ACC BLPC 原理圖設計常見問題解答

ACC 場地和景觀 | ACC建築設計 | 現場停車計劃 | 多式聯運評估 | 其他 BLPC 成員問題

場地和景觀:

Q: 什麼樣的資源呢 APS 必須保持梯田和其他景觀美化?  (發佈時間:8/11/22)

A:生物池和其他雨水基礎設施結構由專門維護雨水基礎設施的外部服務承包商維護。 場地的平衡由保管人員維護,偶爾也得到管理員的支持 APS 在種植景觀材料和樹木的公司指定的維護期後,Grounds Crew 將到期。

問:新的 MPSA 會建造遊樂場嗎? 如果我們正在為現有的蒙台梭利建造一個新的遊樂場,它是否可以保留用於社區建設而不是被淘汰?  (發佈時間:8/11/22)

A: 現有 MPSA 大樓周圍的新遊樂場必須在新 ACC 結構開始施工之前安裝,以維持項目。 新設備的安裝方式旨在將其重新安置到新的 MPSA 位置,並且現有 MPSA 場地的整個場地將按照當時的確定進行重新開發。

問:第 3 場(中央方形運動場)的用途是什麼?  (發佈時間:8/11/22)

答:字段 3 所示區域是為戶外體育 (PE) 空間設計的。 縣公園和娛樂部已指出,它將在非工作時間用於青年計劃,並在未安排時可供社區使用。 

問:為什麼我們有合成草皮? 這將是什麼類型的人造草坪?  (發佈時間:8/11/22)

A: APS 學校場地用於支持教學計劃。 天然草場受天氣影響,如果在潮濕時使用會損壞。 合成草皮可以連續使用。 類型尚未確定,除了它是可滲透的。

問:公用設施可以埋在地下嗎?  (發佈時間:8/11/22)

答:通常, APS 在成本不高的情況下,更喜歡地下公用設施。 公用事業地下化將在縣頒發使用許可證時確定,屆時可以討論這一共同責任。 APS 還需要考慮現場未來工作的時間安排,以避免重複工作。

問:本地物種會在現場種植嗎?  (發佈時間:7/20/22)

答:是的。 詳細的景觀規劃將在未來階段確定,通常包含在使用許可條件中。 景觀設計師將與縣樹藝師合作。

問:學生街頭藝術會有持續的空間嗎? 街頭藝術會在 Walter Reed Drive 還是在公共空間廣場? (發佈時間:7/20/22)

A:目前,我們不打算在校園內外粉刷任何街道。 雕塑或其他作品等學生藝術作品將能夠在校園露台或廣場上展示。

問:如何 APS 阻止汽車穿過該站點? (發佈時間:7/20/22)

答:在阿靈頓職業中心網站改變司機的行為需要結合標牌、教育和執法。

問:考慮到參加者,運動場是否有足夠的硬表面空間? 是 APS 計劃額外的便利設施,例如水瓶加註站? (發佈時間:7/20/22)

A:該場地正在規劃用於體育教學,並將提供適當的徑流和聚集空間。 諸如水瓶補充站之類的設施是可能的,但尚未詳細說明。

問:請在場地平面圖上明確所有巴士出口路線。 (發佈時間:7/20/22)

A: 從廣場向東行駛的校車將駛入 Walter Reed Drive 右轉。 在廣場西行或服務於 MPSA 的校車將駛入 Highland Street 並根據目的地右轉或左轉。

 

ACC建築設計:

問:除了美學和綠化之外,露台/庭院還有其他目標嗎?  (發佈時間:8/11/22)

答:露台將為學生在上課期間聚集或單獨工作提供替代的安全空間,還將開發一些空間以在適當和可能的情況下支持教學和學習。

問:請提供更多關於 CO 目標的信息2 排放量以及它們如何符合阿靈頓圍繞我們的建築如何影響氣候變化的目標。 這些信息何時可用?   (發佈時間:8/11/22)

