Программа виртуального обучения (VLP)

Учащиеся, которые не могут вернуться к очному обучению из-за своего состояния здоровья или из-за состояния здоровья человека, постоянно проживающего в семье, имеют право подать заявление на освобождение от возвращения к очному обучению. 

Руководство и применение медицинского освобождения

  • Документация о смягчающих обстоятельствах может включать доказательства продолжающегося лечения медицинским работником проблем, связанных со здоровьем учащегося или члена его семьи, на которые может существенно повлиять потенциальное воздействие COVID-19 и которые могут быть смягчены участием студента в виртуальном обучении.​
  • Приемлемые учащиеся будут записываться на курсы K-12 Virtual VA, если они не подадут заявку и не получат право на обучение на дому.​

Посетить Медицинское освобождение от возвращения к очным занятиям веб-страницу для заполнения заявки и получения дополнительной информации.

Виртуальная Вирджиния

Часто задаваемые вопросы о ВИРТУАЛЬНОЙ ВИРДЖИНИИ

    1. Какие материалы необходимы для курсов Virtual Virginia и где можно найти эту информацию? 
      В описаниях курсов внутри Сайт виртуальной Вирджинии, вы сможете увидеть, нужны ли какие-либо учебники или материалы для курсов, на которые зачислены ваши студенты. Однако, поскольку преподаватели проводят обучение, используя Canvas, для обучения требуется очень мало учебников. Если вам нужны материалы и учебники, вы можете заказать их для занятий в школе традиционным способом.  Обратите внимание, что APS приобретет учебные материалы, необходимые для участия студентов в виртуальных курсах VA. 
    2. Проводятся ли синхронные инструктажи родителей перед началом учебного года?
      Да, инструктаж предлагается во время онлайн-совещаний Zoom. Ознакомительные встречи также записываются на тот случай, если родителям потребуется просмотреть их позже. У нас пока нет дат ориентировочных занятий для родителей на осенние курсы. Родители получат сообщение по электронной почте с объявлением даты/времени. Ссылки на записи также будут опубликованы после сеансов.
    3. Предлагаются ли летние подготовительные курсы в более раннее время?
      Сессии проводятся только в указанное время, но они будут записаны, чтобы родители и ученики могли просмотреть их позже.
    4. Могут ли учителя общего образования Virtual Virginia виртуально посещать собрания IEP в домашнем школьном округе учащегося?
      Пока учителя не участвуют в синхронных занятиях с учениками, мы ожидаем, что наши учителя будут посещать любые собрания IEP/504/ELL.

APS КОНТАКТЫ:

Даниэль Т. Харрелл, редактор S
Принципал ВЛП
Даниэль.Харрелл@apsва.ус
703-228-2470

Одноместный Баррера-Ботоео
single.barreraboteo@apsва.ус
703-228-2468


Информация об истории программы VLP и переходном процессе

Обзор программы виртуального обучения

Государственные школы Арлингтона разработали Программу виртуального обучения в ответ на пандемию, чтобы предоставить учащимся альтернативу очному обучению. Эта отдельная программа K-12 на 2021-22 учебный год предназначена для учащихся, которые из-за проблем со здоровьем и безопасностью, а также по ряду причин предпочитают учиться дистанционно.

Планы ВЛП на 2022-23 учебный год

На заседании школьного совета 3 декабря суперинтендант рекомендовал приостановить VLP, чтобы дать возможность для планирования и реализации комплексной программы виртуальных опционов. Пауза позволит персоналу заняться разработкой программы, планированием и созданием рабочей группы/комитета во главе с текущим руководителем программы VLP, чтобы предложить основу для будущего предложения программы VLP. Школьный совет проголосовал за предложенные суперинтендантом рекомендации на заседании школьного совета 17 февраля о приостановке программы.

Варианты поддержки студентов программы VLP

  • Учащиеся, которые не могут вернуться к очному обучению из-за своего состояния здоровья или из-за состояния здоровья человека, постоянно проживающего в семье, могут подать заявление на освобождение от возвращения к очному обучению.​
  • Документация о смягчающих обстоятельствах может включать доказательства продолжающегося лечения поставщиком медицинских услуг проблем, связанных со здоровьем учащегося или члена его семьи, на которые может существенно повлиять потенциальное воздействие COVID-19 и которые могут быть смягчается участием студента в виртуальном обучении.​
  • Приемлемые учащиеся будут записываться на курсы K-12 Virtual VA, если они не подадут заявку и не получат право на обучение на дому.​
  • Виртуальная виртуальная машина предлагает основные учебные курсы. Элементарное искусство, музыка и физкультура будут дополнены специально нанятыми APS персонала.

