奧特利博士 2022 年對社區的關鍵種族理論信息

January 21, 2022

尊敬的社區成員,

Academics and Diversity, Equity & Inclusion 的辦公室已經取得了長足的進步,以產生有意義和值得稱讚的社會和課程體驗。 我們的成就之一是學校董事會於 2020 年 1 月通過了一項公平政策,該政策要求學區官員負責創建和維護一個文化響應環境,努力消除學區和社區範圍內治理實踐、勞動力實踐、運營實踐和教育實踐。 考慮到州長格倫·揚金 (Glenn Youngkin) 的第 2022 (XNUMX) 號行政命令 (EO) 旨在結束“固有的分裂概念,包括批判種族理論及其後代”的納入,我想就我們的教育公平實踐提供一些想法。

在當前的政治化氣氛中,關於我們英聯邦教育系統中教學和學習的辯論並不孤單。 新年前,至少有八個州通過了限制“分裂概念”教學的法律。 其他十多個州也提出了類似的法律,其中不僅禁止教學實踐和課程,還要求禁止某些書籍。

由於我們的國家是一個民主國家,而阿靈頓公立學校是我們更大社會的縮影,政治意識形態的兩極分化影響已經並將永遠影響學校政策。 我聽到了雙方的爭論:一組理想認為關於種族和性別的討論是政治灌輸的嘗試; CRT 等話題會讓學生對自己的種族、性別和性別認同感到羞恥或內疚。 其他人則聲稱,此類法律或行政命令是對真相的禁令,它們壓制了對美國歷史黑暗時刻的教導,同時導致了代表性不足的聲音被排除在外。

CRT 是一種學術理論,用於理解種族在過去和現在的整個美國歷史上在法律、社會和政治政策的發展中所扮演的角色。 雖然它主要在大學層面教授,但公眾對該理論的一些核心原則提出了擔憂,其中包括:(1)種族是社會發明的,目的是使一個種族化群體享有特權; (2) 種族主義是日常生活的自然組成部分,因此是製度性的,而不是個人的; (3) 種族化和其他邊緣化的人對壓迫性制度、結構和製度的性質擁有獨特的視角。 因此,理解種族主義的最佳方式是聽取個人證詞,這些證詞可能會與人們如何體驗社會提供相反的敘述。

州長 Youngkin 在 EO 1 中寫道,CRT “指導學生僅從種族的角度看待生活,並假定一些學生有意識或無意識地存在種族主義、性別歧視或壓迫性,而其他學生是受害者。” 換句話說,這裡的論點是,CRT 告誡所有白人都是壓迫者,同時將所有黑人歸類為受壓迫的受害者。 CRT 不會將種族主義歸咎於白人個人甚至整個群體。 也就是說,CRT 指出,美國的社會機構(例如,刑事司法系統、教育系統、勞動力市場、住房市場和醫療保健系統)與嵌入在法律、法規、規則和程序中的種族主義相結合,導致不同的結果種族。 然而,許多美國人無法將他們作為美國人的個人身份與管理我們的社會機構區分開來——這些人將自己視為製度。 雖然 CRT 在創建一個更加公正的美國方面對學術界和社會預言家很有用,但我向您保證,阿靈頓公立學區的任何一所學校都沒有教授上述原則。

隨後,學生們對他們對不平等的了解甚少感到震驚。 他們對學校、老師甚至父母都很不滿。 所以,這就是難題:K-12 學校的老師實際上並沒有教 CRT。 但教師們正試圖回應學生問他們為什麼人們在抗議以及為什麼黑人更有可能被警察殺害。

我寫信不是為了哄騙社區中的任何人。 但我知道阿靈頓公立學校的教育工作者教授弗吉尼亞教育部 (VDOE) 制定的標準。 VDOE 的“歷史和社會科學學習標準”最後一次更新是在 2015 年。其歷史和社會科學標準不包括 CRT。 VDOE 維持每七年修訂其標準的政策。 據此,弗吉尼亞教育委員會在一年前投票決定在 2022 年 XNUMX 月之前審查和修訂其標準。我們認為,一旦在今年年底完成,CRT 將不會被寫入修訂的歷史和社會科學標準。 即使他們是,總監也有責任向他們提出建議 APS 校董會就是否採用新的國家標準。