答:這些目標將在構建文件階段確定,以供董事會考慮,因為我們會詳細了解可能的情況和選擇的成本。

問:我們什麼時候可以看到室內佈置/教室佈置? (發佈時間:7/20/22)

答:在學校董事會對秋季的示意圖設計建築選項進行投票之前,不會最終確定項目位置和鄰接。 建築物中的程序位置草稿可能會在示意圖設計過程結束時共享,但可能會發生變化。 與學術辦公室合作,在設計階段開始時就制定了包括存儲在內的各個教室的要求。 然後與教職員工一起審查 ACC 特定的空間,並對計劃進行調整。

問:一些露台可以向公眾開放嗎? (發佈時間:7/20/22)

答:梯田將向公眾開放用於節目,但不能隨意使用。

問:建築物的屋頂會有太陽能電池板嗎? 種植機會? (發佈時間:7/20/22)

答:屋頂上的太陽能電池板是可能的。 作為建築過程的一部分,能源與環境設計領導力 (LEED) 戰略將在工作的後期階段進行定義。 如參考文獻中所述 公民設計的負責人, 這項工作將在能源可持續性等問題上繼續進行,並將在原理圖設計後由專業人員解決。 種植面積是可能的。 這不是工作人員要求的,但會在要求時提供,並且可以由工作人員維護。

 

現場停車計劃:

問:車庫裡會有安全攝像頭嗎?  (發佈時間:8/11/22)

A: 是的,車庫裡會有安全攝像頭。

Q:親生物主題畫面是什麼意思? “親生物”設計只是一個藝術的主題屏幕嗎? 它會是住在牆上的東西嗎? 還是只是一個假主題?   (發佈時間:8/11/22)

答:雖然實際的植物和水是理想的,但具有模仿自然的自然主題的設計也會為項目帶來好處。

問:停車場上方會有屋頂嗎? 應該有屋頂嗎? 可以在屋頂上使用光生物。 是否有預算將車庫的上層圍起來並給它一個可以有其他用途的屋頂?  (發佈時間:8/11/22)

答:不,車庫的計劃沒有預算包括用於替代用途的屋頂。

問:停車場可以放在主樓下面嗎?  (發佈時間:8/11/22)

答:目前,該項目在預算範圍內。 地下停車場將顯著增加項目範圍並增加施工時間和成本。 項目預算不允許對范圍進行重大增加。 此外,該計劃已經可能受到建築市場波動的影響,這可能會影響目前假設的升級率。

問:停車場會有電梯嗎? (發佈時間:8/11/22)

A: APS 建議包括車庫中的 2 部電梯

問:一樓是否有足夠的 ADA 停車位供員工和訪客使用? 這些空間會被分配嗎? 會有貨車可進入的空間嗎?  (發佈時間:8/11/22)

答:工作人員和訪客的 ADA 停車位佔所提供車位總數的比例,包括貨車可進入的車位。 通常,此類空間不會分配給個人 APS. 請點擊這裡了解更多信息 MMTA研究.

問:會有電動自行車安全停車嗎?  (發佈時間:8/11/22)

答:僅為員工提供安全的電動自行車停車場。

問:多用途場會在停車場之前完成嗎? 具體來說,在停車場建成之前,分階段對在校教師的停車有何影響? 請明確分階段。  (發佈時間:8/11/22)

答:分階段計劃是:

    1. 首先在遠離施工區域的高地(?)為 MPSA 建造一個新的遊樂場,供 MPSA 在施工期間使用。
    2. 然後,新的 ACC 大樓將在大樓的 South Walter Reed Drive 一側使用建築設備建造。
    3. 停車結構將被建造,第三。 當前的停車場將繼續使用,直到停車場結構完成。
    4. 然後,一旦停車結構準備好使用,中心停車場將被改造成人造草坪場進行體育教學。

