Contact Us

The Department of Teaching and Learning includes Career, Technical, and Adult Education; Curriculum and Instruction; Early Childhood (Pre-K); Special Education; Student Services; Summer School; and the Welcome Center.

The Department of Teaching and Learning organizational chart provides specifics regarding the organization of each of the offices within the department.  Directors of each office and their contact information can be found below:

Assistant Superintendent, TBD
Tyrone Byrd; Sarah Putnam; Wendy Pilch
703-228-6145; tyrone.byrd@apsva.us; sarah.putnam@apsva.us; wendy.pilch@apsva.us

Director of Career, Technical, and Adult Education, Kris Martini
703-228-7209, kris.martini@apsva.us

Director of Early Childhood and Elementary Education, Wendy Pilch
703-228-2413, wendy.pilch@apsva.us

Director of Secondary Education, Tyrone Byrd
703-228-7222, tyrone.byrd@apsva.us

Director of Curriculum and Instruction, Sarah Putnam
703-228-2879, sarah.putnam@apsva.us

Director of Special Education, Dr. Kelly Krug, Supervisor of ATSS – Elementary and Heather Rothenbuescher, Special Education Supervisor – Secondary
703-228-6040, kelly.krug@apsva.us; heather.rothenb@apsva.us

Director of Student Services, Dr. Laura Newton
703-228-6058, laura.newton@apsva.us

For additional contacts within the Department of Teaching and Learning, please access the Who to Call for What list and the contact information provided on each of the office webpages.

LOCATION
Syphax Education Center
2110 Washington Blvd.
Arlington, Virginia 22204
Directions to the Syphax Education Center