常见问题:虚拟学习计划

常问的问题

(更新 2.25.22 - 将继续定期更新。滚动到底部以获取最新的常见问题解答)

问:虚拟学习计划有哪些变化?

答:学监的建议是暂停虚拟学习计划,并为所有学生恢复面对面的学校,但那些因健康状况无法参加面对面学校的学生除外。 这是为了确保每个学生都能获得他们需要的全方位的学术和社会情感学习服务和支持。 暂停允许时间 APS 参与项目开发、规划和建立由当前虚拟学习项目负责人领导的工作组/委员会,为未来的虚拟学习选项项目提出一个全面的框架。因健康状况或家庭原因而符合标准的学生会员的健康状况,可以选择参加 K-12 虚拟 VA 课程,并获得教师和/或导师的指导支持。 虚拟 VA 提供核心教学课程。 基础艺术、音乐和体育将由专门聘请的人员补充 APS 工作人员。

问:VLP 项目有多少学生?

答:截至 558 年 11 月 2022 日,共有 2 名学生注册,不到学生总数的 XNUMX%。

问:为什么 APS 建议现在暂停节目?

答:我们知道我们没有提供 VLP 学生所需的全方位学术和社会情感服务,而且我们没有资源或人员配备来继续运营当前的项目。APS 为了应对 2021-22 学年的大流行,自愿开发了当前的虚拟学习计划模型,并获得了一次性 ARPA 资金的资助。 虽然有些学生在 VLP 中表现出色,但许多学生却没有。 既然所有学生都可以使用疫苗,我们预计大多数学生可以在 2022-23 学年安全返回学校,并为我们最受医学挑战的学生提供通过虚拟弗吉尼亚州获得指导的流程,除非他们申请并有资格获得回家指导。暂停使我们能够支持我们的学生并花时间评估未来可能的虚拟选项计划,该计划将为受益于虚拟教学的学生提供服务。

问:目前分配到 VLP 的工作人员会怎样?

答:所有符合条件的 VLP 员工将在本学年结束前继续担任当前职务,并将通过 21 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日开始的员工调动流程分配到我们实体学校的空缺职位。少数教师将被指派继续提供指导,为有医疗需要的学生提供服务。

问:什么是 APS 做些什么来支持员工过渡?

答:VLP 工作人员将通过电子邮件收到概述过渡过程的信件,其中将详细说明后续步骤。 目标是在 28 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日之前安排所有符合条件的 VLP 员工。为帮助促进员工调动流程,人力资源部将举办两次员工调动展览会,为员工提供调入可用职位的机会。 将优先安排所有符合条件的 VLP 员工。 APS 正在继续召开员工会议并回答员工问题。

问:创建未来虚拟期权计划的流程是什么?

答:展望未来,在大流行期间获得的专业知识的基础上,我们有机会为在虚拟学习环境中茁壮成长的学生创建一个全面的虚拟选项计划——这需要时间、资源和广泛的规划。校长 Danielle Harrell 将领导下一学年的愿景和发展过程,其中将包括一个工作组和其他让家长和员工参与并提供反馈的机会。

问:本学年错过教学时间的 VLP 学生将获得哪些康复和补习服务?

答:学生正在参与诊断评估,以确定在阅读、语言艺术和数学方面需要支持的领域,并将提供学习干预计划以满足他们的个人需求。 我们还为阅读和数学评估成绩低于年级水平的学生提供面对面的暑期学校强化课程。

问:将提供哪些支持来帮助学生成功过渡回他们的记录学校?

答:您的学生在本学年剩余时间内的成功和福祉,以及在 2022-23 学年在他们有记录的学校返回面对面学校的整个过渡期间,是我们的首要任务。 为了支持 VLP 学生, APS 会提供:

  • XNUMX 月份的家长会议和信息会议,以解决 VLP 家庭对明年 VLP 建议的问题和疑虑。
  • 学术规划、课程选择和教学计划,以支持学生在即将到来的学年学习和回到家庭学校。 学生打算返回调查/课程选择表将于 7 月 XNUMX 日进行/到期。
  • 学生通过 Virtual@ 访问的虚拟课程选项有限APS 和其他外部第三方供应商与目前适用于初中和高中学生的做法保持一致。
  •  访问学校支持团队的成员,以支持学生过渡。
  • 继续致力于提供安全、健康的学习环境,并遵循为 K-12 学校推荐的措施。

问:为什么 APS 现在向员工和家人传达这个信息?

