2021 年秋季边界流程常见问题解答

流程 | 数据 | 祖父 | IB | 订婚戒指 | 主页

PROCESS

为什么这些变化的范围如此有限?

APS 工作人员打算在今年秋天对中学和高中的边界调整采取更全面的方法。 大多数学校 2022 月份的入学人数低于永久性设施的容量,只有少数学校需要一些缓解。 全县小学边界流程计划于 XNUMX 年秋季进行。工作人员正在提议改进学校边界,其中:当前入学人数超过容量和/或前两个学年的入学人数达到或超过容量,并且邻近学校有能力容纳额外的学生。

此外,由于 COVID 19 大流行的影响,最新的预测数据具有局限性。 我们也无法预测返回的学生人数 APS VLP 的面对面学校、私立或家庭教育选项。 参与虚拟学习计划的情况也因学校而异,未来可能会以我们尚无法确定的方式发生变化。 额外的时间将提高我们对入学变化的理解。 因此,我们在此过程中采取谨慎和有限的方法,重点是在 2022-23 学年需要进行边界调整。

为什么今年 Boulevard Manor 的规划单位 (PU) 不能按要求搬到华盛顿自由 (WL)?

Boulevard Manor PU 目前被划为容量不足的约克镇。 在这个有限的过程中,我们建议对目前招生人数超过容量且邻近学校有能力容纳更多学生的高中进行调整。 此外,现在分配太多学生到 WL 可能会增加入学人数,超出其 2,800 人的容量,因为根据当前的边界提案增加了年级组。 额外的时间将提高我们对大流行病入学率和影响能力建设的预测变化的理解。 因此,我们在此过程中采取谨慎和有限的方法,重点是在 2022-23 学年需要进行边界调整。

如果我们的 PU 搬迁了,我的学生是否必须留在 Gunston 或 Wakefield?

不可以。从 2022-23 学年开始,就读于 Gunston 或 Wakefield 的学生可以选择在他们当前的学校完成初中或高中,或者就读他们新分配的邻里学校。 我们鼓励受影响的家庭填写 15 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日发送给他们的兴趣表。这将有助于我们重新分配招生和资源预测,并将学生与正在进行的下一学年的日程安排流程联系起来。

为什么不等到大流行之后才能改变界限?

我们希望在入学人数超过学校容量的情况下提供入学减免。 在某些情况下,参与该过程的学校自大流行之前就已达到或超过其容量。

我住在受影响的规划单位之一,但没有收到利息表。 我怎样才能得到这些信息?

请发送电子邮件至 aps界限@aps价值 并且会有工作人员协助您。

为什么这些提议不能为冈斯顿或韦克菲尔德提供直接的救济?

这些提案在 2022-23 学年开始为学生提供救济并尽量减少对学生的干扰,并将在三年内分阶段实施。 每所学校的管理部门将继续管理招生,因为它在三年期间发生了变化。

会不会有额外的提议?

在3月XNUMX日的工作会议上,可能会细化提案。 工作人员不会建议在拟议的边界变更中增加规划单位。

是否有适用于家庭的豁免或例外?

如果需要,年度更新可能会为有可用容量的学校提供​​转学机会。 韦克菲尔德、冈斯顿和阿宾登将无法接受转会。 

回到顶部

数据

您使用哪些数据或预测来确定对新边界的需求?

在 2021 年秋季边界流程的规划中考虑了多个数据源,包括:

    • 2020 年 3 年预测,
    • 2021-22 春季更新,
    • 规划单位数据,住房预测数据,
    • 30 年 2021 月入学,以及
    • 注册虚拟学习计划

由于 COVID 2020 大流行的影响,最新的预测数据(3 年 2021 年,19 年春季更新和规划单位)存在局限性。 我们也无法预测返回的学生人数 APS VLP 的面对面学校、私立或家庭教育选项。 参与虚拟学习计划的情况也因学校而异,并且未来可能会以我们尚无法自信预测的方式发生变化。 额外的时间将提高我们对大流行病入学率和影响能力建设的预测变化的理解。

如果今年不是产能过剩,你为什么要让学生离开阿宾登?

自大流行之前,Abingdon 就一直处于产能过剩或产能过剩状态,104 年的产能为 2019%,100 年的产能为 2022%,目前的产能利用率为 95%。 Charles R. Drew 博士目前的容量利用率为 64%,有空间容纳更多的学生。 更多信息可在 apsva.us/wp-content/uploads/2021/10/2021-10-21-Sept-30-Fall-2021-Boundary-Process-Data-Tables.xlsx

这个提议不会增加德鲁的免费和减价午餐 (F/RL) 率吗?

