2020-21學年日曆

6年2020月XNUMX日,學校董事會批准了 2020-21學年日曆。 該日曆包括勞動節之前的開始時間並進行調整 APS 與周圍的司法管轄區。

請注意:
如果家庭已經計劃在勞動節之前的一周內不能更換,則應聯繫學校的校長告知他們,並在缺勤之前獲得事先批准。  有關缺勤的信息在 策略實施程序J-5.1.30 PIP-1出席率。

此日曆中的重要日期:

  • 學生的第一天– 31年2020月XNUMX日
  • 4月7日星期五和XNUMX月XNUMX日星期一是學生假期
  • 12年2020月XNUMX日,星期一是學生假期和員工專業學習日
  • 3年2020月XNUMX日,星期二是學生假期和老師成績準備日(選舉日)
  • 11年2020月XNUMX日是退伍軍人節假期
  • 25年27月2020日至XNUMX日,星期三至星期五是感恩節的學生假期
  • 21年2020月1日至2021年XNUMX月XNUMX日是寒假
  • 20年2021月XNUMX日,就職日是學生出勤日
  • 春假是29年2月2021日至XNUMX月XNUMX日
  • 高中畢業的最後一天是16年2021月XNUMX日
  • 中小學上學的最後一天是18年2021月XNUMX日
  • 高中畢業於18年2021月XNUMX日

2021-2022日曆的開發工作將於2020年XNUMX月開始。  APS 家庭成員由PTA縣議會提名。


(6年2020月XNUMX日之前:)

我們審查了從社區收集的調查數據。 在我們修訂草案以擬定總監擬議日曆時,與日曆委員會共享了以下文件,以解釋社區的反饋。

日曆調查回應摘要 

APS 2020-2021年日曆問卷調查結果

 

選項一:
該日曆草案是在勞動節之前開始製定的。 在草案的初始階段,31月27日是開學的第一天,但​​進一步的完善要求將該日期推遲到XNUMX月XNUMX日。

選項二:
該日曆草案是根據勞動節後一天的歷史開始製定的。 由於勞動節在2020年這麼晚(8月XNUMX日),所以上學的最後一天比平時晚得多。

選項三:
該日曆草案是根據工作人員工作組的意見而製定的,該工作組致力於製定 APS 與費爾法克斯縣公立學校採用的日曆大致相同的日曆。

常見問題

為什麼每個日曆草稿選項都有兩個星期的寒假?
在過去的幾年中,利益相關者的意見顯示了對為期兩週的寒假的大力支持,這使家庭有時間旅行,並給學生和教職員工充裕的時間進行充電。 鑑於我們已批准日曆的鄰近轄區也採用了為期兩週的冬季休假,所有這三個草案均保持了這一點。

為什麼高中畢業要早於中小學?
每年中小學生每年兩次缺課一整天,參加家長會。 因此,他們又上學了兩天。

為什麼選項三的開學第一天比正常時間早兩週?
在製定備選方案草案時,我們會審查鄰近管轄區的批准日曆。 該草稿與Fairfax縣公立學校的日曆非常相似,具有相似的開始和結束日期。 雖然這比正常的開始要早得多,但它確實允許我們的學生進入我們的鄰近轄區的學生可以使用的相同營地和豐富機會。

最終日曆將是這三個選項之一嗎?
通過反饋過程,可能會使用經過審核的建議來調整任何或所有三個日曆。 結果,總監推薦給校務委員會的日曆可能看起來與這些草稿之一相同,或者在以這三個草稿之一為起點時看起來可能有所不同。

何時決定日曆?
6年2020月XNUMX日。現在將收到的社區意見納入日曆委員會和執行領導團隊的意見,以修改擬議的日曆。 院長推薦的日曆將顯示給 APS School Board for information at their January 23, 2020 meeting, and for action at their February 6, 2020 meeting.學校董事會在XNUMX年XNUMX月XNUMX日的會議上提供信息,並在XNUMX年XNUMX月XNUMX日的會議上採取行動。 Information regarding the Superintendent's proposed calendar will be shared when it is available.在可用時,將共享有關總監擬議日曆的信息。

School Year 2020-21 Calendar

On February 6, 2020, the School Board approved the 2020-21 School Year Calendar.  This calendar includes a pre-Labor Day start and aligns APS with surrounding jurisdictions.