A: APS 员工和 VLP 家庭合作解决了 VLP 的早期挑战。 本学年上半年的当务之急是解决该模型的问题,并为 VLP 学生和教职员工提供他们现在需要的资源和支持,以确保所有学生都能虚拟地获得他们需要的东西。APS 现在宣布这一变化,以确保所有学生都能在 2022-23 学年有一个良好的开端。 这些决定会影响预算以及正在为即将到来的学年开始的人员配备和运营规划。 学校需要准确的人员配备和学生入学数据,以便为来年做计划并为 VLP 学生成功过渡做好准备。

问:与员工和家庭的接触做了什么 APS 在形成这些建议时进行?

A: APS 在整个学年中定期与 VLP 家庭进行接触,以解决当前模式的问题,以及 APS 领导者继续与家长和工作人员接触,以解决有关过渡回面对面教学的问题和反馈。 我们的重点是合作制定战略,以支持学生确保成功过渡。 员工和家庭会议正在举行,常见问题解答发布在专门的 Engage 网页上。

问:随着大流行的持续,为什么现在暂停该计划?

A:大流行是一个长期的考虑,本学年的情况有了很大的改善——APS 通过疫苗接种和分层预防措施,有效地维护了安全的学习环境。 我们的主要目的是确保所有学生在安全、健康和支持性的环境中接受最好的教育,并相信我们的许多 VLP 学生需要在他们的记录学校亲自提供的服务。

问:明年有健康问题的学生有哪些虚拟选择? 谁将有资格,学生将获得什么?

A: 学生因自身健康状况或全日制家庭成员的健康状况而无法重返现场授课的学生,可以申请豁免返校授课。人。 情有可原的文件可能包括医疗保健提供者正在对与学生或学生直系亲属的健康相关的问题进行治疗的证据,这些问题可能会受到潜在接触 COVID-19 的显着影响,并且可能学生参与虚拟学习可以减轻这种影响。符合条件的学生将报名参加 K-12 虚拟 VA 课程,除非申请并符合在家学习的资格。

问:K-12 虚拟 VA 选项意味着什么?

答:K-12 虚拟 VA 课程提供核心教学课程,并将提供来自教师和/或导师的补充教学支持。 学生将遵循虚拟 VA 时间表。 基础艺术、音乐和体育将由专门聘请的人员补充 APS 职员。 有关 K-5 同步教学的示例时间表和详细信息可在以下网址访问 虚拟 VA 网站.有关 6-12 年级学生同步教学的示例时间表和详细信息可在 虚拟 VA 网站.

问:回家指导的资格流程是什么?它需要什么?

A: I有关资格的信息和申请链接可在线获取.学生将在他们的记录学校就读并完成他们分配给他们的作业 APS 老师。 Homebound 教师每周会在预定的小​​时数内亲自与学生会面,以提供执行功能和学术支持。 Homebound 教师还将与学生在其记录学校的案例承运人以及为有 504 计划的学生的辅导员协调为有 IEP 的学生提供特殊教育服务。 由于居家服务仅限于九周的时间范围,如果家庭打算继续居家指导,则应在此时间段结束时重新申请这些服务。

问:W海是 APS 在进行改进的同时不考虑维护程序? 为什么要停止和启动?

答:我们知道我们没有提供 VLP 学生所需的全方位学术和社会情感服务,而且我们没有资源或人员配备来继续运营当前的项目。 暂停让我们能够支持我们的学生,并花时间创建一个可持续的、长期的虚拟期权计划。

问:将为残疾学生和英语学习者提供哪些支持?

答:IEP 或 504 团队将开会讨论在虚拟教学环境中为残疾学生提供住宿和服务的问题。 英语学习者将获得补充教学机会,以提高语言习得 - 口语、听力、写作和阅读.

