ELA评估

VDOE要求学生进行以下英语语言艺术评估:
APS 2020-21年评估

有关SOL的更多信息和有效链接,请访问 APS 评估家长角 网站。


APS 对学生使用以下通用筛查评估:

K-2通用筛选器:PALS

3-5个通用筛选器:DIBELS

6-9通用筛选器:RI
有关每个详细信息,可以在中断下方找到。


PALS (K-2万能筛选器)

语音意识素养筛查器(PALS)是弗吉尼亚教育局(VDOE)要求的非正式筛查清单,适用于幼儿园至二年级的所有学生。 所有K-2学生都将在本学年初和学年末参加PALS。 那些在秋季未达到既定基准的学生将在年中接受PALS管理。 PALS旨在为教师提供信息,以帮助他们计划课堂教学和识别可能面临阅读困难风险的学生。 筛选包括与声音和印刷知识相关的几项任务。 每个任务都具有年级期望,并将所选任务的分数相加在一起以创建总分。 根据年级,PALS筛选任务包括:

PALS筛选任务 任务说明
押韵 在一组三张图片中,要求学生识别与目标图片押韵的图片。
开始声音意识 在一组三张图片中,要求学生识别与目标图片具有相同开始声音的图片。
声音到字母 学生会听一个单词,并确定在单词的开头,中间和结尾听到的声音。
混纺 当学生听到当时出现的一个字母声音时,他们会将单个声音混合成单词。
词的概念 词概念任务衡量学生的能力:(a)以背诵的韵律准确地触摸单词;(b)使用上下文识别给定文本行内的单个单词,以及(c)识别出现在文本之外的单词。 **它不是在虚拟环境中管理的。**
字母识别 要求学生命名字母表中的26个小写字母。
字母声音识别 要求学生产生23个字母的声音以及XNUMX个有向图(两个字母产生一种声音,例如/ sh /)。
隔离中的单词识别 要求学生阅读年级单词表中的单词。 从印刷品获得含义的能力在很大程度上取决于每个年级水平上对典型单词的准确,自动识别。
拼写库存 要求学生拼写包括特定语音特征的单词。 学生会因正确的拼写功能以及整个单词而获得积分。 这使教师可以识别学生的发展拼写阶段。
语境中的口语阅读 学生口头阅读水平的段落,并回答有关段落的理解问题。 该子测验提供有关单词识别,流利度(阅读能力,准确表达能力和表达能力)以及理解能力的信息。

在秋季和春季都指定了总体基准,同时还指定了子测试的基准。 总体基准(也称为总分)表明学生达到,低于或高于年级期望。 子测验基准指的是特定技能的年级表现。 教师将使用放映中的信息来提供适当的阅读和拼写指导。 未达到入门水平基准的学生将获得有关PALS指示的特定技能的其他指导支持。

如何 APS 与家人交流有关PALS的信息?
所有K-2学生在学年开始和结束时都会对PALS进行管理,对于秋季未达到PALS基准的学生,在年中测试窗口中会对其进行管理。 与所有学区要求的英语语言评估一样,家庭应收到学校的通知,要求其学生在评估窗口开始之前参加PALS评估。 可以看到在2020年年初窗口期间用于虚拟管理的父通知信的示例 点击此处.

学生参加PALS后,学校会通过“学生总结报告”和随附的“家长报告函”传达结果。 PALS生成的《学生总结报告》提供了与学生表现有关的特定信息。 它包括在学生年级执行的每个PALS筛选任务的学生分数。

为了与PALS生成的学生总结报告一起,家庭还应该收到一份家长报告信。 这封信,由 APS,向家庭提供有关“学生摘要报告”的信息,有关每种筛选措施的信息以及有关学校如何使用结果的信息。 可以找到PALS学生摘要家长信的示例 点击此处.

学校如何使用PALS数据?

PALS的结果可用于帮助确定单个学生的学习目标,支持有针对性的教学计划,监控学生的学习进度以及确定可能需要基本阅读技能方面额外支持或指导的学生。

如果我的孩子在PALS中“低于基准”是什么意思?