对德鲁的免费和减价午餐率(使用 2019 年数据)和种族/民族的影响不大,仅移动一两个百分点。 阿宾登 F/RL 率(使用 2019 年数据)下降了两个百分点,接近县平均水平。

边界变更后,Abingdon 的可搬迁物会被移除吗?

这是每年审查一次,一旦注册适合永久设施,可重新定位的将被删除。

PU 级别数据中的预计学生人数是否包括 100% 的常住学生或不包括那些就读选项学校的学生?

2021 年 XNUMX 月入学的数据不包括选择学校或课程的学生。

这些变化如何影响所涉及学校的社会经济差异?

在阿宾登/德鲁提案中,对德鲁的免费和减价午餐率(使用 2019 年数据)和种族/民族的影响不大,仅移动了一两个百分点。 阿宾登 F/RL 率(使用 2019 年数据)下降了两个百分点,接近县平均水平。

在 Gunston/Jefferson 提案中,估计的 F/RL 率(使用 2019 年数据)将在每所学校移动一个点,两者都保持接近县平均水平,并且没有种族/族裔群体移动超过一两个百分点。

在 Wakefield/WL 提案中,估计的 F/RL 率(使用 2019 年的数据)显示没有变化,其他人口群体也没有看到显着的比例变化。 更多信息可在 apsva.us/wp-content/uploads/2021/10/2021-10-21-Sept-30-Fall-2021-Boundary-Process-Data-Tables.xlsx

回到顶部

祖父

提出什么祖父?

冈斯顿/韦克菲尔德 

APS 工作人员提出了一项祖父条款,允许目前在 6 年级或 7 年级就读 Gunston 的学生在完成 8 年级之前继续留在 Gunston,或者可以从 2022-23 学年开始就读新分配的邻里学校 (Jefferson)。 目前就读于 9-11 年级的 Wakefield 学生可以在完成 12 年级之前留在 Wakefield,或者可以从 2022-23 学年开始就读新分配的邻里学校(Washington-Liberty)。 当前 Gunston 和 Wakefield 学生的弟弟妹妹没有资格获得祖父待遇,必须就读新分配的邻里学校。 转学生和参加全县选项计划的学生可以继续就读他们目前的学校和/或计划

阿宾登

APS 工作人员提出了一项祖父条款,允许目前在 4 年级的学生——以及将在 5-2022 学年上 23 年级的学生——如果他们愿意的话,可以留在阿宾登。 由于祖父而有资格留在阿宾登的学生可以选择在 2022-2023 学年就读他们新分配的邻里学校(Charles R. Drew 博士)。   APS 正在从家庭收集信息,以确定是否可以容纳同时在阿宾登就读的四年级学生的兄弟姐妹,并提供在 4-2022 学年留在阿宾登的选项。 请注意,兄弟姐妹需要在 23-2023 学年开始时就读 Charles R. Drew 博士。 这些信息将通过发送给 Abingdon 的学前班至 24 年级学生的表格收集。

我们鼓励家庭填写表格,以帮助我们重新分配预测中的招生和资源,并将学生与下一学年正在进行的日程安排过程联系起来。

2020 年的边界过程没有祖父兄弟姐妹。 为什么你能够在这个过程中为 Abingdon to Drew 做到这一点?

我们目前正在从家庭收集信息,以确定我们是否可以在 2022-2023 学年容纳兄弟姐妹。 在 3 月 XNUMX 日的工作会议上,工作人员将提供有关请求的最新信息,并建议是否可以容纳增加的学生(根据请求)。

如果我的学生在提供祖父待遇时选择留在他们目前的学校,是否会提供交通服务?

是的。 APS 将通过枢纽站为祖父学生提供交通服务。

回到顶部

IB

增加的容量是否意味着 IB 计划将永远增长?

通过彩票提供的 IB 席位数量每年都会进行审查,如果需要,可以增加或减少。 例如,如果约克镇的入学人数增加并且未来的边界变化增加了从约克镇到 WL 的更多学生,那么可以减少 IB 席位的数量以抵消边界变化。

通过从有限的边界变化开始,我们可以监控和确定是否应该调整 IB 水平。 如果明年在另一所高中需要额外的救济,年度更新将考虑为更多学生从拥挤的高中提供有针对性的转学,以参加 WL。

回到顶部

订婚

我应该将问题发送到哪里?