我想明確地說,作為教育工作者,我們的工作是以一種包容性的方式教育我們所有的孩子,包括教科書、圖像和故事。 我們的教育工作者有責任為我們最年輕的學習者提供一種體驗,讓他們每天都對進入我們的學校感到興奮。 這意味著,我們必須為學生提供資源,讓他們看到像自己這樣的角色在世界上受到重視。 我們必須為學生提供具有文化敏感性的課程,將移情的觀點傳授給他人的經歷。 當我們的學生在學校系統中垂直旅行時,我們的教育工作者必須幫助他們成為積極參與的公民,對世界進行批判性思考。 這一切意味著,學生進出 APS 應該了解我們國家豐富的多樣性,以便當他們回到我們的社區時,他們會努力創造一個更完美的阿靈頓。

由於 EO 1 已成為現實,我的團隊目前正在探索涉及與社區、員工和學生對話的兩種範式。 首先,我們審視我們的歷史,並承認教育系統之前已經出現過很多次。 最近一場關於教育控制在媒體中如此盛行的辯論發生在 1970 年代。 主題是“道德教育”。 它發生在水門事件醜聞和學校廢除種族隔離之後的一代人之後 布朗訴托皮卡教育委員會. 這兩個挑戰(價值分類和學生群體多樣化)的影響引發了關於教育者在教授道​​德行為、偏見和歧視方面的作用的爭論。 一些學校努力解決跨學區的校車問題,以實現種族平衡的學校人口。 其他已經取消種族隔離的學校面臨挑戰,以考慮改變課程以適應學生的人口統計數據。 許多地方的學校都面臨著使用教室討論“道德素養”的挑戰。

自然地,是否使用多元文化的視角來談論價值觀的問題成為了意識形態對決的爭論問題。 家長們問:這種課程方法在多大程度上灌輸了美國的兒童和青少年? 因此,人們可以看出,70 年代的立法者、教育工作者、家長和學生都在就當前辯論中心的許多相同主題進行討論。 記錄顯示,在這樣的教育爭議中,無論是在1920年代、1950年代、1970年代,還是現在,一直都在呼籲限制課程和禁書。 必須說,任何限制批判性知識或禁止歷史書籍的努力都沒有得到善意的判斷。 禁止一本書不能客觀地完成。 由於這些原因,我的辦公室不想重複過去所做的事情。 相反,我們希望與學生、教職員工、家長和社區成員合作,研究當前的問題,過去和現在,這樣我們就可以創造一條前進的道路,避免未來出現問題。

二、我辦公室還負責幫助 APS 社區,尤其是其教職員工和學生,正在適應 1 號 EO。我們正在計劃一個社區論壇,邀請傑出的教育家和我希望立法者來討論當前的教育狀況。 本次論壇將於 2022 年 XNUMX 月舉行。具體日期尚未選定。 這可能是一系列討論中的第一個,因為我們願意談論歷史,而不是迴避它。 更多細節即將到來。

商祺!

傑森·奧特利博士
首席多元化,股權與包容官

Dr. Ottley’s Critical Race Theory Message to the Community

January 21, 2022

Dear Community Members,

The offices of Academics and Diversity, Equity & Inclusion have made strides to produce social and curricular experiences that are meaningful and praiseworthy. Among our achievements is an Equity policy, passed by the school board August 2020, which holds district officials accountable for creating and maintaining a culturally responsive environment that strives to eliminate district and community-wide inequities in governance practices, workforce practices, operational practices, and educational practices. Considering Gov. Glenn Youngkin’s Executive Order (EO) No. 1 (2022) designed to end the incorporation of “inherently divisive concepts, including Critical Race Theory and its progeny,” I would like to provide some thoughts on our educational equity practices.

The debate over teaching and learning in the education system in our Commonwealth is not alone in this current politicized climate. Before the new year, at least eight states passed laws restricting the teaching of “divisive concepts.” More than a dozen other states have proposed similar laws, which include prohibitions on, not just pedagogical practices and curriculum, but call for bans on certain books.

Since our country is a democracy, and Arlington Public Schools is a microcosm of our larger society, the polarizing impact of political ideology has and always will influence school policy. I hear arguments from both sides: one set of ideals maintains that discussions on race and sex are attempts at political indoctrination; topics such as CRT cause students to feel shame or guilt of their racial, sexual and gender identities. The other claims such laws or executive orders are bans on truth, and that they suppress the teaching of darker moments of American history while resulting in the exclusion of underrepresented voices.

CRT is an academic theory that is used to understand the role race has played in the development of legal, social, and political policies throughout the history of the United States, past and present. While it is primarily taught at the university level, the public has raised concerns over some of the theory’s core tenets, which include: (1) race is socially invented in order to privilege one racialized group over others; (2) racism is a natural part of everyday life and is thus institutional, as opposed to individual; and (3) racialized and other marginalized people possess a unique perspective into the nature of oppressive systems, structures, and institutions. Acting accordingly, the best way to understand racism is by listening to personal testimonies that may provide a counter narrative to how people experience society.

