APS 新聞發布

APS 宣布虛擬暑期學習產品

更新15年2020月XNUMX日

暑期遠程學習課程於20月14日至XNUMX月XNUMX日開始
註冊從15月30日至XNUMX月XNUMX日開始

由於北維吉尼亞州延長了在家住宿的時間,阿靈頓公立學校將在今年夏天通過遠程學習提供暑期學習計劃和資源。 很遺憾,我們無法提供傳統的面對面暑期學校課程; 但是,由於國家的指導,很難為學生和教職員工完全或符合社會疏遠要求佔用建築物的模型做準備。

APS 針對中小學生的暑期遠程學習課程於20月14日開始,於XNUMX月XNUMX日結束。暑期學習機會包括:

中學生在線暑期課程(6-12年級) 
APS 將為6-12年級的學生提供在線中學暑期強化計劃和精選的新工作社會研究班(請參閱下面的課程清單)。 該計劃旨在為最終成績為“ D”或“ E”且無法持續入學的學生提供有針對性的干預和支持 Canvas 在四月,五月或六月。

虛擬課程

  • 6-11年級的學生將參加 APS-創建了虛擬課程以進行化妝和強化。
  • 學生將有資格獲得本地授予的認證學分(LAVC)。
  • 學分課程可用的新作品包括:
    • 經濟和個人理財(EPF);
    • 美國/弗吉尼亞州歷史; 和
    • 美國/弗吉尼亞州政府。
  • 希望參加除通過以下課程提供的社會研究課程以外的虛擬課程的學生 APS 應該與他們的顧問聯繫,討論通過虛擬弗吉尼亞州和已批准的虛擬弗吉尼亞州課程提供的可能性。

新增15月XNUMX日:根據1年WIDA ELL入學要求,目前英語水平為2或2020的初中和高中英語學習者可以免費參加暑期學校。 該課程將為英語學習者提供英語語言發展,重點是閱讀,寫作,口語和聽力。 該模型將包括同步和異步組件。

社交情緒支持
在夏季在線學習課程中,優先考慮滿足學生的社會情感需求。 APS 將每週提供社交情感學習視頻。 社會工作者,輔導員和雙語家庭聯絡員將為學生提供支持。 

夏季基礎學習資源(K-5年級) 
APS 已經調整了暑期學習計劃,以確保在關閉之前被確定為暑期學校的每個小學生都可以訪問在線資源以及基於學校的教學和社會情感支持。

APS 將為小學生在夏季繼續學習提供資源和支持。 以前確定要加強暑假的所有學生將可以參加自適應數學和掃盲計劃,並可以通過定期值機和開放辦公時間獲得學校教學人員的支持。

先前為暑期學校確定的所有K-2小學生如果無法使用設備,都將獲得設備和連接性,以便他們能夠完全使用自適應數字學習程序。

基本的在線和遠程學習資源

  • 新的“在家與 APS”視頻重點介紹了各個年級等級(即PreK / 1、2 / 3和4/5)的計算和識字技能。 這些視頻的內容將得到擴展,以適應PreK 5年級。還將提供針對社交情感學習的新視頻。
  • 3-5年級的學生可以使用自適應數字學習程序,例如DreamBox和Raz-Kids,這些程序可以讓學生繼續發展數學和識字技能。 這些數字學習計劃也將提供給K-2年級的學生,這些學生以前被確定為閱讀和數學年級以下的一年; 是英語學習者; 和/或正在接受特殊教育服務的學生。
  • 可以通過定期值機和開放辦公時間獲得學校提供的教學支持。 社會工作者,輔導員和雙語家庭聯絡員將在夏季為學生提供支持,以在需要時為家庭提供幫助。

特殊教育
在中學階段,特殊教育老師將與課堂老師合作,以確保有特殊需求的學生得到住宿和支持,以確保他們獲得入學機會。 在此期間 APS 暑期學習會, APS 還將為所有符合條件的學生提供虛擬的擴展學年(ESY)服務。 (注意:Barcroft的虛擬ESY服務將於6月31日至XNUMX月XNUMX日進行)

APS 將提供各種虛擬ESY服務,包括直接和間接服務。 案例攜帶者將與家人聯繫,安排一次IEP會議,討論ESY。 在這次會議期間,IEP團隊將確定ESY目標; 確定將虛擬提供的服務; 並修改學生的IEP,以反映新的服務日期以及IEP團隊同意的ESY對ESY服務的任何修改。

報名費
次要
中學生將收到郵件通知,並可以使用Google表格進行註冊,該表格可通過 APS 網站,並通過15月350日的學校講座進行了交流。對於需要參加夏季強化課程的學生來說,沒有任何費用。 在停課前註冊並為加強課程付費的學生將獲得全額退款。 新工作課程的費用已增加到$ 300。 以前支付$ XNUMX的學生將被收取差額費用。

