APS 新聞發布

APS 提出了兩項探索2021-22年移動部分小學的提案

  • APS建議將一些學校作為戰略規劃的一部分,以滿足小學階段預期的入學人數增長
  • 有關提案的決定將在2020年秋季基本邊界流程開始之前做出
  • 今年的計劃和2020年秋季基本邊界流程的目標是:
    • 充分利用現有的所有小學;
    • 滿足高增長地區的座位需求;
    • 使每個學校社區中的學生人數盡可能多;
    • 盡可能步行到附近的學校;
    • 制定一項計劃,以最好地利用縣現有土地上的現有學校設施,這些設施並不總是與當前和預期增長所需的鄰里座位相匹配; 和
    • 考慮能最好地解決最近學生入學預測的策略,這些策略表明在未來十年內可能需要多達三所新的小學。

弗吉尼亞州阿靈頓– 今天,阿靈頓公立學校分享了兩項建議,要求在2020年秋季初等邊界程序之前搬遷一些小學。 提案是 可在線 徵詢社區意見,並將進行審核並可能修訂為 APS gathers stakeholders' ideas and suggestions.收集利益相關者的想法和建議。 School Board action on a final proposal is scheduled for February 6, 2020. Changes take effect for the 2021-22 school year.校務委員會計劃於XNUMX年XNUMX月XNUMX日對最終提案採取行動。更改將在XNUMX-XNUMX學年生效。

這些提案是多階段基本計劃過程的第一步,該過程從現在開始一直持續到2021年30,000月,以為不斷增長的學生入學做準備,預計2021年將超過2020。決策將有助於告知從XNUMX年XNUMX月開始的邊界過程,以增加出勤率。里德新小學的校區和阿靈頓科學重點學校(ASFS)的調整出勤區,以及解決一些學校的擁擠問題。

兩項建議都涉及一些學校方面的舉措,並採取了符合規劃過程目標的全縣方法。 此外,專注於在高增長的Rosslyn-Ballston地區提供社區席位,將使未來的資本規劃重點關注高增長的Columbia Pike地區。

建議 探索將大多數麥金利大學的學生遷移到里德基地,並遷移兩所或更多小學,包括阿靈頓傳統學校(建議1和2),沉浸式學習(建議1和2),坎貝爾遠征學習(建議2)和卡林溫泉(建議2) XNUMX),去縣內其他小學建築物。

提案是在 代表性的僅邊界情景 illustrated challenges with using the past approach of adjusting boundaries for neighborhood schools without considering some school moves first.說明了使用過去的方法來調整鄰里學校的邊界而不首先考慮一些學校搬遷的挑戰。 Given the imbalance in where students live and where鑑於學生住所和住所之間的不平衡 APS has neighborhood seats, this scenario would require reassigning nearly 40 percent of neighborhood school students;有鄰里座位,這種情況下需要重新分配近XNUMX%的鄰里學校學生; and adding more buses for neighborhood school students who live within one walk zone but would be assigned to another school.並為居住在一個步行區內但將被分配到另一所學校的社區學校學生增加更多公交車。

“我們意識到變革是困難的,尤其是當我們的學生參與其中時,但我們正在尋找方法,通過平衡下一個邊界過程對我們所有小學的影響,使盡可能多的學生聚在一起,” Lisa Stengle說,規劃和評估部執行主任。 “如 APS 入學人數持續增長,我們必須對未來進行規劃,並利用我們所有的學校來滿足我們的迫切需求。

“我們鼓勵社區成員在線查看我們的信息,參加會議並參加,” Stengle說。 “我們期待聽到社區成員的想法和建議,因此我們可以了解如何使這些建議對我們的學生,學校和整個學校部門有效。 我們正在與學校合作,努力提供安全,健康和支持性的學習環境,讓學生可以學習和發展。”

社區參與
社區參與將在2019年2020月至XNUMX年XNUMX月進行,並將包括許多機會徵求建議。 有關其他資源以及會議日期,時間和地點的完整列表,請在線訪問: APS 從事。 社區可以了解更多信息並以多種方式參與其中:

  • 請瀏覽 aps價值/參與 查看建議,時間表,信息圖,米aps,講義和其他背景信息。
  • 查看 概觀 總結建議,挑戰和機遇
  • 分享您的輸入5月24日至XNUMX日,使用在線調查表(以英語或西班牙語提供)發佈在 APS 主頁並通過以下方式發送給所有家庭 APS School Talk.
  • 通過發送問題 從事@aps價值 或推特到 #APS計劃2021。
  • 查看5月XNUMX日開始的在線信息發布會,網址為 APS 從事, 阿靈頓教育電視台(AETV) or Facebook.
  • 參與社區 會議 在XNUMX月,將在問答環節提供更新和可能的修訂。

校務委員會行動時間表
APS 工作人員將審核並修訂提案,因為 APS gathers stakeholders' ideas and suggestions.收集利益相關者的想法和建議。 Staff will present final revised scenarios to the School Board for Information on Jan. 9, 2020, and a School Board Public Hearing on the final proposal(s) will be held on Jan. 30, 2020. The School Board is scheduled to make its decision on Feb. 6, 2020.工作人員將於XNUMX年XNUMX月XNUMX日向學校信息委員會介紹最終修訂的方案,並將於XNUMX年XNUMX月XNUMX日舉行一次關於​​最終提案的學校委員會公開聽證會。 XNUMX年XNUMX月XNUMX日的決定。

欲了解更多信息,請訪問: 萬維網。apsva.us/engage/plan-for-2020-elementary-school-border-process/.