学生在PALS任务上的分数可提供有关该学生是否可能在较强的第一级指导下达到年级水平的信息。 总体基准(或总分)用于识别需要在基础阅读技能方面进行额外指导的学生。 个别筛选测验的分数(即声音对字母的识别,字母识别等)提供有关学生在该特定技能上的表现的特定信息。 在计划教学和/或干预时,总和分数和个别筛查措施的分数都将被考虑。如果学生不符合PALS基准,则可能会进行额外的诊断评估,以确定所关注的特定领域并为他们提供支持。规划有针对性的指导和干预。 学校将通知家长,并制定,实施并与家人分享旨在满足学生特定需求的干预计划。

是否有可用的资源与PALS衡量标准相符,家庭可以用来提供家庭支持?

每个PALS筛选任务都侧重于精通阅读所必需的特定或一组基础阅读技能。 下表包括各项指标,相应的阅读技巧以及家庭信息或资源。 此外,家庭可以从 APS 虚拟2020阅读障碍会议 资源很有帮助。

PALS筛选任务 阅读技巧 信息/资源
押韵 语音或音位意识 语音和音素意识
开始声音意识
声音到字母
混纺
词的概念 素养知识 印刷意识印刷概念
字母识别 拼音原理 字母原则拼音
字母声音识别
拼写库存
隔离中的单词识别 字母原理语音学准确度和流利度 准确性和流利度
语境中的口语阅读 字母原理语音学准确性和流利度理解 阅读

在哪里可以了解有关PALS的更多信息?

PALS有一个公众 官网 其中包括专门针对父母的部分。 进入PALS网站后,导航至页面顶部水平菜单栏中的选项卡,然后选择“对于父母”。 本节提供PALS的简要概述,支持PALS分数解释的部分以及补充资源和活动。

 


DIBELS第8版 (K-2万能筛选器)
在2020-2021学年, APS 为所有3-5年级的学生以及K-2和6-8年级的选定学生,用基本早期识字技能的动态指标(DIBELS)评估代替了PALS Plus。 与PALS Plus相比,DIBELS是一种更精确的阅读效果量度,并且可以衡量研究表明的基本阅读技能对熟练阅读至关重要。 作为 APS 为了摆脱平衡的读写能力,重要的是,我们使用有效评估基础阅读技能并符合弗吉尼亚学习标准的评估。

什么是DIBELS?
DIBELS措施旨在作为一种简短(一分钟)流利性措施,用于定期监控早期识字和早期阅读技能的发展。 开发这些措施是为了测量与阅读结果相关的公认的和经经验验证的技能。 每项措施都经过深入研究,并被证明是早期扫盲发展的可靠有效指标。 如果按照建议实施,则结果可用于评估学生的个人发展,并提供针对已验证的教学目标的年级反馈。

以研究为基础的措施相互关联,可以预测以后的阅读能力。 这些措施结合起来构成了早期识字能力发展的评估系统,使教育工作者可以轻松,可靠地确定学生的学习进度。 APS 将DIBELS用作通用的扫盲筛查工具,基准评估,并监控学生的学习进度。

管理哪些措施?
下表中的《 DIBELS评估家长指南》介绍了DIBELS评估的技能,并确定了根据年级水平对学生实施的DIBELS措施。 重要的是要注意,“年级DIBELS”对那些最能预测以后阅读能力并且最可靠地识别有阅读困难风险的学生的阅读技能进行测量。

DIBELS评估的家长指南

DIBELS评估的家长指南

如何 APS 与家庭/看护人就DIBELS进行沟通?
DIBELS在学年的开始,中期和结束时进行管理。 与所有学区要求的英语语言评估一样,家庭应收到学校的通知,要求其学生在年度评估窗口开始之前参加DIBELS评估。 可以看到在2020年年初窗口期间用于虚拟管理的父通知信的示例 点击此处.

学生选好DIBELS后,学校会通过“家长报告”和随附的“家长报告信”传达结果。 由DIBELS生成的家长报告提供了与学生表现有关的特定信息。 它包括在学生年级上执行的每种DIBELS措施的学生分数,分数的简要说明以及与阅读能力有关的风险指示。 可以找到父报告的样本 点击此处.

为了与DIBELS生成的父母报告一起,家庭还应该收到DIBELS评分报告父母信。 这封信,由 APS,向家庭提供有关“家长报告”的信息,有关风险类别的信息,颜色编码的计分键,学校如何使用结果的说明以及上一节中包含的“ DIBELS评估家长指南”。 可以找到DIBELS分数报告父母信的示例 点击此处.

