星期一消息:2.8.21

星期一留言图片

 

 


晚上好! 这周 PRC 将共同赞助 NOVA之夜 明天(9月XNUMX日,星期二),而阿灵顿SEPTA将在 COVID时代的社会关系 on 星期四,二月11th 从7:00 – 8:30 pm.

    • 对于某些孩子来说,即使在平时,建立社交关系也可能是一个挑战,但COVID却使这一工作变得更加困难。 黛博拉·哈默(Deborah Hammer), APS 自闭症和低发病率残疾专家,治疗娱乐主管,April Rosenthal,治疗娱乐团队将与SEPTA一起讨论他们如何努力实现针对不同年龄段的入学和出校儿童的社会情感目标。 他们将深入研究有效的方法和无效的方法,并提出与社交技能保持距离的想法。

本月的 阿灵顿特殊教育咨询委员会(ASEAC)会议 主持人将与FranciscoDurán博士进行聊天,下面提供了详细的议程。

祝您度过愉快的一周,请保持联系! 我们的电话是703.228.7239或 prc@apsva.us。


新资源徽标

XNUMX月是低视力意识月
弱视影响了数百万美国人,其中包括许多上学的学生。 视力低下会影响学生的学习经历的许多领域,包括阅读。 视力低下的学生可以通过多种方式阅读书籍并变得更加独立。 AIM-VA可以通过提供大字体,音频(文本到语音)和数字文本的书籍来提供帮助。 更多信息

 

二月是黑人历史月
全国家庭,学校和社区参与协会(NAFSCE)为家庭共享了以下资源:


APS 家长学院
热带地区的 APS 家长学院 该网站为家庭提供各种资源。 今日亮点– 技术支持 有关详细信息,请查看此页面。 包括:

    • 改善iPad在家里的功能的提示
    • 远程学习期间的有效父母参与
    • 访问 APS 技术支持网站–重点介绍可用于支持学生的资源和教程
    • 运用 Canvas
    • 使用跷跷板

活动预告图片

 

 

新星之夜/诺瓦诺瓦
英语课程:9月7日– 00:9 pm – 00:XNUMX pm –在此处注册
西班牙语会议:24月7日– 00:9 pm – 00:XNUMX pm –Regístreseenlínea
每年,NOVA代表与阿灵顿公立学校一起合作举办“ NOVA Night”。 这项活动对学生和家长来说非常有用,他们可以了解NOVA的服务和机会!加入我们以了解以下主题的更多信息,并深入讨论NOVA的残障支持服务及其申请过程。这些服务。

  • NOVA简介
  • 双重注册
  • 财政援助
  • 学士学位的途径
  • 第一年建议
  • 转移选项
  • 体育与学生生活
  • 伤残支援服务

查看英语NOVA Night 2021传单
查看西班牙语Noche de NOVA 2021飞行器


阿灵顿SEPTA月度会议
COVID时代的社会关系
11月7日,星期四:00:8 – 30:XNUMX pm
通过Zoom在线研讨会在线
在这里注册
所有SEPTA会议均向所有人开放。 加入该讨论不需要成员资格。
在下午7:00至7:30进行PTA工作后,请加入Arlington SEPTA进行有关在我们需要远离社交时建立社交联系的讨论。 对于某些孩子来说,即使在平时,建立社交关系也可能是一个挑战,但COVID却使这一工作变得更加困难。
APS 自闭症专家黛博拉·哈默(Deborah Hammer),治疗娱乐主管April Rosenthal和治疗娱乐小组将与SEPTA一起讨论他们如何努力针对学校内外不同年龄段的发展性社会情感目标。 他们将深入研究有效的方法和无效的方法,并提出与社交技能保持距离的想法。 更多信息


了解过渡服务: 什么是医疗补助豁免?
17月7日,星期三:00:9 pm-00:XNUMXpm
在这里注册
阿灵顿公立学校过渡服务,家长资源中心和就业准备计划(PEP)继续赞助每月的过渡系列。 本月将举办一个会议 医疗补助豁免由北弗吉尼亚弧区宣传总监露西·比德内尔(Lucy Beadnell)演示。 医疗补助豁免为残障人士提供各种支持,使他们能够生活和获取社区资源。 在本演讲中,Beadnell女士将回顾医疗补助豁免的基本知识,包括:

