規劃學校搬遷2021

狀態更新 | 安非他明類興奮劑 | 關鍵 | 麥金利 | 時間線 | 背景

概述

6年2020月1日,作為2021年小學規劃第一階段的一部分, 學校董事會採納了臨時總監的建議,在2021-22學年將三所學校遷移。 校務委員會的採納包括:

  • 麥金利大學的大多數學生到里德基地的新學校學習
  • 阿靈頓傳統學校(ATS)計劃到當前的麥金萊站點
  • 當前ATS網站的密鑰浸入程序
    • 備註: 該建議將重新調整密鑰的用途 網站,目前設有Key Immersion學校, 進入一所新的鄰里學校。

有關1年小學規劃第一階段的更多信息,請訪問: 萬維網。apsva.us/engage/plan-for-2020-elementary-school-border-process/.

A cross-departmental team has begun planning for the school moves transition.跨部門團隊已開始為學校搬遷過渡進行規劃。 All staff are dedicated to making these transitions as easy as possible for students and families.所有員工都致力於使學生和家庭盡可能輕鬆地完成這些過渡。 Throughout this school moves process, information will be shared about next steps.在整個學校遷移過程中,將共享有關後續步驟的信息。 Below are details about how以下是有關如何 APS will keep the community informed.將使社區了解最新情況。 Please note that this web page will be updated to include site-specific information when available.請注意,此網頁將進行更新以包含特定於站點的信息(如果可用)。

在2020年春季至2021年秋季之間,計劃與評估將協調涉及所有方面的學校搬遷流程 APS 部門以及學校的校長和學校職員:行政服務,設計與施工,多元化,公平與包容,設施與運營,財務,人力資源,信息服務,學校與社區關係以及教學。


狀態更新(2021年XNUMX月)

這個 APS Engage webpage will be updated regularly with information about the overall school moves planning process for 2021-22.參與頁面將定期更新,其中包含有關XNUMX-XNUMX年整個學校招生計劃過程的信息。 Principals of the schools involved will take the lead in sharing communications with their school communities.有關學校的校長將率先與學校社區共享交流。 Members of each school community are asked to submit any questions they may have about the process/timeline to their respective PTAs.要求每個學校社區的成員將有關流程/時間表的任何問題提交給各自的PTA。 Responses sent to the PTA will be posted on this webpage in as feasible a timeframe as possible.發送到PTA的回復將在盡可能可行的時間範圍內發佈在此網頁上。

批准2020年秋季邊界

校董會於3年2020月2021日採用22-XNUMX年的新小學邊界,家庭將收到有關已重新分配到另一所鄰里學校的計劃單位的通知,以及有關祖父的相關信息以及打算退還表格的信息

設計和 C指令更新

  • Key和ATS的負責人和PTA領導與設計和施工人員一起參觀了現場; 關鍵地點新社區小學的校長還與設計和施工人員一起參觀了該建築物。
  • 現在正在準備文件以招標
    • ATS,Key和McKinley大樓的廚房裝修
    • ATS和關鍵站點的安全入口

安非他明類興奮劑  (截至2021年XNUMX月)

ATS不受2020年秋季邊界變更的影響。

公共交通

    • 可供選擇的學校/課程的學生乘坐交通工具。 所有的可選學校交通工具都是通過樞紐站提供的。 樞紐站是中心位置,例如社區中心或學校,幾個街區的學生匯聚在一起乘坐公共汽車去學校,並且距離學生住所的距離可能更長
    • 有關樞紐站的信息將在春季末提供。

關鍵 (截至2021年XNUMX月)

  • Key和Claremont的浸入式饋送學校結構的以下更改將於2021-22學年生效:
      • 住在Ashlawn新出勤區(2021-22年生效)的學生將被分配到Key Immersion
        • 當前就讀克萊蒙特並住在阿什勞恩新出勤區(4-2021年生效)的K-22年級學生可以選擇在克萊蒙特繼續2021-22學年。 在完成願景計劃並審查了招生,預測和能力之後,將決定這些學生是否可以在2021-22年之後繼續在克萊蒙特學習。
        • 當前就讀克萊爾蒙特(Claremont)並居住在阿什勞恩(Ashlawn)出勤區的計劃單位中的K-4年級學生已被分配到阿靈頓科學重點學校(從2021-22開始生效),可以選擇在克萊爾蒙特繼續2021-22學年。 在完成願景計劃並審查了招生,預測和能力之後,將決定這些學生是否可以在2021-22年之後繼續在克萊蒙特學習。
      • Key站點上的新社區學校已分配到Key浸入式饋送區
        • 目前,所有這些學生都被分配到Key Immersion,成為當前支線學校結構的一部分(ASFS是他們在2020-21年度的鄰里學校,位於Key feeder區域)