 問:ADA 與停車場的連接是什麼?  (發佈時間:7/20/22)

答:整個站點都可以通過一條為流動和非流動個人提供服務的路徑訪問。 大樓入口附近還將設有街邊無障礙停車場。 路徑的最終佈局尚未完全開發。

問:圖書館如何停車? (發佈時間:7/20/22)

答:車庫將提供訪客和工作人員停車位,South Walter Reed Drive 還計劃有時間限制的無障礙和常規停車位。

問:車庫是否提供電動汽車 (EV) 停車位? (發佈時間:7/20/22)

A: 過去的項目中,可能存在阻止在學校物業上充電站的法律問題。

問:為什麼停車場規劃的停車位較少? (發佈時間:7/20/22)

答:在多式聯運評估 (MMTA) 完成之前,之前有 XNUMX 個車位被記錄為佔位符。 基於 MMTA, APS 計劃在車庫中擁有 360 個停車位以及 ACC 場地周圍的可用路邊停車位。 當校務委員會批准最終方案設計時,他們還將決定車庫中的停車位數量。

問:現場施工期間的臨時停車計劃是什麼? (發佈時間:7/20/22)

答:在 2025-26 學年,停車位將保持不變。 一旦搬遷物被移除,員工停車場將轉移到三座建築物之間的現有停車場。 車庫完工後,工作人員將開始在車庫內停車。 建築承包商活動將在新大樓的 South Walter Reed Drive 一側進行。

 

多式聯運評估 (MMTA)

問:請提供有關接送 (PUDO) 區域的更多詳細信息。 家長、老師或學生白天會在哪裡快速接送,以攜帶項目材料、活動用品或去看醫生 約會? (發佈時間:7/20/22)

A:目前在車庫中規劃了訪客空間,並在街道上的建築物附近為 PUDO 設置了限時空間。 APS 將嘗試在校園周圍提供多個 PUDO 位置,以減少站點上任何特定點的擁堵。 PUDO 區域仍在開發中,位於第 9 街的 PUDO 空間就是這樣的位置之一。 家庭通常會找到對他們最方便的一個。 所有學生交通工具由 APS 計劃在廣場上裝卸學生。

問:MPSA 搬遷後會有新的路邊管理計劃嗎?  (發佈時間:7/20/22)

答:是的,由於場地上只有兩座建築物,情況會發生變化,因此會進行調整。 然後,工作人員將能夠從新的 ACC 大樓開業中吸取教訓。

問:自行車和踏板車會停在哪裡? (發佈時間:7/20/22)

答:自行車架將分佈在整個場地,位置將在規劃的後期確定(並提供自行車架)。

問:為什麼第七街不能無限制停車? (發佈時間:7/20/22)

答:通過在第七街提供限時空間,無論是接送遊客還是短期遊客,交通都可以在建築物周圍持續流動。 這對於這個擁有許多不同項目的校園來說尤其重要。 根據 MMTA 研究,在上學期間,在合理距離內有大量不受限制的空間可供使用。

問:學生將在哪裡停車?  (發佈時間:7/20/22)

答:學生停車位計入可用的社區停車位。

問:當騎自行車的人到達工地上班或上學時,是否有設施供騎車人淋浴? (發佈時間:7/20/22)

A: 是的,將為員工提供淋浴設施,並在大樓內為學生提供更衣室。

其他問題:

問:鑑於最近的學校悲劇,多個條目(例如為 CTE 計劃提出的一個,例如動物美容、美容服務)如何與當前對安全入口的關注相協調? 上層的體育館和音樂空間將如何控制公共通道?  (發佈時間:7/20/22)

答:一旦在秋季按照學校董事會的指示確定了項目的位置和相鄰區域,將製定最終的安全計劃,但電梯和樓梯將提供進入這些空間的通道,門或大門等安全關閉裝置將關閉部分區域。限制訪問的建築物。 這類似於所有其他 APS 學校在課餘時間向公眾開放。 在這種情況下,計劃在上課期間參加一些 CTE 課程。 所有進入大樓的訪客都必須登錄並通過 APS 在訪問任何程序之前,系統。

