縣級服務:高中

以下列出的機會 小冊 (英語)並在下面突出顯示是正常上課時間以外的擴展機會:

  • 弗吉尼亞州教育局與當地政府合作,贊助地區性的學年州長學校,這些學校在學年期間為有天賦的高中學生提供服務。 阿靈頓公立學校八年級學生可以與中學輔導員聯繫,以了解如何申請 北弗吉尼亞州州長資優中學–托馬斯·杰斐遜科學技術高中.
  • 弗吉尼亞州教育部贊助的夏季住宅州長學校為有天賦的高中生和高年級學生提供視覺和表演藝術方面的強化教育經驗; 人文; 數學,科學和技術; 醫學與生命科​​學; 或通過海洋科學或工程學的指導。 符合藝術和學術領域優才服務資格的10和11年級的阿靈頓公立學校學生可以在XNUMX月與他們的資優老師聯繫,以了解如何申請 夏季住宿總督天才學校給學生和家長的一般信息。 有關更多詳細信息,請訪問 暑期課程 部分。
  • 弗吉尼亞州教育部贊助了州長世界語言學院,這是弗吉尼亞州最有上進心和才華的世界學生的暑期住宿計劃。 對語言充滿熱情的阿靈頓公立學校學生可以在XNUMX月/ XNUMX月初聯繫他們高中的世界語言系主任或世界語言老師,以了解如何申請 州長夏季居住世界語言學院.
  • 阿靈頓公立學校藝術教育處 提供 美術學徒計劃 給10-12年級的學生。 該學徒計劃為在藝術領域表現出傑出成就和承諾的學生提供藝術,音樂,舞蹈和戲劇方面的教學,表演,展覽和服務機會。 可以在線申請,也可以從中學資源老師那裡申請,適用於下一學年的XNUMX月。
  • 職業中心 提供 APS 高中生被確定為有興趣的高級服務課程
  • 專業相關的實習生/輔導經歷(PRIME) PRIME是一項實習計劃,面向已被確定可提供優等服務和/或至少在職業和技術教育(CTE)課程中完成了一年並希望升至更高水平的初中和高中學生。 實習生將在100個小時的工作時間內獲得NOVA的SDV140:大學成功技能課程的一份未加權的高中學分,以及一份大學學分。 學生和導師會協商實習時間的細節。 PRIME暑期課程在16月期間為有限的阿靈頓公立學校學生提供實習。 學生必須年滿XNUMX周歲,並提供往返企業和阿靈頓職業中心的交通工具。 學生必須在整個XNUMX月有空才能參加該計劃。 有興趣的申請人應聯繫其資優資源的老師,指導顧問或PRIME協調員,和/或Louis Villafane,阿靈頓職業中心主任,電話(703)228-5731)和/或louis.villafane @apsva.us。

Countywide Services: High School

The following opportunities listed in the brochure (English) and highlighted below are extension opportunities beyond the regular school day:

  • The Virginia Department of Education, in conjunction with localities, sponsors regional Academic-Year Governor’s Schools that serve gifted high school students during the academic year. Arlington Public School grade eight students may contact their middle school counselor about how to apply to the Northern Virginia Governor’s High School for the Gifted – Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology.
  • Summer Residential Governor’s Schools, sponsored by the Virginia Department of Education, provide gifted high school juniors and seniors with intensive educational experiences in visual and performing arts; humanities; mathematics, science, and technology; medicine and life science; or through mentorships in marine science or engineering. Arlington Public School students in grades 10 and 11 who are eligible for gifted services in the arts and academic areas may contact their resource teachers for the gifted in September about how to apply for the Summer Residential Governor’s Schools for the Gifted and General Information for Students and Parents.
  • The Virginia Department of Education sponsors the Governor’s World Language Academies, summer residential programs for Virginia’s most motivated and talented world language students. Arlington Public School students who have a strength and passion for languages may contact their high school’s World Language Department Chair or World Language Teacher in October/early November about how to apply for the Governor’s Summer Residential World Language Academies.
  • The Arlington Public School Arts Education Office offers the Fine Arts Apprentice Program to students in grades 10-12. The apprentice program provides instructional, performance, exhibit, and service opportunities in art, music, dance, and theater for students who demonstrate outstanding achievement in and commitment to an arts area. Applications are available on-line or from high school resource teachers for the gifted in February for the next school year.
  • The Career Center offers APS high school students identified for gifted services upper level courses of interest
  • Professional Related Intern/Mentorship Experience (PRIME) PRIME is an internship program for rising junior and senior students who have been identified for gifted services and/or have completed at least one year in a Career and Technical Education (CTE) class with the expectation to continue to the next level.  Interns will earn one unweighted high school credit, as well as one college credit for NOVA’s SDV100: College Success Skills course, for 140 hours of work. Students and mentors negotiate the details of the internship hours. The PRIME Summer Program provides internships during July for a limited number of Arlington Public School students. Students must be 16 years of age and provide their own transportation to and from the business and the Arlington Career Center. Students must be available the entire month of July to participate in the program. Interested applicants should contact their gifted resource teacher, guidance counselor or PRIME coordinator, and/or Louis Villafane, Director,  Arlington Career Center, (703) 228-5731) and/or louis.villafane@apsva.us. An information night will be held on November 13th at 7:00 PM at the Career Center.