虛擬學習計劃 (VLP)

虛擬學習計劃概述

阿靈頓公立學校為應對大流行而開發了虛擬學習計劃,為學生提供了面對面教學的替代方案。 這個單獨的 12-2021 學年 K-22 計劃為由於健康和安全問題以及各種原因而選擇遠程學習的學生提供服務。 

2022-23 學年的 VLP 計劃

在 3 月 17 日的學校董事會會議上,學監建議暫停 VLP,以便有機會進行全面的虛擬選項計劃規劃和實施。 暫停將允許員工參與項目開發、規劃和建立由當前 VLP 負責人領導的工作組/委員會,以提出未來 VLP 產品的框架。 校務委員會在 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日的校務委員會會議上對學監提出的建議進行了投票,以推進暫停該計劃。

支持 VLP 學生的選項

  • 由於自身健康狀況或全日制居住在家庭中的個人的健康狀況而無法返回面對面教學的學生將可以申請豁免親自返回教學。
  • 情有可原的文件可能包括醫療保健提供者正在對與學生或學生直系親屬的健康相關的問題進行治療的證據,這些問題可能會受到潛在接觸 COVID-19 的重大影響,並且可能是通過學生參與虛擬學習而減輕。
  • 符合條件的學生將註冊 K-12 虛擬 VA 課程,除非申請並符合在家學習的條件。
  • 虛擬 VA 提供核心教學課程。 基礎藝術、音樂和體育將由專門聘請的人員補充 APS 員工。

醫療豁免指南和申請

由於自身健康狀況或全日制居住在家庭中的個人的健康狀況而無法返回面對面教學的學生將可以申請豁免親自返回教學。 

  • 情有可原的文件可能包括醫療保健提供者正在對與學生或學生直系親屬的健康相關的問題進行治療的證據,這些問題可能會受到潛在的 COVID-19 暴露的顯著影響,並且可能學生參與虛擬學習可以減輕這種影響。
  • 符合條件的學生將報名參加 K-12 虛擬 VA 課程,除非申請並符合在家學習的資格。

點擊 返回親自指導的醫療豁免 網頁以完成申請並獲取更多信息。

VLP 員工過渡

APS 將通過內部調動流程將符合條件的簽約員工分配到實體學校/家庭學校的空缺職位。 這些工作人員將優先處理學校的任何人員空缺。

VLP 社區會議和演講

校務委員會會議介紹
在 17 年 2022 月 2022 日的校務委員會會議上,工作人員介紹了對 VLP 的更改,其中包括在 23-XNUMX 學年暫停 VLP。
查看會議記錄 | 查看會議演示文稿

VLP 家庭信息大會堂和問答環節 – 15 月 7 日晚上 30:XNUMX
小組成員包括校長弗朗西斯科·杜蘭博士、學校支持主管金伯利·格雷夫斯、首席學術官布里奇特·洛夫特和 VLP 校長丹妮爾·哈雷爾。 他們討論了 2022-23 學年虛擬學習計劃的擬議變更並回答了問題。
查看會議記錄 | 查看會議演示文稿


如需更多信息或問題,請致電 703-228-8000 聯繫虛擬學習計劃或 vlp@aps價值.

Virtual Learning Program (VLP)

Virtual Learning Program Overview

Arlington Public Schools developed the Virtual Learning Program in response to the pandemic to provide students with an alternative to in-person instruction. This separate K-12 program for the 2021-22 school year serves students who, due to health and safety concerns and a variety of reasons, choose to learn remotely. 

VLP Plans for the 2022-23 School Year

At the December 3 School Board Meeting, the Superintendent recommended VLP be paused to allow the opportunity for comprehensive virtual option program planning and implementation. The pause will allow staff to engage in program development, planning, and establishment of a Task Force/Committee led by the current VLP principal to propose the framework for a future VLP offering. The School Board voted on the Superintendent’s proposed recommendations at the February 17 School Board meeting to move forward with pausing the program.

Options to Support VLP Students

  • Students who are not able to return to in-person instruction due to their own medical condition or due to the medical condition of an individual who resides in the household full-time will be able to apply for an exemption from returning to instruction in person.  ​
  • Documentation of extenuating circumstances may include evidence of ongoing treatment by a health care provider of issues related to the health of a student, or a member of the student’s immediate household, that may be significantly impacted by potential exposure to COVID-19 and which could be mitigated by the student’s participation in virtual learning. ​
  • Eligible students will enroll in K-12 Virtual VA courses unless applying and qualifying for Homebound Instruction.    ​
  • Virtual VA provides core instructional courses. Elementary Art, Music and PE would be supplemented by specifically hired APS staff.

Medical Exemption Guidelines & Application

Students who are not able to return to in-person instruction due to their own medical condition or due to the medical condition of an individual who resides in the household full-time will be able to apply for an exemption from returning to instruction in person. 

  • Documentation of extenuating circumstances may include evidence of ongoing treatment by a health care provider of issues related to the health of a student, or a member of the student’s immediate household, that may be significantly impacted by potential exposure to COVID-19, and which could be mitigated by the student’s participation in virtual learning. ​
  • Eligible students will enroll in K-12 Virtual VA courses unless applying and qualifying for Homebound Instruction.    ​

Visit the Medical Exemption for Return to In-Person Instruction webpage to complete the application and for additional information.

VLP Staff Transition

APS contracted eligible staff will be assigned to vacancies in brick and mortar/home schools through the internal transfer process. These staff will have priority for any staffing vacancies in schools.

VLP Community Meetings & Presentations

School Board Meeting Presentation
At the School Board Meeting on February 17, 2022, staff presented the changes to VLP, which includes pausing VLP for the 2022-23 school year.
View the Meeting Recording | View the Meeting Presentation

VLP Family Information Town Hall and Q&A Session – Feb. 15 at 7:30 p.m.
Panelists included Superintendent Dr. Francisco Durán, Chief of School Support Kimberley Graves, Chief Academic Officer Bridget Loft, and VLP Principal Danielle Harrell. They discussed the proposed changes to the Virtual Learning Program for the 2022-23 school year and answered questions.
View the Meeting Recording | View the Meeting Presentation


For additional information or questions, please contact the Virtual Learning Program at 703-228-8000 or vlp@apsva.us.