Разработка календаря на 2023-24 учебный год

Обновление от 12 сентября: На заседании школьного совета 15 декабря школьный совет утвердил пересмотренный вариант второго календаря на 2023-24 учебный год. Утвержденный календарь на 2023-24 учебный год включает 180 учебных дней, дату начала 28 августа и более короткие зимние каникулы (8 дней).

Посмотреть утвержденный календарь на 2023-24 учебный год


Обзор

APS ищет отзывы учащихся, сотрудников, семей и членов сообщества, связанные с разработкой календаря на 2023-24 учебный год. Опрос будет доступен для заполнения в период с 25 октября по 8 ноября. Это уже второй год, когда процесс опроса календаря учебного года проводится в начале октября, поскольку он дает учащимся, сотрудникам и семьям достаточно времени для планирования следующего учебного года. Школьный совет примет решение по предложенному суперинтендантом календарю на 2023-24 учебный год на заседании школьного совета 15 декабря.

Параметры календаря

На 2023-24 учебный год сообщество может рассмотреть три варианта календаря. Все варианты календаря имеют дату начала до Дня труда. В одном из календарей дата начала занятий указана 21 августа 2023 года, что на неделю раньше начала 2022-23 учебного года, а в двух других вариантах начало занятий за неделю до Дня труда 28 августа 2023 года. Еще одно отличие Среди трех вариантов календаря один из вариантов предусматривает двухнедельный зимний перерыв, а два других - 10-дневный зимний перерыв. Важно отметить, что вариант XNUMX календаря является единственным календарным предложением, в котором дата начала и зимние каникулы совпадают с соседними школьными подразделениями.

На следующей диаграмме показаны некоторые различия между тремя вариантами календаря.

Вариант календаря Дата начала Зимние каникулы Весенние каникулы Последний день Учебные дни Дни персонала
Вариант 1 август 21 Две недели
Декабрь 18 - Январь 1
До пасхи
25 марта - 1 апреля
ES/MS 14 июня
12 июня
180 194
Вариант 2 август 28 Укороченный перерыв
Декабрь 21 - Январь 1
До пасхи
25 марта - 1 апреля
ES/MS 14 июня
12 июня
179 192
Пересмотренный вариант 2 август 28 Укороченный перерыв
Декабрь 21 - Январь 1
До пасхи
Март 25 - 29
(1 апреля удалено из весенних каникул)
ES/MS 14 июня
12 июня
180 192
Вариант 3 август 28 Укороченный перерыв
Декабрь 21 - Январь 1
После Пасхи
Апрель 1 - 5
ES/MS 14 июня
12 июня
180 193

Календарный опрос

Опрос закрыт, и его можно было пройти в период с 25 октября 2022 г. по 8 ноября 2022 г.

Календарный комитет

Варианты календаря разрабатываются на основе первоначальных отзывов, предоставленных Комитетом по календарю, который начал собираться в сентябре. Календарный комитет возглавляет помощник суперинтенданта отдела кадров и состоит из следующих членов:

  • Представители директоров начальной, средней и старшей школы
  • Представители Арлингтонской образовательной ассоциации (AEA), состоящей из учителей и вспомогательного персонала.
  • Представители PTA отдельных школ и Совета PTA графства (CCPTA)
  • Представители отделов центрального офиса, в том числе следующих: преподавательский состав, отдел кадров, планирование и оценка, отношения между школами и местными сообществами, служба поддержки школ и транспорт.

График разработки календаря

  • Сентябрь октябрь: Комитет по календарю собирается для рассмотрения предложений по календарю
  • Октябрь 25: Опрос начинается
  • Ноябрь 8: Окончание опроса
  • Декабрь 1: Предлагаемый суперинтендантом календарь на 2023–24 годы представлен школьному совету в качестве информационного материала (Посмотреть презентацию школьного совета)
  • Декабрь 15: Предлагаемый суперинтендантом календарь на 2023–24 годы запланирован для принятия школьным советом (Посмотреть презентацию школьного совета)

Часто задаваемые вопросы

Почему важно привести календари в соответствие с соседними юрисдикциями?

Пятьдесят два процента APS сотрудники живут за пределами Арлингтона. В результате несогласованность с соседними школьными подразделениями означает, что сотрудники, у которых есть дети школьного возраста, с большей вероятностью пропустят работу из-за такого графика. Согласование наших графиков снижает потребность в подменных учителях и гарантирует, что наши сотрудники смогут проводить высококачественные занятия со студентами.

Почему школа закрыта на несколько религиозных праздников?

APS стремится к инклюзивному обучению для всех студентов и принимает признание наших разнообразных студентов и сотрудников. Как напоминание, APSвидение заключается в том, чтобы «быть инклюзивным сообществом, которое дает всем учащимся возможность воплощать свои мечты, исследовать свои возможности и создавать свое будущее». Кроме того, инклюзивность является одним из наших (APS) основные ценности (например, «Инклюзивность: укрепляйте наше сообщество, ценя людей такими, какие они есть, заботясь о нашем разнообразии и принимая во внимание вклад всех учащихся, семей и сотрудников»). В результате мы продолжим признавать различные религиозные праздники, включенные в календарь учебного года.

APS приходиться снежным дням?

Варианты календаря предусматривают либо 179, либо 180 студенческих учебных дней. Кодекс Вирджинии и Департамент образования Вирджинии требуют либо 180 дней посещения, либо 990 часов посещения. Исторически, APS превышает необходимое количество часов, и мы используем эти часы вместо «дней макияжа».

