تطوير تقويم العام الدراسي 2023-24

تحديث 12/16: في اجتماع مجلس إدارة المدرسة في 15 ديسمبر ، وافق مجلس المدرسة على الخيار الثاني المعدل لتقويم العام الدراسي 2023-24. يتضمن تقويم العام الدراسي 2023-24 المعتمد 180 يومًا تعليميًا للطلاب ، وتاريخ بدء في 28 أغسطس ، وعطلة شتوية أقصر (8 أيام).

عرض التقويم الدراسي المعتمد 2023-24


ملخص

APS يسعى للحصول على تعليقات من الطلاب والموظفين والأسر وأفراد المجتمع فيما يتعلق بتطوير تقويم العام الدراسي 2023-24. سيكون الاستبيان متاحًا للإكمال في الفترة ما بين 25 أكتوبر - 8 نوفمبر. هذه هي السنة الثانية التي تجري فيها عملية مسح التقويم للعام الدراسي في أوائل أكتوبر لأنها تتيح وقتًا كافيًا للطلاب والموظفين والعائلات للتخطيط للعام الدراسي المقبل. سيتخذ مجلس إدارة المدرسة إجراءً بشأن تقويم العام الدراسي 2023-24 الذي اقترحه المشرف في اجتماع مجلس إدارة المدرسة في 15 ديسمبر.

خيارات التقويم

للعام الدراسي 2023-24 ، هناك ثلاثة خيارات تقويمية للمجتمع لمراجعتها. جميع خيارات التقويم لها تاريخ بدء قبل عيد العمال. يحتوي أحد التقويمين على تاريخ بدء المدرسة في 21 أغسطس 2023 ، أي قبل أسبوع واحد من بداية العام الدراسي 2022-23 ، بينما يبدأ الخياران الآخران قبل أسبوع واحد من عيد العمال في 28 أغسطس 2023. فرق آخر بين خيارات التقويم الثلاثة ، يحتفظ أحد الخيارات بعطلة شتوية لمدة أسبوعين بينما يتمتع الآخران بعطلة شتوية لمدة 10 أيام. من المهم ملاحظة أن الخيار الأول هو التقويم المقترح الوحيد الذي يحتوي على تاريخ بدء وعطلة شتوية تتماشى مع أقسام المدرسة المجاورة.

يبرز الرسم البياني التالي بعض الاختلافات بين خيارات التقويم الثلاثة.

خيار التقويم تاريخ بدء الوظيفة استراحة الشتاء عطلة الربيع بالأمس أيام التدريس أيام الموظفين
الخيار 1 أغسطس 21 أسبوعين.
كانون الأول (ديسمبر) 18 - كانون الثاني (يناير) 1
قبل عيد الفصح
25 مارس - 1 أبريل
ES / MS 14 يونيو
HS 12 يونيو
180 194
الخيار 2 أغسطس 28 استراحة قصيرة
كانون الأول (ديسمبر) 21 - كانون الثاني (يناير) 1
قبل عيد الفصح
25 مارس - 1 أبريل
ES / MS 14 يونيو
HS 12 يونيو
179 192
الخيار المنقح 2 أغسطس 28 استراحة قصيرة
كانون الأول (ديسمبر) 21 - كانون الثاني (يناير) 1
قبل عيد الفصح
March 25 – 29
(تمت إزالة 1 أبريل من عطلة الربيع)
ES / MS 14 يونيو
HS 12 يونيو
180 192
الخيار 3 أغسطس 28 استراحة قصيرة
كانون الأول (ديسمبر) 21 - كانون الثاني (يناير) 1
بعد عيد الفصح
أبريل 1 - 5
ES / MS 14 يونيو
HS 12 يونيو
180 193

مسح التقويم

تم إغلاق المسح الآن وكان متاحًا ليتم الانتهاء منه في الفترة ما بين 25 أكتوبر 2022 و 8 نوفمبر 2022.

