课程途径与建议

2022-2023 SY的MS数学放置:  

2022-2023 学年的数学安置将在 4 月的第一周完成并传达。 请注意,数学办公室将使用通过第 6 季度获得的数据来确定为即将升入 XNUMX 年级的学生提供的课程,并为所有学生提供安置建议 APS 将在 2022-2023 学年上中学的学生。 对于准备好在 6 年级学习紧凑课程的学生,我们计划为 6 年级学生提供预代数。 重要的是要注意,学生将获得所有中学数学课程的扩展,因为他们表现出准备。

COLOCACIÓN DE MATEMÁTICAS DE MS PARA EL AÑO 2022-2023: 

La colocación de matemáticas para el año escolar 2022-2023 se completará y comunicará durante la primea semana de Julio。 Tenga en cuenta que la Oficina de Matemáticas utilizará los datos adquiridos durante el cuarto triestre para determinar las ofertas de cursos para los estudiantes de sexto grado que ingresarán y para hacer recomendaciones de ubicación para todos los estudiantes de APS que estarán en la escuela intermedia durante el año escolar 2022-2023。 Para los estudiantes que están listos para un plan de estudios compacto en sexto grado, planamos ofrecer Preálgebra para estudiantes de sexto grado。 Es importante tener en cuenta que a los estudiantes se les ofrecerán extensiones en todas las ofertas de cursos de matemáticas de la escuela intermedia a medida que demuestren preparación。


中学课程途径为学生提供了更多的切入点,以加快课程设置,认识到学生以各种方式以不同的速度发展。 这些途径可确保所有学生都可以参加年级或更高水平的课程。 每年,都会根据与数学内容知识,数学推理和准备程度相关的各种数据点,对学生进行重新评估并推荐其下一门课程。


中学数学途径:

中学数学之路                                     中学数学之路西班牙语

高中数学途径                                        高中数学之路西班牙语


用于确定六年级数学课程推荐的评估

2016年,弗吉尼亚州教育局(VDOE)重新制定了数学标准,并于2018年秋季全面实施。该标准更加强调了过程目标,对数学的概念性理解以及解决问题的多种方法和设施。内容的多种表示形式。 VDOE还重新定义了代数准备:““代数准备”描述了到8年级幼儿园的数学学习标准的掌握和应用能力,包括学生的数学过程目标。”

每年六月,一个由经验丰富的数学教育者组成的小组开会,为正在升读的六年级学生确定数学课程建议。 小组考虑与学生的内容知识,推理能力和上课准备程度相关的多种措施。 该数据与当前小学工作人员的数学成绩评估等级一起考虑。 该建议将与年度最终成绩单共享,并提供有关如何联系中学工作人员以更详细地讨论该建议的信息。

内容–衡量学生对弗吉尼亚数学标准的知识程度

  • 弗吉尼亚州学习标准(SOL)4级和5级成绩

可以找到有关弗吉尼亚州数学和考试学习标准的其他信息 此处.

推理–衡量与学校学业成就相关的领域中学生的推理能力

  • 认知能力测验(CogAT)
    • 定量分数
    • 非语言分数

APS 每个学年向所有四年级学生管理CogAT。 该测试分为三个子测试:语言测试,非语言测试和定量测试。 对于数学放置建议,使用三个子测试分数中的两个。

每个孩子的基本站点的资优教师(RTG)可以提供有关CogAT的其他信息。 RTG按学校分类的联系信息可以在这里找到:  https://www.apsva.us/gifted-services/

准备就绪 –衡量学生是否准备学习不同的数学概念和技能的量度

  • 阿灵顿分层支持系统(ATSS)数学库存分位数*

*其中一项衡量标准是学生的分位数,由学校部门的通用筛选器“数学库存”确定。 这是一个简短的基于课堂的适应性评估,旨在评估学生的 准备就绪 学习不同的数学概念和技能。 团队使用分位数得分来帮助确定每个学生接下来准备解决的数学课程。

有关的其他信息 ATSS 可以在这里找到:  https://www.apsva.us/student-services/arlington-tiered-system-of-support-atss/

可以找到有关数学库存的其他信息 此处.