Gov. Youngkin writes in EO No. 1 that CRT “instruct[s] students to only view life through the lens of race and presumes that some students are consciously or unconsciously racist, sexist, or oppressive, and that other students are victims.” In other words, the argument here is that CRT admonishes all white people for being oppressors while classifying all Black people as hopelessly oppressed victims. CRT does not attribute racism to white people as individuals or even to entire groups of people. To wit, CRT states that U.S. social institutions (e.g., the criminal justice system, education system, labor market, housing market, and healthcare system) are laced with racism embedded in laws, regulations, rules, and procedures that lead to differential outcomes by race. However, many Americans are not able to separate their individual identity as an American from the social institutions that govern us—these people perceive themselves as the system. While CRT has been useful for academics and social prognosticators in creating a more just United States, I assure you that the tenets described above are not taught in any of the schools in the Arlington Public School District.

Subsequently, students are alarmed by how little they have learned about inequality. They are upset at their schools, teachers, and even their parents. So, this is the conundrum: teachers in K-12 schools are not actually teaching CRT. But teachers are trying to respond to students asking them why people are protesting and why Black people are more likely to be killed by the police.

I write not to coax anyone in the community into a position. But I know that educators in Arlington Public Schools teach the standards written by the Virginia Department of Education (VDOE). VDOE’s “Standards of Learning for History and Social Science” were last updated in 2015. Its standards for history and social sciences do not include CRT. VDOE maintains a policy of revising its standards every seven years. Acting accordingly, the Virginia Board of Education voted one year ago to review and revise its standards by November 2022. We do not believe CRT will be written into the revised history and social science standards once completed at the end of this year. Even if they were, the Superintendent is responsible to make recommendations to the APS school board on whether to adopt the new state standards.

I want to say unequivocally, our job as educators is to educate all our children in a manner that is inclusive in school textbooks, images, and stories. Our educators have a responsibility to provide our youngest learners an experience that makes them excited about entering our schools daily. This means, we must provide students with the resources where they see characters like themselves who are valued in the world. We must offer students a culturally sensitive curriculum that teaches empathetic views into someone else’s experience. And as our students travel vertically through the school system, our educators must help them become engaged citizens that think critically about the world. All this means, students entering and exiting APS should learn about the rich diversity of our country so that when they return to our community, they work to create a more perfect Arlington.

Since EO No. 1 is a reality, my team is currently exploring two paradigms that involve dialoguing with community, staff, and students. First, we examine our history and acknowledge that the education system has been here plenty of times before. The most recent debate wherein control over education was this prevalent in the media occurred during the 1970s. The topic was “moral education.” It occurred after the Watergate scandal and a generation after school desegregation following Brown v. Topeka Board of Education. Implications of both challenges (value-sorting and diversifying student bodies) stirred debate over the role of educators to teach about moral behavior, prejudice, and discrimination. Some schools grappled with school busing across district boundaries in order to achieve a racially balanced school population. Other, already desegregated, schools were challenged to consider changes to the curriculum to align with student demographics. Schools in many places were challenged to use classrooms to discuss “moral literacy.”

Naturally, the question of whether using a multicultural lens to talk about values became a matter of contention between dueling ideologies. Parents asked: to what extent did that curricular approach indoctrinate America’s children and youth? One can discern, then, that lawmakers, educators, parents, and students of the ‘70s were entrenched in discussions over many of the same topics that center debate in this current moment. Records show that during such disputes over education, whether they transpired during the 1920s, 1950s, 1970s, or in this current moment, there have always been calls for curricular restrictions and bans on books. It must be said, no effort to restrict critical knowledge or to ban books in history has been judged kindly. Banning a book cannot be done with objectivity. For these reasons, my office is not looking to repeat what was done in the past; rather, we wish to collaborate with students, staff, parents, and community members to study the current issue, past and present, so that we may create a path forward that will stave off problems in the future.

Second, my office is also responsible for helping the APS community, especially its staff and students, adjust to EO No. 1. We are planning a community forum featuring distinguished educators and, I hope, lawmakers, to talk through the current state of education. This forum will take place in March 2022. A specific date has not yet been selected. This may be the first in a series of discussions because we are willing to talk about history, not shy away from it. More details to come.

Respectfully,

Jason Ottley, Ph.D.
Chief Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Officer