使用此鏈接獲取 XNUMX 月 BLPC/PFRC 會議的問題和回复的完整列表: 六月 BLPC-PFRC 原理圖設計問題

鏈接到 XNUMX 月 BLPC/PFRC 會議的問題和回复: 七月會議 BLPC-PFRC 常見問題解答

ACC BLPC Schematic Design FAQs

ACC Site and Landscape | ACC Building Design | On-Site Parking Plan | Multimodal Transportation Assessment | Other BLPC Member Questions

Site and Landscape:

Q: What kind of resources does APS have to maintain terraces and other landscaping?  (posted 8/11/22)

A: Bio ponds and other stormwater infrastructure are maintained by an outside service contractor who specializes in maintaining stormwater infrastructure.  The balance of the site is maintained by the custodial staff with occasional support by the APS Grounds Crew after a specified maintenance period by the firm that planted the landscaping material and trees expires.

Q: Will playgrounds be constructed by the new MPSA? If we are building a new playground for the existing Montessori, can it stay for community building instead of being ripped out?  (posted 8/11/22)

A: The new playgrounds around the existing MPSA building are required to be installed prior to the start of construction on the new ACC structure in order to maintain the program.  The new equipment is intended to be installed in such a way that it could be relocated to the new MPSA location and the entire site of the existing MPSA site will be redeveloped as determined at that time.

Q: What is the purpose of field 3 (the central, square playfield)?  (posted 8/11/22)

A: The area shown as Field 3 is designed for outdoor Physical Education (PE) space.  The County Department of Parks and Recreation has noted that it will be used for youth programs during off hours and is available for community use when not scheduled. 

Q: Why do we have Synthetic turf? What type of artificial turf is this going to be?  (posted 8/11/22)

A: APS school fields are used to support the instructional program.   Natural grass fields are impacted by the weather and damaged if used when they are wet.  Synthetic turf fields can be used continuously. The type has not been determined other than it will be permeable.

Q: Can the utilities be undergrounded?  (posted 8/11/22)

A: Generally, APS prefers to underground utilities when it is not cost prohibitive. Utility undergrounding will be determined by the time the County issues the Use Permit when there can be discussion about this shared responsibility. APS will also need to consider the timing of future work on the site to avoid replicating work.

Q: Will native species be planted onsite?  (posted 7/20/22)

A: Yes.  Detailed landscaping plans are determined in a future phase and are generally included in the Use Permit conditions. The landscape designer will work in conjunction with the County Arborist.

Q: Will there be ongoing space for student street art? Will the street art be on Walter Reed Drive or in the common space plaza? (posted 7/20/22)

A: Currently, we are not planning to paint any streets on or off the campus. Student art such as sculptures or other works would be able to be displayed on the campus terraces or plazas.

Q: How will APS discourage cars from cutting through the site? (posted 7/20/22)

A: Changing the behavior of drivers at the Arlington Career Center site will require a combination of signage, education, and enforcement.

Q: Is there adequate hard surface space for athletic fields considering attendees? Is APS planning additional amenities such as water bottle refill stations? (posted 7/20/22)

A: The field is being planned for physical education and will be provided with appropriate run off and gathering space. Amenities such as water bottle refill stations are a possibility but are not yet detailed.

Q: Please clarify all the bus exit routes on the site plan. (posted 7/20/22)

A: School buses eastbound from the plaza will exit on to Walter Reed Drive turning right. School buses westbound on the plaza or serving MPSA will exit on to Highland Street and turn right or left depending on their destination.

 

ACC Building Design:

Q: Is there any other goal with the terraces/courtyards beyond aesthetic and greenery?  (posted 8/11/22)

A: The terraces will provide alternative secure space for students to gather or work individually during the school day, some spaces will also be developed to support teaching and learning where appropriate and possible.

