APS 新闻发布

提交招生和转学政策修订更新并举行公开听证会

3-5年计划更新包括新高中选项的状态
计划于1月1日举行有关30:XNUMX设备的社区对话
巴克罗夫特小学和约克镇高中校长任命

在18月25日举行的校务委员会会议上,工作人员简要介绍了校务委员会对校务委员会政策2.2-XNUMX的注册和调动的修订建议。 修订是学校委员会最近对政策进行的审查和工作会议的结果。 校务委员会对该政策的修订重点包括以下内容:

  • 现在,学前班已包含在与PIP保持一致的政策中,在每个小学课程/课程中都提供学前班。
  • 可选学校/课程的入学人数将根据需要进行调整。
  • 同时注册的兄弟姐妹可以优先进入Option学校/课程。 该修订版将调整注册人数,以容纳现有彩票插槽之外的兄弟姐妹
  • 被录取或转学的学生将继续按其所录取的学校/课程的年级入学。
  • 主管将向董事会提供有关每个学校/课程的入学水平和交通情况的年度秋季更新,并提出实现政策目标和解决问题的建议。
  • 可以书面形式向总监和学校董事会提出上诉。

更新后立即举行了公开听证会,以使社区成员分享对修订的想法。 董事会计划在1月XNUMX日的下一次校务委员会会议上通过对政策的修订。 .

3-5年计划更新:
主管提供了关于 APS 3-5年计划,并简要介绍了考虑增加1,300个高中座位的选项。 提议了三个地点,包括教育中心地点的新建筑,肯莫尔中学附近的新建筑以及职业中心的扩建。 通过混合计划增加了第四个选择,该计划通过对教育中心和职业中心进行翻新来提高高中的能力。

画廊漫步 计划在所有三个站点上对公众进行审核,并对每个选项的详细分析进行审查。 监督将在1月15日的学校董事会会议上提出有关新建高中校园的建议,并将于29月XNUMX日举行公开听证会。预计学校委员会将在XNUMX月XNUMX日的会议上做出决定。有关更多信息信息或参与该过程,请访问 https://apsva.us/instruction/new-high-school.

1:1设备倡议社区对话 将于30月XNUMX日,星期二举行。教学部鼓励家庭复习以下内容: 网上家长资源 and to share their questions or suggestions at the meeting on May 30, beginning at 7 pm at Wakefield High School.并在XNUMX月XNUMX日下午XNUMX点开始在Wakefield高中的会议上分享他们的问题或建议。 Families who cannot attend the meeting can share their comments on the “无法参加会议的家庭可以在“Engage with APS”的反馈表 万维网。aps价值/参与.

有关更新的完整介绍 APS 3-5年计划为 可在线. 

其他监测项目:
素养更新–
工作人员介绍了学生扫盲进度报告。 这项工作的主要目标是确保到2019年100月,XNUMX%的学生正在读年级或阅读能力至少增长了一年。 成功的衡量标准将通过多种方法获得,包括语音意识素养筛选(PALS),阅读清单,学习标准(SOL)和WIDA Access(针对英语学习者)。 工作人员重点介绍了SOL数据的积极趋势,与其他地区的基准进度以及在PALS上分享的学生表现。 他们概述了支持当前目标的行动步骤,并列出了确保持续进步的后续步骤。 完整的演示文稿位于 BoardDocs. 

信息项:
修订学校董事会政策20-1.210学分,非核心课程– 工作人员提出了与弗吉尼亚州教育部VDOE现行指南相一致的修订建议。 现在,VDOE指南允许在没有140个时钟小时的情况下授予等同于在满足某些条件时140个时钟小时的教学进展和学习成果的标准学分。 详细的修订版本在 BoardDocs.
17财年第三季度财务报告– 工作人员在第三季度末对17财年的运营预算进行了审查,得出的净资金为4.5万美元。 工作人员建议董事会将1万美元分配给赔偿准备金,并将1.2万美元重新分配给17财年预算中的其他现有需求。 如果获得批准,FY 17的预计年终余额将为2.3万美元。 工作人员还向董事会更新了基本建设计划预算,包括大型建筑和小型维护支出。 在为Gunston和Kenmore中学,Wakefield和Yorktown高中的空间转换项目拨款19.7万美元后,资本储备中的资金为10万美元。 演示文稿和其他信息可在 BoardDocs. 

