17月XNUMX日教學部更新:為英語學習者,特殊教育和才華橫溢的學生提供的服務

親愛的父母或監護人,

在第二季度的中點,請注意以下為殘障學生,英語學習者和有天賦的學生提供的支持。

特殊教育
1月5日,特殊教育辦公室與學校董事會舉行了工作會議,並提出了XNUMX年行動計劃和特殊教育目標。 APS。 該演示文稿可以在 董事會文件.

7月1日,特殊教育辦公室,行政領導團隊成員和總監舉行了市政廳會議,工作人員向為XNUMX級學生提供支持的工作人員進行了討論。討論的主題包括指導,人員配備和健康和安全協議。

9月XNUMX日,總監與SEPTA進行了“超級聊天”。 他回答了社區有關特殊教育的各種問題。 錄音可以在 SEPTA網站.

英語學習者(EL)
隨著寒假的臨近,這裡有一些想法可以使您的學生在度假時參與英語的發展。 每天/晚上閱讀一本可以通過學生在其設備上的帳戶找到的書。 如果您不確定如何獲取閱讀材料,請在周五之前與他們的老師聯繫。 每天晚上閱讀一段時間並與故事進行對話(用英語或母語)是一種有趣的方式,可以鼓勵閱讀並與家人討論閱讀的內容。 向學生詢問有關書中人物的問題,“誰是您最喜歡的人物,為什麼?” 或“您想成為哪個角色的最好的朋友?” 這是一種讓他們思考自己正在閱讀的書的有趣方式。

講故事是練習說英語的另一種有趣方式。 讓您的學生講五,六或七天的故事。 每天,他們可以構成第二天繼續發生的故事的一部分。 故事的想法可以由學生創建,也可以從家庭提出的想法列表中選擇。 以下是一些示例:有關您第一次看到雪的故事。 第一次養寵物的故事。 一個關於家庭英雄的故事。 關於找到一張100美元鈔票的故事。 有關贏得大型比賽的故事。 能夠連續幾天創建故事會很有趣,尤其是當有家人向講故事的人詢問有關場景和角色的問題時。

保留“寒假日記”是在兩個星期的休假期間繼續寫作的有趣方式。 該日記可以每天都關注,也可以在整個時間內關註一個。 日記條目可以關於學生每天的工作情況。 或者,這可能是他們希望在2021年實現的目標。他們甚至可以將講故事的內容帶到日記中,並寫下上面列出的主題思想。 日記通常用於撰寫每日的感激之情或每日的感激之情。 對於新興作家,他們可以畫一幅畫,並寫一些關於畫在畫中的東西。

點擊 阿靈頓公共圖書館網站 作為訪問各個年齡段和閱讀水平的數千本免費書籍的一種方式。 儘管分支圖書館的建築目前已關閉,但阿靈頓主圖書館仍在開放中,以供您提取在線預訂的圖書。 此外,圖書館還提供在線活動,例如餅乾裝飾,讀書會和手工藝品活動。

資優服務

CTY虛擬俱樂部
約翰霍普金斯大學CTY的新虛擬俱樂部為對數學,國際象棋或世界語言感興趣的學生提供了一個聚會,娛樂並作為社區實時學習的機會。 俱樂部運營時間為18年11月2021日至XNUMX月XNUMX日。 註冊已開放 截止日期為5年2021月XNUMX日。


推動科學技術發展的領導者(BLAST)
Virginia Space Grant Consortium提供免費的教育計劃BLAST,旨在激發已經對科學,技術,工程和數學(STEM)表現出興趣的學生的熱情。 BLAST是為期3天的校園住宿體驗,其中包含由大學教職員工進行的演示和協作活動,旨在激發學生在STEM領域的職業生涯,並激發他們擴大與STEM相關的課程的數量他們的年級更高。 註冊已開放 現在並於8年2021月XNUMX日關閉。


行動中的資優服務@APS天才 聚焦學校

卡林溫泉 

DTL
圖片2

格列比小學

圖片3

杰斐遜中學 

圖片4

威廉斯堡中學

圖片5

韋克菲爾德高中

圖片6

WL高中

圖片7

Dec. 17 Dept. of Teaching and Learning Update: Services for English Learners, Special Education and Gifted Students

Dear Parent or Guardian,

At the midpoint of the second quarter, please note the following supports available for students with disabilities, English Learners and Gifted students.

Special Education
On Dec. 1, the Office of Special Education held a work session with the School Board and presented a 5-year action plan and goals for special education in APS. The presentation can be found on Board Docs.

On Dec.7, the Office of Special Education, members of the Executive Leadership Team, and the Superintendent held a Town Hall meeting with staff members who are providing support to students participating in Level 1. The topics discussed included instruction, staffing, and health and safety protocols.

On Dec. 9, the Superintendent held a “Super Chat” with SEPTA. He answered questions from the community on a variety of topics related to special education. The recording can be found on the, SEPTA website.

English Learners (EL)
As winter break approaches, here are a few ideas to keep your students engaged in their English language development while on vacation. Reading a book each day/night that can be found through the student’s accounts on their device. If you are not sure how to access the reading materials, please check with their teacher(s) before Friday. Reading for a period of time each night and having a conversation about the story (in English or in the home language) is a fun way to encourage reading and have a family discussion about what was read. Asking students questions about the characters in the book, “Who is your favorite character and why?” or “Which character would you like to be your best friend?” is a fun way to have them think about what they are reading.

Storytelling is another fun way to practice speaking English. Have your student tell a story over a five, six or seven day period. Each day, they can make up part of the story that continues the next day. The idea for the story can be created by the student or chosen from a list of ideas that the family comes up with together. Here are some examples: A story about the first time you saw snow. A story about getting a pet for the first time. A story about a hero in the family. A story about finding a $100 bill. A story about winning a big game. Being able to create a story over many days can be fun, especially if there are family members asking questions to the storyteller about the setting and the characters.

Keeping a ‘winter break journal’ is a fun way to continue writing during the two week break. The journal can have a daily focus or a single focus the entire time. The journal entries can be about what the student did each day. Or, it can be about what they wish for in 2021. They can even take their storytelling to the journal and write about the topic ideas listed above. A journal is often used to write daily gratitudes or daily appreciations. For emerging writers, they can draw a picture and write a small amount about what they drew in the picture.

Visit the Arlington Public Library website as a way to access thousands of free books at all age levels and reading levels. Although the branch library buildings are currently closed, the main Arlington Library is open for picking up books that are reserved online. In addition, the library has online events such as cookie decorating, book talks and arts and crafts activities.

Gifted Services

CTY Virtual Clubs
Johns Hopkins CTY’s new Virtual Clubs offer students interested in Math, Chess, or World Languages a chance to come together, have fun, and learn in real time as a community. Clubs run from January 18 – April 11, 2021. Registration is open with a deadline of January 5, 2021.


Building Leaders for Advancing Science and Technology (BLAST)
Virginia Space Grant Consortium offers a free educational program, BLAST,  designed to ignite a passion in students who already show an interest in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM). BLAST is a 3-day residential, on-campus experience, which is packed with demonstrations and collaborative activities led by college faculty, designed to inspire students to envision a career in a STEM field and motivate them to expand the number of STEM-related classes they take in higher grade levels. Registration is open now and closes on February 8, 2021.


Gifted Services in Action @APSGifted Spotlight on Schools

Carlin Springs 

DTL
Image 2

Glebe Elementary School

Image 3

Jefferson Middle School 

Image 4

Williamsburg Middle School

Image 5

Wakefield High School

Image 6

W-L High School

Image 7