Virtuelles Lernprogramm (VLP)

Studierende, die aufgrund ihres eigenen Gesundheitszustandes oder aufgrund des Gesundheitszustandes einer Person, die ganztags im Haushalt lebt, nicht in der Lage sind, zum Präsenzunterricht zurückzukehren, können eine Ausnahme von der Rückkehr zum Präsenzunterricht beantragen. 

Medizinische Ausnahmerichtlinien und Antrag

  • Die Dokumentation mildernder Umstände kann den Nachweis einer laufenden Behandlung von Problemen im Zusammenhang mit der Gesundheit eines Schülers oder eines Mitglieds des unmittelbaren Haushalts des Schülers durch einen Gesundheitsdienstleister umfassen, die durch eine potenzielle Exposition gegenüber COVID-19 erheblich beeinträchtigt werden könnten und die dies könnten durch die Teilnahme des Schülers am virtuellen Lernen gemildert werden.​
  • Berechtigte Schüler melden sich für K-12 Virtual VA-Kurse an, es sei denn, sie bewerben sich und qualifizieren sich für Homebound-Unterricht.​

Besuch des Medizinische Befreiung für die Rückkehr zum Präsenzunterricht Webseite zum Ausfüllen des Antrags und für weitere Informationen.

Virtuelles Virginia

Häufig gestellte Fragen zu VIRTUAL VIRGINIA

    1. Welche Materialien werden für Virtual Virginia-Kurse benötigt und wo sind diese Informationen zu finden? 
      Zu den Kursbeschreibungen innerhalb der Virtuelle Virginia-Website, können Sie sehen, ob Lehrbücher oder Materialien für die Kurse benötigt werden, in denen Ihre Schüler eingeschrieben sind Canvas, es werden nur sehr wenige Lehrbücher für den Unterricht benötigt. Wenn Materialien und Lehrbücher benötigt werden, können Sie diese wie gewohnt für Ihre Klassenräume in der Schule bestellen.  Bitte beachten Sie, dass APS erwirbt Unterrichtsmaterialien, die für die Teilnahme der Schüler an den virtuellen VA-Kursen erforderlich sind. 
    2. Gibt es synchrone Elternorientierungen vor Schuljahresbeginn?
      Ja, Orientierungen werden über Live-Zoom-Meetings angeboten. Die Orientierungsgespräche werden auch aufgezeichnet, falls die Eltern sie zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt einsehen müssen. Die Termine für die Elternorientierungen für die Herbstkurse liegen uns noch nicht vor. Die Eltern erhalten eine E-Mail-Mitteilung, in der die Daten/Zeiten bekannt gegeben werden. Die Aufnahmelinks werden auch nach den Sitzungen geteilt.
    3. Werden die Sommervorbereitungskurse zu früheren Zeiten angeboten?
      Die Sitzungen finden nur zu den angegebenen Zeiten statt, werden aber aufgezeichnet, damit Eltern und Schüler sie auch zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt einsehen können.
    4. Können Virtual Virginia General Education Teachers virtuell an IEP-Meetings im Heimatschulbezirk des Schülers teilnehmen?
      Solange die Lehrer nicht mit den Schülern in synchronen Sitzungen sind, erwarten wir von unseren Lehrern, dass sie an allen IEP/504/ELL-Meetings teilnehmen.

APS KONTAKTE:

Danielle T. Harrell, Ed.S
VLP-Direktor
danielle.harrell@apsva.us.
703-228-2470

Einzelner Barrera-Botoeo
single.barreraboteo@apsva.us.
703-228-2468


Informationen zur VLP-Programmhistorie und zum Übergangsprozess

Überblick über das virtuelle Lernprogramm

Die Arlington Public Schools haben das virtuelle Lernprogramm als Reaktion auf die Pandemie entwickelt, um den Schülern eine Alternative zum persönlichen Unterricht zu bieten. Dieses separate K-12-Programm für das Schuljahr 2021-22 richtet sich an Schüler, die sich aus Gesundheits- und Sicherheitsbedenken und aus einer Vielzahl von Gründen dafür entscheiden, aus der Ferne zu lernen.

VLP-Pläne für das Schuljahr 2022-23

Auf der Schulratssitzung am 3. Dezember empfahl der Superintendent, VLP zu pausieren, um die Möglichkeit für eine umfassende Planung und Umsetzung des virtuellen Optionsprogramms zu schaffen. Die Pause ermöglicht es den Mitarbeitern, sich an der Programmentwicklung, Planung und Einrichtung einer Task Force/eines Ausschusses unter der Leitung des derzeitigen VLP-Direktors zu beteiligen, um den Rahmen für ein zukünftiges VLP-Angebot vorzuschlagen. Die Schulbehörde stimmte auf der Sitzung der Schulbehörde am 17. Februar über die vorgeschlagenen Empfehlungen des Superintendenten ab, um mit der Unterbrechung des Programms fortzufahren.