即將發生的事件和交流。

11月XNUMX日所在的周

    • 12月12日,星期二,將向所有K-14浸入式家庭發出學校演講信息,其中包括對雙語言視覺過程的更新,並將包含有關7月XNUMX日(星期四)晚上XNUMX點的克萊蒙特/關鍵PTA聯合會議的信息。 此消息將以英語和西班牙語顯示。
    • 12月XNUMX日星期二, APS 將啟動“雙浸入式視覺”過程的“參與”頁面。 該站點還將成為更新影響沉浸式操作變化的資源。
    • 14月2021日,星期四,將舉行克萊蒙特/關鍵PTA聯合會議,用西班牙語進行解釋,PowerPoint演示文稿也將以西班牙語進行。 在這次會議上,我們將提供影響22-XNUMX年雙語言沉浸式計劃的運營變化的最新信息。

  18月XNUMX日所在的周

    • 將向所有沉浸式家庭K-12發出學校演講信息,其中包含在PTA會議(英語和西班牙語版本)上共享的PowerPoint鏈接,會議記錄等。
    • APS 這些材料也會同時更新“雙浸入式視覺”過程的“參與”頁面。
  • P&E員工將繼續為沈浸社區提供最新信息,並與校長緊密合作,通過學校搬遷和願景規劃為家庭和員工提供支持。

公共交通

  • 可供選擇的學校/課程的學生乘坐交通工具。 所有的可選學校交通工具都是通過樞紐站提供的。 樞紐站是中心位置,例如社區中心或學校,幾個街區的學生匯聚在一起乘坐公共汽車去學校,並且距離學生住所的距離可能更長
  • 有關樞紐站的信息將在春季末提供

學校命名

麥金利 (截至2021年XNUMX月)

2020年秋季邊界過程的影響

  • 大部分麥金利計劃單位(PU)隨學校一起搬到2021年秋季的里德基地。這些PU可以在2022年秋季全縣范圍內重新分配,以管理小學入學率。
    • 計劃單位14100、14101和14110重新分配給阿什勞恩
  • 如果計劃部門仍留在其當前的學校中,並且隨該學校一起移動到另一棟建築物,則這被視為搬家,而不是重新分配。
    • 在2020年邊界流程中未重新分配到另一所學校的計劃單位可以考慮在下一個流程中重新分配。

    如果計劃單位從其當前學校重新分配到另一所學校,則這被視為重新分配。

      • APS 將尋求避免在下一個邊界流程中重新分配這些計劃單位。

學校命名

設計與施工更新

  • 減輕雨水 進行的工作 APS 和阿靈頓縣政府 將分兩個階段進行:
    • 第1階段:作為學校建設的一部分,將在現場工作下安裝地下管道。
    • 階段2:在獲得學校入學許可後,將安裝連接到階段1管道的雨水結構。
    • 開學後,學生將可以使用戶外遊戲空間:
      • 學校後面將提供新的操場和現有的操場。
      • 與學校相鄰的新的半場和全場籃球場將建成並可用。

計劃的停車將完成,並按計劃在麥金利街對面以及圖書館後面提供


學校搬遷過渡的總體時間表

此時間表暫定,可能會更改

日期  活動 
Spring 2020的
  • 關於2021-22年所有參與搬遷的學校的校長,前任學校搬遷經驗豐富的工作人員以及支持學校搬遷過渡的中央辦公室部門的總體時間表和物流的初步計劃
  • 制定並通過2021財年CIP( 萬維網。apsva.us/engage/cip)
  • 2020年秋季小學邊界過程的數據審查
 夏季2020
  • 內部跨部門計劃繼續進行以支持學校過渡
  • 校長批准重點地點新社區學校的校長
  • 每個學校設施更新和廚房擴建項目的工作範圍開始
秋季2020

冬季2020

Spring 2021的

  •  校務委員會將採用將於2021-22年生效的新小學界限
  • APS information on 2021-22 boundaries will be updated before Kindergarten Information Night (Jan. 2021);有關XNUMX-XNUMX年邊界的信息將在幼兒園信息之夜(XNUMX年XNUMX月)之前更新; families impacted by boundary changes will be notified受到邊界變化影響的家庭將得到通知
  • 對於選擇學校,確定招生調整,這將影響2021-22年的招生彩票
  • 2021年XNUMX月:學校工作人員將收到有關學校搬遷的後勤信息
  • 內部跨部門計劃繼續支持學校搬遷
  夏季2021
  • 內部跨部門計劃繼續支持學校搬遷
  • 根據為每個站點確定的工作範圍完成的建築物的建造/刷新
  • 學校行政部門搬遷到新地點
  • 學校搬遷完成(家具,教學材料,職員箱等)
秋季2021
  • 學校在新地點開放,新邊界將於2021-22學年生效