我们将推荐许多数学专业的学生参加数学6课程。这些学生将花费一年的时间学习数学6课程,以巩固扎实的数学基础(如新的2016年课程大纲所述),然后在第二年获得紧凑课程。 新的6年级标准包括以前在高级数学课程中讲授的内容。

推荐给数学6的学生可能会在7年级的紧凑课程中得到更好的服务。 七年级(7/7)入读8年级预代数的学生仍处在通往7年级强化代数和高中AP微积分BC的道路上。 还采取了一些措施,让学生在不上紧凑的课程(七年级学生的预代数(8/8))的情况下,上八年级的代数课程。


用于确定7年级和8年级数学课程建议的评估

每年六月,全县范围内的数学专家,教师,辅导员和管理人员组成的小组会面,以确定针对7年级和8年级学生的数学课程建议。 该团队考虑了多种措施,包括:

  • 弗吉尼亚学习标准(SOL)分数
    • 可以找到有关弗吉尼亚州数学和考试学习标准的其他信息 此处.
  • 阿灵顿分层支持系统(ATSS)数学库存分位数分数
  • 年级
  • 老师推荐

*其中一项衡量标准是学生的分位数,由学校部门的通用筛选器“数学库存”确定。 这是一个简短的基于课堂的适应性评估,旨在评估学生的 准备就绪 学习不同的数学概念和技能。 团队使用分位数得分来帮助确定每个学生接下来准备解决的数学课程。

有关的其他信息 ATSS 可以被找寻到 https://www.apsva.us/student-services/arlington-tiered-system-of-support-atss/

可以找到有关数学库存的其他信息 此处.

Course Pathways & Recommendations

MS MATH PLACEMENT FOR SY 2022-2023:  

Math Placement for the 2022-2023 school year will be completed and communicated during the first week of July.  Please note that the Math Office will use data acquired through Quarter 4 to determine course offerings for rising 6th graders and to make placement recommendations for all APS students who will be in middle school during the 2022-2023 school year.  For students who are ready for a compacted curriculum in 6th grade, we plan to offer Pre-Algebra for 6th graders.  It is important to note that students will be offered extensions in all middle school mathematics course offerings as they demonstrate readiness.

COLOCACIÓN DE MATEMÁTICAS DE MS PARA EL AÑO 2022-2023: 

La colocación de matemáticas para el año escolar 2022-2023 se completará y comunicará durante la primera semana de Julio.  Tenga en cuenta que la Oficina de Matemáticas utilizará los datos adquiridos durante el cuarto trimestre para determinar las ofertas de cursos para los estudiantes de sexto grado que ingresarán y para hacer recomendaciones de ubicación para todos los estudiantes de APS que estarán en la escuela intermedia durante el año escolar 2022-2023.  Para los estudiantes que están listos para un plan de estudios compacto en sexto grado, planeamos ofrecer Preálgebra para estudiantes de sexto grado.  Es importante tener en cuenta que a los estudiantes se les ofrecerán extensiones en todas las ofertas de cursos de matemáticas de la escuela intermedia a medida que demuestren preparación.


The secondary course pathways provide students with multiple entry points to more accelerated curriculum, recognizing that students develop in various ways at different rates. The pathways ensure all students have access to courses on or above grade level. Each year students are re-evaluated and recommended for their next course on the basis of variety of data points related to math content knowledge, mathematical reasoning, and readiness.