Optionen zur Unterstützung von VLP-Studenten

  • Studierende, die aufgrund ihrer eigenen Erkrankung oder aufgrund der Erkrankung einer hauptberuflich im Haushalt lebenden Person nicht in der Lage sind, zum Präsenzunterricht zurückzukehren, können eine Befreiung von der Rückkehr zum Präsenzunterricht beantragen.​
  • Die Dokumentation mildernder Umstände kann den Nachweis einer laufenden Behandlung von Problemen im Zusammenhang mit der Gesundheit eines Schülers oder eines Mitglieds des unmittelbaren Haushalts des Schülers durch einen Gesundheitsdienstleister umfassen, die durch eine potenzielle Exposition gegenüber COVID-19 erheblich beeinträchtigt werden könnten und dies sein könnten durch die Teilnahme des Schülers am virtuellen Lernen gemildert.​
  • Berechtigte Schüler melden sich für K-12 Virtual VA-Kurse an, es sei denn, sie bewerben sich und qualifizieren sich für Homebound-Unterricht.​
  • Virtuelle VA bietet Kernschulungen an. Grundlegende Kunst, Musik und Sport würden durch gezielt eingestellte ergänzt APS Mitarbeiter.

VLP-Personalwechsel

APS Unter Vertrag genommenes berechtigtes Personal wird im Rahmen des internen Transferprozesses freien Stellen in stationären Schulen/Heimatschulen zugewiesen. Diese Mitarbeiter werden bei allen Stellenangeboten in Schulen bevorzugt behandelt.

VLP Community Meetings & Präsentationen

Präsentation der Schulratssitzung
Auf der Schulratssitzung am 17. Februar 2022 stellten die Mitarbeiter die Änderungen an VLP vor, einschließlich der Unterbrechung von VLP für das Schuljahr 2022-23.
Sehen Sie sich die Besprechungsaufzeichnung an | Sehen Sie sich die Meeting-Präsentation an

VLP Family Information Town Hall und Q&A Session – 15. Februar um 7:30 Uhr
Zu den Diskussionsteilnehmern gehörten Superintendent Dr. Francisco Durán, Leiterin der Schulunterstützung Kimberley Graves, Chief Academic Officer Bridget Loft und VLP-Direktorin Danielle Harrell. Sie diskutierten die vorgeschlagenen Änderungen des virtuellen Lernprogramms für das Schuljahr 2022-23 und beantworteten Fragen.
Sehen Sie sich die Besprechungsaufzeichnung an | Sehen Sie sich die Meeting-Präsentation an


Für weitere Informationen oder Fragen kontaktieren Sie bitte das Virtual Learning Program unter 703-228-8000 oder vlp@apsva.us..

Virtual Learning Program (VLP)

Students who are not able to return to in-person instruction due to their own medical condition or due to the medical condition of an individual who resides in the household full-time are eligible to apply for an exemption from returning to instruction in person. 

Medical Exemption Guidelines & Application

  • Documentation of extenuating circumstances may include evidence of ongoing treatment by a health care provider of issues related to the health of a student, or a member of the student’s immediate household, that may be significantly impacted by potential exposure to COVID-19, and which could be mitigated by the student’s participation in virtual learning. ​
  • Eligible students will enroll in K-12 Virtual VA courses unless applying and qualifying for Homebound Instruction.    ​

Visit the Medical Exemption for Return to In-Person Instruction webpage to complete the application and for additional information.

Virtual Virginia

Families who have been granted a medical exemption and have children who will be attending Virtual Virginia beginning August 24, 2022, please see the family orientation dates below.

Thursday, August 18
VVA Student & Family Orientation, Grades K–5, Cohort 2

  • 6:00 p.m.
  • Audience: Students in grades K–5 with a VVA course start date of August 24 and their families

VVA Student & Family Orientation, Grades 6–12, Cohort 2

  • 6:30 p.m.
  • Audience: Students in grades 6–12 with a VVA course start date of August 24 and their families

Families who have been granted a medical exemption and have children who will be attending Virtual Virginia beginning August 24, 2022, please see the APS device retrieval information below.

ELEMENTARY DEVICE RETRIEVAL

School ITC # Students Pick-Up Date
Abington Virginia Fisher 4 8/11
Arlington Science Focus Robin Gardner 1 8/11
Ashlawn Leslie Martin 1 8/9
Escuela Key Paul Maniscalco 1 8/3
Long Branch Wilfredo Padilla 1 8/11
Oakridge Sean Jones 1 8/11
Taylor Atleacia Gibson 1 8/3

SECONDARY DEVICE RETRIEVAL

School ITC # Students Pick-up Date
Gunston Rayla Parquet 1 8/9
Hamm Katherine Leon 2 8/10
Swanson Steven Jones 2 8/11
Williamsburg Hae-Lee Solomon 2 8/8
Shriver Tyler Witman 1 8/11
Wakefield Christine Stokes-Beverly & Cristina Rivera 5 8/11
W-L Kyra Walker & Katie Fielding 4 8/11
Yorktown Sam Wightman & Kathy Gust 1 8/11