Смена персонала ВЛП

APS сотрудники, имеющие право на участие в контракте, будут назначены на вакансии в обычных/домашних школах посредством внутреннего процесса перевода. Эти сотрудники будут иметь приоритет при заполнении любых кадровых вакансий в школах.

Встречи и презентации сообщества VLP

Презентация собрания школьного совета
На заседании школьного совета 17 февраля 2022 г. сотрудники представили изменения в VLP, которые включают приостановку VLP на 2022-23 учебный год.
Просмотр записи встречи | Посмотреть презентацию встречи

Информационное собрание семьи VLP и сессия вопросов и ответов — 15 февраля, 7:30.
В число участников дискуссии входили суперинтендант д-р Франсиско Дюран, начальник отдела школьной поддержки Кимберли Грейвс, главный академический директор Бриджит Лофт и директор VLP Даниэль Харрелл. Они обсудили предлагаемые изменения в Программе виртуального обучения на 2022-23 учебный год и ответили на вопросы.
Просмотр записи встречи | Посмотреть презентацию встречи


Для получения дополнительной информации или вопросов, пожалуйста, свяжитесь с Программой виртуального обучения по телефону 703-228-8000 или vlp @apsва.ус.

Virtual Learning Program (VLP)

Students who are not able to return to in-person instruction due to their own medical condition or due to the medical condition of an individual who resides in the household full-time are eligible to apply for an exemption from returning to instruction in person. 

Medical Exemption Guidelines & Application

  • Documentation of extenuating circumstances may include evidence of ongoing treatment by a health care provider of issues related to the health of a student, or a member of the student’s immediate household, that may be significantly impacted by potential exposure to COVID-19, and which could be mitigated by the student’s participation in virtual learning. ​
  • Eligible students will enroll in K-12 Virtual VA courses unless applying and qualifying for Homebound Instruction.    ​

Visit the Medical Exemption for Return to In-Person Instruction webpage to complete the application and for additional information.

Virtual Virginia

Families who have been granted a medical exemption and have children who will be attending Virtual Virginia beginning August 24, 2022, please see the family orientation dates below.

Thursday, August 18
VVA Student & Family Orientation, Grades K–5, Cohort 2

  • 6:00 p.m.
  • Audience: Students in grades K–5 with a VVA course start date of August 24 and their families

VVA Student & Family Orientation, Grades 6–12, Cohort 2

  • 6:30 p.m.
  • Audience: Students in grades 6–12 with a VVA course start date of August 24 and their families

Families who have been granted a medical exemption and have children who will be attending Virtual Virginia beginning August 24, 2022, please see the APS device retrieval information below.

ELEMENTARY DEVICE RETRIEVAL

School ITC # Students Pick-Up Date
Abington Virginia Fisher 4 8/11
Arlington Science Focus Robin Gardner 1 8/11
Ashlawn Leslie Martin 1 8/9
Escuela Key Paul Maniscalco 1 8/3
Long Branch Wilfredo Padilla 1 8/11
Oakridge Sean Jones 1 8/11
Taylor Atleacia Gibson 1 8/3

SECONDARY DEVICE RETRIEVAL

School ITC # Students Pick-up Date
Gunston Rayla Parquet 1 8/9
Hamm Katherine Leon 2 8/10
Swanson Steven Jones 2 8/11
Williamsburg Hae-Lee Solomon 2 8/8
Shriver Tyler Witman 1 8/11
Wakefield Christine Stokes-Beverly & Cristina Rivera 5 8/11
W-L Kyra Walker & Katie Fielding 4 8/11
Yorktown Sam Wightman & Kathy Gust 1 8/11

 

VIRTUAL VIRGINIA INFORMATION

  • Academic Calendar
  • For Parents & Families – Virtual Virginia Parents and families play an essential role in their children’s success as students of VVA courses. Virtual Virginia offers a variety of resources to assist parents and families in facilitating and monitoring their children’s performance in VVA courses.
  • Account Help & Tech Support – Virtual Virginia The VVA HelpDesk team is available to help with Virtual Virginia-related account and technology issues. Hours of operation Regular hours: 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. (M–F) Summer Session: 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. (M–F) Contact support@virtualva.org 866-650-0027 (toll-free)
  • Student & Family Handbooks – Virtual Virginia The Student and Parent/Family Handbook provides quick access to answers for many of the questions students and their parents/guardians may have about Virtual Virginia policies, procedures, and specific programs and courses.

