الأسئلة الشائعة حول عملية الحدود في خريف 2021

المعالجة: | البيانات | الجد | IB | هدايا الخطوبة | الصفحة الرئيسية

PROCESS

لماذا هذه التغييرات محدودة النطاق؟

APS كان الموظفون يعتزمون اتباع نهج أكثر شمولاً لتعديلات حدود المدارس المتوسطة والثانوية هذا الخريف. كان الالتحاق بمعظم المدارس في يوليو / تموز أقل من قدرة المنشأة الدائمة ولم يكن هناك سوى عدد قليل من المدارس بحاجة إلى بعض الإغاثة. تم التخطيط لعملية حدود المدارس الابتدائية على مستوى المقاطعة في خريف عام 2022. يقترح الموظفون تحسينات على الحدود في المدارس حيث: يتجاوز الالتحاق حاليًا السعة و / أو كان التسجيل في أو تجاوز السعة للسنتين الدراسيتين السابقتين ، ومدرسة مجاورة لديها القدرة على استيعاب طلاب إضافيين.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن أحدث بيانات التوقعات لها قيود بسبب تأثير وباء COVID 19. لا يمكننا أيضًا توقع عدد الطلاب العائدين APS مدرسة شخصية من VLP أو خيارات التعليم الخاصة أو المنزلية. تختلف المشاركة في برنامج التعلم الافتراضي أيضًا عبر المدارس وقد تتغير في المستقبل بطرق لا يمكننا أن نعرفها على وجه اليقين. سيؤدي الوقت الإضافي إلى تحسين فهمنا لتحولات التسجيل. نتيجة لذلك ، نتخذ نهجًا حذرًا ومحدودًا في هذه العملية مع التركيز على تعديلات الحدود حيث تكون هناك حاجة إليها في العام الدراسي 2022-23.

لماذا لا تستطيع وحدات التخطيط (PUs) في Boulevard Manor الانتقال إلى Washington-Liberty (WL) هذا العام كما هو مطلوب؟

تم تخصيص بوليفارد مانور PUs حاليًا لمناطق يوركتاون ، وهي أقل من طاقتها الاستيعابية. في هذه العملية المحدودة ، نقترح تعديلات في المدارس الثانوية حيث يتجاوز الالتحاق حاليًا السعة ومدرسة مجاورة لديها القدرة على استيعاب الطلاب الإضافيين. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، قد يؤدي تعيين عدد كبير جدًا من الطلاب إلى WL الآن إلى زيادة الالتحاق بما يتجاوز سعته البالغة 2,800 حيث تتم إضافة مجموعات الصف ضمن اقتراح الحدود الحالي. سيؤدي الوقت الإضافي إلى تحسين فهمنا للالتحاق بالجائحة والتحولات في التوقعات التي ستؤثر على بناء القدرات. نتيجة لذلك ، نتخذ نهجًا حذرًا ومحدودًا في هذه العملية مع التركيز على تعديلات الحدود حيث تكون هناك حاجة إليها في العام الدراسي 2022-23.

هل يتعين على الطالب البقاء في Gunston أو Wakefield إذا تم نقل PU الخاص بنا؟

لا ، سيكون لدى الطلاب الملتحقين في Gunston أو Wakefield خيار إكمال المدرسة الإعدادية أو الثانوية في مدرستهم الحالية أو الالتحاق بمدرسة الحي المعينة حديثًا بدءًا من العام الدراسي 2022-23. نشجع العائلات المتأثرة على إكمال نموذج الاهتمام المرسل لهم في 15 أكتوبر 2021. سيساعدنا هذا في إعادة تخصيص التسجيل والموارد في التوقعات وسيربط الطلاب بعملية الجدولة الجارية للعام الدراسي القادم.

لماذا لا تنتظر حتى بعد الوباء لتغيير الحدود؟

نريد توفير إعفاء من التسجيل عندما يتجاوز الالتحاق قدرة المدرسة. في بعض الحالات ، كانت المدارس المشاركة في العملية في أو فوق طاقتها منذ ما قبل الوباء.