问:如果学生在 Virtual Virginia 注册,他们是否会与他们的记录学校保持联系? 

答:有资格获得虚拟教学学习服务并注册虚拟弗吉尼亚州的学生将继续与他们在学校的辅导员一起工作。 高中生也将能够在他们的记录学校参加体育运动。 所有学生都将能够参加他们记录在案的学校的活动。 不会为这些学生提供交通服务。

问:虚拟弗吉尼亚班级的平均人数是多少?

答:大多数班级规模可与 APS 班级人数。 某些课程的注册学生可能略多于平均水平 APS 由于班级规模的确定方式不同而产生的班级。

问:在 Virtual Virginia 注册的学生是否会通过 Virtual Virginia 学习大部分课程? APS 使用其他在线服务提供商?

答:所有核心课程都将由 Virtual Virginia 提供。 APS 将与其他在线服务提供商合作,仅针对 Virtual Virginia 不提供的独特课程,例如一些大学先修课程。

问:医疗豁免会考虑哪些条件? 

答:任何将因潜在接触 COVID-19 而受到重大影响的身体和/或精神健康状况都将被考虑获得医疗豁免,以返回现场指导。

问:应提交哪些文件以提供医疗状况验证?

答:支持医疗豁免请求的文件可能有多种形式,包括信件、笔记或报告,其中包括由经认证的医疗保健提供者就与学生或会员的身体和/或心理健康相关的问题进行持续治疗的证据学生的直系亲属,这可能会受到潜在接触 COVID-19 的显着影响,并且可以通过学生参与虚拟学习来减轻。 我们鼓励您提交尽可能多的文件来支持申请。

问:如果获得医疗豁免批准,我的残疾孩子将如何通过 Virtual VA 获得指导?   

答:对于拥有个性化教育计划 (IEP) 或 504 计划的学生,将召集一个 IEP 或 504 委员会来审查、讨论和确定虚拟学校可以提供哪些支持、服务和住宿。 住宿和特殊教育支持服务将由阿灵顿公立学校的老师根据学生的 IEP 或 504 计划确定。

问:如果当前就读于选项学校的学生申请下一学年的医疗豁免,他们是否会取消该计划的注册? 

答:在下一学年选修学校注册的学生将在下一学年(SY 2023-24)保留他们在这些课程中的名额。 如果学生希望重新注册面对面教学,则无需重新申请选修学校。

Frequently Asked Questions: Virtual Learning Program

Frequently Asked Questions

(Updated 2.25.22 – will continue to be updated regularly. Scroll to bottom for latest FAQ)

Q: What are the changes proposed for the Virtual Learning Program?

A: The Superintendent’s recommendation is to pause the Virtual Learning Program and resume in-person school for all students, except those with medical conditions preventing them from attending in-person school. This is to ensure every student has access to the full range of academic and social-emotional learning services and support they need. The pause allows time for APS to engage in program development, planning and establishment of a Task Force/Committee led by the current Virtual Learning Program principal to propose a comprehensive framework for future Virtual Learning Option Program.Students who meet the criteria due to a medical condition or due to a family member’s medical condition, will have the option to enroll in K-12 Virtual VA courses and will be provided with instructional support from a teacher and/or mentor. Virtual VA provides core instructional courses. ​Elementary Art, Music and PE would be supplemented by specifically hired APS staff.

Q: How many students are in the VLP program?

A: There are 558 students enrolled as of Feb. 11, 2022, less than 2 percent of the total student body.

Q: Why is APS proposing to pause the program now?

A: We know we are not delivering the full range of academic and social-emotional services our VLP students need, and we do not have the resources or staffing capacity to continue to operate the current program.APS voluntarily developed the current model for the Virtual Learning Program in response to the pandemic for the 2021-22 school year, funded with one-time ARPA funding. While some students are thriving in the VLP, many are not. Now that the vaccine is available for all students, we expect that the majority of students can safely return to school in 2022-23, with a process in place for our most medically challenged students to access instruction through Virtual Virginia unless they apply and qualify for Homebound instruction.The pause allows us to support our students and take the time needed to assess a possible future   virtual option program that will serve students who benefit from virtual instruction.

