幼稚园计划

在这里选择 查看幼儿园信息之夜(虚拟)的录像!

在这里选择 查看有关新幼儿园家庭延长日的演示文稿(虚拟)

家庭将了解 2022-23 学年的幼儿园注册流程以及可用的邻里和可选学校。 选择以下链接进行查看:

提醒: 2022-2023 年小学和学前教育选择学校/计划的申请窗口打开 1 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日在 4:00下午 至 15 年 2022 月 4 日下午 00:XNUMX


幼儿园这一年是对正规学校环境的介绍。 该计划旨在引导孩子们快乐、健康地适应学校生活,并鼓励他们热爱学习。 将您的第一个孩子送去幼儿园会引起父母和孩子的焦虑。 以下是一些常见问题的提示和答案,可让您的整个家庭更顺畅地过渡。

促进独立  通过鼓励有益的习惯,例如收拾东西、听从指示、做简单的家务、打扮自己和帮助他人,为您的孩子上幼儿园做好准备。 作为成年人,我们中的许多人都喜欢从待办事项清单上核对某事时的那种满足感。 为什么不给孩子同样的机会呢? 创建一个图表,其中包含两个或三个工作的视觉效果,让您的孩子每天完成。 允许他们用记号笔核对清单或使用魔术贴移动图片。 您会惊讶于您的孩子在完成日常任务时会多么自豪和自信! 幼儿园学生应该能够收起背包和饭盒,穿上外套。 每天帮助您的孩子练习将物品存放在家中的特定位置并找到它的位置。 帮助他们穿好衣服,穿上外套或鞋子。 当您的孩子能够自己做到这一点时,庆祝成功。 请务必在夹克和毛衣的标签上写下您孩子的名字。 这将帮助老师将您的孩子与任何放错地方的衣服重新团聚。 每所学校在总部附近都有一个失物招领处,通常在年底时会爆满。 通过鼓励您的孩子照顾他们的财物,您可以确保您孩子的衣服不会被添加到这个系列中。

我的孩子什么时候可以去幼儿园? 根据州法律,在30月30日或之前满XNUMX岁生日的孩子可以在当年进入幼儿园。 生日在XNUMX月XNUMX日之后的孩子在第二年进入幼儿园。

我的孩子必须上幼儿园吗? 不可以。建议幼儿园,但法律没有要求。 但是,如果您决定不注册孩子,则必须以书面形式通知学校系统。 如果您的孩子到30月XNUMX日将满六岁,弗吉尼亚法律要求您将孩子注册入学。

我在哪里注册? 在线注册您的孩子,在您孩子将就读的小学,或致电 APS 欢迎中心,电话 703-228-8000。 有关您居住在哪个考勤区/边界区的信息, 点击此处详细了解。.

幼儿园课程的时间是几点? 阿灵顿公立学校提供全日制幼儿园课程。 孩子们每天上学6 1/2个小时。

我应该带些什么去注册? 注册信息

我的孩子将学到什么? 期待什么 APS 幼稚园计划

我如何了解孩子的进步? 老师家长会议在十月和三月举行。 您可以随时要求与孩子的老师举行会议。 在XNUMX月和XNUMX月编写并分发了幼儿园进度报告。

可以提供长期日托服务吗? 是。 该 延长日计划 提供在定期安排的上课日上课前和放学后的课程。 费用基于滑动比例。 您的学校可以提供更多信息,或致电703-228-6069参加“扩展日计划”。

提供运输吗? 为住在附近学校一英里或更多英里的儿童提供巴士运输。 您所在的学校提供​​公交车站列表以及接送时间。 您孩子的日程安排如有任何变化,必须向学校报告。 根据弗吉尼亚州教育委员会的规定,父母必须步行或步行将孩子带到公共汽车站,或安排其他人这样做。

这些班有多大? 每个班级大约有22名学生,有一名老师和一名助教。

幼儿园课程有其他选择吗? 阿灵顿有很多幼儿园的选择。 某些选择在全县范围内提供,其他选择取决于您的住所。 造访 学校选项页面 或致电703-228-7667,了解有关您附近学校以外的其他选择的信息。与孩子一起阅读的推荐书籍

为学生准备幼儿园的提示:
- 玩需要合作互动的游戏。
- 鼓励您的孩子独立做事。
– 每天或每晚为您的孩子朗读 XNUMX 到 XNUMX 分钟。
- 让您的孩子练习自助技能,例如系鞋带、系扣子、洗手、上厕所和在餐桌上吃饭。
- 确保您的孩子知道重要的个人信息,例如他或她的姓名和电话号码。
– 开始计划您的孩子如何上下学。
- 与您的孩子一起参与“类似学校的体验”:加入游戏小组、参加当地图书馆的故事时间以及鼓励与新朋友互动,这些都是向您的孩子介绍新社交体验的好方法。
- 与您的孩子谈论日常经历。 提出开放式问题,例如“如果……会发生什么?” “你喜欢什么……?”