أعيش في إحدى وحدات التخطيط المتأثرة ولكني لم أتلق نموذج فائدة. كيف يمكنني الحصول على المعلومات؟

يرجى البريد الالكتروني apsالحدود@apsva.us وسيقوم أحد الموظفين بمساعدتك.

لماذا لا توفر هذه المقترحات راحة فورية لجونستون أو ويكفيلد؟

تبدأ المقترحات في توفير الإغاثة وتقليل الاضطرابات التي تواجه الطلاب في العام الدراسي 2022-23 وستتم على مراحل على مدى ثلاث سنوات. ستستمر إدارة كل مدرسة في إدارة التسجيل حيث يتغير خلال فترة السنوات الثلاث.

هل ستكون هناك مقترحات إضافية؟

في جلسة العمل في 3 نوفمبر ، يمكن تنقيح المقترحات. لن يقترح الموظفون إضافة وحدات تخطيط إلى تغييرات الحدود المقترحة.

هل هناك تنازلات أو استثناءات متاحة للعائلات؟

إذا لزم الأمر ، قد يوفر التحديث السنوي فرصًا للتحويل إلى المدارس ذات السعة المتاحة. لن يتمكن ويكفيلد وجونستون وأبينجدون من قبول الانتقالات. 

العودة إلى الأعلى

بيانات

ما هي البيانات أو التوقعات التي استخدمتها لتحديد الحاجة إلى حدود جديدة؟

تم أخذ مصادر البيانات المتعددة في الاعتبار عند التخطيط لعملية حدود خريف 2021 ، بما في ذلك:

    • توقعات 2020 لمدة 3 سنوات ،
    • تحديث الربيع لعام 2021-22 ،
    • بيانات وحدة التخطيط ، بيانات توقعات الإسكان ،
    • 30 و 2021 الالتحاق و
    • التسجيل في برنامج التعلم الافتراضي

أحدث بيانات التوقعات (2020 3 سنوات ، الربيع 2021 وحدة التحديث والتخطيط) لها قيود بسبب تأثير وباء COVID 19. لا يمكننا أيضًا توقع عدد الطلاب العائدين APS مدرسة شخصية من VLP أو خيارات التعليم الخاصة أو المنزلية. تختلف المشاركة في برنامج التعلم الافتراضي أيضًا عبر المدارس وقد تتغير في المستقبل بطرق لا يمكننا حتى الآن التنبؤ بها بثقة. سيؤدي الوقت الإضافي إلى تحسين فهمنا للالتحاق بالجائحة والتحولات في التوقعات التي ستؤثر على بناء القدرات.

لماذا تقوم بنقل الطلاب من أبينجدون إذا لم تكن الطاقة الزائدة هذا العام؟

كانت أبينجدون قد تجاوزت طاقتها أو أصبحت في طور السعة منذ ما قبل الوباء ، حيث افتتحت سعة 104٪ في عام 2019 ، و 100٪ في عام 2022 ، وبلغ استخدام السعة الحالية 95٪. يستخدم الدكتور تشارلز آر درو حاليًا 64٪ من السعة مع مساحة لاستيعاب طلاب إضافيين. مزيد من المعلومات المتاحة في شبكة الاتصالات العالمية.apsva.us/wp-content/uploads/2021/10/2021-10-21-Sept-30-Fall-2021-Boundary-Process-Data-Tables.xlsx

ألن يؤدي هذا الاقتراح إلى زيادة سعر الغداء المجاني والمخفض (F / RL) في Drew؟

التأثير على معدل الغداء المجاني والمخفض (باستخدام بيانات 2019) والعرق / الإثنية في Drew متواضع ، حيث يتحرك نقطة أو نقطتين مئويتين فقط. ينخفض ​​معدل Abingdon F / RL (باستخدام بيانات 2019) نقطتين مئويتين ، ويبقى قريبًا من متوسط ​​المقاطعة.