今年夏天將不提供針對新工作課程的退款(請參見上面的課程清單); 註冊並支付了已取消的面對面課程或其他新工作課程的學生,將獲得全額退款。

初級
以前被確認需要放暑假的小學生家長將收到郵件通知。 APS will automatically register these students.將自動註冊這些學生。 Families will be able to opt out if they do not want to participate.如果家人不想參加,他們將可以選擇退出。 Directions on how to opt out will be provided at a later date.有關如何選擇退出的說明將在以後提供。 

附加信息和資源
將為家庭提供一條熱線電話,以獲取社會情感支持以及技術支持。 常見問題網頁將提供附加信息。

APS News Release

APS Announces Virtual Summer Learning Offerings

Summer Distance Learning Session Begins July 20 through August 14
Registration Begins June 15 through June 30

Due to the extended stay-at-home order for Northern Virginia, Arlington Public Schools will provide summer learning programs and resources through distance learning this summer. We regret that we are unable to provide the traditional in-person summer school program; however, guidance from the state makes it difficult to prepare for a model in which students and staff would occupy buildings fully or in compliance with social distancing requirements.

The APS Summer Distance Learning Session for secondary and elementary students begins July 20 and concludes on August 14. Summer learning opportunities include:

Online Summer Program for Secondary Students (Grades 6-12) 
APS will provide an online secondary summer strengthening program and selected new work social studies classes (see course list below) for students in grades 6-12. The program is designed to provide targeted intervention and support for students who have earned a “D” or “E” as a final grade and have not been able to consistently access Canvas in April, May or June.

Virtual Courses

  • Students in grades 6-11 will take APS-created virtual courses for makeup and strengthening.
  • Students will be eligible for Locally Awarded Verified Credit (LAVC).
  • Available new work for credit courses include:
    • Economic and Personal Finance (EPF);
    • US/VA History; and
    • US/VA Government.
  • Students who wish to take virtual courses other than the social studies courses offered through APS should contact their counselor to discuss the possibilities available through Virtual Virginia and approved Virtual Virginia courses.

Social-Emotional Support
Supporting the social-emotional needs of students will be a priority during the online summer learning session. APS will provide weekly social-emotional learning videos. Social workers, counselors and Bilingual Family Liaisons will be available to support students. 

Elementary Summer Learning Resources (Grades K-5) 
APS has adapted its summer learning program to ensure that every elementary student who was identified for summer school prior to the closure will have access to online resources and school-based instructional and social-emotional support.

APS will offer resources and supports for elementary students to continue their learning over the summer. All students previously identified for summer strengthening will have access to adaptive math and literacy programs and support from school-based instructional staff through regular check-ins and open office hours.

Any K-2 elementary students previously identified for summer school who do not have access to a device will be issued a device and connectivity so that they have full access to adaptive digital learning programs.

Elementary Online and Distance Learning Resources

  • New “At Home with APS” videos focused on building numeracy and literacy skills by grade level bands, i.e. PreK/1, 2/3, and 4/5.  The content for these videos will be expanded to address PreK-grade 5. New videos focused on social-emotional learning will also be available.
  • Adaptive digital learning programs, such as DreamBox and Raz-Kids, that allow students to continue to develop math and literacy skills will be available for students in grades 3-5. These digital learning programs will also be available to students in grades K-2 who have previously been identified as one year below grade level in reading and math; are English learners; and/or are students receiving special education services.
  • Access to school-based instructional support provided through regular check-ins and open office hours. Social workers, counselors and bilingual family liaisons will be available to support students over the summer to assist families as needed.

Special Education
At the secondary level, special education teachers will collaborate with classroom teachers to ensure students with special needs will receive their accommodations and supports to ensure access. During the APS Summer Learning Session, APS will also offer virtual Extended School Year (ESY) services to all students who are eligible. (Note: Barcroft’s virtual ESY services will take place from July 6 – July 31)

APS will provide a variety of virtual ESY services, including both direct and indirect services. Case carriers will be in touch with families to schedule an IEP meeting to discuss ESY. During this meeting, the IEP team will identify ESY goals; determine which services will be provided virtually; and amend a student’s IEPs to reflect new dates of service along with any modifications to ESY services that the IEP teams agree to for ESY.

Registration and Fees
Secondary
Secondary students will be notified by mail and can register using a Google form that will be made available via the APS website and communicated through School Talk on June 15. There is no cost for students who need to take summer strengthening classes. Students who registered and paid for strengthening classes before the closure will receive full refunds. The fee for new work classes has increased to $350. Students who previously paid $300 will be billed for the difference.

There are no refunds for new work classes that will be offered this summer (see course list above); students who registered and paid for face-to-face classes or other new work classes that have been canceled will receive a full refund.

Elementary
Parents of elementary students who were previously identified as needing summer school will be notified by mail. APS will automatically register these students. Families will be able to opt out if they do not want to participate. Directions on how to opt out will be provided at a later date. 

Additional Information and Resources
A hotline will be available for families to access social-emotional support, as well as technical support. A frequently asked questions webpage will be available with additional information.