 背景

2021-22年小學規劃的四個階段是:

有關此過程和每個階段的詳細信息,請訪問: 萬維網。apsva.us/engage/2021年小學計劃/

Planning for School Moves 2021

Status Updates | ATS | Key | McKinley | Timeline | Background

Overview

On Feb. 6, 2020, as part of Phase 1 of Elementary School Planning for 2021, the School Board adopted the Interim Superintendent’s recommendation to move three schools for the 2021-22 school year. The School Board adoption includes moving:

  • The majority of McKinley students to the new school at the Reed site
  • The Arlington Traditional School (ATS) program to the current McKinley site
  • The Key Immersion program to the current ATS site
    • Note: This recommendation will repurpose the Key site, which currently houses the Key Immersion school, into a new neighborhood school.

More information about Phase 1 of Elementary School Planning for 2021 is available at www.apsva.us/engage/planning-for-2020-elementary-school-boundary-process/.

A cross-departmental team has begun planning for the school moves transition. All staff are dedicated to making these transitions as easy as possible for students and families. Throughout this school moves process, information will be shared about next steps. Below are details about how APS will keep the community informed. Please note that this web page will be updated to include site-specific information when available.

Between Spring 2020 and Fall 2021, Planning & Evaluation will coordinate the school moves process  that involves all APS departments, as well as the Principals and school staff of the schools involved: Administrative Services, Design & Construction, Diversity, Equity & Inclusion, Facilities & Operations, Finance, Human Resources, Information Services, School & Community Relations, and Teaching & Learning.


Status Updates (Jan. 2021)

This APS Engage webpage will be updated regularly with information about the overall school moves planning process for 2021-22. Principals of the schools involved will take the lead in sharing communications with their school communities. Members of each school community are asked to submit any questions they may have about the process/timeline to their respective PTAs. Responses sent to the PTA will be posted on this webpage in as feasible a timeframe as possible.

Fall 2020 Boundaries approved

Per the School Board’s Dec. 3, 2020 adoption of new elementary school boundaries for 2021-22, families are receiving notification about Planning Units that have been reassigned to another neighborhood school, along with pertinent information on grandfathering and intent to return forms

Design and Construction Updates

  • Principals and PTA leaders from Key and ATS toured the sites with Design & Construction staff; the principal at the new neighborhood elementary school at the Key site has also toured that building with design and construction staff.
  • Documents are now being prepared for bidding the work on
    • Kitchen renovations at the ATS, Key and McKinley buildings
    • Security entrances at ATS and Key sites

ATS  (as of Jan. 2021)

ATS was not impacted by the Fall 2020 Boundary Change.

Transportation

    • Transportation is available for students attending option schools/programs. All option school transportation is provided via hub stops. Hub stops are central locations—such as a community center or school—where students from several neighborhoods meet to catch the bus to their school and may be a longer distance from a student’s residence
    • Information about hub stops will be available in late Spring.

Key (as of Jan. 2021)

  • The following changes to the immersion feeder school structure for Key and Claremont will take effect for the 2021-22 school year:
      • Students who live in Ashlawn’s new attendance zone (effective 2021-22) will be assigned to Key Immersion
        • Grade K-4 students who currently attend Claremont and live in Ashlawn’s new attendance zone (effective 2021-22) will have the option of continuing at Claremont for 2021-22 school year. A decision about whether these students can continue at Claremont beyond 2021-22 will be made following completion of the visioning process and review of enrollment, projections and capacity.
        • Grade K-4 students who currently attend Claremont and live in a planning unit in Ashlawn’s attendance zone that was reassigned to Arlington Science Focus School (effective 2021-22) will have the option of continuing at Claremont for the 2021-22 school year. A decision about whether these students can continue at Claremont beyond 2021-22 will be made following completion of the visioning process and review of enrollment, projections and capacity.
      • The new neighborhood school at the Key site is assigned to the Key immersion feeder zone
        • All of these students are currently assigned to Key Immersion as part of the current feeder school structure (ASFS is their neighborhood school for 2020-21 and is in the Key feeder zone)

Upcoming events and communications.

