APS بيان صحفي

COVID-19: تحديث من المشرف المؤقت - 26 مارس

Dear APS العائلات،

مع استمرارنا جميعًا في دعم بعضنا البعض خلال هذه الأوقات الصعبة ، أود تقديم تحديث موجز لخططنا ، بناءً على الإرشادات التي تلقيناها من وزارة التعليم في فرجينيا (VDOE) حتى الآن. لكن ، أود أولاً أن أعترف بتأثير ذلك على روتين الأسرة وأشكرك على شراكتك المستمرة في العمل من خلال مجموعة الظروف الحالية بسبب فيروس كورونا.

أتفهم المشاعر التي يشعر بها طلابنا وعائلاتنا وموظفونا ، وأنا واثق من أننا سنمضي قدمًا من خلال ذلك بطريقة تستمر في خدمة جميع طلابنا. فيما يلي بعض التحديثات التي يمكنني مشاركتها الآن ، مع المزيد في المستقبل.

استمرارية خطة التعلم:
سيستمر المعلمون في الانخراط في التعلم عن بعد بناءً على الخطط الموضوعة حتى يوم الجمعة ، 3 أبريل. ستبدأ عطلة الربيع كما هو مخطط لها في الأسبوع من 6 إلى 10 أبريل. سيظل يوم الاثنين 13 أبريل يومًا للتحضير للصفوف للمعلمين ، وبالتالي APS سيستأنف التعلم عن بعد يوم الثلاثاء ، 14 أبريل مع تعديلات على نموذجنا التعليمي الذي سيتم الإعلان عنه قبل ذلك الوقت. تتم مشاركة هذه الخطط مع لجاننا الاستشارية للحصول على مدخلات قبل مشاركتها مع العائلات.

تخرج:
أعلن مشرف الولاية للتعليم العام جيمس لين الثلاثاء 24 مارس أن كبار السن في المدارس الثانوية الذين كانوا على الطريق الصحيح للحصول على دبلوم في وقت لاحق من هذا الربيع سيكونون قادرين على التخرج. نحن نستكشف حاليًا بدائل إبداعية للاحتفال بدفعة عام 2020. لقد عمل هؤلاء الطلاب بجد وتطلعوا إلى هذه اللحظة لسنوات ، لذلك نريد أن نتأكد من أننا نكرم ونحتفل بإنجازاتهم الضخمة. سيستغرق ذلك وقتًا أطول ويمثل أولوية لنا جميعًا. بمجرد الوصول إلى الخطة النهائية ، سنشاركها مع الطلاب والعائلات.

التنسيب على مستوى الصف:
الطلاب الذين كانوا في وضع جيد اعتبارًا من (نهاية الربع الثالث) إغلاق المدارس في 13 مارس سوف ينتقلون إلى مستوى الصف التالي بينما الطلاب الذين يحتاجون إلى الدعم أو الطلاب الحاصلين على درجات فاشلة سيتلقون المساعدة اللازمة خلال الربع الرابع من أجل تعوض عن العمل والدرجات استعدادًا لمستوى الصف التالي. سيتم توفير مزيد من المعلومات في الأسابيع المقبلة.

تقدير الواجب:
نحن نتبع إرشادات VDOE لتطوير عملية للتأكد من أن الدرجات عادلة ومنصفة أثناء إغلاق المدارس. في حين أن التعلم عن بعد لا يمكن أن يحل محل العمل الذي يحدث في الفصل الدراسي ، فإن جميع الطلاب ستتاح لهم الفرصة لإحراز تقدم والتعلم والنمو.

دعم التعليم الخاص:
يتواصل معلمو التربية الخاصة مع العائلات عبر تسجيلات الوصول بالفيديو الافتراضية لتزويد الطلاب بالطمأنينة من الوجه المألوف ، فضلاً عن الدعم الاستشاري. يتعاون مقدمو الخدمات ذوو الصلة مع معلمي التربية الخاصة لتصميم أنشطة تعليمية يمكن الوصول إليها أو تكييف الأنشطة الحالية للتعلم المنزلي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، إذا واجه الطلاب أو أولياء الأمور صعوبات في الوصول إلى التعليمات ، فسيقوم مقدمو الخدمات ذات الصلة بإعداد استشارة مع أولياء الأمور.

