基于绩效的评估

注意:英语 8 写作和社会研究的绩效评估 (PBA) 分数将很快通过教师的成绩簿发布。 单击下面的学生主题并滚动到“分数是什么意思” 了解更多关于 PBA 评分和您孩子的进步。

基于绩效的评估(PBA)

基于绩效的评估通过要求学生将他们学到的内容和技能应用到真实的任务中来衡量主题的熟练程度。 PBA应该为学生提供机会来展示获得“五个C”的能力-批判性思维,创造力,沟通,协作和公民意识-而不是传统的评估,后者更多地侧重于死记硬背。

单击链接以查看有关年级或主题领域的PBA。

 

三年级(世界历史)美国历史I(六年级)和美国历史II(3和6年级)

评估目的: 每年,学生通过一个包括对证据的评估(包括学生对基于绩效的评估的反应)组成的过程来证明他们对课程的标准,能力和目标的掌握。

成绩参加评估:  3,6,7

日期:  这些评估没有具体日期。 全年将进行各种评估,每次绩效评估可能会跨越数天。

评估期间的期望:  基于性能的评估被嵌入到指令中。 学生可以根据参加的学习形式虚拟地或亲自完成评估。所有学生都将参与这些评估,因为它们嵌入了教学中。

练习链接:  没有实践,因为评估是教学的一部分。 在整个学年中,老师可能会多次让学生参加绩效评估,以支持学习和成长。

分数是什么意思:  基于绩效的评估使用VDOE创建的4分制评分法进行评分。

单击此处查看三年级历史的结果说明。

单击此处查看 6 年级和 7 年级历史的结果说明

单击以返回到页面顶部。 

 

弗吉尼亚研究(4年级)和公民与经济学(7年级)

评估目的: 仅在20-21学年,学生将通过包括证据评估在内的过程来展示对课程标准,能力和目标的掌握程度,包括对基于绩效的评估做出的反应。

成绩参加评估:  4,7

日期:  这些评估没有具体日期。 全年将进行各种评估,每次绩效评估可能会跨越数天。

评估期间的期望:  基于性能的评估被嵌入到指令中。 学生可以根据参加的学习形式虚拟地或亲自完成评估。所有学生都将参与这些评估,因为它们嵌入了教学中。

练习链接:  没有实践,因为评估是教学的一部分。 在整个学年中,老师可能会多次让学生参加绩效评估,以支持学习和成长。

分数是什么意思:  基于绩效的评估使用VDOE创建的4分制评分法进行评分。

点击此处查看弗吉尼亚研究的结果解释.

单击以返回到页面顶部。 

 

八年级世界地理和八年级英语语言写作

评估目的: 在2020-21学年,学生将通过一个集成的过程展示对这两个课程的标准,能力和目标的掌握,该过程包括对证据的评估,包括学生对绩效评估任务的反应。 对于Word Geography,两个基于绩效的常见评估的分数将用作此过程的一部分。 其中一项将是与8年级ELA一起进行的常规评估。

参加评估的成绩:  8

日期: 8月26日至8月XNUMX日的课程期间,将进行一项基于绩效的常见评估(以基于文档的问题或DBQ的格式)。 在世界地理课程中,将要求学生完成DBQ过程中基于内容的文档分析部分。 春假后,在XNUMX年级的ELA课堂上,学生将撰写有关DBQ主题的论文。 在社会研究评估中,不会对学生的写作能力进行评分。 作为ELA评估的一部分,不会对学生的社会研究内容知识进行评分。第二次《世界地理》基于共同绩效的评估没有特定的日期或日期范围。 全年将进行各种评估,每次绩效评估可能会跨越数天。

评估期间的期望:  基于绩效的评估被嵌入到教学中。 学生可以根据参加的教学交付模式以虚拟方式或亲自完成评估。 所有学生都将参与这些评估,因为它们已嵌入教学中。 绩效评估的结果将是在《世界地理》中授予本地授予的经过验证的信用的一个组成部分。 也将提供有关学生的ELA写作的反馈。

练习链接:  没有实践,因为评估是教学的一部分。 在整个学年中,老师可能会多次让学生接受绩效评估,以支持学习和成长。

分数是什么意思:  两种基于绩效的评估均使用VDOE创建的指标进行评分 弗吉尼亚教育部英语专记评分8写作.