هل ستتم إزالة العناصر القابلة لإعادة التوطين في أبينجدون بعد تغيير الحدود؟

تتم مراجعة هذا سنويًا ، وستتم إزالة العناصر المنقولة بمجرد التسجيل في المنشأة الدائمة.

هل يشمل العدد المتوقع للطلاب في بيانات مستوى PU 100٪ من الطلاب المقيمين أم أنه يستثني الطلاب الذين يحضرون مدارس الخيار؟

البيانات من التسجيل في سبتمبر 2021 تستثني الطلاب الملتحقين بالمدارس أو البرامج الاختيارية.

كيف تؤثر هذه التغييرات على الاختلافات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية في المدارس المعنية؟

في اقتراح Abingdon / Drew ، كان التأثير على معدل الغداء المجاني والمخفض (باستخدام بيانات 2019) والعرق / الإثنية في Drew متواضعًا ، حيث يتحرك نقطة أو نقطتين مئويتين فقط. ينخفض ​​معدل Abingdon F / RL (باستخدام بيانات 2019) نقطتين مئويتين ، ويبقى قريبًا من متوسط ​​المقاطعة.

في اقتراح Gunston / Jefferson ، ستحرك معدلات F / RL المقدرة (باستخدام بيانات 2019) نقطة في كل مدرسة ، ويظل كلاهما قريبًا من متوسط ​​المقاطعة ، ولا تتحرك أي مجموعات عرقية / إثنية أكثر من نقطة مئوية أو نقطتين.

في اقتراح Wakefield / WL ، لا تظهر معدلات F / RL المقدرة (باستخدام بيانات من 2019) أي تغيير ولا ترى أي مجموعات سكانية أخرى تغيرًا ملحوظًا في التناسب. مزيد من المعلومات المتاحة في شبكة الاتصالات العالمية.apsva.us/wp-content/uploads/2021/10/2021-10-21-Sept-30-Fall-2021-Boundary-Process-Data-Tables.xlsx

العودة إلى الأعلى

الجد

ما الجد المقترح؟

جونستون / ويكفيلد 

APS يقترح الموظفون شرطًا خاصًا بالجدة يسمح للطلاب الملتحقين بجونستون والذين هم حاليًا في الصف السادس أو السابع بالبقاء في جونستون حتى الانتهاء من الصف الثامن أو يمكنهم الالتحاق بمدرسة الحي المعينة حديثًا (جيفرسون) بدءًا من العام الدراسي 6-7. يمكن للطلاب الذين يحضرون ويكفيلد الذين هم حاليًا في الصفوف من 8 إلى 2022 البقاء في ويكفيلد حتى الانتهاء من الصف الثاني عشر أو يمكنهم الالتحاق بمدرسة الحي المعينة حديثًا (واشنطن ليبرتي) بدءًا من العام الدراسي 23-9. الأشقاء الصغار لطلاب Gunston و Wakefield الحاليين غير مؤهلين للجد ويجب عليهم الالتحاق بمدرسة الحي المعينة حديثًا. قد يستمر الطلاب المنقولون والمشاركون في برامج الخيارات على مستوى المقاطعة في مدارسهم و / أو برامجهم الحالية

ابينجدون

APS يقترح طاقم العمل شرطًا خاصًا بالجدة يسمح للطلاب الموجودين حاليًا في الصف الرابع - والذين سيكونون في الصف الخامس في العام الدراسي 4-5 - بالبقاء في أبينجدون إذا اختاروا ذلك. الطلاب المؤهلين للبقاء في أبينجدون بسبب الجد سيكون لديهم خيار الالتحاق بمدرسة الحي المعينة حديثًا (دكتور تشارلز آر درو) للعام الدراسي 2022-23.   APS تقوم بجمع المعلومات من العائلات لتحديد ما إذا كان يمكن استيعاب أشقاء طلاب الصف الرابع الحاليين المسجلين بشكل متزامن في Abingdon وعرض خيار البقاء في Abingdon للعام الدراسي 4-2022. لاحظ أن الأشقاء سيحتاجون إلى حضور دكتور تشارلز آر درو بدءًا من بداية العام الدراسي 23-2023. سيتم جمع هذه المعلومات في النموذج المرسل إلى صف ما قبل الروضة للطلاب الثالث في أبينجدون.

