APS 新聞發布

校務委員會批准愛麗絲·韋斯特艦隊作為新小學的名稱

校務委員會批准愛麗絲·韋斯特艦隊作為新小學的名稱
員工介紹一對一設備計劃的最新信息

校董會批准了委員會關於在杰斐遜的新學校命名為愛麗絲·西艦隊小學的建議。 艦隊是阿靈頓的長期老師。 她是阿靈頓的第一位非裔美國人閱讀老師,也是全白人學校的第一位非裔美國人老師。 在阿靈頓的職業生涯中,她曾在霍夫曼波士頓,德魯,伍德蒙特和里德小學任教。 這所新學校計劃於2019年XNUMX月開業。 (網上).

Instructional staff presented an update on the one-to-one device initiative.教學人員介紹了一對一設備計劃的最新信息。 One of the many tools used by眾多使用的工具之一 APS 支持學習的教師包括為該計劃提供給學生的iPad和筆記本電腦,以確保所有學生平等獲得技術資源和擴大學習機會。 工作人員分享了指導委員會,社區會議和 Engage with APS 溝通以及與此計劃相關的未來行動步驟。 完整的演示文稿可在 董事會文件.

公開聽證會: 校務委員會舉行公開聽證會,以聽取有關針對高中生選拔課程提出的意見。 主管的建議是混合的,結合了教育中心站點和職業中心站點選項,以提供到1,300年所需的2022個額外的高中座位。關於建議的介紹以及高中選項的分析和評分是 在BoardDocs上可用。 學校董事會計劃在29月XNUMX日的下一次會議上就高中選址做出決定。

行動項目: 校務委員會批准了英語語言藝術,科學和社會研究方面的教學資源。 批准的資源清單是 可在線.

監控項目:

  • 學校設施和基本建設計劃諮詢委員會的年度報告: 工作人員提出了一個 響應年度報告 關於學校設施和基本建設計劃。 報告重點包括在Abingdon小學,McKinley小學,職業中心以及Jefferson和Wilson站點的新學校中確定增加1,300個高中座位的站點,高中邊界的調整以及基本建設項目。 未來的優先事項包括完成正在進行的建設項目以及與聯合設施諮詢委員會密切合作以規劃未來的設施。
  • 預算諮詢委員會的年度報告: 工作人員提出了一個 響應年度報告 from the Budget Advisory Council.來自預算諮詢委員會。 Key recommendations from the report include reviewing compensation to make sure報告中的主要建議包括審核薪酬以確保 APS 保持競爭力,監控一對一設備計劃的技術預算和相關成本,並確保高中站點的選擇具有成本效益,並精心管理建築成本。
  • 指導諮詢委員會的年度報告: 工作人員介紹了 年度報告 並對每個建議的操作項目做出回應。 諮詢委員會建議更改健康政策,禁止休會,在小學階段使用個性化設備並徵求家庭反饋,並在整個學校部門統一實施優待服務。 完整的演示文稿位於 董事會文件.
  • APS 3-5年行動計劃: 主管提供了關於 APS 3-5年計劃,其中包括今年已完成的與高中邊界,政策更新,Drew Visioning流程以及新的“ Engage”網站子網站相關的項目摘要。 他重點介紹了當前正在進行的工作,包括高中站點選項,K-12教學願景,資源採用和一對一設備計劃。 他列出了2017-18學年的參與領域,其中包括:
    • 編制關於期權和轉讓的秋季年度更新; 包括彩票和定義選項;
    • 制定《 2018-24年戰略計劃》;
    • 秋天的初中邊界過程;
    • 冬季/春季的基本邊界過程; 和
    • 制定2019-28年資本改善計劃。

信息項:

本地資優教育計劃: 工作人員簡要介紹了當地的優才服務計劃。 提出了更新以供篩選,轉診和鑑定; 服務選項建議; 差異化的課程和教學; 和專業發展。 29月XNUMX日,工作人員將返回以展示計劃評估的結果以及它如何告知和符合當地計劃。 

新校務委員會政策簡介: 工作人員提出了一項新政策, 25-3.11威脅評估小組,該小組遵守州的要求,並建立了評估和乾預學生行為的學生流程,這些行為可能會對學生和教職員工的安全構成威脅。 The policy components include establishment of an oversight threat assessment committee and threat assessment teams, provides expertise from both政策組成部分包括建立監督威脅評估委員會和威脅評估小組,同時提供這兩個方面的專業知識 APS 和縣資源,為擁有個人教育計劃或504計劃的學生提供專業知識,並提供有關每個威脅評估小組的定量數據。 

