Conférence sur la dyslexie 2020

APS Logo de la conférence virtuelle 2020 sur la dyslexie

 

 

APS Vidéo du Mois de sensibilisation à la dyslexie 2020

Ressources de session de conférence

Soutenir un étudiant souffrant de plus que de la dyslexie
10 Octobre 2020
Dr Brian Razzino Enregistrement de session Documents de la session
Lecture Lexia Core5
13 Octobre 2020
Dre Suzanne Carreker Enregistrement de session
Un pas dans le sens de l'écriture 15 Octobre 2020 Thérèse Pickett Enregistrement de session - Non disponible Documents de la session
Stratégies pratiques pour les parents 
16 Octobre 2020
Kelley Hyner
Dre Donna McConnell
Enregistrement de session Document de ressources parent
Alphabétisation structurée: la science de la lecture
20 Octobre 2020
Dre Suzanne Carreker Enregistrement de session - Bientôt! Documents de la session
Dyscalculie: ce que nous savons et stratégies pour aider
26 Octobre 2020
Dr Judith L. Fontana Diapositives de présentation
(Le fichier d'enregistrement de session a été corrompu).
Documents de la session:

Logiciel de lecture et d'écriture
29 Octobre 2020
Sandra Stoppel; Dr Lauren Bonnet; Marbea Tammaro Enregistrement de session

Lire et rédiger un agenda avec des hyperliens

Diapositives de présentation

Ressources additionnelles

  • La salle des exposants virtuelle de la conférence Dyslexic Edge sera ouverte au public et se trouve à l'adresse suivante: https://www.thedyslexicedge.org/exhibitors
  • APS Informations sur la dyslexie en anglais
  • Virginia Department of Education (VDOE) Informations sur la dyslexie
    • Guide supplémentaire pour les troubles d'apprentissage spécifiques sur la dyslexie: Foire aux questions - Ce document est conçu pour être une ressource pour les enseignants, les administrateurs et les parents afin de répondre aux besoins éducatifs des élèves dyslexiques. Le Guide fournit des informations sur les ressources et les services disponibles pour les étudiants dyslexiques dans le cadre de l'enseignement général, ainsi que sur tout étudiant dyslexique qui peut se qualifier pour recevoir des services en tant qu'élève ayant un trouble d'apprentissage spécifique (SLD) dans le cadre du Loi sur l'éducation des personnes handicapées (IDEA) ou en vertu de l'article 504 de la Acte de réhabilitation de 1973 (Article 504).
  • L'équipe de Ligue de lecture, sponsor de la Conférence sur la science de la lecture, possède de la chaîne Youtube avec des centaines d'heures de contenu gratuit de la part de nombreux conférenciers qui présentent à leurs conférences.
  • Matériel pédagogique accessible - Virginie (AIM-VA) - Le matériel pédagogique accessible de la Virginie fournit du matériel pédagogique accessible sans frais aux étudiants de Virginie avec des programmes d'éducation individualisés (IEP) qui se qualifient pour le service.
  • Association internationale de la dyslexie
    • Fiches - Les fiches d'information de l'IDA sont des documents pratiques, revus par des professionnels, conçus pour améliorer la compréhension de la dyslexie. Les fiches d'information comprennent, sans s'y limiter: la dyslexie et le cerveau, un enseignement efficace de la lecture pour les élèves atteints de dyslexie et les bases de la dyslexie.
    • Manuel sur la dyslexie: ce que chaque famille devrait savoir - En plus d'offrir des informations précieuses sur la dyslexie et ses caractéristiques, ce manuel fournit des informations sur les évaluations, les approches pédagogiques efficaces, les idées d'auto-représentation et une vaste gamme de ressources.

