APS 新聞發布

APS 降雪程序和提醒

親愛 APS 家屬和員工:(西班牙語)

2018年的第一場降雪已經過去,並且可能還會有更多降雪。 由於我們現在正進入可能有“下雪天”的冬季,我想藉此機會分享有關我們惡劣天氣程序的更多信息,並要求家人在再次發生與天氣​​有關的事件之前對其進行審查。 我們所有人都知道,學校時間表的任何變化都會給每個人帶來破壞,而學生,教職員工和家庭的安全是我們的重中之重。 以下是我們收到的最常見問題的答案。

您如何決定? 誰做出這些決定? 什麼時候 APS 宣布決定?
我們會盡一切努力宣布關閉學校的決定,或者不遲於上午5:00延遲開放兩個小時,通常會在上午11:30之前宣布提前解僱的決定。一旦做出決定,工作人員會通知當地媒體並更新所有 APS communications channels.溝通渠道。 Email and text messages are also sent to電子郵件和短信也發送到 APS School Talk 訂戶。 (另請參閱接下來的兩個問題。)

為什麼不早點發佈公告?
我們許多人開玩笑說當地天氣預報員“弄錯了”,但現實情況是天氣情況會迅速改變。 因此,我們通常要等到清晨才能確保前一天晚上的預測是準確的。 這使我們有機會保持學校開放(如果可能)並按正常時間表運行。

如果您決定的時候還沒有下雪怎麼辦?
今年新: 如果下雪天的前一天的預報顯示直到上學日開始下雪,我們現在宣佈在前一天晚上2點之前推遲6小時。 這將幫助家庭計劃第二天的可能更改,同時也 APS 有更多的時間來監控區域的準備工作,並查看未來12小時內預測的變化情況。 然後,我們將在第二天早上評估天氣預報和道路狀況,並發送最終報告 APS School Talk 在上午6點之前(以及通過我們的常規溝通渠道)進行更新,以讓家人知道情況是否會要求我們全天關閉(而不僅僅是延遲開放)。

封閉日和延誤對延長日計劃,實地考察和課後活動有何影響?
學校關閉時,所有建築物均關閉,除非另有通知,否則所有學校活動均被取消。 行政辦公室可能是開放的,但時間可能會改變。 如果開學時間延遲,則所有的早期實地考察活動都將被取消,並且“延長日活動”也將在相同的小時數內延遲開放。 下午的野外旅行可能仍會按計劃進行。 如果學校在原定為“提前放行”的一天中延遲開放,則提前放行將被取消,並且學校將在正常時間終止。

如果提早解僱該怎麼辦?
提前解僱的決定通常在上午11:30之前宣布。通常取消所有下午和晚上的活動,包括成人教育。 延長日計劃也提前關閉,因此家庭應計劃在4:00 pm之前接他們的學生

如果延遲開放或提前解僱會對公交車時刻表產生什麼影響?
當學校開放時間延遲時,公交車服務也將按延遲的時間表運行。 例如,如果有兩個小時的延誤,通常排定在上午8:15接送的巴士將在上午10:15接送。同樣,對於提早下車,巴士將轉換到較早的時間範圍。 我們還想提醒家庭,公交車可能會因為交通擁堵或行駛速度變慢而延誤,原因是我們在惡劣天氣下通常會發生路況。

您了解在最後一刻安排托兒服務有多困難嗎?
是的,我們做到了! 我們敦促家庭在學校時間表變更時立即制定計劃,以照顧學生。 家庭可以與鄰居和PTA成員一起探索各種選擇,組建社區托兒小組以相互支持,或者在您的鄰居中找到合格的保姆。

為什麼不 APS 僅在受災最嚴重的地區關閉學校?
當我們的許多學生在離家較近的學校上學時,許多其他學生則乘坐公共汽車橫穿縣城到附近社區的學校。 因此,我們考慮了整個縣的情況,而不僅僅是一個地區或鄰里。

我如何找出 APS 學校開了嗎?
有關操作上任何變化的信息將通過所有本地媒體渠道以及Comcast有線頻道70和Verizon FiOS頻道41上的AETV進行傳達; 的 APS 和學校網站的主頁以及 萬維網。apsva.us/緊急警報; APS School Talk 電子郵件和短信; 社交媒體(Facebook,Instagram和Twitter); 員工語音信箱; 並通過熱線電話703-228-4277(英語和西班牙語)記錄信息。 我們鼓勵家人確保您的學校在數據庫中有您的最新電子郵件以及指定為手機的手機號碼。 然後,您可以發送YES到67587來接收 APS School Talk 短信。

