申請資格

 弗吉尼亞教育部(VDOE)資優條例 (8 VAC 20-40-40)指導學校系統篩选和鑑定有天賦的學習者。 根據規定,能力評估必須作為針對以下學術內容的學生的篩选和鑑定過程的一部分:數學,語言藝術,科學和/或社會研究。 


以下說明了篩選,推薦和資格過程: 

In APS,以下類別的學生可能會被轉介並確定為優才服務:

  • 語言藝術,數學,科學,社會研究(K-12)的特定學術才能(*需要能力評估)
  • 視覺和/或表演藝術能力(3-12年級)

一年一次的學生可能被視為有天賦服務。 提交推薦的截止日期是1月1日。(如果XNUMX月XNUMX日是春假期間的秋天,則從休息開始的第一天將接受推薦。)

學生必須被阿靈頓公立學校(K-12)錄取,才能考慮獲得優等服務。

篩選過程中使用的文檔可在此處獲得: 篩選文檔包。 

請閱讀以下內容,詳細了解該過程中的每個步驟。

篩選

APS 在小學和初中在多個年級進行普遍篩查。 基於通用篩選器,將自動篩選達到基準分數的學生以提供優等服務。 除非家長選擇退出,否則將篩選這些學生的優才服務。 此外,每個年級的老師都會與資優學生的資源老師一起工作,以推薦學生進行篩選過程。 父母也可以提交推薦來開始篩查過程。

推薦計劃

推薦表格  有多種語言可用: 西班牙語, 孟加拉, 阿姆哈拉語, 蒙古語阿拉伯語.

根據以下一個或多個標準,學生將被視為參加了禮品服務資格過程:

  • 經證明的潛力和/或需求,超出普通教育課程教學計劃所提供的服務
  • 可用能力和成就數據信息
  • 隨時間增長的數字資產組合; 學生產品/工作樣本
  • 學業成績和/或潛力超出年級水平
  • 資優學生的行為特徵

推薦可以在之前提交 四月1 每年。 推薦表格可由以下來源填寫:

  • 課堂老師或其他工作人員
  • 家長監護人
  • 社區成員
  • 學生

請注意:由通用篩選器自動推薦的任何學生都不需要推薦表格。

在學年期間可以推薦學生一次。 通常,這種情況發生在冬季/春季,除非學生是新來的 APS. 在每年一次的轉診過程中,採用整體案例研究方法檢查來自多個優勢領域的數據,以確定以下領域的資格:學術領域:語言藝術,數學,科學和/或社會研究; 視覺和表演藝術:一般音樂和/或視覺藝術。 

鑑定

由學校組成的學校委員會考慮學生的推薦,該委員會由班主任,資優資源老師,管理人員,特殊教育老師(如適用),ESOL / HILT老師(如適用)以及其他可能認識孩子的成員組成。可以提供諮詢師或學校心理學家之類的意見。

APS uses a holistic case study approach in the screening process.在篩選過程中使用整體案例研究方法。 All relevant data is reviewed and the decision to identify a need for services or not is made by the committee.委員會將審查所有相關數據,並確定是否需要服務。 In identifying students for Gifted Services, multiple criteria are used including the following:在識別學生是否可以使用“資優服務”時,使用了多個標準,其中包括:

家長將收到委員會決定的通知。 符合條件的學生的家庭將收到一張許可表,以返回接受安置。 如果他們不這樣做,則不合格的學生家庭將收到有關如何上訴的信息。

上訴

一級上訴–校本:
出於任何原因不同意鑑定委員會決定的父母和監護人,可在被告知鑑定委員會決定後的10個教學日內對該決定提出上訴。 上訴必須以書面形式提交給學生所在學校的校長。 在收到上訴的10個教學日內,作為身份鑑定委員會代表的優才校長和資源老師與父母/監護人會面,討論決定並審查身份檔案。

第二級上訴–中央辦公室行政上訴:
反對一級上訴–基於學校的上訴決定的父母和監護人可以在與校長會面後的10個教學日內對該決定提出上訴。 上訴必須以書面形式提交給Syphax教育中心教學部,資優服務主管(2110 Washington Blvd.,Arlington,VA 22204)。

Eligibility

 Virginia Department of Education (VDOE) gifted regulations (8 VAC 20-40-40) guide school systems in the screening and identification of gifted learners. Per regulations, an ability assessment must be part of the screening and identification process for students referred in an academic content: mathematics, language arts, science and/or social studies. 


