家长资源和组织支持有天赋的学习者,家长和老师

资优服务家长资源材料: APS 资优服务办公室通过以下方式为家庭提供了一个小型图书馆资源: 家长资源中心 (PRC)。 该 PRC 位于弗吉尼亚州阿灵顿华盛顿大道2110号Syphax教育中心,弗吉尼亚州VA22204。在工作时间波动时,请致电703-228-7239。

您学校的资优教师也可能有资源与父母分享。


全国天才协会(NAGC)家长提示表

父母及时信息表(TIP)供有天赋的孩子的父母和照顾者按需下载,阅读和分享加速图片.

请记住,这些内容是针对全国性受众开发的,每个学区的实施方式都会有所不同。

天赋 

教室里的天才

  • 加速: 一个行之有效的策略,可以确保满足孩子的学术需求的水平和进度。
  • 鉴定评估: 为什么,何时以及如何对您的孩子进行天赋鉴定测试?
  • 丰富: 课余活动的经验可能是一天中最重要的。
  • 培育有天赋的非洲裔美国儿童: 非裔美国儿童表现出的天赋可能与其他人不同,需要一些不同类型的支持。

宣传倡导

  • 倡导资优服务: 当学校没有有效的资优课程和服务时应采取的步骤。
  • 课堂倡导: 与老师的合作对您孩子在学校的成功至关重要。
  • 自我宣传学生需要知道如何大声疾呼,以找到适合自己需求的正确机会。

创造力

社会情感发展


弗吉尼亚教育局网站
该网站包含有关资优教育的常见问题解答,链接到州法规以及与资优教育有关的州和国家组织。 本页上的其他文件包括:了解《资优学生教育服务条例》和《制定和审查资优学生地方计划的参考指南》。 支持两次优秀学生的识别和成就。

弗吉尼亚天才协会
VA州级资优儿童的倡导者,在州一级出版季刊,并每两年召开一次会议。
弗吉尼亚夏季优才奖学金协会
VA优才学校为那些希望在夏季参加学术或艺术课程的有才华学生提供暑期奖学金。 奖学金申请截止日期为XNUMX月中旬。 索取夏季奖学金申请表 http://vagifted.org/scholarships.htm

专注于未来:
面向6至12年级的高能力学生及其父母的职业和学术规划经验一年一度的一年一度的职业生涯和学术规划活动,每年一月,由威廉和玛丽学院的资优教育中心赞助,并在威廉斯堡举行, VA。

 弗吉尼亚(VDOE)资优教育页面和夏季住宅州长学校
从Virginia Department of Education网站提供各种信息。 弗吉尼亚州联邦政府向幼儿园到12年级的学生提供服务。

全国天才儿童协会(NAGC)
NAGC是一个由父母,老师,教育者,其他专业人员和社区成员组成的非营利组织,他们团结起来满足有天赋的儿童和青少年的独特需求。 NAGC出版季刊,育儿杂志,并举行年度会议。

支持有天赋的人的情感需求 SENG致力于营造一种环境,使有天赋的成年人和孩子能够理解和接受自己,并引起人们对有天赋的孩子独特的情感需求的关注。

全国资优人才学会(NSGT)
全国资优人才协会(NSGT)是一个非营利性基金会,旨在表彰和鼓励有才华和才华的儿童和青少年。

杰出儿童理事会(CEC)
CEC是最大的国际专业组织,致力于为特殊群体改善教育成果。 CEC包括TAG(有才能和有才华)部门。

戴维森学院
戴维森学院成立于1999年,是由Bob和Jan Davidson资助的501(c)3私人运营基金会,旨在表彰,培养和支持有才华的学生,并为他们提供发展才华的机会。 各种免费的小册子,可以指导父母抚养子女。 该基金会还提供各种奖学金机会。

杰克肯特库克基金会
杰克·肯特·库克奖学金旨在鼓励和支持从7年级到研究生院的优秀学生,这些学生兴趣广泛,努力工作,表现出强大的成功意愿并有财务需要。

新兴学者计划
新兴学者计划(ESP)旨在鼓励和支持四年至六年级有经济需求的优秀学生。 ESP由服务华盛顿特区的七所独立学校组成的财团于2002年底成立。
新兴学者计划毕业生接受14个月的严格学术和领导力培训。 毕业生已被独立学校录取到六年级,在那里他们将获得基于需求的经济援助,或者毕业生将在自己的公立学校取得更大的成功。

Hoagies的资优教育页面
该网站是父母,教育者和有天赋的青少年的“万物有灵”的资源。

美国的早期入学计划
早期入学计划(通常被称为彻底加速)为尚未完成高中的一群学生提供了一个机会,使其成为大学环境中支持同伴环境的一部分。 各种大学提前入学计划使这些学生能够获得完整的大学学位或高中文凭以及可转让的大学学分。 PEG,弗吉尼亚州斯汤顿市Mary Baldwin College的“杰出人才计划”, http://www.mbc.edu/peg/ 为聪明又有成就的年轻妇女在高中阶段完成大学提供了机会。

Parent Resources

Gifted Services Parent Resource Materials: The APS Gifted Services Office provides a mini-library of resources to the families through the Parent Resource Center (PRC). The PRC is located at the Syphax Education Center, 2110 Washington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22204. Please call before visiting as hours fluctuate, 703-228-7239.