单击此处查看英文结果信。

点击此处查看 World Geo 的结果说明

单击以返回到页面顶部。 

 

高中:世界地理,世界历史I,世界历史II,弗吉尼亚州/美国历史

评估目的: 在20到21个学年中,学生将通过包括证据评估在内的过程来展示对课程标准,能力和目标的掌握程度,包括对学生对绩效评估任务的反应。 两个基于绩效的常见评估的分数将用作此过程的一部分。

成绩参加评估:  9至12年级的学生正在学习《世界地理》,《世界历史I》,《世界历史II》或VA / US历史。

日期: 这些评估没有具体日期。 全年将进行各种评估,每次绩效评估可能会跨越数天。

评估期间的期望:  基于性能的评估被嵌入到指令中。 学生可以根据参加的学习形式以虚拟方式或亲自完成评估。所有学生都将参加这些评估,因为此评估已嵌入教学中,因此他们是否需要经过验证的学分。 成绩评估的结果将是一个组成部分,用于向需要该课程的学生授予本地授予的经过验证的学分。

练习链接:  没有实践,因为评估是教学的一部分。 在整个学年中,老师可能会多次让学生参加绩效评估,以支持学习和成长。

分数是什么意思:  基于绩效的评估使用VDOE创建的4分制评分法进行评分。

单击此处查看 VA/US 历史的结果说明

点击此处查看 World Geo、World History I 和 II 的结果说明

单击以返回到页面顶部。 

 

五年级英语语言写作

评估目的: 弗吉尼亚教育局(VDOE)要求所有5年级的学生参加写作领域的本地替代评估。 为了完成此评估,我们的 APS 根据学校部门的提示,要求学生作文并提交论文。 这项评估使我们能够确定您的学生在此时此刻的写作表现。 学生的写作将在作文和书面表达,用法和技巧方面进行正式评估。

成绩参加评估: 5

日期: 到23年2021月XNUMX日

评估期间的期望: 该过程针对所有5年级学生在整个学校部门中都是标准化的,并且该评估将在英语语言课程期间完成。 完成写作作业所需的时间不应超过90分钟。 提示给我们的学生后,他们应独立工作以计划,撰写和打字作品,然后将其论文提交给指定的老师。 对于处于远程学习环境中的学生,他们将需要在没有帮助的情况下远程完成评估。

练习链接:  没有实践,因为评估是教学的一部分。 在整个学年中,老师可能会多次让学生接受绩效评估,以支持学习和成长。

分数是什么意思: 每所学校的教师团队将使用VDOE提供的标题对学生的作品进行评分。  APS 将使用这些分数来帮助做出有关写作领域的与程序相关的决定,以供将来的教学支持。

单击此处查看 5 年级写作 PBA 评估分数说明

单击以返回到页面顶部。 

 

三年级科学

评估目的: 每年,学生通过一个包括对证据的评估在内的过程来证明他们对课程的标准,能力和目标的掌握,包括对基于绩效的评估的反应。 三年级科学的重点是我们世界中的互动。 通过学习简单的机器并检查水中的物质之间的相互作用,学生们继续研究力和物质。 他们还研究了包括人类在内的动植物如何与环境的有生命和无生命的方面不断相互作用。 这包括研究适应如何满足植物的生命需求以及水,土壤和阳光在动植物生存中的重要性。 在整个小学阶段,学生将在学习科学内容的同时发展数学和计算思维支持下的科学技能。 三年级时,学生将在提出问题和预测结果,计划和进行简单的调查,收集和分析数据,构造解释以及交流有关自然世界的信息方面发展出更先进的技能。 学生开始使用工程设计过程来应用其科学知识来解决问题。

成绩参加评估:  3

日期:  这些评估没有具体日期。 全年将进行各种评估,每次绩效评估可能会跨越数天。

评估期间的期望:  基于性能的评估被嵌入到指令中。 学生可以根据参加的学习形式虚拟地或亲自完成评估。所有学生都将参与这些评估,因为它们嵌入了教学中。

练习链接:  没有实践,因为评估是教学的一部分。 在整个学年中,老师可能会多次让学生参加绩效评估,以支持学习和成长。

分数是什么意思:  基于绩效的评估是使用VDOE创建的规则进行评分的。

单击以返回到页面顶部。

Performance Based Assessments

NOTE: Performance Based Assessment (PBA) scores for English 8 Writing and Social Studies will be posted through the teacher’s Gradebook soon.  Click on your students subject below and scroll to “What Does the Scores Mean” to learn more about PBA scoring and your child’s progress.