The following explains the screening, referral and eligibility process: 

In APS, students may be referred and identified for gifted services in the following categories:

  • Specific academic aptitude in language arts, math, science, social studies (K-12) (*an ability assessment is needed)
  • Visual and/or performing arts aptitude (grades 3-12)

A student may be considered for gifted services once a year. The deadline to submit a referral is April 1. (If April 1 falls during spring break, referrals will be accepted on the first day back from break.)

Students must be enrolled in Arlington Public Schools (K-12) to be considered for gifted services.

The documents used in the screening process are available here: Screening Documents Bundle. 

Please read below to learn more about each step in the process.

Screening

APS does universal screening at multiple grade levels in elementary and middle school. Based on the universal screener, students who reach a benchmark score are automatically screened for gifted services. These students will be screened for gifted services unless parents opt out of this process. In addition, teachers at every grade level work with the resource teacher of the gifted to refer students for the screening process. Parents may also submit a referral to begin the screening process.

Referral

Referral Forms  are available in multiple languages: Spanish, Bengali, Amharic, Mongolian, and Arabic.

A student is referred to the gifted services eligibility process based on one or more of the following criteria:

  • a demonstrated potential and/or need for services beyond that provided by the general education program of studies instructional program
  • available ability and achievement data information
  • digital portfolios that show growth over time; student products/work samples
  • academic performance and/or potential beyond grade level standards
  • behavioral characteristics of gifted students

Referrals may be submitted before April 1 annually. A referral form may be completed by the following sources:

  • classroom teacher or other staff member
  • parent/guardian
  • community member
  • student

Please note: any student who is automatically referral by the universal screener does not need a referral form.

Students may be referred once during the academic school year. Typically this happens in the winter/spring unless  astudent is new to APS. During this once a year referral process, a holistic case study approach is used to examine data from multiple areas of strength to determine eligibility in the following areas: Academic: language arts, mathematics, science, and/or social studies; Visual and Performing Arts: general music and/or visual arts. 

Identification

Student referrals are considered by a school-based committee composed of a classroom teacher, resource teacher for the gifted, an administrator, special education teacher (as appropriate), ESOL/HILT teacher (as appropriate) and other members who may know the child and could provide input such as the counselor or school psychologist.

APS uses a holistic case study approach in the screening process. All relevant data is reviewed and the decision to identify a need for services or not is made by the committee. In identifying students for Gifted Services, multiple criteria are used including the following:

Parents are notified of the committee’s decision.  Families of eligible students will receive a permission form to return to accept placement. Families of ineligible students will receive information on how to appeal if they choose to do so.

Appeal

Level One Appeal – School-based:
Parents and guardians who disagree for any reason with the decision of an identification committee may appeal the decision within 10 instructional days after being informed of the committee’s decision. The appeal must be submitted in writing to the Principal of the student’s school. Within 10 instructional days of receiving the appeal, the Principal and resource teacher of the gifted acting as representatives of the Identification Committee meet with parent/guardians to discuss the decision and review the identification file.

Level Two Appeal – Central Office Administrative Appeal:
Parents and guardians who disagree with the decision of the Level One Appeal – School-Based Appeal decision may appeal the decision within 10 instructional days after meeting with the Principal. The appeal must be submitted in writing to the Department of Instruction, Syphax Education Center, Supervisor of Gifted Services (2110 Washington Blvd., Arlington, VA 22204).