  • 豁免真正提供了什么
  • 申请资格
  • 产品应用领域
  • 等待名单

有关更多信息,请联系703-228-2136的Kelly Mountain或703-228-5738的Christina Eagle。


阿灵顿特殊教育咨询委员会(ASEAC)会议
23月7日,星期二:00:9pm – 00:XNUMX pm
虚拟会议–通过Zoom
在这里注册 –缩放会议链接将发送给在会议之前注册的人。
请注意,本次会议的商务部分将通过Zoom进行记录。
议程:
7:00 – 7:20 pm欢迎,会员介绍和公众评论
下午7:20 – 7:30特殊教育办公室(OSE)更新和对2021年XNUMX月的评论的回应
7:30 – 7:40 pm OSE关于远程学习备忘录的评论
7:40 – 8:20 pm院长与杜兰博士聊天
晚上8:20 – 8:30 ASEAC更新
在每次会议开始时,ASEAC欢迎公众对残疾学生的需求发表评论。 APS。 请参阅ASEAC公共评论指南,网址为: https://www.apsva.us/special-education-advisory-committee 有关提交公众意见的信息。 任何需要口译服务的人员和/或需要口译服务的残障人士都应致电703.228.7239与家长资源中心联系,或 prc@aps价值 尽快请求协助。 还可以在注册表格中请求服务。


阿灵顿县活动


家长支持小组
每周与社区中的其他父母一起分享经验并了解与您的家庭有关的主题。 每周都会讨论一个不同的主题,涵盖范围广泛,包括互联网安全,儿童时间管理,与COVID相关的悲伤和迷茫,如何驾驭学校IEP流程,积极表扬和行为管理。 来支持其他父母,分享您的成功,并寻求支持。 请将任何问题发送至cmarketti@arlingtonva.us

由阿灵顿儿童和家庭服务的临床工作人员主持


社区网络研讨会/虚拟学习机会和会议*
*以下包含的事件是共享的,仅供参考。列出的内容可能并不包含所有可用的社区学习机会,并且所包含的机会并不反映阿灵顿公立学校的认可。


  • CHADD活动
    行为疗法技术:多动症儿童的金标准治疗
    9月7日,星期二:8pm – 30:XNUMX pm通过Zoom
    在这里注册
    加入持牌心理学家和董事会认证的行为分析师Teri Brooks博士,以了解一些特定的行为疗法技术,您可以立即将其与孩子一起使用,以帮助应对具有挑战性的行为。 这些行之有效的有效技术可以帮助您的孩子发展与执行功能和情绪调节有关的关键技能,而这些正是大多数多动症儿童真正挣扎的领域。 Brooks将提供具体的解决方案,以激发您的孩子独立或及时地做他们需要做的事情(例如家务,家庭作业和自我护理任务)。 她还将提供一种方法,您可以用来教您的孩子如何应对愤怒,沮丧和焦虑之类的困难情绪,而无需诉诸言语或身体上的爆发。
  • 咨询专家:一个人患有多动症时,双方都能找到更多的幸福
    10月7日,星期三:00:XNUMXpm
    在这里注册
    这将被记录。 在广播后24-48小时内注册的链接将被告知。
    一个伴侣患有多动症的夫妻通常与其他夫妻有相同的挣扎,但是perhaps 更频繁,更激烈。 他们常常陷入追赶状态,非ADHD伙伴感觉到功能过度的负担,而ADHD伙伴却常常感觉自己无法正确处理。 通过帮助双方更有效地谈判分歧,打破这场令人沮丧的拔河比赛至关重要。
    我们将讨论如何帮助夫妻在平衡关系变化某些方面的需求的同时平衡接受仍然存在的差异的过程。

由NoVADC CHADD赞助


弗吉尼亚联邦大学自闭症卓越中心(VCU-ACE)午餐和学习系列

  • 午餐和学习:自闭症和黑人家庭11年2021月12日时间:美国东部时间00:1 – 00:XNUMX pm 放大注册
  • 午餐和学习:频谱上的女性–性别之旅18年2021月12日时间:美国东部时间00:1 – 00:XNUMX pm 放大注册
  • 午餐和学习:自闭症谱系障碍学生继续在弗吉尼亚州公立学校中采用积极的远程教育实践方法,时间为25年2021月12日,美国东部时间00:1 – 00:XNUMX pm 放大注册

