APS بيان صحفي

يقدم مشرف أرلينغتون الميزانية المقترحة للسنة الدراسية 2017-18

أبرز الملامح في ميزانية السنة المالية 2018

  • يخصص الأموال للموظفين والاحتياجات التشغيلية لدعم الالتحاق المتزايد
  • يوفر زيادة في التعويض للموظفين المؤهلين
  • يدفع مقابل زيادة معدل نظام التقاعد في فرجينيا
  • يحافظ على التمويل لمواصلة المبادرات في ميزانية السنة المالية 2017
  • يشمل فجوة تمويلية تبلغ 14 مليون دولار أمريكي بدون زيادة في تحويل المقاطعة

اليوم ، قدم مدير أرلينغتون الدكتور بات مورفي اقتراحه لمدارس أرلينغتون العامة للسنة المالية 2018 (APS) ميزانية لتمويل العمليات للعام الدراسي 2017-18. ميزانية السنة المالية 2018 تبلغ 617 مليون دولار.

بدأت عملية الميزانية لهذا العام بعجز متوقع يتراوح بين 22 و 28 مليون دولار ، بسبب ارتفاع نمو القيد بالإضافة إلى الزيادة المتوقعة في معدل مساهمة نظام التقاعد في فرجينيا. أثناء تطوير الميزانية ، APS التوقعات المحدثة مع الولاية والمقاطعة ، وتحديد الكفاءات لخفض التكاليف ، واستخدام التمويل لمرة واحدة بشكل استراتيجي لتقليل فجوة الميزانية ، والعمل بشكل وثيق مع موظفي المقاطعة. لا تزال الميزانية المقترحة تعتمد على 14 مليون دولار إضافية لتمويل احتياجاتها بالكامل.

اتجاه ميزانية مجلس المدرسة
في الخريف الماضي ، وجه مجلس المدرسة المشرف لوضع ميزانية "قائمة على الاحتياجات" تفترض أن تحويل المقاطعة سيكون مساويًا للمبلغ المطلوب لتلبية الاحتياجات الحرجة لقسم المدرسة. أعطى مجلس الإدارة الأولوية لزيادة التعويضات للموظفين ؛ الاستثمار المستمر في المبادرات لتلبية احتياجات الطفل ككل وتوفير فرص التعلم في القرن الحادي والعشرين ؛ والتوظيف الكامل لزيادة الالتحاق. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تضمنت توجيهات ميزانية المجلس جهودًا لتحديد وفورات التكلفة ، وخيارات زيادة الرسوم ، وفرص استخدام تمويل الإغلاق لدفع النفقات لمرة واحدة. تعكس هذه الميزانية اتجاه مجلس المدرسة وتضمن ذلك APS قادر على تلبية احتياجات هيئة طلابية متنامية مع الاحتفاظ بسجل قوي من إنجازات الطلاب.

مكونات ميزانية السنة المالية 18
الميزانية المقترحة للعام المقبل تبلغ 617 مليون دولار ، والتي تعتمد حاليًا على 14 مليون دولار إضافية في تحويل المقاطعة إلى APS لتمويل احتياجاتها بالكامل. قال مورفي: "نحن ممتنون لدعم المجتمع ، الذي يتمتع بتاريخ طويل من الدعم القوي لمدارسنا العامة" ، قال مورفي. "APS هي أحد الأصول المجتمعية الحيوية ، وتعزز الإنجازات المتسقة والمتميزة للطلاب في الفصل الدراسي والتي تؤدي إلى نموهم الفردي ونجاحهم في المستقبل ".

محركات التكلفة الرئيسية لميزانية هذا العام هي:

  • 9.2 مليون دولار لنمو التحاق الطلاب ؛
  • 8.7 مليون دولار لزيادة تدريجية للموظفين المؤهلين ؛
  • 4.2 مليون دولار للزيادة في معدل نظام التقاعد فرجينيا.
  • 2.4 مليون دولار لبدء مرحلة ثلاث سنوات في التعويض الإضافي للتوافق مع السوق الحالي لبعض الموظفين ؛
  • 7.8 مليون دولار لمواصلة المبادرات التي بدأت في ميزانية السنة المالية 2017 (بما في ذلك التوسع في Arlington Tech في مركز Career ، والتسجيل المركزي ، وعلماء نفسيين إضافيين وأخصائيين اجتماعيين ، ومستشار إدمان المخدرات ، وسائقي الحافلات بدوام كامل ومضيفات الحافلات ، والسلامة والأمن الترقيات ، والدعم التكنولوجي).

APS طلب فريق العمل مدخلات من المجتمع حول أولويات ميزانيتهم ​​، وتم جمع اقتراحاتهم في الاجتماعات العامة ، من خلال التعليقات عبر الإنترنت ، من مناقشات المجموعة الاستشارية ، والتواصل مع أصحاب المصلحة المتنوعين في جميع أنحاء المجتمع. حدد الموظفون أوجه الكفاءة لتقليل النفقات ودمجوا التمويل من الاحتياطيات للنفقات غير المتكررة. إذا لم يتم توفير التمويل الكامل ، فإن الميزانية تتضمن قائمة متدرجة من التخفيضات المقترحة للعام المقبل.