نشجع العائلات على إكمال النموذج لمساعدتنا في إعادة تخصيص التسجيل والموارد في التوقعات وسنربط الطلاب بعملية الجدولة الجارية للعام الدراسي المقبل.

لم تكن عملية الحدود لعام 2020 جد الأشقاء. لماذا أنت قادر على القيام بذلك من أجل أبينجدون لدرو في هذه العملية؟

نقوم حاليًا بجمع المعلومات من العائلات لتحديد ما إذا كان بإمكاننا استيعاب الأشقاء للعام الدراسي 2022-2023. في جلسة العمل في 3 نوفمبر ، سيقدم الموظفون تحديثًا للطلبات ويقترحون ما إذا كان يمكن استيعاب الطلاب الإضافيين (بناءً على الطلبات).

هل سيتم توفير المواصلات إذا اختار الطالب البقاء في مدرسته الحالية عند عرض الجد؟

نعم. APS ستكون المواصلات متاحة عبر محطات محورية للطلاب الأجداد.

العودة إلى الأعلى

IB

هل تعني السعة المضافة أن برنامج البكالوريا الدولية سوف ينمو إلى الأبد؟

تتم مراجعة عدد مقاعد البكالوريا الدولية المقدمة عبر اليانصيب سنويًا ويمكن زيادتها أو تقليلها إذا لزم الأمر. على سبيل المثال ، إذا زاد التسجيل في يوركتاون وأدى تغيير الحدود في المستقبل إلى إضافة المزيد من الطلاب من يوركتاون إلى WL ، فيمكن تقليل عدد مقاعد البكالوريا الدولية لتعويض تغيير الحدود.

من خلال البدء بتغييرات محدودة للحدود ، يمكننا مراقبة وتحديد ما إذا كان يجب تعديل مستويات IB. إذا كانت هناك حاجة لمزيد من الراحة في مدرسة ثانوية أخرى العام المقبل ، فسوف ينظر التحديث السنوي في تقديم تحويلات مستهدفة لمزيد من الطلاب من مدرسة ثانوية مزدحمة لحضور WL.

العودة إلى الأعلى

إلتزامنا

أين أرسل أسئلتي؟

الرجاء إرسال أسئلتك إلى يشترك - ينخرط@apsva.us. سيتم إرسال أسئلتك إلى الموظفين العاملين على عمليات الحدود.

متى ستعقد اجتماعات المجتمع؟

ستعقد جميع اجتماعات المجتمع بشكل افتراضي. يمكن العثور على مزيد من المعلومات حول أحداث المشاركة المجتمعية على https://www.apsva.us/engage/fall-2021-boundary-process/#21timeline .

العودة إلى الأعلى

Fall 2021 Boundary Process FAQs

Process | Data | Grandfathering | IB | Engagement | Home Page

PROCESS

Why are these changes so limited in scope?

APS staff had intended to take a more comprehensive approach to middle and high school boundary adjustments this fall.  Enrollment in July at most schools was coming in lower than the permanent facility capacity and only a few schools needed some relief.  A countywide elementary schools boundary process is planned for Fall of 2022. Staff is proposing refinements to boundaries at schools where: enrollment currently exceeds capacity and/or enrollment was at or exceeded capacity for the prior two school years, and a neighboring school has capacity to accommodate additional students.

