猴痘信息

隨著學年的開始,我們認識到我們社區對猴痘如何影響學生、他們的家庭、教職員工和教師的擔憂。 我們希望為您提供信息以解決此問題並製定預防措施 APS 將實施以促進我們社區的健康和安全。

根據疾病預防控制中心的說法,目前兒童和青少年患猴痘的風險很低。 目前在學校環境中傳播猴痘的風險也很低。 然而,任何人——包括兒童——如果與患有猴痘的人皮膚接觸,都可能被感染。

迄今為止,猴痘在全國和弗吉尼亞州的兒童中很少見。 弗吉尼亞衛生部 (VDH) 猴痘網站 提供有關阿靈頓和弗吉尼亞其他地區報告病例的最新信息。

有關猴痘的更多信息,請訪問阿靈頓縣公共衛生部 (ACPHD) 網站,網址為 English, 西班牙語, 阿姆哈拉語阿拉伯語.

什麼是猴痘?

猴痘 是一種由感染猴痘病毒引起的疾病。 根據疾病預防控制中心和 ACPHD 的說法,猴痘會引起皮疹,並且從症狀開始到皮疹完全癒合時具有傳染性。 這種疾病通過密切接觸傳播,主要是通過直接的皮膚接觸。 猴痘可以通過以下方式傳播:

  • 直接接觸猴痘皮疹或痂
  • 親密的身體接觸,包括接吻、擁抱和性接觸
  • 與猴痘患者共用一張床、毛巾、衣服或其他未清洗過的物品
  • 猴痘患者的體液,包括長時間面對面接觸產生的呼吸道飛沫

猴痘的體徵和症狀

症狀 猴痘可以包括:

  • 發熱
  • 頭痛
  • 肌肉酸痛和背痛
  • 淋巴結腫大
  • 畏寒
  • 衰竭
  • 一種看起來像丘疹或水泡的皮疹。
    • 皮疹可能出現在面部、口腔內和身體的其他部位,如手、腳、胸部、生殖器
    • 皮疹在完全癒合之前會經歷不同的階段。 皮疹從紅色腫塊發展為充滿液體的瘡。 當皮疹完全癒合時,會形成一層新的皮膚。

通常,疾病持續 2-4 週。 有些人會出現皮疹,然後出現其他症狀,而另一些人只會出現皮疹。 猴痘很少致命。 暴露後 3-17 天出現症狀。 沒有猴痘症狀的人不能將病毒傳播給他人。

個人預防

CDC建議 和 ACPHD 的建議,我們鼓勵我們的社區通過以下步驟來防止猴痘的傳播:

  1. 避免與患有以下疾病的人近距離、皮膚接觸 皮疹 看起來像猴痘。
    • 不要觸摸患有猴痘的人的皮疹或結痂。
    • 不要親吻、擁抱、擁抱或與患有猴痘的人發生性關係。
  1. 避免接觸猴痘患者使用過的物品和材料。
    • 不要與患有猴痘的人共用餐具或杯子。
    • 不要處理或觸摸猴痘患者的床上用品、毛巾或衣服。 穿戴個人防護裝備,例如手套和一次性衣物
  1. 經常洗手,尤其是在進食前、如廁後、與病人接觸後以及接觸開放性傷口和繃帶前後
    • 經常用肥皂和水洗手至少 20 秒。 如果沒有肥皂和水,請使用含酒精的洗手液。
  1. 避免共用設備(如運動器材或樂器)以及用品、服裝或製服
    • 每次使用後清洗制服或服裝。 使用後清潔個人設備和樂器。
  1. 此時,疾控中心建議 接種疫苗 僅適用於接觸過猴痘的人以及更容易感染猴痘的人。 資格標準可能會隨著疫情的發展和疫苗供應而改變。 有關最新標準,請訪問 VDH's 網站.
    • 符合條件的個人可以在阿靈頓進行疫苗接種預約 ACPHD 網站.

