APS NewsCheck

APS Honors Employees for Their Service

Institutional memory. Continuity and stability. Leaders and mentors. These are just a few of the ways that this group of 169 employees are crucial to the success of the Arlington Public Schools. This year’s Service Awards honorees have served a combined total of 4,035 years at APS and were recognized by their colleagues and the School Board at the March 9 meeting.

These employees are crucial to our success because:

  • They provide continuity and stability for school operations and instructional programs;
  • They provide an institutional memory of best practices;
  • They are leaders who are mentors and role-models for new and less experienced staff; and
  • They have helped improve our schools so students receive an excellent education that meets their individual needs.

IMG_1384This year, the School Board honored Long Branch Principal Felicia Russo for her 40 years of service to Arlington Public Schools, and presented her with a Tiffany vase to commemorate her many devoted years of service. She received a lengthy standing ovation from her many colleagues, friends, and community members who were there to celebrate this milestone in her career. Congratulations Felicia!


Dozens of other APS employees were recognized for career milestones of 20, 25, 30, and 35 years of service to the school division. Each group was called up as historical facts and cultural highlights were shared about their first year at APS, including the average salary, cost of a new home, news headlines, and popular songs and movies. It was a night filled with celebration, laughter, and smiles as each person was honored for their dedication to APS. Congratulations to all!


FullSizeRender20 Years: Ana Aguirre, Barrett; Heather Akpata, Kenmore; Oswaldo Barahona, Facilities & Operations; Thomas Bea, Kenmore;Jamie Borg, Glebe; Krista Bouton, Barcroft; Kelly Breedlove, -Arts Education; Denise Brown, Barcroft; Patricia Carlson, Williamsburg; Maria Castro, Washington-Lee; Debra Cave, Yorktown; Michael Clark, Williamsburg; Kathryn Clingenpeel, Information Services; Claudia Collins, Wakefield; Susana Cordova, Carlin Springs; Consuelo Dawood, Taylor; Fred Delventhal, Barrett; Jeanne Denning, Key; Bridgett Doles, Information Systems; Rosemary Duenas, Hoffman-Boston; Patricia Duran, Nottingham, Jeffrey Elkner, Career Center; Jean Flemming, Yorktown; Jennifer Flores, Barrett;Sharmane    Franklin, Abingdon; Wanda Gant, Human Resources; Toni Gelston, Barcroft; Leon Gibbs, Kenmore; Allison Gordon, Ashlawn; Richard Hoffmann, Transportation; Alvaro Hondoy, Langston; Christopher Jorss, Information Services; Nancy Kauffunger, Jamestown; Gail Klein, Taylor; Philip Krauth, Washington-Lee; Zuleyka Le Maitre, Key; Anthony Lee, Career Center; Geoconda Loza, Dept. of Instruction; Juana Luna, LSRC; Mary Madden, Wakefield; Someth May, Transportation; Marcus McKinney, Wakefield; Ana Ruth    Mejia, Jefferson; Tara     Mitchell, Long Branch; Aundrea Moore, Ashlawn; Robert Moore, Transportation; Lisa Murphy, Williamsburg; Nancy Musser, Career Center; Michael Musto; Jefferson; Jeana Norton, Washington-Lee; Barbara Papantoniou, Hoffman-Boston; Ray Pasi, Yorktown; Virginia Pereira, plant Operations Services; Lisa Powell, Thomas Jefferson Community Center; Terance     Proctor, Information Services; Laura Reichenbaugh, Randolph; Betty-Lu Reid, Barcroft; Melida Reyes, Career Center; Rachel Sadauskas, Yorktown; Anna Samayoa, Benefits & Payroll Services; Betty Sanders, Wakefield; Kenwyn Schaffner, Jamestown; Teresa Short, Arlington Science Focus; Marel Sitron, Barcroft; Clennetta Smith, Transportation; David Soles, H-B Woodlawn Secondary Program; Sharon Sterling, Special Education; Leslie Stockton, Kenmore; Monica Stroik, Taylor; Monica Sugaray, LSRC; Karen Sutherland, Campbell; Marbea     Tammaro, Special Education; Mary Tawiah, Campbell; Malcolm Tronic, Randolph; Wade Turner, Campbell; Robert Tuttle, Williamsburg; Erin Wales-Smith, Human Resources; Anita     Warner, Wakefield; Catherine Wilkes, Swanson; Andrew Wojciechowski, Abingdon; Tricia Zipfel, Nottingham.