In addition, the most recent projections data has limitations due to the impact of the COVID 19 pandemic. We also cannot predict the number of students returning to APS in-person school from VLP, private or home-schooling options. Participation in the Virtual learning Program also varies across schools and may change in the future in ways we cannot yet know with certainty. Additional time will improve our understanding of enrollment shifts. As a result, we are taking a cautious and limited approach in this process focusing on boundary adjustments where they are needed in the 2022-23 school year.

Why can’t Planning Units (PUs) in Boulevard Manor move to Washington-Liberty (W-L) this year as requested?

Boulevard Manor PUs are currently zoned for Yorktown, which is under capacity. In this limited process, we are proposing adjustments at high schools where enrollment currently exceeds capacity and a neighboring school has capacity to accommodate additional student. In addition, assigning too many students to W-L now could increase enrollment beyond its capacity of 2,800 as grade cohorts are added under the current boundary proposal. Additional time will improve our understanding of pandemic enrollment and the shifts in projections that will impact building capacity. As a result, we are taking a cautious and limited approach in this process focusing on boundary adjustments where they are needed in the 2022-23 school year.

Does my student have to stay at Gunston or Wakefield if our PU has been moved?

No. Students attending Gunston or Wakefield will have the choice to complete middle or high school at their current school or attend their newly assigned neighborhood school starting in the 2022-23 school year. We encourage impacted families to complete the interest form sent them on Oct. 15, 2021. This will help us reallocate enrollment and resources in projections and will connect the students to the scheduling process underway for next school year.

Why not wait until after the pandemic to change boundaries?

We want to provide enrollment relief where enrollment exceeds the school’s capacity.  In some cases, schools involved in the process have been at or above capacity since before the pandemic.

I live in one of the affected planning units but did not receive an interest form. How can I get the information?

Please email apsboundaries@apsva.us and a staff member will assist you.

Why don’t these proposals provide immediate relief for Gunston or Wakefield?

The proposals begin to provide relief and minimize the disruptions for students in the 2022-23 school year and will be phased in over  three years.  Each school’s administration will continue to manage enrollment as it changes over the three year period.

Will there be additional proposals?

At the Nov. 3 work session, proposals may be refined.  Staff will not propose adding planning units to the proposed boundary changes.

Are there waivers or exceptions available to families?

If needed, the Annual Update may provide for transfer opportunities to schools with available capacity. Wakefield, Gunston and Abingdon will not be able to accept transfers. 

Back to Top

DATA

What data or projections have you used to determine the need for new boundaries?

Multiple data sources were considered in the planning for the Fall 2021 boundary process, including:

    • 2020 3-year projections,
    • Spring Update for 2021-22,
    • Planning Unit data, Housing forecast data,
    • 30, 2021 enrollment, and
    • enrollment in the Virtual Learning program

The most recent projections data (2020 3-yr, Spring 2021 Update & Planning Unit) has limitations due to the impact of the COVID 19 pandemic. We also cannot predict the number of students returning to APS in-person school from VLP, private or home-schooling options. Participation in the Virtual learning Program also varies across schools and may change in the future in ways we cannot yet predict with confidence.  Additional time will improve our understanding of pandemic enrollment and the shifts in projections that will impact building capacity.

Why are you moving students out of Abingdon if it’s not overcapacity this year?

Abingdon has been over or at capacity since before the pandemic, opening at 104% capacity in 2019, 100% capacity in 2022 and a current capacity utilization is at 95%.  Dr. Charles R. Drew is currently at 64% capacity utilization with space to accommodate additional students. More information available at www.apsva.us/wp-content/uploads/2021/10/2021-10-21-Sept-30-Fall-2021-Boundary-Process-Data-Tables.xlsx

Won’t this proposal increase the Free and Reduced Lunch (F/RL) rate at Drew?

The impact on the Free and Reduced Lunch rate (using the 2019 data) and Race/Ethnicity at Drew is modest, moving only one or two percentage points.  The Abingdon F/RL rate (using 2019 data) declines two percentage points, staying close to the County average.

Would the relocatables at Abingdon be removed after the boundary change?

This is reviewed annually, and relocatables will be removed once enrollment fits within the permanent facility.