قال مورفي في عرضه أمام مجلس المدرسة: "مع استمرار ارتفاع تسجيلنا بشكل ملحوظ ، ندرك أن مجتمعنا ملتزم بالحفاظ على مدارسنا الحكومية ذات القيمة العالية". "تضمن هذه الميزانية المقترحة بقاء مدارسنا مصدرًا أساسيًا للمجتمع ، وأننا نواصل تحدي كل طالب تعليميًا ، مع توفير التعلم والدعم المخصص للطفل بأكمله - أكاديميًا وعاطفيًا وجسديًا واجتماعيًا."

الاستراتيجيات المحتملة لسد فجوة التمويل البالغة 14 مليون دولار
تتضمن الميزانية المقترحة قائمة من التخفيضات التي يمكن دراستها إذا لم يكن بالإمكان سد فجوة التمويل البالغة 14 مليون دولار أو جزء منها. حسب المستوى ، هذه هي التخفيضات المقترحة: 

المستوى 1 - وفورات قدرها 2.9 مليون دولار ؛ يلغي 23 وظيفة للموظفين

  • تخفيض عدد الموظفين ، بما في ذلك بعض المساعدين الإداريين ، وأخصائيي المعلمين في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، وبعض المناصب في المرافق والعمليات وخدمات المعلومات ؛
  • تأجيل إضافة علماء النفس المدرسيين والأخصائيين الاجتماعيين ؛
  • إلغاء برنامج "العيش في مكان عملك" ؛ التطوير المهني للفوج الجديد ؛
  • تنفيذ كفاءات المرافق واختيار الخدمات ، مثل حافلات النشاط بعد المدرسة.

المستوى 2 - وفورات قدرها 3.5 مليون دولار ؛ يلغي 35 وظيفة للموظفين

  • زيادة حجم الفصل بمقدار 1 للصفوف 4-12 ؛
  • إلغاء منصب مدير الطوارئ ؛
  • تقليل الهواتف المحمولة المخصصة ؛ تمويل التنمية المهنية.

المستوى 3 - وفورات قدرها 5.3 مليون دولار ، تلغي 20.1 وظيفة للموظفين

  • زيادة خطوة التأجيل إلى منتصف السنة المالية ؛
  • زيادة حجم الفصل بمقدار 1 للصفوف K-3 ؛
  • تغيير اللقطات المربعة في أماكن الحفظ إلى 22,000 ؛
  • القضاء على منسق التوظيف والمطبعة.

بعد ظهر هذا اليوم أعلن مدير المقاطعة أعلن في إحدى جلسات عمل الميزانية أنه يوصي مجلس المقاطعة بزيادة ضريبية قدرها سنتان ، مع تخصيص سنت واحد لزيادة التمويل APSالاحتياجات المتزايدة وسنت واحد لتمويل تكاليف المترو. كما أوصى المدير بتخصيص إيرادات إضافية لمرة واحدة للمدارس. قال مورفي: "نحن نقدر دعم مدير المقاطعة للمدارس في ميزانيته المقترحة. ستساعد توصيته بزيادة التمويل للمساعدة في الحفاظ على الاستثمار في طلابنا على ضمان قدرتنا على الاستمرار في توفير مدارس وموظفين ذوي جودة عالية لضمان فرص ممتازة للتعلم لطلابنا ، الآن وفي المستقبل. نتطلع إلى مواصلة مناقشاتنا مع مجلس المقاطعة وموظفي المقاطعة ومجتمع أرلينغتون في الأسابيع المقبلة بينما نعمل على إنهاء ميزانيتنا للعام المقبل ".

وثائق ميزانية السنة المالية 2018
جميع المواد المتعلقة بميزانية السنة المالية 2018 ، بما في ذلك تقويم ميزانية السنة المالية 2018 ، والميزانية المقترحة للمشرف وعرض 23 فبراير ، وأولويات ميزانية مجلس المدرسة هي متاحة على شبكة الإنترنت. زيارة شبكة الاتصالات العالمية.apsva.us/engage لتقديم ملاحظاتك ومدخلاتك طوال العملية ، واستخدم #APSالميزانية على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي للانضمام إلى المحادثة.

***

APS News Release

Arlington Superintendent Presents Proposed Budget For 2017-18 School Year

FY 2018 Budget Highlights

  • Allocates funds for staff and operational needs to support growing enrollment
  • Provides a compensation increase for eligible staff
  • Pays for increase in the Virginia Retirement System rate
  • Maintains funding to continue initiatives in FY 2017 budget
  • Includes a $14 million funding gap without increase to County transfer

Today, Arlington Superintendent Dr. Pat Murphy presented his proposal for the FY 2018 Arlington Public Schools (APS) budget to fund operations for the 2017-18 school year. The FY 2018 budget totals $617 million.