学校如何使用DIBELS数据?
DIBELS的结果可用于帮助确定每个学生的学习目标,支持有针对性的教学计划,监控学生的学习进度,并提高对需要额外支持或基本阅读技能指导的学生的意识。

在管理之后,教师团队将分析学生的DIBELS数据,确定是否有必要进行额外的诊断评估,并计划后续的教学步骤。 这种分析通常在协作学习小组(CLT)会议期间进行,该会议包括教师,阅读专家以及有时由管理员组成的团队。 ELA和Arlington分层支持系统(ATSS)办公室已为学校提供了议程和支持DIBELS的指导文件,以指导规划和实施专门用于DIBELS数据分析的CLT会议。这些会议通常包括以下主题:

  • 确定学生阅读困难的可能根本原因
  • 确定哪些其他诊断评估将有助于确定特定的薄弱环节。
  • 规划第一层和与学生数据紧密相关的干预指导
  • 计划如何监控教学进度

如果我的孩子低于DIBELS度量标准,该怎么办?
学生在DIBELS度量标准上的分数提供了有关学生是否在按年级阅读成功的轨道上的信息。 一个学生会收到单独的度量分数和一个综合分数(多个DIBELS度量的分数组合)。 学生的个人家长报告包括这些分数以及这些分数与为学生的年级水平设置的基准进行比较的方式。 综合得分是与阅读能力相关的整体风险的最有力预测指标。 风险类别在父报告中用颜色编码,下图将颜色编码与风险类别相关联。

DIBELS风险类别
如果学生不符合DIBELS基准,将进行额外的诊断评估,以确定所关注的特定领域并支持有针对性的指导和干预计划。 学校将通知家长,并制定,实施并与家人分享旨在满足学生特定需求的干预计划。

家庭是否可以使用与DIBELS措施相匹配的阅读技能,家庭可以用来提供家庭支持?
每个DIBELS措施都侧重于熟练阅读所必需的特定或一组基础阅读技能。 下表包括各项指标,相应的阅读技巧以及家庭信息或资源。 此外,家庭可以从 APS 虚拟2020阅读障碍会议 资源很有帮助。

指标测量 阅读技巧 信息/资源
音素分割流利度 语音意识

语音和音素意识

字母原则

拼音

准确性和流利度

阅读

废话流利度

字母原则

拼音

口语阅读流利度

字母原则

拼音

准确性和流利度

阅读

单词阅读流利度

字母原则

拼音

准确性和流利度

迷宫 阅读

过去,我的孩子有阅读水平。 如果我不知道他们的阅读水平,我怎么知道我的孩子是否正在读年级?
很多年了, APS 依靠阅读水平来确定和传达学生的阅读成绩水平。 这是一种衡量增长并确定学生是低于年级,达到年级还是高于年级的有吸引力的方法。 使用阅读水平作为阅读成就的衡量标准是一种与均衡读写能力比结构化读写能力更紧密地契合的做法。

虽然阅读水平可以大致了解学生可能在何处(在一个连续的水平上)阅读,但他们并未提供有关特定技能(音素,语音,词汇,流利度和理解力)的详细信息,这些研究表明,等级水平是必要的精通阅读。 作为 APS 为了摆脱读写能力的平衡,将使用评估方法来提供更可靠,更准确的方法来衡量这些阅读技能。 因此,与阅读水平所提供的信息相比,家庭可以期望获得有关其学生阅读表现的更具体的信息。 该信息应包括有关基础阅读技能的具体信息,以及与该阅读技能相符的学生在弗吉尼亚学习标准方面的表现。

尽管家庭可能习惯于将阅读水平与成绩水平相关联,但还有更精确的方法可以 APS 通过各种扫盲筛查和评估基本阅读技能的诊断评估,向家庭传达学生的阅读成绩水平。 APS 教师仍然可以通知父母他们的学生是在读低于,高于还是高于年级的。 同样,教师将能够告诉家庭是否学生达到或不符合基本阅读技能的弗吉尼亚学习标准,所使用的评估应衡量以下研究表明对熟练阅读必不可少的基本阅读技能:语音学和语音意识,语音,流利度,词汇量和理解力。 下图包括评估的样本, APS 用于衡量基础阅读技能。

APS ELA诊断评估

在哪里可以了解有关DIBELS 8th Edition的更多信息?
DIBELS有一个公共场所 官网 其中包括DIBELS第8版的概述,有关特定DIBELS措施的信息,以及与基础阅读技能评估有关的其他有用资源。

 


阅读清单 (6-9通用筛选器)

ELA Assessments

The VDOE requires the following English language arts assessments for students:
APS Assessments 2020-21

For more SOL information and active links, please visit the APS Assessment Parent Corner website.