PEATC即将举行的活动–弗吉尼亚州的家长教育和倡导培训中心

  • 幼儿学院课程于16年21月2021日至XNUMX月XNUMX日开放
    在这里注册
  • 过渡大学:免费的,家长友好型,为期5周的自定进度的在线过渡课程
    2021年冬季:6月26日至XNUMX月XNUMX日–  在这里注册
  • 2021家庭参与研讨会
    三月6日, 2021年
    在这里注册
    PEATC与弗吉尼亚州教育部合作,很高兴地宣布2021年家庭参与研讨会“我们一起赢,学生们飞涨”。 今年的研讨会将继续开展 synergy 并为所有学龄儿童(12年级以下)的父母和照顾者提供强有力的支持系统,尤其是接受特殊教育服务的儿童,新的和经验丰富的教育者,管理人员,Title 1协调员以及围绕社区合作的真正合作伙伴,以确保学生成功。 2021年虚拟家庭参与研讨会是连接虚拟学习和专业学习的一天。 今年的峰会将有几个现场,互动和引人入胜的演讲,特别着重于提高弗吉尼亚州服务欠佳的家庭的参与度。 举世闻名的演讲者将为与会者带来具体,创新的策略和方法,以帮助家庭和学校改变彼此互动的方式,以确保所有学生都在飞跃。
    这项活动将于6年2021月9日上午XNUMX点开始。 当天将颁发多个参与者抽奖奖品。
    研讨会的录制版本将于8月22日至XNUMX月XNUMX日提供给注册人。
  • 行为峰会
    五月19日, 2021
    注册将于15月XNUMX日开始
    PEATC与弗吉尼亚州教育部合作,很高兴地宣布了针对居住在弗吉尼亚州的残疾儿童家庭的2021年行为峰会。 这个 混合 该活动将为父母和感兴趣的专业人士提供相关的最新信息。 参与者将基本了解行为科学,数据在评估行为中的重要性以及制定解决行为的策略。 有关功能行为评估,行为干预计划,行为与社交技能之间的关系以及针对公立学校的新的隔离与约束规定的演讲将使PEATC的首届行为峰会圆满结束。 五月19日, 2021 并保持开放直到 22年2021月XNUMX日,会有一个 19日的现场问答环节。 您将能够与行为专家互动,提出问题并立即获得反馈。 对于在19年2021月XNUMX日播出日期之后将要观看峰会的人,将记录问答。
  • 皮特乳胶
    • 弗吉尼亚伙伴西班牙| 17-2021:1 PM,30 de Febrero: Reuniónmensual de“ Virginia Partners enEspañol”。 弗吉尼亚州拉拉丁克斯市的一个红色的creada para profesionales trabajando al servicio。 发生在实际活动中的机会,无论是实际的还是普通的受益人,都应在拉丁美洲的共同国家中受益。
    • 帕德雷斯街聊天室: Unete nuestro nuevo WhatsApp的聊天室 和PEATC Latino esta haciendo。 Entra al GRUPO: https://bit.ly/2VoU2vw
    • 24年2021月10日| 00:XNUMX AM  La Cumbre虚拟西班牙拉丁语,在西班牙拉丁语和西班牙语之间的竞争关系,在拉丁美洲拉丁语和弗吉尼亚州的服务条款上有所作为。 专门从事家庭教育和专业教育的人,在多元化的企业中,在发展中的文化和职业机会中,在以特殊的方式学习英语。 注册HOY
  • 军事外展*仅适用于军事联系家庭*

NAMI(全国心理疾病联盟)阿灵顿父母支持小组
现在进行虚拟会议

请联系mczero@yahoo.com进行注册。

这些群体适合父母的孩子正在经历精神疾病症状的父母,包括:抑郁症,焦虑症,进食障碍,情绪障碍等。 无需诊断即可参与。 参与者有机会分享他们关于社区和学校资源的故事,经验支持和小组成员的指导(根据需要)。 尊重保密性。
学龄儿童和青少年(PK-12)
星期日晚上7点至8点30分
二月21
青少年和年轻人:第三个星期日3-1pm
有问题吗? 联系:

  • PK-12:Michelle Best(mczero@yahoo.com)
  • 成人:Naomi Verdugo(verdugo.naomi@gmail.com)
  • 两者:Alisa Cowen(acowen@cowendesigngroup.com)

Monday Message: 2.8.21

Monday Message image

 

 


Good evening! This week, the PRC will co-sponsor NOVA Night tomorrow (Tuesday, February 9th), and Arlington SEPTA will feature a presentation on Social Connection in the Age of COVID on Thursday, February 11th from 7:00 – 8:30 p.m.