修訂校務委員會政策

  • 10-6.5學生諮詢委員會: 學生顧問委員會全年致力於對現有政策的擬議變更,並將具體細節轉移至“政策實施程序”。 這些變化擴大了學生顧問委員會的範圍,指定了每個年級的兩名高中學生代表,分別代表阿靈頓社區,新方向,蘭斯頓和職業中心。 該代表人數等於三所綜合中學中每所指定的學生代表人數。 此外,有關成員資格,董事會官員和程序的信息已得到擴展,以考慮高中入學人數的預期增長。
  • 25-1.8家庭教學: 工作人員提出了符合新的州要求的政策修訂案,以便利家庭指導兒童接受國家標準化測試。 該政策的“上訴”部分也已更新,以反映學校董事會正在使用的當前語言。
  • 30-2.2邊界: 該修訂政策的初稿已於1月XNUMX日提交給學校董事會。工作人員提出了一份修訂草案,以反映學校董事會和社區的反饋,以使該政策與其他政策更加一致。 APS 和學校董事會的信息,並澄清政策中的一些細節。
  • 選擇學校董事會關於非歧視的政策: 工作人員提議修訂學校董事會的一些非歧視政策。
    • 擴大了“人際關係”政策10-3,以包括更多保護措施,並消除其他政策所涵蓋的細節。
    • 建議使用政策25-1.15(學生平等教育機會/不歧視),以更名,並明確保護所有類別免受歧視和騷擾。 它還增加了一個定義部分,為學生投訴指定合規官,並解決投訴的補救措施。
    • 政策35-4.4“員工關係-平等就業機會”,刪除了與學生投訴相關的語言,添加了用於殘疾保護的語言,並為員工和申請人的投訴指定了合規官。
  • 25-3對學生的支持-健康: Staff proposed revisions that meet new requirements from the Virginia Department of Education, including physical activity and nutrition goals, a triennial assessment for all schools, and documentation requirements.工作人員提出了一些修訂建議,以滿足弗吉尼亞州教育部的新要求,包括體育鍛煉和營養目標,對所有學校的三年期評估以及文件要求。 The revisions also align with the這些修訂也與 APS 滿足整個孩子需求的戰略計劃目標。
  • 25-4.3 504年《康復法案》第1973條: 工作人員建議進行細微修訂,以符合《個人殘障法》。

校務委員會將在29月XNUMX日的會議上審議擬議的政策修訂,以供批准。 請社區在以下位置分享對這些建議修訂的反饋: 萬維網。aps價值/參與。 有關校務委員會政策的所有變更的建議修訂和完整詳細信息,也可在以下網址找到: 董事會文件.

施工合同授予

  • 甘斯頓中學的內部修改: 工作人員建議向Bennett Group,Inc.批准一筆金額為650,958美元的合同,以便在Gunston中學進行內部改建。 該項目將通過增加四個新教室來增加72個座位,其中兩個教室將由阿靈頓縣公園與休閒部共同共享。
  • 杰斐遜新小學的早期工作包1: 工作人員建議向Whiting-Turner批准金額為5,487,913美元的早期工作計劃。 該合同將確保學校建築的施工時間表使其能夠在2019年XNUMX月之前開放。

輸送 APS 泰勒小學到阿靈頓縣的財產
工作人員建議 APS 將位於泰勒小學校區的4.78英畝深坡森林地帶到阿靈頓縣,以擴大扎卡里·泰勒公園的面積。

長分支小學許可協議的第一修正案
工作人員要求學校董事會批准修改許可協議,以擴大可用於可重定位教室的縣級土地面積。 額外的空間將用於用一個較大的4教室可重定位結構代替兩個現有的可重定位單教室,該結構可以容納更多的學生入學。

認可: 會議的開始是Drew示範學校4年級和5年級合唱團的學生表演,最近在Busch Gardens舉行的音樂節上獲得了第一名。 演出結束後,校務委員會表彰了幾組學生的學術,藝術和運動成就:

  • 被選為全弗吉尼亞州榮譽合唱團,樂隊和管弦樂隊的學生;
  • 在拉丁語考試中獲得獎牌的學生; 和
  • 在Wakefield,Washington-Lee和Yorktown高中參加國家田徑比賽並參加比賽的學生。