APS 響應協議

APS 將與 ACPHD 合作實施猴痘應對措施。 我們遵循 ACPHD 傳染病專家的指導,以確保在整個學年都採取預防措施。 APS 將繼續遵循旨在限制傳染病傳播的日常程序,包括經常清潔經常接觸的表面,生病時讓學生、教職員工和志願者留在家中,確保獲得洗手用品,保持常規消毒做法,並要求使用為照顧生病兒童的學校診所工作人員提供個人防護設備。

如果有人在 APS 感染猴痘,將採取以下額外措施:

  • 清潔受影響的教室:將清潔和消毒表面,重點是直接接觸皮膚的表面,例如門、桌子、椅子和教室用品。 無法適當消毒、清潔或洗滌的物品將被丟棄。 清潔受影響的表面時,應佩戴個人防護設備,包括手套。
  • 聯繫人跟踪: APS 將支持 ACPHD 識別學生或教職員工感染時可能暴露的個人,並為密切接觸者提供詳細指導
  • 為受影響的家庭/員工提供隔離指導和尋求醫療保健的支持
  • 向家庭和社區成員提供有關預防猴痘傳播的更多信息
  • 在學生失學期間為受影響的學生提供適當的教學材料
  • 在皮疹完全癒合後,受影響的個人是否返回學校,基於:1) 醫療保健提供者的評估,2) 醫療保健提供者提供的治療完成,和/或 3) 在家中完成感染期

家庭附加指南

出現皮疹的兒童應該放學回家,並由醫療保健提供者進行評估。 這適用於所有皮疹疾病。 手足口病和水痘等皮疹疾病比猴痘更容易影響兒童。如果您或您的學生出現新的或無法解釋的皮疹或與猴痘一致的症狀,請向您的醫療保健提供者尋求醫療護理。 保持皮疹被覆蓋,直到醫療保健提供者可以評估皮疹。 如果您的孩子已知接觸過猴痘:

  • 如果您的學生在家中或其他地方感染了猴痘,請告知您的學校並聯繫您的醫療服務提供者,以便您和您孩子的學校可以採取必要的預防措施來照顧您的孩子
  • 如果發生暴露,ACPHD 將提供具體指導。 您的學生並不總是需要隔離,即使他們與猴痘患者有密切接觸。 如果您的學生被確定為密切接觸者,來自 ACPHD 的人員將與您聯繫,並就下一步做什麼提供指導,包括尋找哪些需要醫療護理的症狀。

這些 CDC 資源為學生和家庭提供有關猴痘的更多信息,以便隨時了解情況:

APS 將繼續與 ACPHD 協商以監測阿靈頓的猴痘並向社區提供更新。

Monkeypox Information

As the school year begins, we recognize the concern in our community about how monkeypox could impact students, their families, staff, and teachers. We want to provide you with information to address this and to establish precautions APS will implement to promote the health and safety of our community.

According to the CDC, the risk of monkeypox to children and adolescents is low at this time. The risk of monkeypox transmission in school settings is also currently low.  However, anyone- including children- can be infected if they have close skin-to-skin contact with someone who has monkeypox.

To date, monkeypox has been rare in children nationwide, and in Virginia. The Virginia Department of Health (VDH) Monkeypox website provides the most current information on reported cases in Arlington and the rest of Virginia.

More information on monkeypox is available on the Arlington County Public Health Division (ACPHD) website in English, Spanish, Amharic, and Arabic.

What is Monkeypox?

Monkeypox is a disease caused by infection with the monkeypox virus. According to the CDC and ACPHD, monkeypox causes a rash and is contagious from the time symptoms begin until the rash has fully healed.  The disease spreads through close contact, predominantly through direct skin-to-skin contact. Monkeypox can spread through:

  • Direct contact with monkeypox rash or scabs
  • Intimate physical contact, including kissing, cuddling, and sexual contact
  • Sharing a bed, towels, clothes, or other items that have been used by someone with monkeypox and have not been washed
  • Body fluids from a person with monkeypox, including respiratory droplets from prolonged face-to-face contact

Monkeypox Signs and Symptoms

Symptoms of monkeypox can include:

  • Fever
  • Headache
  • Muscle aches and backache
  • Swollen lymph nodes
  • Chills
  • Exhaustion
  • A rash that can look like pimples or blisters.
    • Rash may appear on the face, inside the mouth, and on other parts of the body, like the hands, feet, chest, genitals
    • The rash goes through different stages before healing completely. The rash progresses from red bumps to fluid filled sores. A new layer of skin will form when the rash is fully healed.