    • For some children, making social connections can be a challenge even in normal times, but COVID has made this even more difficult. Deborah Hammer, APS Autism and Low Incidence Disability Specialist,  April Rosenthal, Therapeutic Recreation Supervisor, and the Therapeutic Recreation Team will join SEPTA to discuss how they are working to target developmental social-emotional goals with different age groups both in and out of school. They will dive into what has worked and what has not worked, and generate ideas for working on social skills while staying socially distant.

This month’s Arlington Special Education Advisory Committee (ASEAC) Meeting will feature a Superintendent Chat with Dr. Francisco Durán, A detailed agenda is provided below.

Have a great week, and please keep in touch! We can be reached at 703.228.7239 or prc@apsva.us.


New resources logo

February is Low Vision Awareness Month
Low vision affects millions of Americans, including many students attending school. Low vision can impact many areas of a student’s educational experience including reading. There are many ways that students with low vision can access books and be more independent. AIM-VA can help by providing books in large print, audio (text to speech) and digital text. Read more

 

February is Black History Month
The National Association for Family, School and Community Engagement (NAFSCE) has shared the following resources for families:


APS Parent Academy
The APS Parent Academy site features a variety of resources for families. Today’s highlight – the Technology Support page which includes:

    • Tips to make your iPad function better at home
    • Effective Parent Involvement During Distance LearningT
    • Accessing the APS Technical Support Website – highlights resources and tutorials available to support students
    • Using Canvas
    • Using Seesaw

Upcoming Events image

 

 

NOVA Night/Noche de NOVA
English Session: February 9th – 7:00pm – 9:00pm – Register here
Spanish Session: February 24 – 7:00pm – 9:00pm – Regístrese en línea
Each year, NOVA representatives and Arlington Public Schools partner together for “NOVA Night”. This event has been extremely helpful for students and parents to learn about the services and opportunities at NOVA!Join us to learn more about the topics listed below, as well as an in-depth discussion about disability support services at NOVA and the application process for those services.

  • A brief introduction to NOVA
  • Dual Enrollment
  • Financial Aid
  • Pathways to Baccalaureate
  • First-Year Advising
  • Transfer Options
  • Sports and Student Life
  • Disability Support Services

View English language NOVA Night 2021 flier
View Spanish language Noche de NOVA 2021 flier


Arlington SEPTA’s Monthly Meeting
Social Connection in the Age of COVID
Thursday, February 11th: 7:00 – 8:30 p.m.
Online via Zoom Webinar
Register here
All SEPTA meetings are open to everyone. Membership is not needed to join the discussion.
Following PTA business from 7:00-7:30 p.m., join Arlington SEPTA for a discussion about making social connections when we need to be socially distant. For some children, making social connections can be a challenge even in normal times, but COVID has made this even more difficult.
APS Autism Specialist Deborah Hammer, Therapeutic Recreation Supervisor April Rosenthal and the Therapeutic Recreation Team will join SEPTA to discuss how they are working to target developmental social-emotional goals with different age groups both in and out of school. They will dive into what has worked and what has not worked, and generate ideas for working on social skills while staying socially distant. Read more


Understanding Transition Services: What are Medicaid Waivers?
Wednesday, February 17th: 7:00pm-9:00pm
Register here
Arlington Public Schools Transition Services, Parent Resource Center and Program for Employment Preparedness (PEP) are continuing to sponsor a monthly Transition Series. This month will feature a session on Medicaid Waivers, presented by Lucy Beadnell, Director of Advocacy for the Arc of Northern Virginia. Medicaid Waivers provide a wide variety of supports to people with developmental disabilities to live and access resources in their community. During this presentation, Ms. Beadnell will review the basics of Medicaid Waivers, including:

  • What a Waiver really offers
  • Eligibility
  • Application
  • Waiting lists

For further information, contact Kelly Mountain at 703-228-2136 or Christina Eagle at 703-228-5738.