APS News Release

APS Unveils Two Proposals that Explore Moving Some Elementary Schools in 2021-22

  • APS proposes moving some schools as part of strategic planning to meet projected enrollment growth at elementary school level
  • Decisions about the proposals will be made before the start of the Fall 2020 Elementary Boundary Process
  • Goals for this year’s planning and Fall 2020 Elementary Boundary Process are to:
    • Use all existing elementary schools to full capacity;
    • Meet needs for seats in high-growth areas;
    • Keep as many students together in each school community as possible;
    • Enable walking to neighborhood schools as much as possible;
    • Develop a plan that best utilizes existing school facilities located on available land in the County, which do not always match where neighborhood seats are needed for current and projected growth; and
    • Consider strategies that will best address recent student enrollment projections, which indicate that up to three new elementary schools may be needed in the next 10 years.

ARLINGTON, Va. – Today, Arlington Public Schools shared two proposals for relocating some elementary schools in advance of the Fall 2020 Elementary Boundary Process. The proposals are available online for community input and will be reviewed and potentially revised as APS gathers stakeholders’ ideas and suggestions. School Board action on a final proposal is scheduled for February 6, 2020. Changes take effect for the 2021-22 school year.

The proposals are a first step in a multi-phase elementary planning process that begins now through June 2021 to prepare for growing student enrollment, projected to exceed 30,000 in 2021. Decisions will help inform the boundary process that begins in September 2020 to create an attendance zone for the new elementary school at Reed and an adjusted attendance zone for Arlington Science Focus School (ASFS), as well as to address crowding in some schools.

Both proposals involve some school moves and take a countywide approach that will meet the goals of the planning process. In addition, focusing on providing neighborhood seats in the high-growth Rosslyn-Ballston area, will allow future capital planning to focus on the high-growth Columbia Pike area.

The two proposals explore moving the majority of McKinley students to the Reed site and moving two or more elementary schools, including Arlington Traditional (Proposal 1 and 2), Key Immersion (Proposal 1 and 2), Campbell Expeditionary Learning (Proposal 2) and Carlin Springs (Proposal 2), to other elementary school buildings in the County.

The proposals were developed after a representative boundaries-only scenario illustrated challenges with using the past approach of adjusting boundaries for neighborhood schools without considering some school moves first. Given the imbalance in where students live and where APS has neighborhood seats, this scenario would require reassigning nearly 40 percent of neighborhood school students; and adding more buses for neighborhood school students who live within one walk zone but would be assigned to another school.

“We recognize that change is hard, especially when our students are involved, but we are looking for ways to keep as many students together as possible by balancing the impact of the next boundary process across all of our elementary schools,” said Lisa Stengle, Executive Director, Department of Planning and Evaluation. “As APS enrollment continues to grow, we have to be strategic about planning for the future and using all of our schools to address our urgent needs.”

“We encourage community members to review our information online, attend a meeting and participate,” said Stengle. “We look forward to hearing the ideas and suggestions from community members, so we can understand how to make these proposals work for our students, schools, and school division as a whole. We are collaborating with our schools as we work to provide safe, healthy and supportive learning environments in which our students can learn and thrive.”

Community Engagement
Community engagement will take place in November 2019 through January 2020 and will include many opportunities for input on the proposals. Additional resources and a full list of meeting dates, times and locations, are available online at APS Engage. The community can learn more and get involved in many ways:

  • Visit apsva.us/engage to view the proposals, timeline, infographic, maps, handouts and other background information.
  • View an overview summarizing the proposals, challenges and opportunities
  • Share your input Nov. 5- 24, using an online questionnaire (available in English or Spanish) that will be posted on the APS home page and sent to all families via APS School Talk.
  • Send questions via engage@apsva.us or Twitter at #APSPlans2021.
  • View an Online Information Session starting Nov. 5 at APS Engage, Arlington Educational Television (AETV) or Facebook.
  • Participate in a community meeting in December, when updates and possible revisions will be provided along with a Q&A session.

School Board Action Timeline
APS staff will review and may revise proposals as APS gathers stakeholders’ ideas and suggestions. Staff will present final revised scenarios to the School Board for Information on Jan. 9, 2020, and a School Board Public Hearing on the final proposal(s) will be held on Jan. 30, 2020. The School Board is scheduled to make its decision on Feb. 6, 2020.

For more information, visit www.apsva.us/engage/planning-for-2020-elementary-school-boundary-process/.