National Association for Gifted (NAGC) Parent TIP Sheets
The Timely Information for Parents (TIP) Sheets are for parents and caregivers of gifted children to download, read, and share as needed.  Please keep in mind these are developed for a national audience and each school district will varying in implementation.

Acceleration picAcceleration: Way to ensure the level and pace of your child’s academic needs are met

Advocating for Gifted ServicesAdvocating for Gifted Services:  Practical ideas to advocate for your child’s needs

Arts Arts:  Build critical and creative thinking through the arts

AssessmentsAssessments for Identification: What, Why and How

Asynchronous DevelopmentAsynchronous Development: Gifted children can develop at an uneven rate, confusing parents, friends, and teachers.

Related Links

Virginia Department of Education Web Site
This web site contains FAQs about Gifted Education, links to the state regulations and state and national organizations related to Gifted Education. Other documents available on this page include: Understanding the Regulations Governing Educational Services for Gifted Students and the Reference Guide for the Development and Review of the Local Plan for the Education of the Gifted and Supporting the Identification and Achievement of Twice-Exceptional Students.

Virginia Association for the Gifted
VA Gifted advocates for gifted children and services at the state level, publishes a quarterly newsletter, and holds bi-annual conferences.

Virginia Association for the Gifted Summer Scholarships
VA Gifted offers summer scholarships designed for those gifted students who wish to attend academic or artistic programs during the summer months. Scholarship application deadline is mid March . Get Summer Scholarship Application Form at http://vagifted.org/scholarships.htm

Focusing on the Future:
A Career and Academic Planning Experience for High-Ability Students in Grades 6-12 and their ParentsAn annual add-day career and academic planning event sponsored annually in January by The Center for Gifted Education at the College of William and Mary and held in Williamsburg, VA.

 Virginia Gifted Education and Governor’s Schools
Offers a variety of information from the Virginia Department of Education Web site. The Commonwealth of Virginia provides services to identified students, kindergarten through grade 12.

National Association for Gifted Children (NAGC)
NAGC is a non-profit organization of parents, teachers, educators, other professionals, and community members who unite to address the unique needs of gifted children and youth. NAGC publishes a quarterly journal, a parenting magazine, and holds an annual conference.

Supporting Emotional Needs of the Gifted (SENG) SENG is dedicated to fostering environments in which gifted adults and children understand and accept themselves and brings attention to the unique emotional needs of gifted children.

National Society for the Gifted and Talented (NSGT)
The National Society for the Gifted & Talented™ (NSGT) is a non-for-profit foundation created to honor and encourage gifted and talented children and youth.

Council for Exceptional Children (CEC)
CEC is the largest international professional organization dedicated to improving educational outcomes for individuals with exceptionalities. CEC includes a TAG (Talented and Gifted) division.

Davidson Institute
Formed in 1999, the Davidson Institute is a 501(c)3 private operating foundation funded by Bob and Jan Davidson to recognize, nurture and support profoundly gifted students and to provide opportunities for them to develop their talents. A variety of free brochures that can guide parents in the support of their children. The Foundation also provides a variety of scholarship opportunities.

Jack Kent Cooke Foundation
The Jack Kent Cooke Scholarships are designed to encourage and support outstanding students from 7th grade through graduate school who have a breadth of interests, work hard, demonstrate a strong will to succeed, and have financial need.

Emerging Scholars Program
The Emerging Scholars Program (ESP) is designed to encourage and support outstanding students with financial need in grades four through six. ESP was established in late 2002 by a consortium of seven independent schools serving the Washington, DC area.
Emerging Scholars Program Graduates undergo 14 months of rigorous academic and leadership training. Graduates have been accepted into grade six at independent schools where they will receive need-based financial aid or graduates go on to greater success at their home public schools.

Hoagies’ Gifted Education Page
This Web site is an “all-things-gifted” resource for parents, educators, and gifted teens.

Early Entrance College Programs in the USA
Early entrance programs, often referred to as radical acceleration, provide an opportunity for groups of students who have yet to complete high school to become a part of a supportive peer environment within a collegiate setting. Various college early entrance programs allow these students to work toward either a full college degree or a high school diploma plus transferable college credit. PEG, the Program for the Exceptionally Gifted, at Mary Baldwin College in Staunton, Virginia, http://www.mbc.edu/peg/ offers an opportunity for bright and accomplished young women to complete college during their high school years.