Please note:
If families have already made plans that they cannot change for the week prior to Labor Day, they should reach out to the principal at their school to inform them and obtain prior approval for absences.  Information about absences is in Policy Implementation Procedure J-5.1.30 PIP-1 Attendance.

Important dates in this calendar:

  • First day for students – August 31, 2020
  • Friday, September 4 and Monday, September 7 are student holidays
  • Monday, October 14, 2020 is a student holiday and staff professional learning day
  • Tuesday, November 3, 2020 is a student holiday and teacher grade preparation day (election day)
  • November 11, 2020 is the Veterans Day holiday for students and staff
  • Wednesday-Friday, November 25-27, 2020 are student holidays for thanksgiving
  • December 21, 2020 – January 1, 2021 is the winter break holiday
  • January 20, 2021, Inauguration Day is a student attendance day
  • Spring Break is March 29 – April 2, 2021
  • The last day of school for High School is June 16, 2021
  • The last day of school for Elementary and Middle School is June 18, 2021
  • High School Graduation is June 18, 2021

Development of the 2021-2022 calendar will begin in April, 2020.  APS family members are included through nomination by the County Council of PTAs.


(Prior to Feb 6, 2020:)

We reviewed survey data collected from the community.  The following documents were shared with the Calendar Committee to interpret feedback from the community as we revised the drafts to develop the Superintendent’s Proposed Calendar.

Summary of Responses to Calendar Survey 

APS 2020-2021 Calendar Questionnaire Results

 

OPTION ONE:
This calendar draft was developed with a start prior to Labor Day. In the initial stages of the draft, August 31 was the first day of school, but further refinement required pulling that date back to August 27.

OPTION TWO:
This calendar draft was developed with our historical start the day after Labor Day. Because Labor Day is so late in 2020 (Sept 8), the last day of school is much later than usual.

OPTION THREE:
This calendar draft was developed as a result of input from a staff working group, working to develop an APS calendar that approximates the same dates as the Fairfax County Public Schools adopted calendar.

Frequently Asked Questions

Why does each draft calendar option have a two-week winter break?
In previous years, stakeholder input demonstrated strong support for a two-week winter break, allowing families time to travel and allowing students and staff sufficient time to recharge. All three drafts maintained this, given that our neighboring jurisdictions who have approved calendars have also adopted a two-week winter break.

Why does high school end earlier than elementary and middle school?
Elementary and Middle school students each miss a full day of school twice per year for parent-teacher conferences. Thus, they attend school for two additional days.

Why does OPTION THREE have the first day of school two weeks earlier than normal?
When developing our draft options, we review the approved calendars of our neighboring jurisdictions. This draft is one which closely mirrors the Fairfax County Public Schools calendar, with a similar start and end date. While this is a much earlier than normal start, it does permit our students to access some of the same camps and enrichment opportunities available to students in our neighboring jurisdictions.

Will the final calendar be one of these three options?
It is possible that through the feedback process, suggestions that are reviewed will be used to adjust any or all three of the calendars. As a result, the calendar recommended by the Superintendent to the School Board may look the same as one of these drafts, or it may look different while being based on one of the three drafts as a starting point.

When will a decision be made regarding the calendar?
Feb. 6, 2020. Community input received is now being incorporated into input from the calendar committee and Executive Leadership Team to revise the proposed calendar. The Superintendent’s recommended calendar will be presented to the APS School Board for information at their January 23, 2020 meeting, and for action at their February 6, 2020 meeting. Information regarding the Superintendent’s proposed calendar will be shared when it is available.