Performance Based Assessments (PBA)

Performance Based Assessments measure subject-matter proficiency by requiring students to apply the content and skills they have learned to an authentic task.  PBAs should present opportunities for students to demonstrate acquisition of the “Five C’s” – critical thinking, creativity, communication, collaboration and citizenship – rather than traditional assessments which focus more on factual rote memorization.

Click on the link to see the PBA for a grade or subject area.

 

3rd Grade (World History) US History I (Grade 6) and US History II (Grades 6 and 7)

Purpose of assessment: Each year, students demonstrate mastery of the standards, competencies, and objectives of the course through a process that consists of an evaluation of evidence including student’s responses to performance based assessments.

Grades Taking the assessment:  3, 6, 7

Dates:  There are no specific dates for these assessments.  A variety of assessments will be given throughout the year and each performance assessment will likely cross multiple days.

What to expect during the assessment:  Performance based assessments are embedded in instruction.  Students may complete the assessments virtually or in person depending on the learning format they are participating in.  All students will participate in these assessments as they are embedded in instruction.

Practice links:  No practice as the assessment is part of instruction.  Teachers may expose students to performance assessments multiple times throughout the school year to support learning and growth.

What Does the Scores Mean:  The performance based assessments are scored using a 4 point rubric created by the VDOE.

Click here to view the results explanation for 3rd grade history.

Click here to view the results explanation for 6th and 7th grade history

Click to return to Top of page. 

 

Virginia Studies (Grade 4) and Civics and Economics (Grade 7)

Purpose of assessment: For the 20-21 school year only, students will demonstrate mastery of the standards, competencies, and objectives of the course through a process that consists of an evaluation of evidence including student’s responses to performance based assessments.

Grades Taking the assessment:  4, 7

Dates:  There are no specific dates for these assessments.  A variety of assessments will be given throughout the year and each performance assessment will likely cross multiple days.

What to expect during the assessment:  Performance based assessments are embedded in instruction.  Students may complete the assessments virtually or in person depending on the learning format they are participating in.  All students will participate in these assessments as they are embedded in instruction.

Practice links:  No practice as the assessment is part of instruction.  Teachers may expose students to performance assessments multiple times throughout the school year to support learning and growth.

What Does the Scores Mean:  The performance based assessments are scored using a 4 point rubric created by the VDOE.

Click here to view the results explanation of Virginia Studies.

Click to return to Top of page. 

 

8th Grade World Geography & 8th Grade English Language Arts Writing

Purpose of assessment: For the 2020-21 school year, students will demonstrate mastery of the standards, competencies, and objectives of these two courses through an integrated process that consists of an evaluation of evidence including student’s responses to performance assessment tasks. For Word Geography, the scores of two common performance based assessments will be used as part of this process.  One of those will be a common assessment delivered in conjunction with Grade 8 ELA.

Grades taking the assessment:  8

Dates: One of the common performance based assessments (in the format of a Document Based Question, or DBQ) will be delivered during the class period from March 8th to March 26th.  In their World Geography classes, students will be asked to complete the content-based document-analysis part of the DBQ process.  Following spring break, in their Grade 8 ELA classes, students will write essays on the DBQ topic.  Students will not be scored on their writing ability in as part of the Social Studies assessment.  Students will not be scored on their Social Studies content knowledge as part of the ELA assessment.The second World Geography common performance based assessment does not have a specific date or date range.  A variety of assessments will be incorporated throughout the year and each performance assessment will likely cross multiple days.

What to expect during the assessment:  Performance based assessments are embedded in instruction.  Students may complete the assessments virtually or in-person depending on the instructional delivery model in which they are participating.  All students will participate in these assessments as they are embedded in instruction.  The results of performance assessments will be one component used to confer a locally awarded verified credit in World Geography. Feedback about student’s ELA writing will also be provided.

Practice links:  No practice, as the assessment is part of instruction.  Teachers may expose students to performance assessments multiple times throughout the school year to support learning and growth.