Q: What will happen to the staff currently assigned to the VLP?

A: All eligible VLP staff will continue in their current roles through the end of the school year and will be assigned to vacancies in our brick-and-mortar schools through the employee transfer process which will begin March 21, 2022. A small number of teachers will be assigned to continue to deliver instruction to serve the students with medical needs.

Q: What is APS doing to support staff with the transition?

A: VLP staff will receive letters outlining the transition process via email which will detail next steps. The goal is to have all eligible VLP staff placed by March 28, 2022. To help facilitate the employee transfer process, Human Resources will host two Employee Transfer Fairs that provide employees opportunities to transfer into available positions. Priority placement will be given to all eligible VLP staff. APS is continuing to hold staff meetings and respond to staff questions.

Q: What is the process to create a future virtual option program?

A: Moving forward, building on the expertise gained during the pandemic, we have an opportunity to create a comprehensive virtual option program for students who thrive in the virtual learning setting—and this takes time, resources and extensive planning.Principal Danielle Harrell will lead the visioning and development process next school year which will include a Task Force and other opportunities for parents and staff to participate and give feedback.

Q: What recovery and compensatory instruction services will be provided to VLP students who have missed instruction time this school year?

A: Students are participating in diagnostic assessments that will identify areas of needed support in reading, language arts and math and will be provided learning intervention plans to serve their individual needs. We are also providing in-person summer school strengthening for students who are performing below grade level on reading and math assessments.

Q: What support will be provided to help students transition successfully back to their school of record?

A: The success and well-being of your student(s) through the remainder of this school year, and throughout the transition back to in-person school at their school of record for the 2022-23 school year, are our priority. To support VLP students, APS will provide:

  • Parent meetings and info sessions in February to address questions and concerns from VLP families related to the recommendations for VLP for next year.
  • Academic planning, course selection and instructional plans to support students’ learning and transition back to home schools for the upcoming school year. Student Intent to Return Surveys/Course Selection Forms will take place/are due March 7.
  • Limited virtual course options for students to access via Virtual@APS and other external third-party vendors in alignment with practices currently available to students in middle and high school.
  •  Access to members of the School Support Team to support students with transition.
  • A continued commitment to providing safe, healthy learning environments and following the measures recommended for K-12 schools.

Q: Why is APS communicating this to staff and families now?

A: APS staff and VLP families have worked collaboratively to address the early challenges with the VLP. The immediate priority through the first half of the school year was addressing the issues with the model and offering VLP students and staff the resources and support they need now to ensure all students are receiving what they need virtually.APS is announcing the change now to ensure all students can have a strong start in 2022-23. These decisions impact the budget as well as staffing and operational planning that is now beginning for the upcoming school year. Schools need accurate staffing and student enrollment data in order to plan for the upcoming year and to prepare VLP students for a successful transition.

Q: What engagement with staff and families did APS conduct when forming these recommendations?

A: APS has engaged with VLP families on a regular basis through the school year to address the issues with the current model, and APS leaders continue to engage with parents and staff to address questions and feedback about the transition back to in-person instruction. Our focus is collaborating on strategies to support students to ensure a successful transition. Staff and family meetings are being held and the FAQ are posted on a dedicated Engage webpage.

Q: With the pandemic ongoing, why pause the program now?

A: The pandemic is a long-term consideration, and conditions have improved significantly this school year–APS has been effective in maintaining safe learning environments through vaccinations and layered prevention measures. Our primary purpose is to ensure all students receive the best education possible in safe, healthy and supportive environments, and believe many of our VLP students need the services available in person at their school of record.

Q: What are the virtual options for students with medical conditions next year? Who will be eligible and what will students receive?

A: Students who are not able to return to in-person instruction due to their own medical condition or due to the medical condition of an individual who resides in the household full-time will be able to apply for an exemption from returning to instruction in person.  ​Documentation of extenuating circumstances may include evidence of ongoing treatment by a health care provider of issues related to the health of a student, or a member of the student’s immediate household, that may be significantly impacted by potential exposure to COVID-19 and which could be mitigated by the student’s participation in virtual learning. ​ Eligible students will enroll in K-12 Virtual VA courses unless applying and qualifying for Homebound Instruction.    ​

Q: What does the K-12 Virtual VA option entail?