Biographies des présentateurs

  • Lauren Kravetz Bonnet, PhD, CCC-SLP, Spécialiste des technologies d'assistance; Écoles publiques d'Arlington
  • Suzanne Carreker, Ph.D., CALT-QI, Responsable principal du contenu éducatif, Lexia Learning
    Suzanne est la récipiendaire 2018 du Margaret Byrd Rawson Lifetime Achievement Award de l'International Dyslexia Association. Elle a été vice-présidente principale des solutions innovantes au Neuhaus Education Center, une organisation à but non lucratif qui a offert un développement professionnel dans les méthodes de lecture fondées sur des preuves à plus de 75,000 enseignants, et a également siégé au conseil d'administration de l'International Dyslexia Association (IDA) pendant 10 ans. . Suzanne est actuellement la principale responsable du contenu éducatif chez Lexia Learning. Elle est l'auteur de plusieurs articles de revues à comité de lecture et de nombreux programmes liés à l'alphabétisation. La Dre Carreker a obtenu sa maîtrise et son doctorat en curriculum et enseignement de la Texas A&M University et, en outre, est une thérapeute du langage académique certifiée et une instructrice qualifiée.
  • Judith L. Fontana, Ph.D., Coordinateur des équipes de soutien pédagogique et de handicap léger au Centre de formation et d'assistance technique de l'Université George Mason (T / TAC).
    Judith est connue pour sa devise «Tous les enfants peuvent apprendre. C'est ma responsabilité en tant qu'enseignant de découvrir comment aider chaque enfant à atteindre son potentiel. » Judith a été éducatrice générale, spécialiste de la lecture et enseignante auprès d'enfants atteints de handicaps légers à modérés dans des classes autonomes et en équipe. L'évaluation, la formation des enseignants ainsi que les stratégies pédagogiques pour l'alphabétisation et l'apprentissage des domaines de contenu pour les élèves de la maternelle à la 12e année avec un handicap léger et les élèves d'ESOL sont des domaines d'intérêt. Judith a obtenu un BA en anglais de l'Université Niagara à New York, une M.Ed. en éducation à la lecture de l'Université de Rochester, Rochester, NY et un doctorat. en éducation de l'Université George Mason à Fairfax, VA. En plus d'un travail approfondi dans des écoles privées et publiques dans plusieurs États et à l'étranger avec les écoles publiques du ministère de la Défense, Judith a travaillé en tant que consultante pour une société d'édition éducative et en tant que bénévole pour coordonner un programme Reading Is Fundamental pour les élèves américains du primaire à Okinawa. , Japon. Elle a été consultante pour le site Web Reading Rockets de WETA et a contribué au site Web LD Online. Les efforts de travail actuels comprennent le projet pilote d'instruction multisensorielle d'alphabétisation (MSLIPP) et les «vrais co-enseignants de Virginie». Le Dr Fontana est un développeur professionnel certifié pour les routines d'amélioration du contenu (modèle d'instruction stratégique, SIM de KRCL).
  • Kelley Hyner, Système de soutien à plusieurs niveaux d'Arlington (ATSS) Superviseur, écoles publiques d'Arlington
  • Dr Donna McConnell, Enseignant spécialisé en arts du langage à l'élémentaire (ELA), écoles publiques d'Arlington
  • Thérèse Pickett, Spécialiste de la mise en œuvre, Voyager Sopris Learning
    Therese Pickett apprécie son rôle de spécialiste de la mise en œuvre pour Voyager Sopris Learning où elle assure le développement professionnel dans les programmes d'intervention et soutient les enseignants et le personnel dans la mise en œuvre de ces programmes. De plus, elle apporte un soutien aux administrateurs des districts avec lesquels elle travaille. Avant de rejoindre Voyager Sopris Learning, Thérèse a occupé des postes d'enseignante en éducation spécialisée au premier cycle du secondaire et de professeur d'anglais et d'histoire au secondaire. Elle a obtenu son MAT en troubles d'apprentissage de l'Université Madonna et son BS en enseignement secondaire en anglais de l'Université de l'État de l'Illinois.
  • Brian Razzino Ph.D., Psychologue clinicien agréé, Razzino & Associates, LLC
    Le Dr Razzino est un psychologue clinicien agréé avec plus de vingt-cinq ans d'expérience auprès des enfants, des familles et des adultes. Il a obtenu son doctorat en psychologie clinique de l'Université DePaul (Chicago, IL), et a effectué son stage clinique en psychologie des enfants et des adolescents au Children's National Medical Center (CNMC) à Washington, DC. Il est membre de l'American Psychological Association, de la Virginia Academy of Psychology et de la Northern Virginia Academy of Clinical Psychologists. Le Dr Razzino a travaillé avec des centaines de familles sur la dépression, l'anxiété, les différences d'apprentissage et le TDAH. Il possède une vaste expérience clinique avec des difficultés de développement complexes et une formation en neuropsychologie. Le Dr Razzino est un fournisseur certifié de programme d'éducation et d'enrichissement des compétences relationnelles (PEERS) par le biais du Semel Neuroscience Institute de l'UCLA. U Sa formation en arts de la scène, qu'il intègre naturellement à ses activités cliniques, lui permet de se connecter et de créer des liens avec des familles et des enfants d'horizons très divers. À titre personnel, il a fondé le Fonds des arts pour la santé et le développement de l'enfant, un programme de bourses qui finance des cours d'été de théâtre pour les enfants et les adolescents défavorisés. Il est plus fier d'être père et mari tout en faisant ce qui lui tient à cœur, en travaillant avec les enfants et les familles.
  • Sandra Stoppel, OTR / L, Spécialiste des technologies d'assistance; Écoles publiques d'Arlington
  • Marbea Tiernan Tammaro, MEd, OTR / L, Spécialiste des technologies d'assistance; Écoles publiques d'Arlington

Dyslexia Conference 2020

APS Virtual 2020 Dyslexia Conference Logo

Although we will miss seeing you in person this fall, we are excited to present a virtual conference in acknowledgement of Dyslexia Awareness Month, 2020, with events scheduled throughout the month. Please register for sessions below, and check out the free Resources section, as well.


