10-Year Renewable Licenses
Effective July 1, the Virginia Department of Education began issuing 10-year renewable licenses. No longer will five-year renewable licenses be issued. This change was in response to House Bill 1125 and Senate Bill 349 of the 2018 Virginia General Assembly. The statute does state that renewing 10-year licenses will be required to complete up to 360 professional points for renewal. A 10-year license will not be issued to individuals who renewed prior to July 1, 2018.
5-Year Renewable Licenses
Individuals currently holding a five-year license will meet the renewal criteria for that kind of license. That is, if you hold a five-year renewable license expiring in 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, or 2023, then you must collect 180 points for renewal as well as complete the statutory requirements like Child Abuse and Neglect Recognition, Dyslexia Awareness, etc. Teachers with the 5-year license will receive their 10-year license in their renewal year.
Elimination of Technology Standards for Instructional Personnel (TSIP)
Effective July 1, 2018, House Bill 1125 eliminates the TSIP as a requirement for initial licensure as well as renewal.
New fees for licensure
On November 15, 2018, the Virginia Board of Education approved the following revised Licensure Fee Schedule to become effective January 1, 2019. This is the first increase in licensure application fees since 1996. Requests received in the Office of Licensure on and after January 1, 2019, will be subject to this new fee schedule:
- INITIAL LICENSE APPLICATION FEE — In-state: $100; Out-of-state: $150
- SUPERINTENDENT LICENSE APPLICATION FEE — In-state: $200; Out-of-state: $300
- LICENSE RENEWAL — $50
- ADD/EVALUATE FOR AN ADDITIONAL ENDORSEMENT — $50
- OTHER ACTIONS ON LICENSES — $25 [Add a degree or duplicate/copy a license. Please note that there is no fee for a name change on a license. However, if a name change is the only request, a $25 fee for duplicating the license will be assessed.]