请将您的问题发送至 从事@aps价值. 您的问题将被转发给负责边界流程的工作人员。

什么时候举行社区会议?

所有社区会议都将以虚拟方式举行。 有关社区参与活动的更多信息,请访问 https://www.apsva.us/engage/fall-2021-boundary-process/#21timeline .

回到顶部

Fall 2021 Boundary Process FAQs

Process | Data | Grandfathering | IB | Engagement | Home Page

PROCESS

Why are these changes so limited in scope?

APS staff had intended to take a more comprehensive approach to middle and high school boundary adjustments this fall.  Enrollment in July at most schools was coming in lower than the permanent facility capacity and only a few schools needed some relief.  A countywide elementary schools boundary process is planned for Fall of 2022. Staff is proposing refinements to boundaries at schools where: enrollment currently exceeds capacity and/or enrollment was at or exceeded capacity for the prior two school years, and a neighboring school has capacity to accommodate additional students.

In addition, the most recent projections data has limitations due to the impact of the COVID 19 pandemic. We also cannot predict the number of students returning to APS in-person school from VLP, private or home-schooling options. Participation in the Virtual learning Program also varies across schools and may change in the future in ways we cannot yet know with certainty. Additional time will improve our understanding of enrollment shifts. As a result, we are taking a cautious and limited approach in this process focusing on boundary adjustments where they are needed in the 2022-23 school year.

Why can’t Planning Units (PUs) in Boulevard Manor move to Washington-Liberty (W-L) this year as requested?

Boulevard Manor PUs are currently zoned for Yorktown, which is under capacity. In this limited process, we are proposing adjustments at high schools where enrollment currently exceeds capacity and a neighboring school has capacity to accommodate additional student. In addition, assigning too many students to W-L now could increase enrollment beyond its capacity of 2,800 as grade cohorts are added under the current boundary proposal. Additional time will improve our understanding of pandemic enrollment and the shifts in projections that will impact building capacity. As a result, we are taking a cautious and limited approach in this process focusing on boundary adjustments where they are needed in the 2022-23 school year.

Does my student have to stay at Gunston or Wakefield if our PU has been moved?

No. Students attending Gunston or Wakefield will have the choice to complete middle or high school at their current school or attend their newly assigned neighborhood school starting in the 2022-23 school year. We encourage impacted families to complete the interest form sent them on Oct. 15, 2021. This will help us reallocate enrollment and resources in projections and will connect the students to the scheduling process underway for next school year.

Why not wait until after the pandemic to change boundaries?

We want to provide enrollment relief where enrollment exceeds the school’s capacity.  In some cases, schools involved in the process have been at or above capacity since before the pandemic.

I live in one of the affected planning units but did not receive an interest form. How can I get the information?

Please email apsboundaries@apsva.us and a staff member will assist you.

Why don’t these proposals provide immediate relief for Gunston or Wakefield?

The proposals begin to provide relief and minimize the disruptions for students in the 2022-23 school year and will be phased in over  three years.  Each school’s administration will continue to manage enrollment as it changes over the three year period.

Will there be additional proposals?

At the Nov. 3 work session, proposals may be refined.  Staff will not propose adding planning units to the proposed boundary changes.

Are there waivers or exceptions available to families?

If needed, the Annual Update may provide for transfer opportunities to schools with available capacity. Wakefield, Gunston and Abingdon will not be able to accept transfers. 

Back to Top

DATA

What data or projections have you used to determine the need for new boundaries?

Multiple data sources were considered in the planning for the Fall 2021 boundary process, including:

    • 2020 3-year projections,
    • Spring Update for 2021-22,
    • Planning Unit data, Housing forecast data,
    • 30, 2021 enrollment, and
    • enrollment in the Virtual Learning program

The most recent projections data (2020 3-yr, Spring 2021 Update & Planning Unit) has limitations due to the impact of the COVID 19 pandemic. We also cannot predict the number of students returning to APS in-person school from VLP, private or home-schooling options. Participation in the Virtual learning Program also varies across schools and may change in the future in ways we cannot yet predict with confidence.  Additional time will improve our understanding of pandemic enrollment and the shifts in projections that will impact building capacity.

Why are you moving students out of Abingdon if it’s not overcapacity this year?

Abingdon has been over or at capacity since before the pandemic, opening at 104% capacity in 2019, 100% capacity in 2022 and a current capacity utilization is at 95%.  Dr. Charles R. Drew is currently at 64% capacity utilization with space to accommodate additional students. More information available at www.apsva.us/wp-content/uploads/2021/10/2021-10-21-Sept-30-Fall-2021-Boundary-Process-Data-Tables.xlsx

Won’t this proposal increase the Free and Reduced Lunch (F/RL) rate at Drew?