Sessions

 

  • Dyscalculia: What We Know and Strategies to Help
    Monday, October 26th: 7pm-8pm
    Presenter: Judith L. Fontana, Ph.D., Mild Disabilities/Instructional Support Teams Coordinator
    George Mason University’s Training and Technical Assistance Center (T/TAC)

    Register Here
    The ability to calculate and understand basic math concepts and principles are life skills. Dyscalculia is a learning disability that impacts one’s ability in mathematics. Like, but not to be confused with dyslexia, the impact of dyscalculia falls along a continuum. Each case is unique. The session will address common characteristics, assessments and instructional strategies. Resources will be provided.

  • Read & Write Literacy Software Tool
    Thursday, October 29th: 7:30pm-9pm
    Presenters: Sandra Stoppel, OTR/L, Assistive Technology Specialist; Lauren Kravetz Bonnet, PhD, CCC-SLP, Assistive Technology Specialist; and Marbea Tiernan Tammaro, MEd, OTR/L, Assistive Technology Specialist; Arlington Public Schools
    Register here
    Read & Write is an educational literacy software program that makes lots of everyday tasks easier. It makes the web, documents and files more accessible on the APS staff’ and students’ personal learning devices. Read & Write was targeted to support reluctant writers and students with learning disabilities in the areas of reading and writing; however it is beneficial for anyone who prefers to use these robust tools.  Arlington Public Schools has this software available to all staff and students in three versions, depending on the type of device that is issued.  To get information on how to install Read & Write on an APS issued personal learning device, visit Arlington Tiered System of Support (ATSS)Read & Write features include:

    • hearing documents read aloud to support comprehension;
    • text and picture dictionaries to support understanding of unfamiliar words;
    • translates individual words into other languages
    • develops writing and spelling skills with word prediction;
    • highlighting and collecting text to build vocabulary lists;
    • turning speech into text;
    • simplify and summarize text on web pages; and
    • annotation.

Conference Session Resources

Supporting a Student with More Than Dyslexia
October 10, 2020
Dr. Brian Razzino Session Recording Session Handouts
Lexia Core5 Reading
October 13, 2020
Dr. Suzanne Carreker Session Recording
A Step in the Writing Direction October 15, 2020 Therese Pickett Session Recording – Unavailable Session Handouts
Practical Strategies for Parents 
October 16, 2020
Kelley Hyner
Dr. Donna McConnell
Session Recording Parent Resource Document
Structured Literacy: The Science of Reading
October 20, 2020
Suzanne Carreker, Ph.D., CALT-QI, Principal Educational Content Lead, Lexia Learning Session Recording – Coming Soon! Session Handouts
Dyscalculia: What We Know and Strategies to Help
October 26, 2020
Judith L. Fontana, Ph.D., Mild Disabilities/Instructional Support Teams CoordinatorGeorge Mason University’s Training and Technical Assistance Center Presentation slides


Additional Resources

  • Complimentary Dyslexic Edge Conference Registration & Free Virtual Exhibitor Hall
    October 17, 2020

    To support the Arlington community, the organizers of the Dyslexic Edge conference have generously offered up to 25 complimentary registrations to remove financial barriers to participating in the conference. Please contact the Parent Resource Center at prc@apsva.us to request a complimentary conference registration code. Many thanks to the Dyslexic Edge for supporting our community.
    The Dyslexic Edge Conference’s virtual exhibitor hall will be open to the public and can be found at https://www.thedyslexicedge.org/exhibitors
  • APS English Language Arts Dyslexia Information
  • Virginia Department of Education (VDOE) Dyslexia Information
    • Specific Learning Disability Supplementary Guide on Dyslexia:  Frequently Asked Questions – This document is designed to be a resource for teachers, administrators, and parents to address the educational needs of students with dyslexia.  The Guide provides information on the resources and services available to students with dyslexia through general education, as well as any student with dyslexia who may qualify to receive services as a student with a Specific Learning Disability (SLD) under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) or under Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (Section 504).
  • The Reading League, sponsor of the Science of Reading Conference, has a Youtube channel with hundreds of hours of free content from many of the speakers who present at their conferences.
  • Accessible Instructional Materials – Virginia (AIM-VA) – Accessible Instructional Materials of Virginia provides accessible instructional materials at no cost to Virginia students with Individualized Education Programs (IEP) who qualify for the service.
  • International Dyslexia Association
    • Fact Sheets – The IDA fact sheets are convenient, professionally reviewed materials designed to improve understanding of dyslexia.  Fact sheets include, but are not limited to:  Dyslexia and the Brain, Effective Reading Instruction for Students with Dyslexia, and Dyslexia Basics.
    • Dyslexia Handbook:  What Every Family Should Know – In addition to offering valuable information about dyslexia and its characteristics, this handbook provides information on assessments, effective teaching approaches, self-advocacy ideas, and a vast array of resources.