Q: Please provide more information about targets for CO2 emissions and how they fit in Arlington’s goals around how our buildings impact climate change. When will this information be available?   (posted 8/11/22)

A: These goals will be established in the During the Construction Document Phase for Board consideration as we get into the details of what is possible and the cost of options.

Q: When will we be able to see the interior arrangements/classroom arrangements? (posted 7/20/22)

A: Program locations and adjacencies will not be finalized until the School Board votes on the schematic design building options in the Fall. A draft of program locations in the building will likely be shared toward the end of the schematic design process, but it will be subject to change. Requirements for individual classrooms, including storage, were developed at the beginning of the design phase in collaboration with the Office of Academics. Spaces specific to the ACC were then reviewed with faculty and staff, and adjustments were made to the plans.

Q: Can some of the terraces be accessible to the public? (posted 7/20/22)

A: The terraces will be available to the public for programs, but not casual use.

Q: Will the building have solar panels on the roof? Opportunities for planting? (posted 7/20/22)

A: Solar panels on the roof are a possibility. As part of the building process, the Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) strategy is defined in a later phase of the work. As referenced in the Principals of Civic Design, that work will continue on questions such as energy sustainability and will be addressed by professional staff after the schematic design. Areas for planting are possible. This has not been requested by the staff but will be provided if requested and can be maintained by the staff.

 

On-Site Parking Plan:

Q: Will there be security cameras in the garage?  (posted 8/11/22)

A: Yes, there will be security cameras in the garage.

Q: What does the biophilia themed screen mean? Is the “biophilic” design just an artistic, themed screen? Is it going to be something living on the wall? Or just a fake theme?   (posted 8/11/22)

A: While actual plants & water are ideal, designs with natural themes that mimic nature also bring benefits to a project.

Q: Will there be a roof over the parking garage? Should there be a roof? Could have photobiotic use on the roof.  Is there budget to enclose the upper level of the garage and give it a roof that could have other uses?  (posted 8/11/22)

A: No, plans for the garage are not budgeted to include a roof for alternative uses.

Q: Could parking be placed under the main building?  (posted 8/11/22)

A: At this point, the project is on course to be within the budget.  Underground parking would add significantly to the project scope and increase construction time and cost. The project budget does not have allowance for significant additions to the scope. Further, the plan is already potentially subject to volatility of the construction market, which could impact on currently assumed escalation rates.

Q: Will there be an elevator in the parking garage? (posted 8/11/22)

A: APS proposal includes 2 elevators in the garage

Q: Will there be enough ADA parking on the ground floor for staff AND visitors?  Will these spaces be assigned?  Will there be van-accessible spaces?  (posted 8/11/22)

A: There will be ADA parking spaces for staff and visitors as a proportion of the total number of spaces provided, including van-accessible spaces. Typically, such spaces are not assigned to individuals by APS. Please click here for more information on the MMTA Study.

Q: Will there be e-bike secure parking?  (posted 8/11/22)

A: Secure e-bike parking will be provided only for staff.

Q: Will the multipurpose field be completed before the parking garage? Specifically, how will phasing affect the parking for teachers who are operating in the school before the parking garage is built? Please clarify the phasing.  (posted 8/11/22)

A: The phasing plan is to:

    1. first build a new playground for MPSA, on Highland (?) away from the construction area, that will be used by MPSA during construction.
    2. Then the new ACC building will be built with construction equipment on the South Walter Reed Drive side of the building.
    3. The parking structure will be built, third. The current parking lot will remain in use until the parking structure is complete.
    4. Then, once the parking structure is ready for use, the center parking lot will be converted to a synthetic turf field for physical education.

 Q: What is the ADA connection to the parking garage?  (posted 7/20/22)

A: The entire site will be accessible via a path to serve ambulatory and non-ambulatory individuals. There will also be streetside accessible parking near building entrances. The final layout of the paths has not yet been fully developed.

