APS News Release

Arlington Public Schools Joins Large Countywide and Suburban School District Consortium

Arlington Public Schools Joins Large Countywide and Suburban School District Consortium APS Superintendent Dr. Pat Murphy is one of 10 school system superintendents who are joining together to address critical education issues as part of the Large Countywide and Suburban District Consortium (LCSDC). The LCSDC will work together to help ensure that all students are prepared for college, careers, and citizenship in a dramatically changing world. The LCSD Consortium is a new and distinctive network of school district leaders with a proven track record of success. It is established to support strong, innovative, local-level action and to foster improvements in national, state and local policy and practice – all geared toward college and career-readiness, and citizenship goals. The LCSDC network is focused specifically on the unique needs of—and lessons emerging from—large suburban and countywide school districts. Members will use their combined years of experience and success as the foundation to identify and develop more effective and efficient programs and policies that will best prepare high school students for their lives ahead. Through the LCSDC, Dr. Murphy will participate in a community of practice with a select group of peers. These district leaders will work jointly on efforts at the local, state and national levels to improve achievement for all students. Such efforts may include implementation of new college-and career-ready standards and strategies for benchmarking performance against the top-performing schools in other nations. Inaugural members of the LCSDC include:

  • Robert Avossa – Fulton County Public Schools, Georgia
  • Alberto Carvalho – Miami-Dade County Public Schools, Florida
  • Jack Dale – Fairfax County Public Schools, Virginia
  • Michael Hinojosa – Cobb County School District, Georgia
  • William Hite – Prince George’s County Public Schools, Maryland
  • Heath Morrison – Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools, North Carolina
  • W. Burke Royster – Greenville County Schools, South Carolina
  • Joshua Starr – Montgomery County Public Schools, Maryland
  • J. Alvin Wilbanks – Gwinnett County Public Schools, Georgia

The American Association of School Administrators (AASA) and EducationCounsel LLC are supporting the work of the consortium.