لجنة التقويم

يتم تطوير خيارات التقويم بناءً على الملاحظات الأولية التي قدمتها لجنة التقويم التي بدأت الاجتماع في سبتمبر. يرأس لجنة التقويم مساعد المشرف للموارد البشرية وتتألف من الأعضاء التالية أسماؤهم:

  • ممثلو مديري المدارس الابتدائية والمتوسطة والثانوية
  • ممثلون من جمعية تعليم أرلينغتون (AEA) التي تتكون من المعلمين وموظفي الدعم
  • ممثلون من مدارس PTAs الفردية ومجلس مقاطعة PTAs (CCPTA)
  • ممثلون من إدارات المكتب المركزي ، بما في ذلك: الأكاديميين ، والموارد البشرية ، والتخطيط والتقييم ، والعلاقات بين المدرسة والمجتمع ، والدعم المدرسي ، والنقل.

الجدول الزمني لتطوير التقويم

أسئلة

لماذا من المهم محاذاة التقويمات مع السلطات القضائية المجاورة؟

اثنان وخمسون في المئة من APS يعيش الموظفون خارج أرلينغتون. ونتيجة لذلك ، فإن عدم التوافق مع أقسام المدرسة المجاورة يعني أن الموظفين الذين لديهم أطفال في سن المدرسة هم أكثر عرضة للتغيب عن العمل بسبب تلك الجداول الزمنية. تقلل مواءمة جداولنا من الحاجة إلى مدرسين بديلين وتضمن قدرة موظفينا على تقديم تعليمات عالية الجودة للطلاب.

لماذا يتم إغلاق المدرسة لعدة أعياد دينية؟

APS تلتزم بتجربة تعليمية شاملة لجميع الطلاب وتحتضن تقدير الطلاب والموظفين المتنوعين لدينا. للتذكير، APSتتمثل رؤية "في أن نكون مجتمعًا شاملاً يمكّن جميع الطلاب من تعزيز أحلامهم واستكشاف إمكانياتهم وخلق مستقبلهم". بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، الشمولية هي واحدة من (APS) القيم الأساسية (على سبيل المثال ، "الشمولية: تقوية مجتمعنا من خلال تقييم الناس لمن هم ، ورعاية تنوعنا ، واحتضان مساهمات جميع الطلاب والأسر والموظفين"). نتيجة لذلك ، سوف نستمر في التعرف على الأعياد الدينية المختلفة المدرجة في تقويم العام الدراسي.

كيف APS حساب لأيام الثلج؟

توفر خيارات التقويم إما 179 أو 180 يومًا تعليميًا للطالب. يتطلب قانون فيرجينيا ووزارة التعليم بفيرجينيا إما 180 يومًا من الحضور أو 990 ساعة من الحضور. تاريخيا ، APS يتجاوز العدد المطلوب من الساعات ، ونستخدم تلك الساعات بدلاً من "أيام التعويض".

معلومات الموارد


للحصول على معلومات أو أسئلة إضافية بخصوص تقويم العام الدراسي 2023-24 ، أرسل بريدًا إلكترونيًا يشترك - ينخرط@apsva.us.

Development of the 2023-24 School Year Calendar

12/2 Update: At the December 1 School Board meeting, the School Board received recommendations on the 2023-24 School Year Calendar proposals. Based on the discussion and feedback from families and staff, APS is revisiting options 1 and 2, and is modifying option 2 to provide a full 180 instructional days. At the School Board Meeting on December 15, they will vote on the final school year calendar.

The proposed option 2 was favored over options 1 and 3 with the stakeholder survey receiving 38.11% of the votes followed by option 3 with 33.59% and option 1 with 28.31%. The revised option 2 starts school on August 28, aligning with the current start date for the 2022-23 school year. Ten-month staff will report on August 17. On the initial proposed option 2 calendar, April 1 was included in the spring break. In revising option 2, April 1 will become a school day. Making this revision to option 2 increases the number of instructional days by 1 to include a calendar with 180 instructional days and 193 teacher workdays.