2525 Years: Sharen Abdeljawad, Barrett; Digna Alejandro, LSRC; Maritza Argueta, Jefferson; George Baker, Wakefield;  Sonny Balmores, Career Center; Larry Bentley, Wakefield; Kristy Bergmann, Key; Jennifer Bogdan, Jefferson; Kevin Bosley, Arlington Science Focus; Katharine Bovino, Henry; Kathleen Bragaw, Instruction; Phil, Cackley, REEP; Carol Callaway,  Washington-Lee; Jeanie Chai, Arlington Science Focus; Lennie, Chambers, Food Services; John Clisham, Wakefield; Michael Coughlin, H-B Woodlawn Secondary Program; Debbie DeFranco, Health & Phys Ed; Noel Deskins, Wakefield; Margie Graham, Randolph; Gabriel Herrera, Gunston; Sandra Jacobs, Arlington Traditional School; Johnnie, Jones, Gunston; Maurice Katoen, Nottingham; Susan Katsanis, Ashlawn; Patrick Kelly, Wakefield; Mary Kenely, Kenmore; Maria Mercado, Benefits & Payroll Services; Emmett Minor, Hoffman-Boston; Tammy Nelson, Barcroft; Debra Neuhaus-Palmer, Swanson; Maura Oshea, Arlington Science Focus; Mitch Pascal, Tuckahoe; Elaine Perkins, Integration Station; Deborah, Powell, Williamsburg; Liset Reaves, Aquatic Centers;  Katherine Recinos, McKinley; George, Sarpong, H-B Woodlawn Secondary Program; Kathryn, Seliskar, Swanson; Yolanda Sever, Randolph; Janet, Shea, Washington-Lee; Matt Smith, Technology Integration Solutions; Ellen Smith, Jefferson; Kim Taylor, Abingdon; Latanja Thomas, Oakridge; Tuan Tran, Maintenance; Andrea Turner, Henry; Vanna Vann, Maintenance; Mark Waszczak, Maintenance; Thomas Weber, Jefferson; Nohemi Yerovi, Kenmore

IMG_138230 Years: Teresa, Anthony, McKinley; Judy Apostolico-Buck, Ashlawn; Harvey Banks, Yorktown; Gerald Brandt, Maintenance; Carla Chapman, Williamsburg; Audrey Courteau, Claremont; Alethia, Fields, Transportation; Theresa Flynn, Library Services; William Forbes, Washington-Lee; Deborah Garner, Transportation; Ann Heidig, Taylor; Sharon Hopkins, Thomas Jefferson Community Center; Cintia Johnson, Administrative Services; Karen Key, Ashlawn; Lai Lau, Career Center; Robin Liten-Tejada, ESOL/HILT; Helen Malone, Oakridge; Gloria Newlin, Stratford Program; Antony Nguyen, Kenmore; Ha, Nguyen, Career Center; Jesus Parra, Career Center; Marcela Parra, Key; Bobbie Pugh, Nottingham; Miriam, Ramirez, Wakefield; Hilda Rocabado, Key; Darlene Rowland, Jamestown; Gustavo Samayoa, Washington-Lee; Marilyn Scholl, Stratford Program; Virgil Seay, Williamsburg; Mark, Stripe, Yorktown; Annette Taylor, Stratford Program; Allie E, Weber, Kenmore

IMG_138335 Years: Marjory Franklin, Student Services; Robyn Megoniga, Abingdon; Sally Moss H-B Woodlawn Secondary Program; Deborah Stoll; Special Education