Typically, illness last 2-4 weeks.  Some people experience a rash followed by other symptoms, while others only experience a rash.  Monkeypox is rarely fatal.  Symptoms appear 3-17 days after exposure. People who do not have monkeypox symptoms cannot spread the virus to others.

Individual Prevention

Per CDC recommendations and recommendations from ACPHD, we encourage our community to prevent the spread of monkeypox by engaging in the following steps:

  1. Avoid close, skin-to-skin contact with people who have a rash that looks like monkeypox.
    • Do not touch the rash or scabs of a person with monkeypox.
    • Do not kiss, hug, cuddle or have sex with someone with monkeypox.
  1. Avoid contact with objects and materials that a person with monkeypox has used.
    • Do not share eating utensils or cups with a person who has monkeypox.
    • Do not handle or touch the bedding, towels, or clothing of a person with monkeypox. Wear personal protective equipment, such as gloves and disposable clothing
  1. Wash your hands often, especially before eating, after using the bathroom, after contact with a sick person, and before and after touching open wounds and bandages
    • Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds. If soap and water are unavailable, use an alcohol-based hand sanitizer.
  1. Avoid sharing equipment (like athletic equipment or musical instruments), as well as supplies, costumes, or uniforms
    • Wash uniforms or costumes after each use. Clean individual equipment and musical instruments after use.
  1. At this time, the CDC recommends vaccinations only for people who have been exposed to monkeypox as well as those who are more likely to contract monkeypox. The eligibility criteria may change as the outbreak evolves and based on vaccine supply. For the most current criteria, visit VDH’s website.
    • Vaccination appointments are available in Arlington for eligible individuals on the ACPHD website.

APS Response Protocol

APS will work in collaboration with the ACPHD to implement response measures for monkeypox. We are following guidance from ACPHD’s communicable disease experts to ensure preventive measures are in place throughout the school year. APS will continue to follow everyday procedures that aim to limit transmission of infectious diseases, including frequent cleaning of commonly touched surfaces, keeping students, staff, and volunteers home when sick, ensuring access to handwashing supplies, maintaining routine disinfection practices, and requiring the use of personal protective equipment for school clinic staff providing care to ill children.

If someone in APS becomes infected with monkeypox, the following additional measures will be put in place:

  • Cleaning the affected classroom(s): Surfaces will be cleaned and disinfected, focusing on surfaces that come into direct skin contact such as doors, desks, chairs, and classroom supplies. Items that cannot be appropriately disinfected, cleaned or laundered will be discarded. Personal protective equipment, including gloves, is to be worn while cleaning affected surfaces.
  • Contact tracing: APS will support ACPHD to identify individuals who might have been exposed if a student or staff member is infected and to provide close contacts with detailed guidance
  • Provide support to affected families/staff on isolation guidance and seeking healthcare
  • Provide additional information to families and community members about preventing the spread of monkeypox
  • Support the affected student(s) with appropriate instructional materials while the student remains out of school
  • Have affected individuals return to school after rash has fully healed, based on: 1) healthcare provider evaluation, 2) completion of treatment provided by the healthcare provider, and/or 3) completion of the infectious period at home

Additional Guidance for Families

Children with a rash should stay home from school and be evaluated by a healthcare provider. This is true for all rash illnesses. Rash illnesses such as hand, foot and mouth disease and chickenpox are much more likely to affect children than monkeypox.If you or your student have new or unexplained rash or symptoms consistent with monkeypox, seek medical care from your healthcare provider.  Keep the rash covered until a health care provider can evaluate the rash.  If your child has a known exposure to monkeypox:

  • If your student is exposed to monkeypox at home or elsewhere, let your school know, and reach out to your medical provider, so that you and your child’s school can take necessary precautions to care for your child
  • ACPHD will provide specific guidance on what to do if an exposure occurs. It will not always be necessary for your student to quarantine, even if they are a close contact of someone with monkeypox. If your student is identified as a close contact, someone from ACPHD will contact you and provide guidance on what to do next, including what symptoms to look for that require medical attention.

These CDC resources provide additional information about monkeypox for students and families to stay informed:

APS will continue to consult with ACPHD to monitor monkeypox in Arlington and to provide updates to the community.