This year’s budget process began with a projected deficit that ranged from $22 to $28 million, due to rising enrollment growth combined with a projected increase in the Virginia Retirement System contribution rate. During budget development, APS updated forecasts with the State and the County, identified efficiencies to reduce costs, used one-time funding strategically to reduce the budget gap, and worked closely with County staff. The proposed budget still depends upon an additional $14 million to fully fund its needs.

School Board Budget Direction
Last fall, the School Board directed the Superintendent to develop a “needs-based” budget that assumes the County Transfer will be equal to the amount required for meeting the critical needs of the school division. The Board prioritized increased compensation for staff; continued investment in initiatives to meet the needs of the whole child and provide 21st century learning opportunities; and full staffing for growing enrollment. Additionally, the Board’s budget direction included efforts to identify cost savings, options for increased fees, and opportunities to use closeout funding to pay for one-time expenses. This budget reflects the School Board’s direction and ensures that APS is able to meet the needs of a growing student body while retaining a strong record of student achievement.

Components of FY18 Budget
The proposed budget for next year totals $617 million, which currently depends upon an additional $14 million in the County’s Transfer to APS to fully fund its needs. Murphy said, “We are grateful for the support of the community, which has a long history of strong support for our public schools,” Murphy said. “APS is a vital community asset, fostering consistent, outstanding student achievement in the classroom that leads to their individual growth and future success.”

The primary cost drivers of this year’s budget are:

  • $9.2 million for student enrollment growth;
  • $8.7 million for a step increase for eligible staff;
  • $4.2 million for the increase in the Virginia Retirement System rate;
  • $2.4 million to begin a three-year phase in of additional compensation to align with the current market for certain employees;
  • $7.8 million to continue the initiatives that began in the FY 2017 budget (including the expansion of Arlington Tech at the Career Center, Central Registration, additional psychologists and social workers, substance abuse counselor, full-time bus drivers and bus attendants, safety and security upgrades, and technology support).

APS staff solicited input from the community on their budget priorities, and their suggestions were gathered at public meetings, through online feedback, from advisory group discussions, and outreach to diverse stakeholders throughout the community. Staff identified efficiencies to reduce expenditures and incorporated funding from reserves for one-time expenditures. If full funding is not provided, the budget includes a tiered list of proposed cuts for next year.

“As our enrollment continues to rise significantly, we recognize that our community is committed to preserving our highly-valued public schools,” Murphy stated in his presentation to the School Board. “This proposed budget makes sure our schools remain a vital community asset, and that we continue to challenge each student instructionally, while providing personalized learning and support for the whole child – academically, emotionally, physically and socially.”

Possible Strategies to Close $14 Million Funding Gap
The proposed budget includes a tiered list of cuts that could be considered if all or a portion of the $14 million funding gap cannot be closed. By tier, these are the proposed reductions: 

Tier 1 – Savings of $2.9 million; eliminates 23 staff positions

  • Reduce staff, including some administrative assistants, STEM teacher specialists, and a few positions in Facilities and Operations and Information Services;
  • Postpone addition of school psychologists and social workers;
  • Eliminate “Live Where You Work” program; professional development for new cohort;
  • Implement utilities efficiencies and select services, such as after school activity buses.

Tier 2 – Savings of $3.5 million; eliminates 35 staff positions

  • Increase class size by 1 for grades 4-12;
  • Eliminate Emergency Manager position;
  • Reduce assigned cell phones; professional development funding.

Tier 3 – Savings of $5.3 million, eliminates 20.1 staff positions

  • Postpone step increase to halfway through fiscal year;
  • Increase class size by 1 for grades K-3;
  • Change custodial space square footage to 22,000;
  • Eliminate recruitment coordinator and Print Shop.

This afternoon, the County Manager announced at a Budget Work Session announced that he is recommending to the County Board a two-cent tax increase, with one cent devoted to increased funding for APS’ growing needs and one cent to fund Metro costs. The Manager also recommended allocating additional one-time revenue for Schools.  Murphy said, “We greatly appreciate the County Manager’s support for schools in his proposed budget. His recommendation for increased funding to help maintain the investment in our students will help ensure that we can continue to provide high quality schools and staff to ensure excellent opportunities to learn for our students, now and in the future. We look forward to continuing our discussions with the County Board, County staff and the Arlington community in the weeks ahead as we work toward finalizing our budget for next year.”

FY 2018 Budget Documents
All materials related to the FY 2018 Budget, including the FY 2018 budget calendar, the Superintendent’s Proposed Budget and Feb. 23 presentation, and the School Board’s budget priorities are available online. Visit www.apsva.us/engage to provide your feedback and input throughout the process, and use #APSBudget on social media to join the conversation.

***