推荐与学生一起阅读的书籍:

幼儿园小姐上幼儿园了 约瑟夫·斯莱特
萝拉去上学 通过安娜麦奎因
你的布法罗准备好上幼儿园了吗 奥黛丽·维尼克
亲吻的手 奥黛丽·佩恩
幼儿园猫 通过 J. 帕特里克刘易斯
幼儿园之王 通过德里克·巴恩斯

Kindergarten Program

SELECT HERE to view a recording of Kindergarten Information Night (Virtual)!

SELECT HERE to view a presentation on Extended Day for new kindergarten families (Virtual)

Families will learn about the kindergarten registration process and the available neighborhood and option schools for the 2022-23 school year. Select the following links to view:

Reminder: The 2022-2023 application window for Elementary and Preschool Option Schools/Programs opens FEBRUARY 1, 2022 at 4:00 p.m. through April 15, 2022 at 4:00 p.m.


The kindergarten year serves as an introduction to the formal school setting. The program is designed to guide children toward a happy and healthy adjustment to school life and to encourage a love of learning. Sending your first child off to kindergarten can cause anxiety for parents and for children. Here are some tips and answers to frequently asked questions, to make this transition just a little smoother for your entire family.

Fostering Independence  Prepare your child for kindergarten by encouraging helpful habits such as putting things away, following directions, doing simple chores, dressing themselves, and helping others. As adults, many of us love that feeling of satisfaction when we get to check something off our to-do lists. Why not give children this same opportunity? Create a chart with visuals of two or three jobs for your child to accomplish each day. Allow them to check off the list with a marker or move the pictures using velcro. You will be amazed at how proud and confident your child will be to accomplish daily tasks! Kindergarten students are expected to be able to put away their backpacks and lunch box and put on their coats. Help your child practice storing items in a particular place in the home and locating it each day. Help them to dress themselves and put on their coats or shoes. Celebrate successes when your child is able to do this on his/or her own. Be sure to write your child’s name on the tag of jackets and sweaters. This will help the teacher to reunite your child with any clothing that gets misplaced. Every school has a lost & found area near the main office that is usually overflowing by the end of the year. By encouraging your child to take care of their belongings, you can ensure that your child’s clothing will not be added to this collection.

When can my child go to kindergarten? Children who reach their fifth birthday on or before September 30 may enter kindergarten in that year, by state law. Children whose birthdays fall after September 30 enter kindergarten the following year.

Does my child have to go to kindergarten? No. Kindergarten is recommended, but not required by law. However, you must inform the school system in writing if you decide not to register your child. If your child will be six years old by September 30, Virginia Law requires you to enroll your child in school.

Where do I register? Register your child online, at the elementary school that your child will attend, or by calling the APS Welcome Center at 703-228-8000.  For information on which attendance/boundary zone you live in, click here.

What are the hours for the kindergarten program? Arlington Public Schools provides a full-day kindergarten program. Children attend school for 6 1/2 hours a day.

What should I bring to registration? Registration information

What will my child learn? What to Expect in the APS Kindergarten Program

How do I learn about my child’s progress? Teacher parent conferences are held in October and March. You may request a conference with your child’s teacher at any time. Kindergarten progress reports are written and distributed in January and June.

Is Extended Day care available? Yes. The Extended Day Program provides before and after school sessions that operate on regularly scheduled school days. Fees are based on sliding scale. Your school can provide additional information or call the Extended Day Program at 703-228-6069.

Is transportation provided? Bus transportation is provided for children who live one or more miles from their neighborhood school. A list of bus stops and pick-up and drop-off times is available at your school. Any changes to your child’s daily schedule must be reported to the school. According to Virginia Board of Education regulations, parents must walk their young children to and from the bus stop, or arrange for someone else to do so.

How large are the classes? Each class has approximately 22 students with a teacher and a teacher’s assistant.

Are there different options for the kindergarten program? There are many kindergarten options in Arlington. Some choices are offered countywide, others depend upon where you live. Visit the school options page or call 703-228-7667 for information about choices other than your neighborhood school.Recommended Books to Read with your child

Tips for Preparing your Student for Kindergarten:
​- Play games that require cooperative interaction.
​- Encourage your child to do things independently.
– Read to your child every day or every night for fifteen to twenty minutes.
​- Have your child practice self-help skills such as tying shoes, buttoning pants, washing hands, using the bathroom and eating at the table.
​- Make sure your child knows important personal information such as his or her name and phone number. ​
– Begin to plan for how your child will get to and from school.
​- Engage in ”school-like experiences” with your child: Joining a play group, attending story hour at the local library, and encouraging interaction with new friends are great ways to introduce your child to new social experiences.
​- Talk with your child about everyday experiences. Ask open-ended questions like, “What would happen if…?” “What do you like about…?”​

Recommended Books to Read with your Student:

Miss Bindergarten Goes to Kindergarten by Joseph Slate
Lola Goes to School by Anna McQuinn
Is Your Buffalo Ready for Kindergarten by Audrey Vernick
The Kissing Hand by Audrey Penn
Kindergarten Cat by J. Patrick Lewis
The King of Kindergarten by Derrick Barnes