A: K-12 Virtual VA courses provide core instructional courses and supplemental instructional support from a teacher and/or mentor will be provided. Students would follow Virtual VA schedules.  Elementary Art, Music and PE would be supplemented by specifically hired APS staff. ​Sample schedules and details regarding synchronous instruction for K-5 may be accessed at the Virtual VA website.Sample schedules and details regarding synchronous instruction for students in grades 6-12 may be accessed at the Virtual VA website.

Q: What is the eligibility process for Homebound instruction and what does it entail?

A: Information about eligibility and a link to the application is available online.Students would be enrolled in their school of record and complete assignments provided for them by their assigned APS teacher.  A Homebound teacher would meet with the student in person for a predetermined number of hours each week to provide executive functioning and academic support. The Homebound teacher would also coordinate delivery of special education services for students with IEPs with the student’s case carrier at their school of record and with the counselor for students with 504 plans. Because Homebound services are limited to a nine-week timeframe, families should reapply for these services at the end of this time period if they intend to continue with Homebound instruction.

Q: Why is APS not considering maintaining the program while working on the improvements? Why stop and start?

A: We know we are not delivering the full range of academic and social-emotional services our VLP students need, and we do not have the resources or staffing capacity to continue to operate the current program. The pause allows us to support our students and take the time needed to create a sustainable, long- term virtual option program.

Q: What supports will be available for students with disabilities and English Learners?

A: The IEP or 504 team will meet to discuss the delivery of accommodations and services within the virtual instruction environment for Students With Disabilities.​​  English Learners will be provided with supplemental instructional opportunities to enhance language acquisition – speaking, listening, writing and reading.​

Q: Will students maintain a connection to their school of record if they are enrolled in Virtual Virginia? 

A: Students who are eligible for Virtual Instructional Learning Services and enrolled in Virtual Virginia will continue to work with their counselor at their school of record. High school students will also be able to participate in sports at their school of record.  All students will be able to participate in activities at their schools of record. Transportation will not be provided for these students.

Q: What is the average Virtual Virginia class size?

A: Most class sizes are comparable to APS class sizes. Some courses may have slightly more students enrolled than an average APS class due to differences in how class sizes are determined.

Q: Will students enrolled in Virtual Virginia take most of their courses through Virtual Virginia or will APS use other online service providers?

A: All core classes will be provided by Virtual Virginia. APS will partner with other online service providers only for unique courses that Virtual Virginia does not offer, such as some Advanced Placement courses.

Q: What conditions will be considered for medical exemption? 

A: Any physical and/or mental health condition that will be significantly impacted by a potential exposure to COVID-19 will be considered for medical exemption to return to in-person instruction.

Q: What documentation should be submitted to provide verification of medical condition?

A: Documentation to support request for medical exemption may take many forms including letters, notes, or reports which include evidence of ongoing treatment by a certified health care provider of issues related to the physical and/or mental health of a student, or a member of the student’s immediate household, that may be significantly impacted by a potential exposure to COVID-19 and which could be mitigated by the student’s participation in virtual learning. We encourage you to submit as much documentation as possible to support the application.

Q: If approved for a medical exemption, how will my child with a disability access instruction via Virtual VA?   

A: For students with an Individualized Education Program (IEP) or 504 plan, an IEP or 504 committee will be convened to review, discuss, and determine which supports, services, and accommodations can be made available in a virtual school. Accommodations and special education support services will be provided by an Arlington Public Schools teacher as determined by a student’s IEP or 504 plan.

Q: Will students currently enrolled in option schools be unenrolled in that program if they apply for medical exemption for the upcoming school year? 

A: Students enrolled in option schools for the upcoming school year will retain their spots in those programs for the following school year (SY 2023-24).  Students will not be required to reapply to the option school should they wish to re-enroll for in-person instruction.