الأهلية

 لوائح الموهوبين من وزارة التعليم في فرجينيا (VDOE) (8 VAC 20-40-40) توجه الأنظمة المدرسية في فحص وتحديد المتعلمين الموهوبين. وفقًا للوائح ، يجب أن يكون تقييم القدرة جزءًا من عملية الفحص والتعرف على الطلاب المُشار إليهم في محتوى أكاديمي: الرياضيات وفنون اللغة والعلوم و / أو الدراسات الاجتماعية. 


يوضح ما يلي عملية الفحص والإحالة والأهلية: 

In APS، يمكن إحالة الطلاب وتحديدهم لخدمات الموهوبين في الفئات التالية:

  • الكفاءة الأكاديمية المحددة في فنون اللغة والرياضيات والعلوم والدراسات الاجتماعية (K-12) (* هناك حاجة لتقييم القدرة)
  • كفاءة الفنون المرئية و / أو الأدائية (الصفوف 3-12)

يمكن اعتبار الطالب للخدمات الموهوبة مرة واحدة في السنة. الموعد النهائي لتقديم الإحالة هو 1 أبريل. (إذا وقع الأول من أبريل خلال عطلة الربيع ، فسيتم قبول الإحالات في اليوم الأول بعد الاستراحة.)

يجب أن يكون الطلاب مسجلين في مدارس أرلينغتون العامة (K-12) حتى يتم النظر في خدماتهم الموهوبين.

المستندات المستخدمة في عملية الفرز متوفرة هنا: حزمة وثائق الفحص. 

يرجى قراءة أدناه لمعرفة المزيد حول كل خطوة في العملية.

الفحص

APS يقوم بفحص شامل على مستويات متعددة في المدارس الابتدائية والمتوسطة. استنادًا إلى أداة الفحص الشاملة ، يتم تلقائيًا فحص الطلاب الذين وصلوا إلى درجة معيارية للخدمات الموهوبة. سيتم فحص هؤلاء الطلاب بحثًا عن خدمات الموهوبين ما لم ينسحب الآباء من هذه العملية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يعمل المعلمون في كل صف مع مدرس الموارد للموهوبين لإحالة الطلاب لعملية الفرز. يمكن للوالدين أيضًا إرسال إحالة لبدء عملية الفحص.

إحالة

نماذج الإحالة  متوفرة بعدة لغات: إسباني, البنغالية, الأمهرية, المنغوليةو English.

تتم إحالة الطالب إلى عملية أهلية الخدمات الموهوبة بناءً على معيار أو أكثر من المعايير التالية:

  • قدرة مثبتة و / أو حاجة إلى خدمات تتجاوز تلك التي يقدمها برنامج التعليم العام لبرنامج الدراسات التعليمية
  • القدرة المتاحة ومعلومات بيانات الإنجاز
  • المحافظ الرقمية التي تظهر النمو بمرور الوقت ؛ منتجات الطلاب / عينات عمل
  • الأداء الأكاديمي و / أو إمكانات تتجاوز معايير مستوى الصف
  • الخصائص السلوكية للطلاب الموهوبين

يمكن تقديم الإحالات من قبل أبريل 1 سنويا. يمكن استكمال نموذج الإحالة من المصادر التالية:

  • معلم الصف أو موظف آخر
  • الوالد / ولي الأمر
  • عضو في المجتمع
  • طالب

يرجى ملاحظة ما يلي: أي طالب يتم إحالته تلقائيًا بواسطة الفاحص الشامل لا يحتاج إلى نموذج إحالة.

يمكن إحالة الطلاب مرة واحدة خلال العام الدراسي الأكاديمي. يحدث هذا عادةً في الشتاء / الربيع ما لم يكن الطالب جديدًا APS. خلال عملية الإحالة هذه مرة واحدة في السنة ، يتم استخدام نهج شامل لدراسة الحالة لفحص البيانات من مجالات القوة المتعددة لتحديد الأهلية في المجالات التالية: أكاديمي: فنون اللغة والرياضيات والعلوم و / أو الدراسات الاجتماعية ؛ الفنون المرئية والمسرحية: موسيقى عامة و / أو فنون بصرية. 

هوية

يتم النظر في إحالات الطلاب من قبل لجنة قائمة على المدرسة تتكون من معلم في الصف ، ومعلم موارد للموهوبين ، ومدير ، ومعلم تعليم خاص (حسب الاقتضاء) ، ومعلم ESOL / HILT (حسب الاقتضاء) وأعضاء آخرين قد يعرفون الطفل و يمكن أن توفر مدخلات مثل المستشار أو طبيب نفساني المدرسة.

APS يستخدم نهج دراسة الحالة الشاملة في عملية الفرز. تتم مراجعة جميع البيانات ذات الصلة وتتخذ اللجنة قرار تحديد الحاجة إلى الخدمات أم لا. في تحديد الطلاب لخدمات الموهوبين ، يتم استخدام معايير متعددة بما في ذلك ما يلي:

يتم إخطار أولياء الأمور بقرار اللجنة. ستحصل عائلات الطلاب المؤهلين على نموذج إذن للعودة لقبول التنسيب. ستتلقى عائلات الطلاب غير المؤهلين معلومات حول كيفية الاستئناف إذا اختاروا القيام بذلك.