APS uses the following universal screening assessments for students:

K-2 universal screener: PALS

3-5 universal screener: DIBELS

6-9 universal screener: RI
Details about each can be found below the break.


PALS (K-2 universal screener)

The Phonological Awareness Literacy Screener (PALS) is an informal screening inventory required by the Virginia Department of Education (VDOE) and is administered to all students in grades Kindergarten through second grade. All K-2 students take PALS at the beginning and end of the year. Those students who do not meet the established benchmark in the fall are administered PALS at midyear. PALS is designed to provide teachers with information for planning classroom instruction and for identifying students who may be at risk for reading difficulty. The screening consists of several tasks relating to sound and print knowledge. Each task has grade-level expectations, and scores from selected tasks are added together to create a summed score. Depending on the grade level, PALS screening tasks include:

PALS Screening Task Description of Task
Rhyme Awareness Out of a set of three pictures, students are asked to identify the one that rhymes with the target picture.
Beginning Sound Awareness Out of a set of three pictures, students are asked to identify the one that has the same beginning sound as the target picture.
Sound to Letter Students listen to a word and identify the sound they hear at the beginning, middle, and end of the word.
Blending Students blend individual sounds into words as they hear one letter sound presented at the time.
Concept of Word Concept-of-Word task measures a student’s ability to (a) accurately touch words in a memorized rhyme, (b) use context to identify individual words within a given line of text, and (c) identify words presented outside of the text. **It was not administered in a virtual setting.**
Letter Identification Students are asked to name the 26 lower-case letters of the alphabet.
Letter Sound Identification Students are asked to produce the sounds of 23 letters of the alphabet, as well as three digraphs (two letters that create one sound such as /sh/)
Word Recognition in Isolation Students are asked to read words from grade level word lists. The capacity to obtain meaning from print depends strongly on accurate, automatic recognition of words typical at each grade level.
Spelling Inventory Students are asked to spell words which include specific phonics features. Students earn points for correct spelling features as well as for entire words. This allows teachers to identify a student’s developmental spelling stage.
Oral Reading in Context Students orally read leveled passages and answer comprehension questions about the passage. This subtest provides information on word recognition, fluency (the ability to read, accurately, and with expression), and comprehension.

Overall benchmarks are designated in both fall and spring, as well as benchmarks for subtests.  The overall benchmark, also referred to as the summed score, indicates that the student is at, below, or above grade level expectation. Subtest benchmarks refer to grade level performance on a specific skill. Teachers will use the information from the screening to provide appropriate reading and spelling instruction.  Students not meeting the entry Level benchmark will receive additional instructional support on specific skills as indicated by PALS.

How does APS communicate with families about PALS?
PALS is administered at the beginning and end of the school year for all K-2 students and during a midyear testing window for students who did not meet the PALS benchmark in the fall. As with all district required English Language Arts assessments, families should receive a communication from schools that their student(s) will participate in the PALS assessment prior to the beginning of the assessment window. An example of a parent notification letter that was used for virtual administration during the beginning of the year window in 2020 can be seen here.

After students have taken PALS, schools communicate the results via the Student Summary Report and an accompanying Parent Report Letter. The Student Summary Report, generated by PALS, provides specific information related to student performance. It includes students’ scores on each of the PALS screening tasks administered at the student’s grade level.

To accompany the Student Summary Report generated by PALS, families should also receive a Parent Report Letter. This letter, generated by APS, provides families with information about the Student Summary Report, information about each screening measure, and information about how the results are used by the school. An example of the PALS Student Summary Parent Letter can be found here.

How do schools use PALS data?

Results from PALS are used to help determine individual student’s learning goals, support the planning of targeted instruction, monitor student progress, and identify students who may need additional support or instruction in foundational reading skills.

What does it mean if my child is “below the benchmark” in PALS?

A student’s score on PALS tasks provides information about whether or not the student is likely to perform on grade level with strong tier one instruction. The overall benchmark, or summed score, is used to identify students who are in need of additional instruction in foundational reading skills. Scores on individual screening measures (i.e. sound to letter, letter identification, etc.) provide specific information about a student’s performance on that particular skill. Both the summed score and the scores on individual screening measures are taken into consideration when planning instruction and/or intervention.If a student does not meet the PALS benchmark, additional diagnostic assessments will likely be administered to determine the specific area of concern and support the planning of targeted instruction and intervention. Parents will be notified by the school and an intervention plan, designed to support the specific needs of the student, will be created, implemented, and shared with families.