 

VIRTUAL VIRGINIA INFORMATION

  • Academic Calendar
  • For Parents & Families – Virtual Virginia Parents and families play an essential role in their children’s success as students of VVA courses. Virtual Virginia offers a variety of resources to assist parents and families in facilitating and monitoring their children’s performance in VVA courses.
  • Account Help & Tech Support – Virtual Virginia The VVA HelpDesk team is available to help with Virtual Virginia-related account and technology issues. Hours of operation Regular hours: 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. (M–F) Summer Session: 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. (M–F) Contact support@virtualva.org 866-650-0027 (toll-free)
  • Student & Family Handbooks – Virtual Virginia The Student and Parent/Family Handbook provides quick access to answers for many of the questions students and their parents/guardians may have about Virtual Virginia policies, procedures, and specific programs and courses.

VIRTUAL VIRGINIA FAQ

    1. What materials are required for Virtual Virginia courses and where can that information be found? 
      On the course descriptions within the Virtual Virginia website, you will be able to see if any textbooks or materials are needed for the courses that your students are enrolled in. However, since teachers provide instruction using Canvas, there are very few textbooks needed for instruction. If there are materials and textbooks needed, you can follow your traditional method of ordering these for your in-school classrooms.  Please note that APS will purchase instructional materials required for student participation in the Virtual VA Courses. 
    2. Are there synchronous parent orientations prior to the start of the school year?
      Yes, orientations are offered through live Zoom meetings.  The orientation meetings are also recorded in case parents need to view at a later date. We do not have the dates for the parent orientations for fall courses yet.  Parents will receive email communication announcing the dates/times.  The recording links will also be shared after the sessions.
    3. Are the Summer Prep Courses offered at earlier times?
      The sessions are only meeting at the specified times, but they will be recorded so parents and students can also view them at a later date.
    4. Can Virtual Virginia General Education Teachers virtually attend IEP meetings at the student’s home school district?
      As long as teachers are not with students in synchronous sessions, then we expect our teachers to attend any IEP/504/ELL meetings.

APS CONTACTS:

Danielle T. Harrell, Ed.S
VLP Principal
danielle.harrell@apsva.us
703-228-2470

Single Barrera-Botoeo
single.barreraboteo@apsva.us
703-228-2468


Information about the VLP Program History and Transition Process

Virtual Learning Program Overview

Arlington Public Schools developed the Virtual Learning Program in response to the pandemic to provide students with an alternative to in-person instruction. This separate K-12 program for the 2021-22 school year serves students who, due to health and safety concerns and a variety of reasons, choose to learn remotely.

VLP Plans for the 2022-23 School Year

At the December 3 School Board Meeting, the Superintendent recommended VLP be paused to allow the opportunity for comprehensive virtual option program planning and implementation. The pause will allow staff to engage in program development, planning, and establishment of a Task Force/Committee led by the current VLP principal to propose the framework for a future VLP offering. The School Board voted on the Superintendent’s proposed recommendations at the February 17 School Board meeting to move forward with pausing the program.

Options to Support VLP Students

  • Students who are not able to return to in-person instruction due to their own medical condition or due to the medical condition of an individual who resides in the household full-time will be able to apply for an exemption from returning to instruction in person.  ​
  • Documentation of extenuating circumstances may include evidence of ongoing treatment by a health care provider of issues related to the health of a student, or a member of the student’s immediate household, that may be significantly impacted by potential exposure to COVID-19 and which could be mitigated by the student’s participation in virtual learning. ​
  • Eligible students will enroll in K-12 Virtual VA courses unless applying and qualifying for Homebound Instruction.    ​
  • Virtual VA provides core instructional courses. Elementary Art, Music and PE would be supplemented by specifically hired APS staff.

VLP Staff Transition

APS contracted eligible staff will be assigned to vacancies in brick and mortar/home schools through the internal transfer process. These staff will have priority for any staffing vacancies in schools.

VLP Community Meetings & Presentations

School Board Meeting Presentation
At the School Board Meeting on February 17, 2022, staff presented the changes to VLP, which includes pausing VLP for the 2022-23 school year.
View the Meeting Recording | View the Meeting Presentation

VLP Family Information Town Hall and Q&A Session – Feb. 15 at 7:30 p.m.
Panelists included Superintendent Dr. Francisco Durán, Chief of School Support Kimberley Graves, Chief Academic Officer Bridget Loft, and VLP Principal Danielle Harrell. They discussed the proposed changes to the Virtual Learning Program for the 2022-23 school year and answered questions.
View the Meeting Recording | View the Meeting Presentation


For additional information or questions, please contact the Virtual Learning Program at 703-228-8000 or vlp@apsva.us.