الملابس

نداء من المستوى الأول - على مستوى المدرسة:
يمكن للوالدين والأوصياء الذين لا يوافقون لأي سبب على قرار لجنة تحديد الهوية أن يستأنفوا القرار في غضون 10 أيام تعليمية بعد إبلاغهم بقرار اللجنة. يجب تقديم الاستئناف كتابيًا إلى مدير مدرسة الطالب. في غضون 10 أيام تعليمية من تلقي الاستئناف ، يلتقي المدير ومعلم الموارد للموهوبين بصفتهم ممثلين عن لجنة تحديد الهوية مع الوالدين / الأوصياء لمناقشة القرار ومراجعة ملف التعريف.

استئناف من المستوى الثاني - استئناف إداري للمكتب المركزي:
يمكن للوالدين والأوصياء الذين لا يوافقون على قرار الاستئناف من المستوى الأول - قرار الاستئناف المستند إلى المدرسة استئناف القرار في غضون 10 أيام دراسية بعد الاجتماع مع المدير. يجب تقديم الاستئناف كتابيًا إلى قسم التعليمات ، مركز Syphax التعليمي ، المشرف على خدمات الموهوبين (2110 Washington Blvd.، Arlington، VA 22204).

Eligibility

 Virginia Department of Education (VDOE) gifted regulations (8 VAC 20-40-40) guide school systems in the screening and identification of gifted learners. Per regulations, an ability assessment must be part of the screening and identification process for students referred in an academic content: mathematics, language arts, science and/or social studies. 


The following explains the screening, referral and eligibility process: 

In APS, students may be referred and identified for gifted services in the following categories:

  • Specific academic aptitude in language arts, math, science, social studies (K-12) (*an ability assessment is needed)
  • Visual and/or performing arts aptitude (grades 3-12)

A student may be considered for gifted services once a year. The deadline to submit a referral is April 1. (If April 1 falls during spring break, referrals will be accepted on the first day back from break.)

Students must be enrolled in Arlington Public Schools (K-12) to be considered for gifted services.

The documents used in the screening process are available here: Screening Documents Bundle. 

Please read below to learn more about each step in the process.

Screening

APS does universal screening at multiple grade levels in elementary and middle school. Based on the universal screener, students who reach a benchmark score are automatically screened for gifted services. These students will be screened for gifted services unless parents opt out of this process. In addition, teachers at every grade level work with the resource teacher of the gifted to refer students for the screening process. Parents may also submit a referral to begin the screening process.

Referral

Referral Forms  are available in multiple languages: Spanish, Bengali, Amharic, Mongolian, and Arabic.

A student is referred to the gifted services eligibility process based on one or more of the following criteria:

  • a demonstrated potential and/or need for services beyond that provided by the general education program of studies instructional program
  • available ability and achievement data information
  • digital portfolios that show growth over time; student products/work samples
  • academic performance and/or potential beyond grade level standards
  • behavioral characteristics of gifted students

Referrals may be submitted before April 1 annually. A referral form may be completed by the following sources:

  • classroom teacher or other staff member
  • parent/guardian
  • community member
  • student

Please note: any student who is automatically referral by the universal screener does not need a referral form.

Students may be referred once during the academic school year. Typically this happens in the winter/spring unless  astudent is new to APS. During this once a year referral process, a holistic case study approach is used to examine data from multiple areas of strength to determine eligibility in the following areas: Academic: language arts, mathematics, science, and/or social studies; Visual and Performing Arts: general music and/or visual arts. 

Identification

Student referrals are considered by a school-based committee composed of a classroom teacher, resource teacher for the gifted, an administrator, special education teacher (as appropriate), ESOL/HILT teacher (as appropriate) and other members who may know the child and could provide input such as the counselor or school psychologist.

APS uses a holistic case study approach in the screening process. All relevant data is reviewed and the decision to identify a need for services or not is made by the committee. In identifying students for Gifted Services, multiple criteria are used including the following:

Parents are notified of the committee’s decision.  Families of eligible students will receive a permission form to return to accept placement. Families of ineligible students will receive information on how to appeal if they choose to do so.

Appeal

Level One Appeal – School-based:
Parents and guardians who disagree for any reason with the decision of an identification committee may appeal the decision within 10 instructional days after being informed of the committee’s decision. The appeal must be submitted in writing to the Principal of the student’s school. Within 10 instructional days of receiving the appeal, the Principal and resource teacher of the gifted acting as representatives of the Identification Committee meet with parent/guardians to discuss the decision and review the identification file.

Level Two Appeal – Central Office Administrative Appeal:
Parents and guardians who disagree with the decision of the Level One Appeal – School-Based Appeal decision may appeal the decision within 10 instructional days after meeting with the Principal. The appeal must be submitted in writing to the Department of Instruction, Syphax Education Center, Supervisor of Gifted Services (2110 Washington Blvd., Arlington, VA 22204).