行动项目:
特殊教育年度计划–
董事会批准了特殊教育年度计划,弗吉尼亚教育部要求该计划提供有关如何使用联邦应享权利的详细信息。 完整的演示文稿解释了如何分配员工资金以及向残障学生提供哪些服务。 BoardDocs. 

任命:自1年2017月XNUMX日起,校务委员会批准了两项行政调动:
朱迪·阿波斯托里科·巴克Apostolico-Buck完成了她的30岁生日 APS。 She started as a student teacher at Abingdon Elementary and has been an她最初是Abingdon小学的学生老师, APS 从那时起,他一直是教育家,过去七年一直担任班主任,资优老师,早期儿童主管,助理校长和阿什劳恩校长的资源老师。
布里奇特阁楼Loft在教育生涯的最后24年一直致力于与中高中生以及研究生一起工作。 Upon joining加入后 APS,她在韦克菲尔德高中(Wakefield High School)教社会研究12年,在佛罗里达州迈阿密(Miami)的迈阿密珊瑚公园高中(Miami Coral Park High School)教了一年。 As a school administrator, she served as assistant principal at Swanson for four years and for one year at Wakefield High School before becoming Swanson principal six years ago.作为学校行政人员,她在Swanson担任了四年校长助理,在Wakefield高中担任了一年,然后在六年前成为Swanson校长。 She also has served as an adjunct professor at George Washington University, teaching a Social Studies pedagogy course.她还曾在乔治华盛顿大学(George Washington University)担任客座教授,教授社会学教育学课程。 Earlier this week, Loft was honored as the 2017本周初,Loft被授予XNUMX年荣誉 APS 年度校长。

认可:
在会议开始之前,校务委员会认可了华盛顿·李高中学生托马斯·鲍尔斯,他获得了弗吉尼亚校董会的东北地区艺术奖。 

下次学校董事会会议:
下次校务委员会会议将于1月7日星期四晚上30:XNUMX举行。议程将在会议召开前一周发布 BoardDocs.  

更多信息:
想要对学校董事会会议上讨论的任何项目发表评论的公民,请通过以下方式向董事会发送电子邮件: 学校董事会@aps价值 or call 703-228-6015.或致电703-228-2400。 Citizens may call 70-41-XNUMX on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary.在校务委员会会议结束后的周一,公民可以拨打XNUMX-XNUMX-XNUMX收听会议摘要。 School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel XNUMX and Verizon FiOS Channel XNUMX;在康卡斯特有线频道XNUMX和Verizon FiOS频道XNUMX上还直播学校董事会会议; live-streamed on the现场直播 APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 pm and Mondays at 7:30 pm immediately following the meeting.网站,并在会议结束后的周五晚上XNUMX点和周一晚上XNUMX:XNUMX重新广播。 All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at会议的所有材料和会议记录将发布到以下网站: 万维网。apsva.us/学校董事会 经校务委员会在随后的会议上批准。

APS News Release

Enrollment & Transfer Policy Revision Update Presented and Public Hearing Held

3-5 Year Plan Update Includes Status of New High School Options
Community Conversation about 1:1 Devices Scheduled for May 30
Principals for Barcroft Elementary and Yorktown High Schools Named

At the School Board meeting on May 18, staff presented a summary of the School Board’s changes for the proposed revisions to the School Board Policy 25-2.2 Enrollment and Transfers for Schools and Programs. The revisions are a result of the School Board’s recent review and work session about the policy. Highlights of the School Board’s revisions to the policy include the following:

  • Preschool is now included in the policy to align with the PIP, offering preschool at each elementary option school/program.
  • Enrollment at option schools/programs will be adjusted as needed.
  • Siblings concurrently enrolled can receive priority in admissions to Option schools/programs. This revision will adjust the enrollment to accommodate siblings in addition to the existing number of lottery slots
  • Admitted or transfer students will continue enrollment through grade levels in schools/programs to which they have been admitted.
  • The Superintendent will provide an Annual Fall Update to the Board on enrollment levels and transportation at each school/program, with recommendations to achieve policy goals and address concerns.
  • Appeals may be made to the Superintendent and School Board in writing.

A public hearing was held immediately following the update to allow members of the community to share their thoughts on the revisions. The Board is scheduled to adopt the revisions to the policy at the next School Board meeting on June 1. The full update and is available online.

3-5 YEAR PLAN UPDATE:
The Superintendent provided a progress report on the APS 3-5 Year Plan, and a brief update on the options being considered for adding 1,300 high school seats. Three sites are proposed, including a new building at the Education Center site, a new building adjacent to Kenmore Middle School, and an expansion of the Career Center. A fourth option has been added, through a hybrid plan that increases high school capacity through renovations at both the Education Center and the Career Center.