Are there resources available that align to the reading skills PALS measures that families can use to provide at-home support?

Each PALS screening task focuses on a specific or set of foundation reading skills necessary for proficient reading. The table below includes each measure, the corresponding reading skill(s), and information or resources for families. In addition, families may find the resources and recorded sessions from the APS Virtual 2020 Dyslexia Conference resources helpful.

PALS Screening Task Reading Skills(s) Information/Resources
Rhyme Awareness Phonological or Phonemic Awareness Phonological and Phonemic Awareness
Beginning Sound Awareness
Sound to Letter
Blending
Concept of Word Literacy Knowledge Print AwarenessConcept of Print
Letter Identification Alphabetic PrinciplePhonics The Alphabetic PrinciplePhonics
Letter Sound Identification
Spelling Inventory
Word Recognition in Isolation Alphabetic PrinciplePhonicsAccuracy and Fluency Accuracy and Fluency
Oral Reading in Context Alphabetic PrinciplePhonicsAccuracy and FluencyComprehension Comprehension

Where can I learn more about PALS?

PALS has a public website that includes a section specifically for parents. Once on the PALS website, navigate to the tab in the horizontal menu bar at the top of the page and select “For Parents”. This section provides a brief overview of PALS, a section to support the interpretation of PALS scores, and supplemental resources and activities.

 


DIBELS 8th Edition (K-2 universal screener)
During the 2020-2021 school year, APS replaced PALS Plus with the Dynamic Indicators of Basic Early Literacy Skills (DIBELS) assessments for all students in grades 3-5 and selected students in grades K-2 and 6-8. DIBELS is a more precise measure of reading achievement than PALS Plus and measures foundational reading skills that research indicates are essential for proficient reading. As APS shifts away from balanced literacy, it is important that we use assessments that effectively measure foundational reading skills and are aligned with the Virginia Standards of Learning.

What are DIBELS?
DIBELS measures are designed to be short (one minute) fluency measures used to regularly monitor the development of early literacy and early reading skills. These measures were developed to measure recognized and empirically validated skills related to reading outcomes. Each measure has been thoroughly researched and demonstrated to be reliable and valid indicators of early literacy development. When implemented as recommended, the results can be used to evaluate individual student development as well as provide grade-level feedback toward validated instructional objectives.

The research-based measures are linked to one another and predictive of later reading proficiency. Combined, the measures form an assessment system of early literacy development that allows educators to readily and reliably determine student progress. APS uses DIBELS as a universal literacy screening tool, benchmark assessment, and to monitor student progress.

What Measures are Administered?
The Parent Guide to DIBELS Assessment included in the table below describes the skills assessed by DIBELS and identifies the DIBELS measures that were administered to students based on grade level. It is important to note that grade level DIBELS measures screen for those reading skills that are most predictive of later reading proficiency and most reliable in identifying students who are at risk for reading difficulty.

Parent Guide to DIBELS Assessment

Parent Guide to DIBELS Assessment

How does APS communicate with families/caregivers about DIBELS?
DIBELS is administered at the beginning, middle, and end of the school year. As with all district required English Language Arts assessments, families should receive a communication from schools that their student(s) will participate in the DIBELS assessment prior to the beginning of the year assessment window. An example of a parent notification letter that was used for virtual administration during the beginning of the year window in 2020 can be seen here.

After students have taken DIBELS, schools communicate the results via the Parent Report and an accompanying Parent Report Letter. The Parent Report, generated by DIBELS, provides specific information related to student performance. It includes students’ scores on each of the DIBELS measures administered at the student’s grade level, a brief explanation of the scores, and an indication of risk related to reading proficiency. A sample of the parent report can be found here.

To accompany the Parent Report generated by DIBELS, families should also receive a DIBELS Score Report Parent Letter. This letter, generated by APS, provides families with information about the Parent Report, information about the risk categories, a color-coded scoring key, an explanation of how results are used by schools, and the Parent Guide to DIBELS Assessment that is included in the section above. An example of the DIBELS Score Report Parent Letter can be found here.