欲獲得更多信息: 想要對學校董事會會議上討論的任何項目發表評論的公民,請通過以下方式向董事會發送電子郵件: 學校董事會@aps價值 or call 703-228-6015.或致電703-228-2400。 Citizens may call 70-41-XNUMX on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary.在校務委員會會議結束後的周一,公民可以撥打XNUMX-XNUMX-XNUMX收聽會議摘要。 School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel XNUMX and Verizon FiOS Channel XNUMX;在康卡斯特有線頻道XNUMX和Verizon FiOS頻道XNUMX上還直播學校董事會會議; live-streamed on the現場直播 APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 pm and Mondays at 7:30 pm immediately following the meeting.網站,並在會議結束後的周五晚上XNUMX點和周一晚上XNUMX:XNUMX重新廣播。 All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at會議的所有材料和會議記錄將發佈到以下網站: 萬維網。apsva.us/學校董事會 經校務委員會在隨後的會議上批准。

APS News Release

School Board Approves Alice West Fleet as Name for New Elementary School

School Board Approves Alice West Fleet as Name for New Elementary School
Staff Presents Update on One-to-One Device Initiative

The School Board approved the committee’s recommendation for the new school at Jefferson to be named Alice West Fleet Elementary School. Fleet was a long-time Arlington teacher. She was the first African-American reading teacher in Arlington and the first African-American teacher in an all-white school. During her career in Arlington, she taught at Hoffman-Boston, Drew, Woodmont and Reed elementary schools. The new school is slated to open in September 2019. The complete presentation is available online.

Instructional staff presented an update on the one-to-one device initiative. One of the many tools used by APS teachers to support learning includes the iPads and laptops provided to students as part of this initiative to ensure equal access to technology resources and extended learning opportunities for all students.  Staff shared community feedback from the Advisory Council on Instruction, community meetings, and Engage with APS communication as well as future action steps related to this initiative.  The full presentation is available on BoardDocs.

PUBLIC HEARING: The School Board held a public hearing to receive comments on the options presented for high school seats. The Superintendent’s recommendation is a hybrid, combining the Education Center site and the Career Center site options to provide 1,300 additional high school seats needed by 2022. A presentation about the recommendation along with the high school options analysis and ratings is available on BoardDocs. The School Board is scheduled to make a decision on a high school site option at the next meeting on June 29.

ACTION ITEM: The School Board approved instructional resources in English Language Arts, Science and Social Studies. The approved list of resources is available online.

MONITORING ITEMS:

  • Annual Report of the Advisory Council on School Facilities and Capital Programs: Staff presented a response to the Annual Report on School Facilities and the Capital Program. Report highlights include identification of sites for adding 1,300 high school seats, the high school boundary adjustments, and capital construction projects at Abingdon Elementary, McKinley Elementary, the Career Center, and new schools at the Jefferson and Wilson site. Future priorities include completion of ongoing construction projects and close collaboration with the Joint Facilities Advisory Commission to plan for future facilities.
  • Annual Report of the Budget Advisory Council: Staff presented a response to the Annual Report from the Budget Advisory Council. Key recommendations from the report include reviewing compensation to make sure APS remains competitive, monitoring the technology budget and related costs for the one-to-one device initiative, and ensuring high school site options are cost-effective and construction costs are carefully managed.
  • Annual Report of the Advisory Council on Instruction: Staff presented the Annual Report and response to each of the recommended action items. The Advisory Council recommended change to the wellness policy, withholding of recess, use of personalized devices at the elementary level and solicitation of feedback from families, and uniform implementation of gifted services throughout the school division. The full presentation is available in BoardDocs.
  • APS 3-5 Year Action Plan: The Superintendent provided a progress report on the APS 3-5 Year Plan, including a summary of projects that have been completed this year related to high school boundaries, policy updates, Drew Visioning process, and the new “Engage” web subsite. He highlighted current works in progress, including high school site options, K-12 instructional vision, resource adoption and the one-to-one device initiative. He laid out areas of engagement during the 2017-18 school year, which will include:
    • Developing the Fall Annual Update on options and transfers; including lotteries and defining options;
    • Developing the 2018-24 Strategic Plan;
    • Middle school boundary process in the fall;
    • Elementary boundary process in the winter/spring; and
    • Developing the 2019-28 Capital Improvement Plan.

INFORMATION ITEMS:

Local Plan for Education of the Gifted: Staff presented an overview of the local plan for gifted services. Updates were presented for screening, referral and identification; recommendations for service options; differentiated curriculum and instruction; and professional development. On June 29, staff will return to present the results of the program evaluation and how it informs and aligns with the local plan. 