Week of January 11

    • On Tuesday, January 12, a school talk message will go out to all immersion families, K-12, with an update on the Dual Language Visioning Process and will include information about the Joint Claremont/Key PTA meeting on Thursday, January 14 at 7pm. This message will be in English and Spanish.
    • On Tuesday, January 12, an APS Engage page for the Dual Immersion Visioning process will be launched. The site will also become a resource for updates on operational changes impacting immersion.
    • On Thursday, January 14, a Joint Claremont/Key PTA meeting- Interpretation in Spanish will be provided and the PowerPoint presentation will also be available in Spanish. At this meeting, we will provide an update on operational changes impacting the dual language immersion program for 2021-22.

  Week of January 18

    • A school talk message will go out to all immersion families, K-12, with links to the PowerPoint shared at the PTA meeting (English & Spanish version), recording of the meeting, etc.
    • The APS Engage page for Dual Immersion Visioning process will be updated as well with these materials.
  • P&E Staff will continue to keep the immersion community informed as additional updates become available and are working closely with the Principals to support families and staff through the school moves and visioning process.

Transportation

  • Transportation is available for students attending option schools/programs. All option school transportation is provided via hub stops. Hub stops are central locations—such as a community center or school—where students from several neighborhoods meet to catch the bus to their school and may be a longer distance from a student’s residence
  • Information about hub stops will be available in late Spring

School Naming

  • The Dept. of School and Community Relations will lead a naming process with the community, starting in late April 2021. Information will be shared on the APS Engage School Naming/Renaming Processes for 2021

McKinley (as of Jan. 2021)

Impact of Fall 2020 Boundary Process

  • The majority of McKinley Planning Units (PUs) are moving with the school to the Reed site for Fall 2021. These PUs could be reassigned in the Fall 2022 county-wide process to manage elementary school enrollment.
    • Planning units 14100, 14101 and 14110 are reassigned to Ashlawn
  • If a Planning Unit remains with its current school, and moves with that school to a different building, this is considered a move and not a reassignment.
    • A Planning Unit that is not reassigned to a different school in the 2020 boundary process could be considered for reassignment in the next process.

    If a Planning Unit is reassigned from its current school to another school, this is considered a reassignment.

      • APS will seek to avoid reassigning those Planning Units in the next boundary process.

School Naming

  • The Dept. of School and Community Relations will lead a naming process with the community, starting in late January 2021. Information is being shared on the APS Engage School Naming/Renaming Processes for 2021

Design and Construction Update

  • The stormwater mitigation work conducted by APS and Arlington County Government will happen in two phases:
    • Phase 1: Underground piping will be installed under the site work as part of school construction.
    • Phase 2: Stormwater structure to connect to Phase 1 piping will be installed after school occupancy permit is achieved.
    • Students will have access to outdoor play space when the school opens:
      • New playground and existing playground will be available behind the school.
      • The new half and full basketball courts adjacent to the school will be completed and available.

Planned parking will be completed and available as planned off of McKinley Street as well as behind the library


Overall Timeline for School Moves Transition

This timeline is tentative and subject to change

Date  Activity 
Spring 2020
  • Initial planning on overall timeline and logistics with principals for all schools involved in moves for 2021-22, staff experienced with previous school moves, and central office departments supporting school moves transition
  • Development and adoption of the FY 2021 CIP ( www.apsva.us/engage/cip)
  • Data Review for Fall 2020 Elementary School Boundary Process
 Summer 2020
  • Internal cross-departmental planning continues in support of school moves transition
  • Principal approves principal for new neighborhood school at Key site
  • Start of scope of work for each school facility refresh and kitchen expansion project
Fall 2020

Winter 2020

Spring 2021

  •  School Board to adopt new elementary school boundaries that will take effect in 2021-22
  • APS information on 2021-22 boundaries will be updated before Kindergarten Information Night (Jan. 2021); families impacted by boundary changes will be notified
  • For option schools, determine adjustments to enrollment that will impact admissions lottery for 2021-22
  • Jan. 2021: School staff will receive information on logistics for school moves
  • Internal cross-departmental planning continues in support of school moves
  Summer 2021
  • Internal cross-departmental planning continues in support of school moves
  • Construction/refresh of buildings completed per scope of work determined for each site
  • School administrations are relocated to new sites
  • School moves completed (furniture, academic materials, staff boxes, etc.)
Fall 2021
  • Schools open at new sites and new boundaries take effect for 2021-22 school year

 Background

The four phases of the Elementary School Planning for 2021-22 are:

Details about this process and each phase is available at www.apsva.us/engage/elementary-school-planning-for-2021/