APS News Release

Arlington-Studenten ausgewählt, um die Summer Residential Governor's School zu besuchen

Siebenundzwanzig APS Studenten wurden eingeladen, an der Summer Residential Governors School für Akademiker, Mentoring, Bildende und Darstellende Kunst und Weltsprachakademien.

Die Summer Residential Governor's Schools bieten begabten Highschool-Junioren und Senioren in Virginia intensive pädagogische Erfahrungen in einem speziellen Bereich, der für visuelle und darstellende Künste von Interesse ist. Geisteswissenschaften; Mathematik, Naturwissenschaften und Technik; oder durch Mentoring in Meereswissenschaften, Medizin und Gesundheitswissenschaften oder Ingenieurwissenschaften. Zu den Summer Residential World Language Academies gehören Immersionsakademien in Französisch, Deutsch und Spanisch. eine japanische Akademie mit teilweisem Eintauchen; und eine lateinische Akademie.

Die Studenten leben jeden Sommer bis zu vier Wochen auf einem College- oder Universitätscampus. Während dieser Zeit sind die Schüler an Unterrichts- und Laborarbeiten, Feldstudien, Forschung, Einzel- und Gruppenprojekten und Performances sowie Seminaren mit namhaften Wissenschaftlern, Gastkünstlern und anderen Fachleuten beteiligt. In den drei Patenschaften werden die Studenten ausgewählt, um Seite an Seite mit Wissenschaftlern, Ärzten und einer Vielzahl anderer Fachkräfte zu arbeiten. Herzlichen Glückwunsch an folgende Studenten, die diesen Sommer zur Teilnahme eingeladen sind:

Summer Residential Governors Schools für Akademiker, Mentoring und Bildende und darstellende Kunst

Wakefield
Margaret Anderson, Mathematik, Naturwissenschaften und Technik
Milo Clark, Mathematik, Naturwissenschaften und Technik
Michael Farmer, Geisteswissenschaften
Dylan Hakken, Instrument / Flöte
Drake Henry, Instrument / Saxophon
Sarah Mirrow, Geisteswissenschaften
Amy Tramontozzi, Landwirtschaft
Liis Viira, Tanz

Washington-Lee
Caroline Gage, Geisteswissenschaften
Duncan Griffiths, Geisteswissenschaften
Anthony Lawson, Geisteswissenschaften
Thomas Lynch, Gesang / Bariton
Lucy Martin, Gesang / Alt
Tsomirlog Naranbayar, Geisteswissenschaften
Lillian Watson, Mathematik, Naturwissenschaften und Technik

Yorktown
Yiming Chen, Mathematik, Naturwissenschaften und Technik
Christopher Gulyn, Instrument / Kontrabass

Summer Residential Governors Weltsprachenakademien

Wakefield
Abigail Burkholder, Spanisch
Kareena Stowers, Französisch

Washington-Lee
Radina Dancheva, Französisch
Conor Hogan, Japaner
Cordelia Medrick, Deutscher
Sandra Sosa-Olivares, Latein

Yorktown
Grant Harris, Latein
John Nelson, Japaner
John Purple, Latein
Kathryn Stephensen, Spanisch

Bewerbungen werden jedes Jahr Anfang Oktober beim Bildungsministerium von Virginia eingereicht Webseite der Summer Residential Governor's School oder im Webseite der World Language Academies. Interessierte Schüler sollten sich an den Ressourcenlehrer wenden, um mehr über diese Gelegenheit und / oder diesen Besuch zu erfahren www.apsva.us/gifted-services.

APS News Release

Arlington Students Selected to Attend Summer Residential Governor’s School

Twenty-seven APS students were invited to attend the Summer Residential Governor’s School for Academics, Mentorship, Visual and Performing Arts and World Language Academies.

Summer Residential Governor’s Schools provide gifted high school juniors and seniors in Virginia with intensive educational experiences in one special area of interest in visual and performing arts; humanities; mathematics, science, and technology; or through mentorships in marine science, medicine and health sciences, or engineering. Summer Residential World Language Academies include full-immersion academies in French, German and Spanish; a partial-immersion Japanese Academy; and a Latin Academy.

Students live on a college or university campus for up to four weeks each summer. During this time, students are involved in classroom and laboratory work, field studies, research, individual and group projects and performances, and seminars with noted scholars, visiting artists, and other professionals. In the three mentorships, students are selected to work side-by-side with research scientists, physicians, and a variety of other professionals. Congratulations to the following students who are invited to attend this summer:

Summer Residential Governor’s Schools for Academics, Mentorship and Visual and Performing Arts

Wakefield
Margaret Anderson, Mathematics, Science & Technology
Milo Clark, Mathematics, Science & Technology
Michael Farmer, Humanities
Dylan Hakken, Instrument/Flute
Drake Henry, Instrument/Saxophone
Sarah Mirrow, Humanities
Amy Tramontozzi, Agriculture
Liis Viira, Dance

Washington-Lee
Caroline Gage, Humanities
Duncan Griffiths, Humanities
Anthony Lawson, Humanities
Thomas Lynch, Vocal/Baritone
Lucy Martin, Vocal/Alto
Tsomirlog Naranbayar, Humanities
Lillian Watson, Mathematics, Science & Technology

Yorktown
Yiming Chen, Mathematics, Science & Technology
Christopher Gulyn, Instrument/Double Bass

Summer Residential Governor’s World Language Academies

Wakefield
Abigail Burkholder, Spanish
Kareena Stowers, French

Washington-Lee
Radina Dancheva, French
Conor Hogan, Japanese
Cordelia Medrick, German
Sandra Sosa-Olivares, Latin

Yorktown
Grant Harris, Latin
John Nelson, Japanese
John Purple, Latin
Kathryn Stephensen, Spanish

Applications are posted each year in early October on the Virginia Department of Education Summer Residential Governor’s School webpage or the World Language Academies webpage. Interested students should contact the resource teacher for the gifted to learn more about this opportunity and/or visit www.apsva.us/gifted-services.