امتحانات AP / IB:
تم إلغاء اختبارات البكالوريا الدولية في مايو 2020 ، لكن لا يزال يتعين على الطلاب إكمال التقييمات المطلوبة. سيجري الطلاب اختبارات AP الخاصة بهم عبر الإنترنت بدلاً من الاختبار التقليدي وجهاً لوجه. سيصدر مجلس الكلية جدول اختبار AP في بداية أبريل.

معايير التعلم:
تم إلغاء SOLs لهذا العام الدراسي. يخضع VDOE حاليًا للتقدم رسميًا للحصول على تنازل من وزارة التعليم الأمريكية ، لذلك سيتم إصدار معلومات إضافية حول SOLs قريبًا. يؤدي عدم الاضطرار إلى أخذ SOLs هذا العام إلى الكثير من الضغط على طلابنا ومعلمينا مع السماح لهم بالتركيز على التعليمات والمهارات الأساسية أثناء الإغلاق.

الغذاء والتغذية:
في آذار 16، APS بدأ تقديم وجبات الإفطار والغداء السريعة للأطفال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 2 و 18 عامًا في مدرسة كينمور الإعدادية ودرو الابتدائية. في 25 مارس APS أضافت ثلاثة مواقع إضافية في مدارس باريت وكامبل وراندولف الابتدائية. يتم تقديم الوجبات من الساعة 11 صباحًا حتى 1 ظهرًا من الاثنين إلى الجمعة. حتى الآن ، قدمنا ​​10,034 وجبة ، ما يزيد قليلاً عن 1,200 وجبة في اليوم.

في يوم الجمعة الذي يسبق عطلة الربيع ، 3 أبريل ، APS ستوفر وجبات تكفي لمدة أسبوع للعائلات التي تأتي إلى أحد المواقع لضمان حصولهم على الطعام خلال عطلة الربيع.

نقوم حاليًا بتقييم خطط توزيع المواد الغذائية خلال الفترة المتبقية من العام. يتم تطوير هذه الخطط بناءً على إرشادات الدولة وسيتم الإعلان عنها عند الانتهاء منها. أود أن أعرب عن تقديري للعاملين في خدمات الطعام الذين حضروا لإعداد الطعام لطلابنا ، وكذلك APS فريق القيادة التنفيذية والإداريين الذين يتطوعون في كل موقع من هذه المواقع. نشكر الحراس وموظفي المرافق الذين يواصلون تنظيف المباني وتجهيزها. نود أيضًا أن نشكر جمعيات المعلمين والمعلمات في المدارس والشركاء المجتمعيين والمنظمات غير الربحية والشركات التي تدعم العائلات من خلال توزيع الوجبات وحملات الطعام. قمنا بإدراجها على موقعنا على الإنترنت ضمن خدمات الوجبات.

العمل عن بعد وتعديلات الجدول
لقد سهّل الانتقال إلى التعلم عن بعد والعمل عن بعد التواصل المستمر في أي وقت من اليوم ، لذلك أطلب من الجميع من فضلك محاولة قصر الاتصال مع المعلمين والموظفين على الساعات التي يتواصلون فيها مع توفرهم قدر الإمكان.

سنستمر في إطلاعك من خلال موقعنا على الإنترنت بمصادر إضافية وتحديثات على الخدمات عند الانتهاء منها ، وفي غضون ذلك ، يرجى أن تكون آمنًا وتعتني بنفسك وبعائلتك.

مع خالص الشكر والتقدير،
سينتيا ز. جونسون
مراقب مؤقت

APS News Release

COVID-19: An Update from the Interim Superintendent — March 26

Dear APS Families,

As we all continue to support each other during these challenging times, I want to provide a brief update on our plans, based on guidance we have received from the Virginia Department of Education (VDOE) to date.  But, first I want to acknowledge the impact this is having on family routines and thank you for your continued partnership in working through our present set of circumstances due to the coronavirus.