Arlington Special Education Advisory Committee (ASEAC) Meeting
Tuesday, February 23rd: 7:00pm – 9:00pm
Virtual Meeting –  via Zoom
Register Here – The Zoom meeting link will be sent to those registered prior to the meeting.
Please note that the business portion of this meeting will be recorded through Zoom.
Agenda:
7:00 – 7:20 pm  Welcome, Member Introductions and Public Comments
7:20 – 7:30 pm  Office of Special Education (OSE) Updates and Response to January 2021 Public Comments
7:30 – 7:40 pm  OSE Comments on Distance Learning Memo
7:40 – 8:20 pm  Superintendent Chat with Dr. Durán
8:20 – 8:30 pm  ASEAC Updates
At the beginning of each meeting, ASEAC welcomes comments from the public regarding the needs of students with disabilities in APS. See the ASEAC Public Comment Guidelines at https://www.apsva.us/special-education-advisory-committee for information about submitting public comments. Any person who would like an interpreter and/or any person with a disability who needs accommodation to access the meeting should contact the Parent Resource Center at 703.228.7239 or prc@apsva.us as soon as possible to request assistance. There is also an option to request services in the registration form.


ARLINGTON COUNTY EVENTS


Parent Support Group
Join other parents in your community to share experiences and learn about topics relevant to your family each week. Each week a different topic will be discussed, covering a broad range including Internet Safety, Time Management for kids, COVID related grief and loss, How to navigate the school IEP process, Positive Praise and Behavior Management. Come support other parents and share your successes and lean in for support. Send any questions to cmarketti@arlingtonva.us

Hosted by Arlington Child and Family Services’ clinical staff


COMMUNITY WEBINARS/VIRTUAL LEARNING OPPORTUNITIES and MEETINGS*
*The events included below are shared for informational purposes, and listing may not be inclusive of all available community learning opportunities and inclusion of opportunities does not reflect endorsement by Arlington Public Schools.


  • CHADD Events
    Behavior Therapy Techniques: The Gold Standard Treatment for Children with ADHD
    Tuesday, February 9th: 7pm – 8:30pm Via Zoom
    Register here
    Join licensed psychologist and Board-Certified Behavior Analyst, Dr. Teri Brooks, to learn some specific behavior therapy techniques that you can use right away with your child to help manage challenging behaviors. These proven, effective techniques can support your child’s development of critical skills related to executive functioning and emotional regulation – areas where most children with ADHD really struggle.Dr. Brooks will provide concrete solutions for inspiring your child to do the things they need to do (like chores, homework, and self-care tasks) independently or in a timely manner. She will also offer an approach that you can use to teach your child how to cope with difficult emotions such as anger, frustration, and anxiety – without resorting to verbal or physical outbursts.
  • Ask the Expert: Finding More Happiness for Both Partners When One Person has ADHD
    Wednesday, February 10th: 7:00pm
    Register here
    THIS WILL BE RECORDED. A LINK WILL BE EMAILED TO THOSE WHO HAVE REGISTERED 24-48 HOURS AFTER THE BROADCAST.
    Couples where one partner has ADHD typically have the same struggles as other couples, but perhaps more frequently and more intensely. They often fall into a chase dynamic with the non-ADHD partner feeling the burden of over-functioning and the ADHD partner feeling too often like they cannot get it right. It is crucial to break this disheartening tug of war by helping both partners to negotiate disagreements more effectively.
    We will discuss how to help couples navigate this process of balancing the need for some aspects of the relationship to change while also accepting the differences that remain.

Sponsored by NoVADC CHADD


Virginia Commonwealth University Autism Center for Excellence (VCU-ACE) Lunch and Learn Series

  • Lunch and Learn: Autism and the Black FamilyFebruary 11, 2021Time: 12:00 – 1:00 pm ET Register on Zoom
  • Lunch and Learn: Women on the Spectrum – The Gender Voyage February 18, 2021Time: 12:00 – 1:00 pm ET Register on Zoom
  • Lunch and Learn: Continuing to Lead the Way in Virginia Public Schools with Positive Practices in Distance Learning for Students with Autism Spectrum DisorderFebruary 25, 2021Time: 12:00 – 1:00 pm ET Register on Zoom

Upcoming Events from PEATC – Virginia’s Parent Education and Advocacy Training Center