Gallery Walks are scheduled at all three sites for the public to review the proposals along with the detailed analysis for each option. The Superintendent’s recommendation for a new high school site will be presented at the School Board meeting on June 1, and a public hearing will be held on June 15. The School Board is expected to make a decision at its meeting on June 29. For more information or to get engaged in the process, visit https://www.apsva.us/instruction/new-high-school.

A Community Conversation on the 1:1 Devices Initiative will be held on Tue, May 30. The Department of Instruction encourages families to review the online parent resources and to share their questions or suggestions at the meeting on May 30, beginning at 7 p.m. at Wakefield High School. Families who cannot attend the meeting can share their comments on the “Engage with APS” feedback form at www.apsva.us/engage.

The full presentation for the update on the APS 3-5 Year Plan is available online. 

OTHER MONITORING ITEM:
Literacy Update –
Staff presented a progress report on student literacy. The major goal of the work is to ensure that by June 2019, 100% of students are reading on grade level or have made at least one year’s worth of growth in reading. Measures of success will be obtained through several measures including the Phonological Awareness Literacy Screening (PALS), Reading Inventory, Standards of Learning (SOL), and WIDA Access (for English learners). Staff highlighted positive trends in SOL data, benchmarked progress with other area districts, and shared student performance on PALS. They outlined action steps that support current goals, and laid out the next steps to ensure continued progress. The full presentation is available in BoardDocs. 

INFORMATION ITEMS:
Revision of School Board Policy 20-1.210 Award of Credit, Non-Core Courses – Staff proposed a revision that aligns with current Virginia Department of Education VDOE guidance. VDOE guidance now permits the awarding of standard credit without 140 clock hours for work equal to the progress and learning achieved in 140 clock hours of instruction when certain criteria are met. Detailed revisions are available in BoardDocs.
FY 17 3rd Quarter Fiscal Report – Staff presented a review of the FY 17 operating budget at the end of the third quarter, which concluded with $4.5 million available in net funds. Staff recommended that the Board allocate $1 million to the compensation reserve fund and reallocate $1.2 million to other existing needs in the FY 17 budget. If approved, the FY 17 projected year-end balance would be $2.3 million. Staff also updated the Board on the Capital Improvement Program Budget, including both major construction and minor maintenance expenditures. Funding in the Capital Reserve is $19.7 million, after the allocation of $10 million for space conversion projects at Gunston and Kenmore Middle Schools, and Wakefield and Yorktown High Schools. Presentations and additional information are available in BoardDocs. 

ACTION ITEM:
Special Education Annual Plan –
The Board approved the Special Education Annual Plan, which is required by the Virginia Department of Education to provide detailed information about how federal entitlement funds are spent. The full presentation that explains how funds are allocated for staff and what services are delivered to students with disabilities is available in BoardDocs. 

APPOINTMENTS:The School Board approved two administrative transfers beginning July 1, 2017:
Judy Apostolico-Buck, the current Principal at Ashlawn Elementary School, has been appointed as the new principal for Barcroft Elementary School. Apostolico-Buck is completing her 30th year with APS. She started as a student teacher at Abingdon Elementary and has been an APS educator ever since, serving as a classroom teacher, resource teacher for the gifted, Early Childhood Supervisor, Assistant Principal and as Principal at Ashlawn for the past seven years.
Bridget Loft, current Swanson Middle School Principal, has been appointed as the new principal for Yorktown High School. Loft has dedicated the last 24 years of her career as an educator working with middle and high schoolers as well as graduate students. Upon joining APS, she taught social studies for 12 years at Wakefield High School and for one year at Miami Coral Park High School in Miami, Florida. As a school administrator, she served as assistant principal at Swanson for four years and for one year at Wakefield High School before becoming Swanson principal six years ago. She also has served as an adjunct professor at George Washington University, teaching a Social Studies pedagogy course. Earlier this week, Loft was honored as the 2017 APS Principal of the Year.

RECOGNITIONS:
Prior to the start of the meeting, the School Board recognized Thomas Bolles, a Washington-Lee High School student who received the Northeast Regional Art Award from the Virginia School Boards Association. 

NEXT SCHOOL BOARD MEETING:
The next School Board meeting will be held on Thu, June 1 at 7:30 p.m. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs.  

FOR MORE INFORMATION:
Citizens who want to comment on any of the items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.