of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Organizational Changes

  • In August 2020, the Office of Family and Community Engagement (FACE) joined the Department of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI). Because of its focus on engaging all voices ​in our community and developing parent leadership in racially and culturally diverse settings, FACE naturally aligns with DEI’s inclusion practices and goals.
  • The Office of Equity & Excellence (OEE) will be moved to the Department of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI). OEE is currently under the Department of Teaching & Learning (DTL). The office will be reorganized as a part of the division-wide reorganization changes to align the equity work with DEI and the school division’s strategic plan. This shift will further create a bridge between central office and building-level DEI support.
  • The Title I Office will be moved to the Department of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI). Title I is currently under the Department of Teaching & Learning (DTL) and is a perfect fit under the umbrella of Diversity Equity & Inclusion. Title I was developed “to ensure that all children have a fair, equal, and significant opportunity to obtain a high-quality education and reach, at a minimum, proficiency on challenging state academic achievement standards and state academic assessments” (U.S. Department of Education).

Please contact us if you have any comments, questions or concerns: dei@apsva.us

Copy of Assembly 02.19.21 (No Place for Hate)