Информация Файлы для скачивания


Для получения дополнительной информации или вопросов, касающихся календаря на 2023-24 учебный год, обращайтесь по электронной почте участвовать @apsва.ус.

Development of the 2023-24 School Year Calendar

12/2 Update: At the December 1 School Board meeting, the School Board received recommendations on the 2023-24 School Year Calendar proposals. Based on the discussion and feedback from families and staff, APS is revisiting options 1 and 2, and is modifying option 2 to provide a full 180 instructional days. At the School Board Meeting on December 15, they will vote on the final school year calendar.

The proposed option 2 was favored over options 1 and 3 with the stakeholder survey receiving 38.11% of the votes followed by option 3 with 33.59% and option 1 with 28.31%. The revised option 2 starts school on August 28, aligning with the current start date for the 2022-23 school year. Ten-month staff will report on August 17. On the initial proposed option 2 calendar, April 1 was included in the spring break. In revising option 2, April 1 will become a school day. Making this revision to option 2 increases the number of instructional days by 1 to include a calendar with 180 instructional days and 193 teacher workdays.

View the Revised Option Two Calendar


Overview

APS is seeking feedback from students, staff, families, and community members related to the development of the 2023-24 School Year Calendar. The survey will be available to complete between October 25 – November 8. This is the second year the School Year Calendar Survey process has happened early in October because it allows ample time for students, staff, and families to plan for the next school year. The School Board will take action on the Superintendent’s Proposed 2023-24 School Year Calendar at the School Board Meeting on December 15.

Calendar Options

For the 2023-24 school year, there are three calendar options for the community to review. All the calendar options have a start date before Labor Day. One of the calendars has a school start date on August 21, 2023, which is one week earlier than the start of the 2022-23 school year, while the other two options start one week before Labor Day on August 28, 2023. Another difference between the three calendar options is one of the options maintains a two-week winter break while the other two have a 10-day winter break. It is important to note the option one calendar is the only calendar proposal that has a start date and winter break that aligns with neighboring school divisions.

The following chart highlights some of the differences between the three calendar options.

Calendar Option Start Date Winter Break Spring Break Last Day Instructional Days Staff Days
Option 1 Aug. 21 Two Weeks
Dec. 18 – Jan. 1
Before Easter
March 25 – April 1
ES/MS June 14
HS June 12
180 194
Option 2 Aug. 28 Shortened Break
Dec. 21 – Jan. 1
Before Easter
March 25 – April 1
ES/MS June 14
HS June 12
179 192
Revised Option 2 Aug. 28 Shortened Break
Dec. 21 – Jan. 1
Before Easter
March 25 – 29
(April 1 Removed from Spring Break)
ES/MS June 14
HS June 12
180 192
Option 3 Aug. 28 Shortened Break
Dec. 21 – Jan. 1
After Easter
April 1 – 5
ES/MS June 14
HS June 12
180 193

View the calendar visual and revised option two calendar that illustrates the start of school, winter and spring break, religious holidays, staff professional days, last day of school, etc.

Calendar Survey

The survey is now closed and was available to be completed between October 25, 2022 – November 8, 2022.

Calendar Committee

The calendar options are developed based on the initial feedback provided by the Calendar Committee that began meeting in September. The calendar committee is led by the Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources and is composed of the following members:

  • Elementary, Middle, and High School Principal Representatives
  • Representatives from the Arlington Education Association (AEA) that consists of teachers and support staff
  • Representatives from individual school PTAs and the County Council of PTAs (CCPTA)
  • Representatives from central office departments, including the following: Academics, Human Resources, Planning & Evaluation, School & Community Relations, School Support, and Transportation

Calendar Development Timeline

  • September – October: Calendar Committee meets to review calendar proposals
  • October 25: Survey Begins
  • November 8: Survey Ends
  • December 1: Superintendent’s Proposed 2023-24 Calendar Presented to the School Board as an Information Item (View School Board Presentation)
  • December 15: Superintendent’s Proposed 2023-24 Calendar Scheduled for School Board Action

FAQs

Why is it important to align calendars to neighboring jurisdictions?

Fifty-two percent of APS staff live outside of Arlington. As a result, being out of alignment with neighboring school divisions means staff who have school-aged children are more likely to miss work due to those schedules. Aligning our schedules reduces the need for substitute teachers and ensures our staff is able to deliver high-quality instruction to students.

Why is school closed for multiple religious holidays?

APS is committed to an inclusive learning experience for all students and embraces the recognition of our diverse students and staff. As a reminder, APS’s vision is “To be an inclusive community that empowers all students to foster their dreams, explore their possibilities, and create their futures.” In addition, inclusivity is one of our (APS) core values (i.e., “Inclusivity: Strengthen our community by valuing people for who they are, nurturing our diversity, and embracing the contributions of all students, families, and staff”). As a result, we will continue to recognize the various religious holidays that are included on the school year calendar.

How does APS account for snow days?

The calendar options provide for either 179 or 180 student instructional days. The Code of Virginia and Virginia Department of Education require either 180 days of attendance or 990 hours of attendance. Historically, APS exceeds the required number of hours, and we use those hours in lieu of “make-up days.”

Information Resources


For additional information or questions regarding the 2023-24 school year calendar, email engage@apsva.us.