View the Revised Option Two Calendar


Overview

APS is seeking feedback from students, staff, families, and community members related to the development of the 2023-24 School Year Calendar. The survey will be available to complete between October 25 – November 8. This is the second year the School Year Calendar Survey process has happened early in October because it allows ample time for students, staff, and families to plan for the next school year. The School Board will take action on the Superintendent’s Proposed 2023-24 School Year Calendar at the School Board Meeting on December 15.

Calendar Options

For the 2023-24 school year, there are three calendar options for the community to review. All the calendar options have a start date before Labor Day. One of the calendars has a school start date on August 21, 2023, which is one week earlier than the start of the 2022-23 school year, while the other two options start one week before Labor Day on August 28, 2023. Another difference between the three calendar options is one of the options maintains a two-week winter break while the other two have a 10-day winter break. It is important to note the option one calendar is the only calendar proposal that has a start date and winter break that aligns with neighboring school divisions.

The following chart highlights some of the differences between the three calendar options.

Calendar Option Start Date Winter Break Spring Break Last Day Instructional Days Staff Days
Option 1 Aug. 21 Two Weeks
Dec. 18 – Jan. 1
Before Easter
March 25 – April 1
ES/MS June 14
HS June 12
180 194
Option 2 Aug. 28 Shortened Break
Dec. 21 – Jan. 1
Before Easter
March 25 – April 1
ES/MS June 14
HS June 12
179 192
Revised Option 2 Aug. 28 Shortened Break
Dec. 21 – Jan. 1
Before Easter
March 25 – 29
(April 1 Removed from Spring Break)
ES/MS June 14
HS June 12
180 192
Option 3 Aug. 28 Shortened Break
Dec. 21 – Jan. 1
After Easter
April 1 – 5
ES/MS June 14
HS June 12
180 193

View the calendar visual and revised option two calendar that illustrates the start of school, winter and spring break, religious holidays, staff professional days, last day of school, etc.

Calendar Survey

The survey is now closed and was available to be completed between October 25, 2022 – November 8, 2022.

Calendar Committee

The calendar options are developed based on the initial feedback provided by the Calendar Committee that began meeting in September. The calendar committee is led by the Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources and is composed of the following members:

  • Elementary, Middle, and High School Principal Representatives
  • Representatives from the Arlington Education Association (AEA) that consists of teachers and support staff
  • Representatives from individual school PTAs and the County Council of PTAs (CCPTA)
  • Representatives from central office departments, including the following: Academics, Human Resources, Planning & Evaluation, School & Community Relations, School Support, and Transportation

Calendar Development Timeline

  • September – October: Calendar Committee meets to review calendar proposals
  • October 25: Survey Begins
  • November 8: Survey Ends
  • December 1: Superintendent’s Proposed 2023-24 Calendar Presented to the School Board as an Information Item (View School Board Presentation)
  • December 15: Superintendent’s Proposed 2023-24 Calendar Scheduled for School Board Action

FAQs

Why is it important to align calendars to neighboring jurisdictions?

Fifty-two percent of APS staff live outside of Arlington. As a result, being out of alignment with neighboring school divisions means staff who have school-aged children are more likely to miss work due to those schedules. Aligning our schedules reduces the need for substitute teachers and ensures our staff is able to deliver high-quality instruction to students.

Why is school closed for multiple religious holidays?

APS is committed to an inclusive learning experience for all students and embraces the recognition of our diverse students and staff. As a reminder, APS’s vision is “To be an inclusive community that empowers all students to foster their dreams, explore their possibilities, and create their futures.” In addition, inclusivity is one of our (APS) core values (i.e., “Inclusivity: Strengthen our community by valuing people for who they are, nurturing our diversity, and embracing the contributions of all students, families, and staff”). As a result, we will continue to recognize the various religious holidays that are included on the school year calendar.

How does APS account for snow days?

The calendar options provide for either 179 or 180 student instructional days. The Code of Virginia and Virginia Department of Education require either 180 days of attendance or 990 hours of attendance. Historically, APS exceeds the required number of hours, and we use those hours in lieu of “make-up days.”

Information Resources


For additional information or questions regarding the 2023-24 school year calendar, email engage@apsva.us.