Secondary Math Pathways:

Middle School Math Pathways                                     Middle School Math Pathways SPANISH

High School Math Pathways                                        High School Math Pathways SPANISH


Assessments Used to Determine 6th Grade Math Course Recommendation

In 2016 the Virginia Department of Education (VDOE) redeveloped mathematics standards which were fully implemented in the Fall of 2018. There is a greater emphasis on the process goals, a conceptual understanding of mathematics, and multiple ways to problem solve as well as facility with multiple representations of content.  VDOE also redefined Algebra Readiness: ““Algebra readiness” describes the mastery of, and the ability to apply, the Mathematics Standards of Learning, including the Mathematical Process Goals for Students, for kindergarten through grade 8.”

Each June, a team of experienced math educators meets to determine mathematics course recommendations for rising sixth grade students.  The team considers multiple measures linked to students’ knowledge of content, reasoning ability, and readiness for instruction.  This data is considered in conjunction with the current math performance assessment rating from the elementary school staff.  The recommendation is shared with the final report card of the year along with information about how to contact the middle school staff to discuss the recommendation in greater detail.

Content – Measures of students’ content knowledge of Virginia’s Mathematics standards

  • Virginia Standards of Learning (SOL) Grade 4 & Grade 5 Scores

Additional information about the Virginia Standards of Learning for Mathematics  and testing can be found here.

Reasoning – Measures of students’ reasoning ability in the areas linked to academic success in school

  • Cognitive Abilities Test (CogAT)
    • Quantitative score
    • Nonverbal score

APS administers the CogAT to all fourth graders each school year.  The test is divided into three sub-tests:  Verbal, Non-Verbal, and Quantitative.  For math placement recommendations, two of the three sub-test scores are used.

The Resource Teacher for the Gifted (RTG) at each child’s elementary site can provide additional information about CogAT.  RTG contacts information by school can be found here:  https://www.apsva.us/gifted-services/

Readiness – Measure of students’ readiness to learn different math concepts and skills

  • Arlington Tiered System of Support (ATSS) Math Inventory Quantile score*

*One of the measures, the students’ Quantile score, is determined using the school division’s universal screener, Math Inventory.  It is a brief classroom-based adaptive assessment that is designed to evaluate students’ readiness to learn different math concepts and skills.  The team uses the Quantile score to help determine what mathematics course each student is ready to tackle next.

Additional information about ATSS can be found here:  https://www.apsva.us/student-services/arlington-tiered-system-of-support-atss/

Additional information about Math Inventory can be found here.

Many strong math students will be recommended for Math 6. These students will spend a year in Math 6 in order to gain a solid mathematics foundation, as outlined by the new 2016 curriculum, before potentially receiving a compacted curriculum the following year. The new grade 6 standards include content that was historically taught in higher level math courses.

Students recommended for Math 6 might be better served in a compacted curriculum in 7th grade.  Students who take Pre-Algebra for 7th Graders (7/8) in 7th grade are still on a pathway that can lead to Intensified Algebra in 8th grade and AP Calculus BC in high school. There are also measures in place for students to take Algebra in 8th grade without taking a compacted curriculum (Pre-Algebra for 7th Graders (7/8)) in 7th grade.


Assessments Used to Determine 7th & 8th Grade Math Course Recommendations

Each June, a countywide team of mathematics specialists, teachers, counselors, and administrators meet to determine mathematics course recommendations for rising 7th and 8th grade students.  The team considers multiple measures, including:

  • Virginia Standards of Learning (SOL) score
    • Additional information about the Virginia Standards of Learning for Mathematics  and testing can be found here.
  • Arlington Tiered System of Support (ATSS) Math Inventory Quantile scores
  • Grades
  • Teacher recommendation

*One of the measures, the students’ Quantile score, is determined using the school division’s universal screener, Math Inventory.  It is a brief classroom-based adaptive assessment that is designed to evaluate students’ readiness to learn different math concepts and skills.  The team uses the Quantile score to help determine what mathematics course each student is ready to tackle next.

Additional information about ATSS can be found https://www.apsva.us/student-services/arlington-tiered-system-of-support-atss/

Additional information about Math Inventory can be found here.