將 APS 通知家人是否有延誤或關閉?
何時不發布通知 APS 學校正常運作。

如果我認為出門要留學生在家不安全怎麼辦?
我們尊重父母做出選擇以確保子女安全的決定。 在這種情況下,我們只是要求家人按照正常程序告知學校您的學生缺席。

我希望這些信息對你有用。 我們的 2018-19 APS 手冊 (第23-24頁)提供了更多信息。 如果您還有其他問題,請聯繫您孩子的學校。

此致,
Patrick K. Murphy博士,
所長

APS News Release

APS Snow Procedures and Reminders

Dear APS Families and Staff:                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       (Español)

The first snowfall of 2018 is behind us, and more is likely on the way. As we are now moving into the winter months when “snow days” are a possibility, I want to take this opportunity to share more information about our inclement weather procedures and ask families to review it before another weather-related incident. All of us understand that any change in the school schedule is disruptive for everyone, and the safety of our students, staff and families is our top priority. Here are answers to the most frequently asked questions we receive.

How do you decide? Who makes these decisions? When are APS decisions announced?
We make every effort to announce decisions to close schools or have a two-hour delayed opening no later than 5:00 a.m. Decisions about early dismissal are normally announced by 11:30 a.m. Once a decision is made, staff notifies local media and updates all APS communications channels. Email and text messages are also sent to APS School Talk subscribers. (Also see the next two questions.)

Why aren’t announcements made sooner?
Many of us joke about local weather forecasters “getting it wrong,” but the reality is that weather conditions can change quickly. For that reason, we often wait until the early morning to make sure that what was predicted the night before is accurate. This allows us every opportunity to keep schools open (if possible) and operate on a normal schedule.

What if the snow hasn’t started by the time you decide?
NEW THIS YEAR: If the forecast on the day before a snow event indicates that snow will not start until the beginning of the school day, we will now announce a 2-hour delay by 6 p.m. the evening before. This will help families plan for a possible change the next day, while also giving APS more time to monitor regional preparations and to see how the forecast evolves over the next 12 hours. We will then assess weather forecasts and road conditions the next morning, and will send a final APS School Talk update (as well as through our normal communications channels) by 6 a.m. to let families know if conditions will require us to close for the day (rather than just having a delayed opening).

How are the Extended Day Program, field trips and after-school activities affected by closings and delays?
When schools are closed, all buildings are closed, and all school activities are cancelled unless otherwise announced. Administrative offices may be open but the hours may change. When school opening is delayed, all early field trips are cancelled and the Extended Day Program also opens late by the same number of hours. Afternoon field trips may still proceed as planned. If schools have a delayed opening on a day originally scheduled to be an “early release” day, the early release will be cancelled and schools will end at their regular time.

What happens when there is an early dismissal?
Early dismissal decisions are usually announced by 11:30 a.m. All afternoon and evening activities, including Adult Education, are usually cancelled. The Extended Day Program also closes earlier, so families should plan to pick up their students by 4:00 p.m.

What is the impact on the bus schedule when there is a delayed opening or early dismissal?
When schools have a delayed opening, bus service also runs on a delayed schedule. For instance, if there is a two-hour delay, a bus that is normally scheduled to pick up at 8:15 a.m. will pick up at 10:15 a.m. Similarly, for early dismissals, the bus will shift to an earlier time frame. We also want to remind families that buses may experience delays because of traffic congestion or slower travel because of road conditions that normally occurs when we have inclement weather.

Do you understand how difficult it is to arrange childcare at the last minute?
Yes, we do!  We urge families to make plans now for the care of their students when school schedules change. Families can explore options with their neighbors and PTA members, form community childcare teams to support each other, or identify qualified babysitters in your neighborhood.

Why doesn’t APS close schools only in those portions of the county that are most affected?
While many of our students attend schools close to home, many others are transported by bus across the County to schools outside of their neighborhood. Therefore, we factor in conditions across the County, not just one section or neighborhood.

How do I find out if APS schools are open?
Information about any change in operations will be communicated through all local media channels, plus AETV on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; the APS and school website homepages and at www.apsva.us/emergency-alerts; APS School Talk emails and text messages; social media (Facebook, Instagram and Twitter); staff voicemails; and by recorded message on our hotline at 703-228-4277 (in English and Spanish). We encourage families to make sure your school has your up-to-date email in their database, as well as your cell phone number, designated as a cell phone.  Then you can just text YES to 67587 to receive APS School Talk text messages.

Will APS notify families if there is NO delay or closing?
No announcement is made when APS schools operate on a normal schedule.

What if I decide it’s not safe to go out and want to keep my student at home?
We respect our parents’ decisions to make choices to keep their children safe.  In those cases, we just ask families to please follow the normal procedures to inform schools about your student’s absence.

I hope this information is helpful. Our 2018-19 APS Handbook (pp. 23-24) offers additional information. Please contact your child’s school if you have more questions.

Sincerely,
Dr. Patrick K. Murphy,
Superintendent