Introduction of New School Board Policy: Staff proposed a new policy, 25-3.11 Threat Assessment Team, which adheres to state requirements and establishes a process for assessment and intervention with students whose behaviors may pose a threat to the safety of students and staff at school. The policy components include establishment of an oversight threat assessment committee and threat assessment teams, provides expertise from both APS and County resources, provides expertise with students who have an Individual Education Plan or 504 Plan, and provides quantitative data on each threat assessment team. 

Revision of School Board Policies

  • 10-6.5 Student Advisory Board: The Student Advisory Board worked throughout the year on proposed changes to the existing policy with specific details shifting to Policy Implementation Procedures. The changes expand the Student Advisory Board by designating two high school student representatives from each grade level for Arlington Community, New Directions, Langston, and the Career Center. This representation is equivalent to the number of student representatives designated from each of the three comprehensive high schools. Additionally, information pertaining to membership, Board officers and procedures has been expanded to factor in anticipated growth in high school enrollment.
  • 25-1.8 Home Instruction: Staff proposed policy revisions that meet a new state requirement to facilitate access for home instruction children to national standardized testing. The Appeals section of the policy is also updated to reflect the current language being used by the School Board.
  • 30-2.2 Boundaries: The first draft of this revised policy was presented to the School Board on June 1. Staff proposed a revised draft that reflects feedback from the School Board and the community, to make the policy more consistent with other APS and School Board messages and to clarify some details in the policy.
  • Select School Board Policies on Nondiscrimination: Staff proposed revisions for several School Board nondiscrimination policies.
    • Policy 10-3, Human Relations, is broadened to include more protections and eliminate details covered in other policies.
    • Policy 25-1.15, Student Equal Education Opportunities/Nondiscrimination, is a recommended name change and clarifies protection against discrimination and harassment on all protected classifications. It also adds a definition section, designates Compliance Officers for student complaints, and addresses remedies for complaints.
    • Policy 35-4.4, Employee Relations-Equal Employment Opportunity, removes language related to student complaints, adds language for disability protections, and designates Compliance Officers for staff and applicant complaints.
  • 25-3 Support for Students – Wellness: Staff proposed revisions that meet new requirements from the Virginia Department of Education, including physical activity and nutrition goals, a triennial assessment for all schools, and documentation requirements. The revisions also align with the APS strategic plan goal to meet the needs of the whole child.
  • 25-4.3 Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973: Staff proposed minor revisions that align with the Individual Disabilities Act.

The School Board will consider the proposed policy revisions for approval at the June 29 meeting.  The community is invited to share feedback on these proposed revisions at www.apsva.us/engage. The proposed revisions and full details about all changes to School Board policies are also available on BoardDocs.

Construction Contract Awards

  • Gunston Middle School Internal Modifications: Staff recommends the approval of a contract in the amount of $650,958 to Bennett Group, Inc. for internal modifications at Gunston Middle School. This project will increase capacity by 72 seats, through the addition of four new classrooms, two of which will be jointly shared by the Arlington County Department of Parks and Recreation.
  • Early Work Package 1 for the New Elementary School at Jefferson: Staff recommended the approval of an Early Work Package in the amount of $5,487,913 to Whiting-Turner. This contract will ensure that timeline for the construction of the school building allows it to open by September 2019.

Conveyance of APS Property at Taylor Elementary School to Arlington County
Staff proposed that APS convey 4.78 acres of deeply sloped, forested land located on Taylor Elementary School property to Arlington County, to expand the size of Zachary Taylor Park.

First Amendment to License Agreement for Long Branch Elementary School
Staff requested School Board approval to modify the license agreement in order to expand the area of County-owned land that can be used for relocatable classrooms. The additional space will be used to replace two existing single relocatable classrooms with one larger 4-classroom relocatable structure that can accommodate increased student enrollment at the school.

RECOGNITIONS: The meeting began with a student performance from the Drew Model School 4th and 5th Grade Choir, who recently earned first place at a music festival held at Busch Gardens. Following the performance, the School Board recognized several groups of students for their academic, artistic, and athletic achievements:

  • Students who were selected for the All Virginia Honors Chorus, Band, and Orchestra;
  • Students who earned medals on the Latin Exam; and
  • Students who competed and placed in state athletic events at Wakefield, Washington-Lee, and Yorktown High Schools.

FOR MORE INFORMATION: Citizens who want to comment on any of the items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.