英語語言藝術

英語藝術概論

英語語言藝術(ELA)致力於教授英語讀寫能力,主要表現為有效閱讀,書寫,聽和說的能力。 在以下情況下,可以找到描述教與學這些技能的年級期望的標準和目標: 弗吉尼亞的英語學習標準.

阿靈頓公立學校的ELA計劃旨在培養具有戰略意義的讀者,有效的作家,有說服力的演講者和批判性思想家的學生。 ELA辦公室認為,所有兒童都可以學習精通閱讀,表達能力強的語言,並從事更高層次的演講。

早期小學(preK-2年級)的重點是基礎讀寫能力的發展和掌握。 注重語音意識,語音,詞彙發展,流利度和理解力的循證教學將優先滿足學生在閱讀和寫作習得初期的需求。

小學高年級(3-5年級)的重點在所有內容領域從學習轉移到閱讀學習。 學生以他們的基本閱讀技能為基礎,並逐漸成為熟練的讀者和作家。

中學(6-8年級)的重點是對文學體裁世界的更廣泛理解。 鼓勵學生探索多種流派,採用多種策略並考慮多種視角,以拓寬閱讀壽命並加深寫作聲。

高中(9-12年級)的重點是對各種形式文學的欣賞,從經典到當代年輕成人小說,從電影到社交媒體,從藝術到音樂。 學生可以選擇多種學習途徑,包括文學和作文方面的高級進修,雙招生和國際學士學位課程。 課程指導和準備學生達到高等教育要求的中等教育水平,如 VDOE的畢業生簡介.

 

@APS_ELA

APS_ELA

APS 次要ELA

@APS_ELA
Celebrating National Writing Day — here’s a great prompt to showcase the diversity and thinking of students! https://t.co/6aNPb11W3o
20年21月4日發布,下午21:XNUMX
                                        
APS_ELA

APS 次要ELA

@APS_ELA
向所有 125 名以上參加中學 ELA 公平評分實踐 PD 的參與者頒發金星——我們有多麼了不起的教育工作者 APS! #APS太棒了 https://t.co/Tk6oKQkbzw
11年21月11日發布35:XNUMX AM
                                        
APS_ELA

APS 次要ELA

@APS_ELA
拜訪 Antares Leask,阿靈頓職業中心令人驚嘆的 ELA 領導,與她一起支持社交/情感成長,“你真棒!” 鏡子 #aps太棒了 https://t.co/Xp3MttUYfP
30年21月5日發布38:XNUMX AM
                                        
APS_ELA

APS 次要ELA

@APS_ELA
很高興參觀了岡斯頓令人驚嘆的勞拉·奧戴 (Laura O'Dea) 的課堂——看看她聰明的閱讀數學板! #aps太棒了 https://t.co/0QQEx5JaNE
發佈於23年21月2日,下午41:XNUMX
                                        
社交媒體

English Language Arts

Overview of English Language Arts

English Language Arts (ELA) seeks to teach English language literacy skills, primarily expressed in the ability to effectively read, write, listen, and speak. Standards and objectives that describe grade-level expectations for teaching and learning these skills are found within the state of Virginia’s English Standards of Learning.

The Arlington Public Schools ELA program seeks to develop students who are strategic readers, effective writers, engaging speakers, and critical thinkers. The ELA Office believes all children can learn to read skillfully, write expressively, and engage in higher-level discourse.

The focus in early elementary (grades preK-2) is the development and mastery of foundational literacy skills. Evidence-based instruction that emphasizes phonological awareness, phonics, vocabulary development, fluency, and comprehension is prioritized to meet the needs of students in the early stages of reading and writing acquisition.

The focus in upper elementary (grades 3-5) shifts from learning to read to reading to learn across all content areas. Students build on their foundational reading skills and become increasingly proficient readers and writers.

The focus in middle school (grades 6-8) is a broader understanding of the world of literary genres.  Students are encouraged to widen their reading lives and deepen their writing voices by exploring multiple genres, employing a variety of strategies, and considering multiple perspectives.

The focus in high school (grades 9-12) is an appreciation of literature in all its forms, from canon to contemporary young adult fiction, from film to social media, from art to music.  Multiple paths of study are available to students including, Advanced Placement, Dual Enrollment, and International Baccalaureate courses in both Literature and Composition.  Courses guide and prepare students for literacy expectations in post-secondary, higher educational settings as articulated in VDOE’s Profile of a Graduate.

 

@APS_ELA

APS_ELA

APS Secondary ELA

@APS_ELA
Gold stars to ALL 125+ participants in Secondary ELA's Equitable Grading Practices PD -- what amazing educators we have in APS! #APSisawesome https://t.co/Tk6oKQkbzw
Published October 11, 21 11:35AM
                                        
APS_ELA

APS Secondary ELA

@APS_ELA
A visit with Antares Leask, amazing ELA lead at the Arlington Career Center supporting social/emotional growth with her ‘you are awesome!’ mirror #apsisawesome https://t.co/Xp3MttUYfP
Published September 30, 21 5:38AM
                                        
Follow