How do schools use DIBELS data?
Results from DIBELS are used to help determine individual student’s learning goals, support the planning of targeted instruction, monitor student progress, and raise awareness of students who need additional support or instruction in foundational reading skills.

After administration, teacher teams analyze student DIBELS data, determine whether additional diagnostic assessment is necessary, and plan instructional next steps. This analysis typically occurs during a Collaborative Learning Team (CLT) meeting which includes teams of teachers, reading specialists, and at times, an administrator. The ELA and Arlington Tiered Systems of Support (ATSS) offices have provided schools with an agenda and supporting DIBELS guidance documents to guide the planning and implementation CLT meetings that are designated for DIBELS data analysis These meetings often include the following topics:

  • Identify the likely root cause of reading difficulty for students
  • Determine what additional diagnostic assessments would be helpful for determining the specific area of weakness.
  • Plan for tier one and intervention instruction that is tightly aligned to student data
  • Plan for how instructional progress will be monitored

What should I do if my child is below the benchmark on a DIBELS measure?
A student’s score on the DIBELS measures provides information about whether or not the student is on track for grade-level reading success. A student receives  individual measure scores and a composite score (combination of scores on multiple DIBELS measures). A student’s individual Parent Report includes these scores and how those scores compare to the benchmarks set for the student’s grade level . The composite score is the most robust predictor of overall risk related to reading proficiency. Risk categories are color coded on the Parent Report and the following chart correlates the color coding with the risk categories.

DIBELS risk categories
If a student does not meet the DIBELS benchmark, additional diagnostic assessments will be administered to determine the specific area of concern and support the planning of targeted instruction and intervention. Parents will be notified by the school and an intervention plan, designed to support the specific needs of the student, will be created, implemented, and shared with families.

Are there resources available that align to the reading skills DIBELS measures that families can use to provide at-home support?
Each DIBELS measure focuses on a specific or set of foundation reading skills necessary for proficient reading. The table below includes each measure, the corresponding reading skill(s), and information or resources for families. In addition, families may find the resources and recorded sessions from the APS Virtual 2020 Dyslexia Conference resources helpful.

DIBELS Measure Reading Skills(s) Information/Resources
Phoneme Segmentation Fluency Phonological Awareness

Phonological and Phonemic Awareness

The Alphabetic Principle

Phonics

Accuracy and Fluency

Comprehension

Nonsense Word Fluency

Alphabetic Principle

Phonics

Oral Reading Fluency

Alphabetic Principle

Phonics

Accuracy and Fluency

Comprehension

Word Reading Fluency

Alphabetic Principle

Phonics

Accuracy and Fluency

Maze Comprehension

In the past, my child had a reading level. How do I know if my child is reading on grade level if I don’t know their reading level?
For many years, APS relied on reading levels to determine and communicate a student’s level of reading achievement. It was an attractive way to measure growth and to determine whether a student was below, on, or above grade level. Using reading levels as a measure of reading achievement is a practice more closely aligned with balanced literacy than structured literacy.

While reading levels provide a general sense of where (on a leveled continuum) a student might be reading, they do not provide details about the specific skills (phonemic awareness, phonics, vocabulary, fluency, and comprehension) research indicates are necessary for grade level proficiency in reading. As APS shifts away from balanced literacy, assessments that provide more reliable and accurate ways to measure these reading skills will be used. As a result, families can expect more specific information about how their student is performing in reading than a reading level can provide. This information should include specific information about foundational reading skills as well as how students are performing in relation to the Virginia Standards of Learning aligned with that reading skill.

While families may be accustomed to correlating a reading level with grade level performance, there are more precise ways for APS to communicate a student’s reading performance level to families using a variety of literacy screeners and diagnostic assessments that measure foundational reading skills. APS teachers will still be able to inform parents whether their student is reading below, on, or above grade level. Similarly, teachers will be able to tell families whether students are meeting or not meeting the Virginia Standards of Learning that are aligned with foundational reading skills.The assessments used should measure the following foundational reading skills that research indicates are essential for proficient reading: phonological and phonemic awareness, phonics, fluency, vocabulary, and comprehension. The chart below includes a sampling of assessments that APS uses to measure foundational reading skills.

APS ELA diagnostic assessments

Where can I learn more about DIBELS 8th Edition?
DIBELS has a public website that includes an overview of the DIBELS 8th Edition, information about specific DIBELS measures, and other helpful resources related to the assessment of foundational reading skills.

 


Reading Inventory (6-9 universal screener)