What do the scores mean:  Both performance based assessments are scored using rubrics created by the VDOE Virginia Department of Education Scoring Rubric for English 8 Writing.

Click here to view the English results letter.

Click here to view the results explanation of World Geo

Click to return to Top of page. 

 

High School:  World Geography, World History I, World History II, VA/US History

Purpose of assessment: For the 20-21 school year, students will demonstrate mastery of the standards, competencies, and objectives of the course through a process that consists of an evaluation of evidence including student’s responses to performance assessment tasks.   The scores of two common performance based assessments will be used as part of this process.

Grades Taking the assessment:  Students in grades 9-12 that are taking World Geography, World History I, World History II, or VA/US History.

Dates: There are no specific dates for these assessments.  A variety of assessments will be given throughout the year and each performance assessment will likely cross multiple days.

What to expect during the assessment:  Performance based assessments are embedded in instruction.  Students may complete the assessments virtually or in person depending on the learning format they are participating in.  All students will participate in these assessments whether or not they need a verified credit as this assessment is embedded in instruction.  The results of performance assessments will be one component used to confer a locally awarded verified credit to those students who need one.

Practice links:  No practice as the assessment is part of instruction.  Teachers may expose students to performance assessments multiple times throughout the school year to support learning and growth.

What Does the Scores Mean:  The performance based assessments are scored using a 4 point rubric created by the VDOE.

Click here to view the results explanation for VA/US history

Click here to view the results explanation of World Geo, World History I and II

Click to return to Top of page. 

 

5th Grade English Language Arts Writing

Purpose of assessment: All 5th grade students are required by the Virginia Department of Education (VDOE) to participate in a local alternative assessment in the area of Writing. In order to complete this assessment, our APS students are asked to compose and submit a writing piece in response to a prompt selected by the school division.  This assessment allows us to determine how well your student is performing with writing at this moment in time. Students’ writing will be assessed formally in areas of composing and written expression, and usage and mechanics.

Grades Taking the assessment: 5

Dates: By April 23, 2021

What to expect during the assessment: This process is standardized across the school division for all 5th grade students, and this assessment will be completed during an English Language Arts block. The time required to complete the writing assignment should not take more than 90 minutes. Once the prompt is given to our students, they are expected to work independently to plan, compose, and type their piece, and then submit their writing to their assigned teacher. For our students who are in the full-distance learning environment, they will need to complete the assessment remotely without assistance.

Practice links:  No practice, as the assessment is part of instruction.  Teachers may expose students to performance assessments multiple times throughout the school year to support learning and growth.

What Does the Scores Mean: Your student’s writing piece will be scored by a team of teachers at each school, using a rubric provided by the VDOE.  APS will use those scores to help make program-related decisions regarding the areas of writing for future instructional support.

Click here to view the 5th Grade Writing PBA Assessment Score Explanation

Click to return to Top of page. 

 

3rd Grade Science

Purpose of assessment: Each year, students demonstrate mastery of the standards, competencies, and objectives of the course through a process that consists of an evaluation of evidence including student’s responses to performance based assessments. The focus of science in third grade is interactions in our world. Students continue to study forces and matter by learning about simple machines and by examining the interactions of materials in water. They also look at how plants and animals, including humans, are constantly interacting with the living and nonliving aspects of the environment. This includes examining how adaptations satisfy life needs of plants and the importance of water, soil, and the sun in the survival of plants and animals. Throughout the elementary years, students will develop scientific skills, supported by mathematics and computational thinking, as they learn science content. In third grade, students will develop more sophisticated skills in posing questions and predicting outcomes, planning and conducting simple investigations, collecting and analyzing data, constructing explanations, and communicating information about the natural world. Students begin to use the engineering design process to apply their scientific knowledge to solve problems.

Grades Taking the assessment:  3

Dates:  There are no specific dates for these assessments.  A variety of assessments will be given throughout the year and each performance assessment will likely cross multiple days.

What to expect during the assessment:  Performance based assessments are embedded in instruction.  Students may complete the assessments virtually or in person depending on the learning format they are participating in.  All students will participate in these assessments as they are embedded in instruction.

Practice links:  No practice as the assessment is part of instruction.  Teachers may expose students to performance assessments multiple times throughout the school year to support learning and growth.

What Does the Scores Mean:  The performance based assessments are scored using a rubric created by the VDOE.

Click to return to Top of page.