The impact on the Free and Reduced Lunch rate (using the 2019 data) and Race/Ethnicity at Drew is modest, moving only one or two percentage points.  The Abingdon F/RL rate (using 2019 data) declines two percentage points, staying close to the County average.

Would the relocatables at Abingdon be removed after the boundary change?

This is reviewed annually, and relocatables will be removed once enrollment fits within the permanent facility.

Does the projected number of students in the PU level data include 100% of the resident students or does it exclude those students who attend option schools?

The data from Sept. 2021 enrollment excludes students attending option schools or programs.

How do these changes affect the socio-economic differences at the schools involved?

In the Abingdon/Drew proposal the impact on the Free and Reduced Lunch rate (using the 2019 data) and Race/Ethnicity at Drew is modest, moving only one or two percentage points. The Abingdon F/RL rate (using 2019 data) declines two percentage points, staying close to the County average.

In the Gunston/Jefferson proposal the estimated F/RL rates (using 2019 data) would move a point at each school, both remain close to the County average, and no racial/ethnic groups move more than a percentage point or two.

In the Wakefield/W-L proposal the estimated F/RL rates (using data from 2019) show no change and no other demographic groups see notable change in proportion. More information available at www.apsva.us/wp-content/uploads/2021/10/2021-10-21-Sept-30-Fall-2021-Boundary-Process-Data-Tables.xlsx

Back to Top

GRANDFATHERING

What grandfathering is proposed?

Gunston/Wakefield 

APS staff are proposing a grandfathering provision that allows students attending Gunston who are currently in 6th or 7th grade to remain at Gunston through completion of 8th grade or can attend their newly assigned neighborhood school (Jefferson) beginning in the 2022-23 school year.  Students attending Wakefield who are currently in grades 9-11 can remain at Wakefield through completion of 12th grade or can attend their newly assigned neighborhood school (Washington-Liberty) beginning in the 2022-23 school year.  Younger siblings of current Gunston and Wakefield students are not eligible for grandfathering and must attend the newly assigned neighborhood school. Transfer students and those participating in countywide option programs may continue at their current schools and/or program

Abingdon

APS staff are proposing a grandfathering provision that allows students who are currently in the 4th grade—and who will be in the 5th grade in the 2022-23 school year—to remain at Abingdon if they choose. Students who are eligible to remain at Abingdon due to grandfathering would have the choice to attend their newly assigned neighborhood school (Dr. Charles R. Drew) for the 2022-2023 school year.   APS is collecting information from families to determine if siblings of current 4th graders who are concurrently enrolled at Abingdon can be accommodated and offered the option to remain at Abingdon for the 2022-23 school year. Note that siblings would need to attend Dr. Charles R. Drew beginning at the start of the 2023-24 school year. This information will be collected on the form sent to pre-K to 3rd students at Abingdon.

We encourage families to complete the form to will help us reallocate enrollment and resources in projections and will connect the students to the scheduling process underway for next school year.

The 2020 boundary process didn’t grandfather siblings.  Why are you able to do this for Abingdon to Drew in this process?

We are currently collecting information from families to determine whether we can accommodate siblings for the 2022-2023 school year.  At the Nov. 3 Work Session, staff will provide an update on the requests and suggest if additions students (based on requests) can be accommodated.

Will transportation be offered if my student elects to stay at their current school when grandfathering is offered?

Yes. APS transportation will be available via hub stops for grandfathered students.

Back to Top

IB

Does the added capacity mean the IB program will grow forever?

The number of IB seats offered via the lottery is reviewed annually and can be increased or decreased if needed. For example, if enrollment at Yorktown increases and a future boundary change adds more students from Yorktown to W-L, then the number of IB seats could be reduced to offset the boundary change.

By starting with limited boundary changes, we can monitor and determine if the IB levels should adjusted. If additional relief is needed at another high school next year, the Annual Update will consider offering targeted transfers for more students from a crowded high school to attend W-L.

Back to Top

ENGAGEMENT

Where should I send my questions?

Please send your questions to engage@apsva.us.  Your questions will be forwarded to the staff working on the boundary processes.

When will community meetings be held?

All of the community meetings will be held virtually. More information about the community engagement events can be found at https://www.apsva.us/engage/fall-2021-boundary-process/#21timeline .

Back to Top