I understand the emotions our students, families and our staff are feeling, and I am confident we will move forward through this in a way that continues to serve all our students. Below are a few updates I can share now, with more to come.

Continuity of Learning Plan:
Teachers will continue to engage in distance learning based on plans in place through Friday, April 3. Spring Break will proceed as planned the week of April 6-10. Monday, April 13 will remain a Grade Prep Day for teachers, and therefore APS will resume distance learning on Tues, April 14 with adjustments to our instructional model that will be announced prior to that time. Those plans are being shared with our advisory committees for input prior to sharing with families.

Graduation:
State Superintendent of Public Instruction James Lane announced Tues, March 24, that high school seniors who were on track to earn a diploma later this spring will be able to graduate. We are currently exploring creative alternatives to celebrate the Class of 2020. These students have worked hard and have been looking forward to this moment for years, so we want to make sure we honor and celebrate their monumental achievement. This will take more time and is a priority for us all. Once a final plan has been reached, we will share it with students and families.

Grade-Level Placement:
Students who were in good standing as of the (end of the third quarter) closure of schools on March 13 will proceed to the next grade level while students in need of support or students with failing grades will receive the necessary help during the fourth quarter to make up work and grades in preparation for the next grade level. More information will be provided in the coming weeks.

Assignment Grading:
We are following VDOE guidance to develop a process to ensure grading is fair and equitable while schools are closed. While distance learning cannot replace the work that happens in the classroom, all students will have the opportunity to make progress and to learn and grow.

Special Education Support:
Special Education teachers are connecting with families via virtual video check-ins to provide students with the reassurance of a familiar face, as well as consultative support. Related service providers are collaborating with special education teachers to design accessible instructional activities or adapt existing activities for home learning.  Additionally, if individual students or parents are experiencing difficulties accessing instruction, related service providers will set up a consultation with the parents.

AP/IB Exams:
The May 2020 IB examinations have been cancelled, but students still must complete their required assessments. Students will take their AP tests online in place of the traditional face-to-face test. The College Board will release the AP test schedule in the beginning of April.

Standards of Learning:
SOLs have been canceled for this school year. The VDOE is currently in the process of officially applying for a waiver from the U.S. Department of Education, so additional information on SOLs will be released soon. Not having to take SOLs this year takes a lot of pressure off our students and teachers while allowing them to focus on instruction and essential skills during the closure.

Food and Nutrition:
On March 16, APS began serving free grab-and-go breakfast and lunch for children ages 2-18 at Kenmore Middle School and Drew Elementary. On March 25, APS added three additional sites at Barrett, Campbell and Randolph elementary schools. Meals are served from 11 a.m. – 1 p.m. Monday – Friday. To date, we have served 10,034 meals, just over 1,200 per day.

On the Friday before Spring Break, April 3, APS will provide a week’s worth of meals to families who come to one of the sites to ensure they have food during Spring Break.

We are currently evaluating plans for food distribution through the remainder of the year. Those plans are being developed based on state guidance and will be communicated when finalized. I want to extend my appreciation to the food services workers who have been coming in to prepare the food for our students, as well as the APS executive leadership team and administrators who are volunteering at each of these sites. Thank you to our custodians and facilities staff who continue to clean and prepare our buildings. We also want to thank school PTAs, community partners, non-profit organizations and business who are supporting families through meal distribution and food drives. We have them listed on our website under Meal Services.

Telework and Schedule Adjustments
The transition to distance learning and telework has made it easier for continuous contact at any time of day, so I am asking everyone to please try to limit contact with teachers and staff to the hours they have communicated they are available as much as possible.

We will continue to keep you informed through our website with additional resources and updates on services as they are finalized.In the meantime, please be safe and take care of yourself and your families.

Sincerely,
Cintia Z. Johnson
Interim Superintendent