VIRTUAL VIRGINIA FAQ

    1. What materials are required for Virtual Virginia courses and where can that information be found? 
      On the course descriptions within the Virtual Virginia website, you will be able to see if any textbooks or materials are needed for the courses that your students are enrolled in. However, since teachers provide instruction using Canvas, there are very few textbooks needed for instruction. If there are materials and textbooks needed, you can follow your traditional method of ordering these for your in-school classrooms.  Please note that APS will purchase instructional materials required for student participation in the Virtual VA Courses. 
    2. Are there synchronous parent orientations prior to the start of the school year?
      Yes, orientations are offered through live Zoom meetings.  The orientation meetings are also recorded in case parents need to view at a later date. We do not have the dates for the parent orientations for fall courses yet.  Parents will receive email communication announcing the dates/times.  The recording links will also be shared after the sessions.
    3. Are the Summer Prep Courses offered at earlier times?
      The sessions are only meeting at the specified times, but they will be recorded so parents and students can also view them at a later date.
    4. Can Virtual Virginia General Education Teachers virtually attend IEP meetings at the student’s home school district?
      As long as teachers are not with students in synchronous sessions, then we expect our teachers to attend any IEP/504/ELL meetings.

APS CONTACTS:

Danielle T. Harrell, Ed.S
VLP Principal
danielle.harrell@apsva.us
703-228-2470

Single Barrera-Botoeo
single.barreraboteo@apsva.us
703-228-2468


Information about the VLP Program History and Transition Process

Virtual Learning Program Overview

Arlington Public Schools developed the Virtual Learning Program in response to the pandemic to provide students with an alternative to in-person instruction. This separate K-12 program for the 2021-22 school year serves students who, due to health and safety concerns and a variety of reasons, choose to learn remotely.

VLP Plans for the 2022-23 School Year

At the December 3 School Board Meeting, the Superintendent recommended VLP be paused to allow the opportunity for comprehensive virtual option program planning and implementation. The pause will allow staff to engage in program development, planning, and establishment of a Task Force/Committee led by the current VLP principal to propose the framework for a future VLP offering. The School Board voted on the Superintendent’s proposed recommendations at the February 17 School Board meeting to move forward with pausing the program.

Options to Support VLP Students

  • Students who are not able to return to in-person instruction due to their own medical condition or due to the medical condition of an individual who resides in the household full-time will be able to apply for an exemption from returning to instruction in person.  ​
  • Documentation of extenuating circumstances may include evidence of ongoing treatment by a health care provider of issues related to the health of a student, or a member of the student’s immediate household, that may be significantly impacted by potential exposure to COVID-19 and which could be mitigated by the student’s participation in virtual learning. ​
  • Eligible students will enroll in K-12 Virtual VA courses unless applying and qualifying for Homebound Instruction.    ​
  • Virtual VA provides core instructional courses. Elementary Art, Music and PE would be supplemented by specifically hired APS staff.

VLP Staff Transition

APS contracted eligible staff will be assigned to vacancies in brick and mortar/home schools through the internal transfer process. These staff will have priority for any staffing vacancies in schools.

VLP Community Meetings & Presentations

School Board Meeting Presentation
At the School Board Meeting on February 17, 2022, staff presented the changes to VLP, which includes pausing VLP for the 2022-23 school year.
View the Meeting Recording | View the Meeting Presentation

VLP Family Information Town Hall and Q&A Session – Feb. 15 at 7:30 p.m.
Panelists included Superintendent Dr. Francisco Durán, Chief of School Support Kimberley Graves, Chief Academic Officer Bridget Loft, and VLP Principal Danielle Harrell. They discussed the proposed changes to the Virtual Learning Program for the 2022-23 school year and answered questions.
View the Meeting Recording | View the Meeting Presentation


For additional information or questions, please contact the Virtual Learning Program at 703-228-8000 or vlp@apsva.us.