  • Early Childhood Academy Course open from January 16 – February 21, 2021
    Register here
  • TRANSITION UNIVERSITY: A free, parent-friendly 5-week self-paced online transition course
    Winter 2021: February 6 to March 26 –  Register here
  • 2021 Family Engagement Symposium
    March 6, 2021
    Register Here
    PEATC, in collaboration with the Virginia Department of Education, is pleased to announce the 2021 Family Engagement Symposium entitled “Together We Win and Students Soar“. This year’s Symposium will continue to create synergy and robust systems of support for all parents and caregivers of school-aged children (PreK-12th grade), especially children receiving special education services, new and experienced educators, administrators, Title 1 coordinators and community partners around authentic collaborative engagement for student success.The 2021 Virtual Family Engagement Symposium is a day of connecting virtually and professional learning. This year’s Summit will feature several live, interactive and engaging presentations, with a special emphasis on building engagement for underserved families in Virginia. Nationally known speakers will bring attendees concrete, innovative strategies and methods to help families and schools change the trajectory of how they engage one another to ensure ALL students soar.
    This event will take place on March 6, 2021 beginning at 9am. Several attendee raffle prizes will be awarded throughout that day.
    A recorded version of the Symposium will be available to registrants from March 8th – March 22nd.
  • Behavior Summit
    May 19, 2021
    Registration opens on March 15th
    PEATC, in collaboration with the Virginia Department of Education, is pleased to announce the 2021 Behavior Summit for families of children with disabilities that live here in Virginia. This hybrid event will provide relevant and up-to-date information to parents and interested professionals. Participants will gain a basic understanding of the science of behavior, the importance of data in evaluating behavior, and developing strategies to address it. Presentations on Functional Behavioral Assessments, Behavior Intervention Plans, the relationship between behavior and social skills, and the new seclusion and restraint regulations for public schools will round out PEATC’s first Behavior Summit.Although the majority of this event will take place virtually and open on May 19, 2021 and remain open until May 22. 2021, there will be one LIVE Q&A session on the 19th. You will be able to engage with experts on behavior, ask questions, and receive immediate feedback. The Q&A will be recorded for those who will be viewing the summit after May 19, 2021 air date.
  • PEATC LATINX
    • Virginia Partners en Español | 17 de Febrero, 2021-1:30 PM: Reunión mensual de “Virginia Partners en Español.” Una red creada para profesionales trabajando al servicio de la comunidad Latinx en el estado de Virginia. Una oportunidad para compartir eventos, actualizaciones y cualquier información esencial que pueda beneficiar a nuestra comunidad Latina en todo el estado.
    • Grupo de Chat para Padres: Unete a nuestro nuevo GRUPO DE CHAT mediante la aplicación de WhatsApp y podras mantenerte al tanto de todo lo que PEATC Latino esta haciendo. Entra al GRUPO: https://bit.ly/2VoU2vw
    • ABRIL 24, 2021 | 10:00 AM  La Cumbre VIRTUAL de Alcance Latinx, se creó para brindar un espacio seguro de discusión y acción para crear mejores condiciones para la comunidad Latinx a la que servimos en todo el estado de Virginia. Esta cumbre que reunirá a familias y profesionales para una mejor comprensión de la Educación Especial, la diversidad, la cultura y la oportunidad de aprender sobre los desafíos específicos que enfrenta nuestra comunidad. REGISTRATE HOY
  • Military Outreach*For Military connected families ONLY*

NAMI (National Alliance on Mental Illness) Arlington Parent Support Groups
Now Meeting Virtually

Contact mczero@yahoo.com to register.

These groups are geared to parents whose child is experiencing symptoms of a mental illness, including: depression, anxiety, eating disorders, mood disorders and more. No diagnosis is required to participate. Participants are given the opportunity to share their story, experience support, and glean guidance (as desired) from group members regarding both community and school resources. Confidentiality is respected.
School Age Students and Teens (PK-12)
Sundays 7pm-8:30pm
February 21
Older Teen and Young Adults: 3rd Sunday 1-3pm
Questions??  Contact:

  • PK-12: Michelle Best (mczero@yahoo.com)
  • Adults: Naomi Verdugo (verdugo.naomi@gmail.com)
  • Both: Alisa Cowen (acowen@cowendesigngroup.com)