Presenter Bios

  • Lauren Kravetz Bonnet, PhD, CCC-SLP, Assistive Technology Specialist; Arlington Public Schools
  • Suzanne Carreker, Ph.D., CALT-QI, Principal Educational Content Lead, Lexia Learning
    Suzanne is the 2018 recipient of the Margaret Byrd Rawson Lifetime Achievement Award from The International Dyslexia Association. She served as Senior Vice President of Innovative Solutions at Neuhaus Education Center, a nonprofit that has offered professional development in evidence-based reading methods to more than 75,000 teachers, and also served on the board of The International Dyslexia Association (IDA) for 10 years. Suzanne is currently the principal educational content lead at Lexia Learning. She is an author of several peer-reviewed journal articles and numerous literacy-related curricula. Dr. Carreker received her master’s and doctoral degree in Curriculum and Instruction from Texas A&M University and, additionally, is a Certified Academic Language Therapist and Qualified Instructor.
  • Judith L. Fontana, Ph.D., Mild Disabilities/Instructional Support Teams Coordinator at George Mason University’s Training and Technical Assistance Center (T/TAC).
    Judith is known for her motto of “All children can learn. It is my responsibility as a teacher to discover how to help each child reach his/her potential.” Judith has been a general educator, a reading specialist and a teacher of children with mild to moderate disabilities in self-contained and team classes. Assessment, teacher education as well as Instructional strategies for literacy and content area learning for students in grades K-12 with mild disabilities and ESOL students are areas of interest.  Judith earned a BA in English from Niagara University in NY, a M.Ed. in Reading Education from the University of Rochester, Rochester, NY and a Ph.D. in Education from George Mason University in Fairfax, VA. In addition to extensive work in private and public school in several states and overseas with the Department of Defense Public Schools, Judith has worked as a consultant for an educational publishing company and as a volunteer coordinating a Reading Is Fundamental program for American elementary students in Okinawa, Japan. She has been a consultant for WETA’s Reading Rockets website and has contributed to the LD Online website. Current work efforts include the Multi-sensory Literacy Instruction Pilot Project (MSLIPP) and the “Real Co-Teachers of Virginia”. Dr. Fontana is a certified professional developer for Content Enhancement Routines (Strategic Instruction Model, SIM  from KRCL).
  • Kelley Hyner, Arlington Tiered System of Supports (ATSS) Supervisor, Arlington Public Schools
  • Dr. Donna McConnell, Elementary Language Arts (ELA) Elementary Teacher Specialist, Arlington Public Schools
  • Therese Pickett, Implementation Specialist, Voyager Sopris Learning
    Therese Pickett enjoys her role as an Implementation Specialist for Voyager Sopris Learning where she provides professional development in intervention curricula and supports teachers and staff in the implementation of these programs. Additionally, she provides support to administrators in the districts with whom she works. Before joining Voyager Sopris Learning, Therese held positions as a junior high special education teacher, and a high school English and history teacher. She received her M.A.T. in Learning Disabilities from Madonna University and her B.S. in Secondary English Education from Illinois State University.
  • Brian Razzino Ph.D., Licensed Clinical Psychologist, Razzino & Associates, LLC
    Dr. Razzino is a licensed clinical psychologist with over twenty-five-years of experience working with children, families and adults. He received his doctorate in clinical psychology from DePaul University (Chicago, IL.), and completed his clinical child and adolescent psychology internship at Children’s National Medical Center (CNMC) in Washington, DC. He is a member of the American Psychological Association, The Virginia Academy of Psychology, and the Northern Virginia Academy of Clinical Psychologists. Dr. Razzino has worked with hundreds of families on depression, anxiety, learning differences and ADHD. He has extensive clinical experience with complex developmental difficulties and training in neuropsychology. Dr. Razzino is a certified Program for Education and Enrichment of Relationship Skills (PEERS) provider through the Semel Neuroscience Institute at UCLA. U His performing arts training, which he weaves naturally into his clinical activities, helps him connect to and bond with families and children from a wide range of backgrounds. In his personal time, he has founded the Arts Fund for Child Health and Development, a scholarship program funding summer theatre classes for underprivileged children and teens. He is most proud of being a father and husband while doing what is closest to his heart, working with children and families.
  • Sandra Stoppel, OTR/L, Assistive Technology Specialist; Arlington Public Schools
  • Marbea Tiernan Tammaro, MEd, OTR/L, Assistive Technology Specialist; Arlington Public Schools