Q: How will parking work for the library? (posted 7/20/22)

A: Visitor and staff parking will be provided in the garage, and time-restricted accessible and regular spaces are also planned on South Walter Reed Drive.

Q: Will electric vehicle (EV) parking be available in the garage? (posted 7/20/22)

A: Possibly, there have been legal issues preventing charging stations on school property on past projects.

Q: Why are fewer parking spaces being planned for the parking garage? (posted 7/20/22)

A: Four hundred spaces were previously noted as a placeholder until the Multimodal Transportation Assessment (MMTA) was completed. Based on the MMTA, APS is planning to have 360 parking spaces in the garage in conjunction with available on-street parking surrounding the ACC site. When the School Board approves the final schematic design, they will also make a decision on the number of parking spaces in the garage.

Q: What is the interim parking plan during construction on the site? (posted 7/20/22)

A: Parking will remain as it is for staff through the 2025-26 school year. Once the relocatables are removed, staff parking will move to the existing parking lot between the three buildings. Upon completion of the garage, staff will begin parking in the garage. Construction contractor activity will be from the South Walter Reed Drive side of the new building.

 

Multimodal Transportation Assessment (MMTA)

Q: Please provide additional details about pick-up and drop-off (PUDO) areas.  Where will parents, teachers or students make quick pick-ups and drop-offs during the day to bring in project materials, event supplies, or to go to doctor appointments? (posted 7/20/22)

A: Currently there are visitor spaces being planned in the garage and time-restricted spaces for PUDO adjacent to the buildings on the street. APS will try to provide multiple PUDO locations around the campus to reduce congestion at any specific point on the site. PUDO areas are still being developed and the PUDO spaces shown on 9th Street are one such location. Families typically find the one most convenient for them. All student transport provided by APS is planned to load and unload students on the plaza.

Q: Will there be a new curbside management plan after MPSA moves?  (posted 7/20/22)

A: Yes, as conditions will change with only two buildings on the site, adjustments will be made.  Staff will then be able to use lessons from the opening of the new ACC building.

Q: Where will bicycles and scooters be parked? (posted 7/20/22)

A: Bike racks will be distributed throughout the site and locations will be determined (and bike racks provided) at a later stage of planning.

Q: Why is Seventh Street unable to have unrestricted parking? (posted 7/20/22)

A: By offering time-restricted spaces along Seventh Street, traffic can keep moving around the building whether it’s for pick up, drop off or short-term visitors. This is especially important for this campus which houses so many different programs. Based on the MMTA study, there are plenty of unrestricted spaces available within a reasonable distance during the school day.

Q: Where will students park?  (posted 7/20/22)

A: Student parking is accounted for in available neighborhood parking spaces.

Q: Will there be facilities for cyclists to shower when they arrive for work or school at the site? (posted 7/20/22)

A: Yes, there will be shower facilities for staff and locker rooms are being provided in the building for students.

Other Questions:

Q: In light of the recent school tragedies, how can multiple entries (such as a proposed one for the CTE programs, e.g. animal grooming, beauty services) be reconciled with the current focus on secure entrances?  How will public access be controlled to a gymnasium and music space on upper floors?  (posted 7/20/22)

A: Final plans for security will be developed once the location and adjacencies of programs is established following the School Board direction in the Fall, but elevators and stairs will provide access to these spaces and security closures such as doors or gates will close off sections of the building to limit access. This is similar to how all other APS schools are made available to the public for use after school hours.   In this case there is planning for access to some CTE programs during the school day. All visitors to the building will be required to sign in and be cleared through the APS system before gaining access to any programs.

Use this link for a full listing of questions and responses from the June BLPC/PFRC meeting: June BLPC-PFRC Schematic Design Questions

Link to Questions and responses from the July BLPC/PFRC meeting: July meeting BLPC-PFRC FAQs