Does the projected number of students in the PU level data include 100% of the resident students or does it exclude those students who attend option schools?

The data from Sept. 2021 enrollment excludes students attending option schools or programs.

How do these changes affect the socio-economic differences at the schools involved?

In the Abingdon/Drew proposal the impact on the Free and Reduced Lunch rate (using the 2019 data) and Race/Ethnicity at Drew is modest, moving only one or two percentage points. The Abingdon F/RL rate (using 2019 data) declines two percentage points, staying close to the County average.

In the Gunston/Jefferson proposal the estimated F/RL rates (using 2019 data) would move a point at each school, both remain close to the County average, and no racial/ethnic groups move more than a percentage point or two.

In the Wakefield/W-L proposal the estimated F/RL rates (using data from 2019) show no change and no other demographic groups see notable change in proportion. More information available at www.apsva.us/wp-content/uploads/2021/10/2021-10-21-Sept-30-Fall-2021-Boundary-Process-Data-Tables.xlsx

Back to Top

GRANDFATHERING

What grandfathering is proposed?

Gunston/Wakefield 

APS staff are proposing a grandfathering provision that allows students attending Gunston who are currently in 6th or 7th grade to remain at Gunston through completion of 8th grade or can attend their newly assigned neighborhood school (Jefferson) beginning in the 2022-23 school year.  Students attending Wakefield who are currently in grades 9-11 can remain at Wakefield through completion of 12th grade or can attend their newly assigned neighborhood school (Washington-Liberty) beginning in the 2022-23 school year.  Younger siblings of current Gunston and Wakefield students are not eligible for grandfathering and must attend the newly assigned neighborhood school. Transfer students and those participating in countywide option programs may continue at their current schools and/or program

Abingdon

APS staff are proposing a grandfathering provision that allows students who are currently in the 4th grade—and who will be in the 5th grade in the 2022-23 school year—to remain at Abingdon if they choose. Students who are eligible to remain at Abingdon due to grandfathering would have the choice to attend their newly assigned neighborhood school (Dr. Charles R. Drew) for the 2022-2023 school year.   APS is collecting information from families to determine if siblings of current 4th graders who are concurrently enrolled at Abingdon can be accommodated and offered the option to remain at Abingdon for the 2022-23 school year. Note that siblings would need to attend Dr. Charles R. Drew beginning at the start of the 2023-24 school year. This information will be collected on the form sent to pre-K to 3rd students at Abingdon.

We encourage families to complete the form to will help us reallocate enrollment and resources in projections and will connect the students to the scheduling process underway for next school year.

The 2020 boundary process didn’t grandfather siblings.  Why are you able to do this for Abingdon to Drew in this process?

We are currently collecting information from families to determine whether we can accommodate siblings for the 2022-2023 school year.  At the Nov. 3 Work Session, staff will provide an update on the requests and suggest if additions students (based on requests) can be accommodated.

Will transportation be offered if my student elects to stay at their current school when grandfathering is offered?

Yes. APS transportation will be available via hub stops for grandfathered students.

Back to Top

IB

Does the added capacity mean the IB program will grow forever?

The number of IB seats offered via the lottery is reviewed annually and can be increased or decreased if needed. For example, if enrollment at Yorktown increases and a future boundary change adds more students from Yorktown to W-L, then the number of IB seats could be reduced to offset the boundary change.

By starting with limited boundary changes, we can monitor and determine if the IB levels should adjusted. If additional relief is needed at another high school next year, the Annual Update will consider offering targeted transfers for more students from a crowded high school to attend W-L.

Back to Top

ENGAGEMENT

Where should I send my questions?

Please send your questions to engage@apsva.us.  Your questions will be forwarded to the staff working on the boundary processes.

When will community meetings be held?

All of the community meetings will be held virtually. More information about the community engagement events can be found at https://www.apsva.us/engage/fall-2021-boundary-process/#21timeline .

Back to Top